Sony DVP-NC650V Multiple DVD Players

Sony DVP-NC650V Multiple DVD Players 

DESCRIPTION

5-Disc Carousel DVD/SACD Changer

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Jun 18, 2014]
Will Spinney
Audio Enthusiast

Well I have owned this piece of equipment for 12 years and it has given me nothing but satisfied pleasure. I run it to a Yamaha RX-V3900 receiver and some Polk Monitor 70 speakers and whether playing DVDs, CDs or SACDs it rocks. Right now I am listening to 5 of my home made cd's and cannot be happier. I really like this product and it sucks I cannot find a Blue Ray equivalent.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 22, 2003]
Robert Ward
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

SACD sound, DVD picture lots 'o features

Weakness:

red book cd sound

Ok, I've had this unit for a yr. and a half, bought it because I wanted a "glimps" of what SACD was about and at the time the closest price player was like $1000. higher. I have had no problems with the player. DVD picture is very good, I cannot comment on DVD audio because I use the digital out to another processer. Red book CD sound is so-so at best (compared to higher end players, and the SACD section (5.1 and stereo)sounds very good. So good, in fact, that I am upgrading to the ES line. Anyone interested in this unit can contact me via e-mail.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 24, 2003]
B Parker
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Super Audio CD - Incredible. Absolutely beautiful recordings available.

Weakness:

Not a progressive scan DVD player.

This piece of equipment is what got me interested in A/V. The You have not enjoyed recorded music until you've heard a Super Audio CD. The DVD player has been wonderful - no trouble whatsoever. The SACD portion of this blew my socks off. You actually can hear the "location" of each instrumentalist. In several of my Louis Armstrong CD's, he's standing between my center and front right channels... The thing to remember is that quality is contingent on the Producer of each album - kind of like a DJ. He remixes the original recordings to place each soundwave. Pretty cool. Definitely worth picking up.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 04, 2003]
Another Russ
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Feature set is yet unmatched at this price level.

Weakness:

Display burned out after 15 months of light use. 12 month warranty!

(4/2003) Will start with the very BAD news: After 16 months of light use, the front display of this player sizzled, flashed, and died! The only working lights on the front of the player are not helpful to see which disk and which track/chapter is playing. After the burning smell cleared and my heart started again, I found that the On Screen Display through the TV still worked though. Otherwise the player would have been nearly unusable. Note that other reviewers have had problems with front panel lights on this model! Now to the Great stuff about this player. SACD is the greatest leap forward in sound quality since CDs replaced those awful audio cassettes. The new releases that are originally mixed for 5.1 SACD (Beck, Sea Change) and those recordings that are CAREFULLY remastered and mixed for 5.1, (Pink Floyd, DSOTM) are the most powerful, encompassing sound experiences ever available to regular consumers. The clarity of the SACD is ABSOLUTELY NOT HYPE!! The soundstage is truly 3 dimensional; you can hear the pick on the string, the stick on the skin, see the bass drum kick, and nuance that you never heard in the original recording jumps out at you and knocks you out! And SACDs are much more available now than just a few months ago. If there ever was a war between the SACD and DVD-Audio formats, SACD has won handily. The DVD movie performance of this player is not disappointing either. The real strength of this player is the price though. I have not seen a 5-disc carousel CD/DVD/VCD/SACD player for anywhere near this price. I think this model has been discontinued, but I still see it around. If you can get it for less than $200 new, don't hesitate.

Similar Products Used:

None.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Sep 01, 2002]
rsmcphee
AudioPhile

Strength:

Great value. Sound Quality and Good DVD player....many gadgets to play with.

Weakness:

none at this price.....ok..maybe SACD still limited in application

Before I get into this review, let me share the component that I have matched with this receiver. · AV Amplifier: Onkyo TXDS797 THX certified · DVD/CD/SACD Player: Sony DVP NC650V and Pioneer Elite DVC-36 (5 CD/DVD changer) · Speakers: Wharfedale Pacific Center Channel, Wharfedale Pacific PI-40 Front Left/Right, and Wharfedale Pacific PI-10 rear surround channel. · Subwoofer: Infinity HPS-1000 (1000 watts) Cable: All Monster Cable When I played SADE’s “Is It A Crime?” and “Jezabel” this thing conveyed the music with great detail and emotion. They are very convincing and would convince you that the singer is right in front of you singing. This is a wonderful bargain for the price. The sound quality for music is good. With a good SACD playback at this price, there is not much to complain about. The home theater performance is fantastic. I played the movie Pearl Harbor and planes fly bys were realistic and the dialogues were clear. Picture quality is very good but the Pioneer Elite DVC-36 is better in the picture area. The sound stage was wide and dynamic. This DVD player fits my needs perfectly. For music, this is better than the Pioneer Elite DVC-36 but the Pioneer Elite is better for movies.

Similar Products Used:

Pioneer Elite DVC-36, Harman Kardon Changers, Marantz, Denon, Sony-ES

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 29, 2002]
guywithblackf150
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Picture and sound quality are excellent. The best DVD player I have seen or used to date. Setup is VERY quick and easy.

Weakness:

None that I have found yet; I think Sony did a great job with this machine.

I bought this DVD Changer to replace the shoddy player that comes packaged with the PlayStation 2. That DVD player was just OK. Recently, after purchasing a Sony Trinitron 27 inch TV, it gave me nothing but headaches. Each and every time the DVD reached a point where the scene in the movie was dark (including opening and closing credits) the screen would flicker and sometimes go completely blank. It was passable for a beginning DVD collector, but after a while, my frustration got the best of me, and I realized it needed to be upgraded. This unit is a very good one. I am hesitant to give many reviews 5 out of 5, but this DVD player is simply excellent. Sony deserves the 5/5. I think I have tried to watch all 40+ movies that I own just to see how they look (and sound) on this machine. With the capability to watch any 5 given DVD's at a time, I am in heaven!! The setup for this Changer is a snap. There is a quick setup option to get things running right out of the box, and you can tinker with the other settings easily later on with the supplied remote. The sound is also remarkable for 235 bucks. Overall, I am extremely satisfied.

Similar Products Used:

PlayStation 2 DVD Player, the Sony DVP-S330, and a Toshiba.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 26, 2002]
Mike Campo
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Wonderful SACD sound * good sound and picture quality on DVDs * fun to use * inexpensive intro to SACD.

Weakness:

Plastic build (not really a problem) * no progressive scan (who cares besides videophiles)

I bought this product on a whimm. I wanted to see if SACD was as great as I've heard it was and after hearing it through this player I must say that I am very impressed. I have some decent gear - CAL Alpha tube DAC, Odyessey Audio amp, Anthem tube pre amp, KEF speakers, Denon receiver (for movies). I am very happy with "red book" cd played through this rig but SACD is better - much better. My first impression was "My God this is the sound I've been searching for". The sound is richer and smoother, more open and natural sounding with no hint of digital harshness or grain. This inexpensive player has sold me on SACD. The unit itself is nice enough looking albeit plasticky. The sound of regular CDs (through the digital out to the CAL Alpha) sounds about the same as it always does. I haven't tried CDs through the analog outs. But the sound of SACD through the analog outs sounds wonderful. The build quality is of course not up to the standard that some of my other gear is but remember it only cost $250.00. Speaking of cost, I only paid 250.00 and there was a rebate for 5 free DVDs plus I had coupons from Best Buy for 10% off plus 6 mo. intrest free. How could I turn it down? If you like to fiddle with gadgets, this player is fun to explore, navigate and use. I am running the 6 ch analog out to my receiver for DVD and the only multi channel SACD I have (James Taylor). DVD sounds no better or worse than the Denon player I had been using but the multi channel SACD sounds amazing. I run the 2ch audio out to my Anthem Pre for stereo SACDs which also sound amazing. I am truely smitten with SACD. B T W, picture quality on DVDs is excellent. Sadly, there is a very limited selection of SACD from Sony but look to Cheskey, Telarc and others for less main stream titles. I hope SACD takes off with the "masses". There are probably better sounding SACD players out there but most are way out of my price range. There are most definitly better DVD players but for now I am very satisfied with this product. P.S.: A previous reviewer gave this product a 1. But I have to wonder about the validity of that review because the reviewer says that he has had the unit for 6 months. I may be mistaken, but acording to the sales person where I bought from, this player has not been out that long. Happy listening all, Mike

Similar Products Used:

None or SACD. Denon and Panasonic for DVD

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 30, 2002]
jsvranic
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Picture for DVD

Weakness:

Everything but DVD picture.

Well, I firmly believe sony owes me $349.00. This is one of the biggest pieces of crap they ever built. Sound is marginal, many of lights in display are not working. bass management for sacd is worthless. As a consumer I wish I had better recourse especially since this unit is only 6 months old. For Dvd however, as usual Sony picture is excellent. Dont buy it.

Similar Products Used:

Sony SCd ce775, dony dvp 670d

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Apr 09, 2002]
kcerce
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Picture and sound quality for DVDs and sound quality from SACDs. 5 disc changer is a big plus.

Weakness:

Remote just ok.

I needed a new DVD player so I used the opportunity to explore SACD for the first time. I am very impressed with the sound from most of the SACDs I have listened to. The dynamic range and sound stage are incredible and the quiet passages are very QUIET. DVDs look great on my 32 inch Sony with plenty of adjustments to play with (if you like to tinker). I am glad I opted for the 5 Disc changer. It is far more convenient than a single disc unit. The remote is ok. Lots of buttons, but the buttons are too soft to the touch. Not a big deal. The changer is quick and relatively quiet.

Similar Products Used:

Panansonic A110 DVD player

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com