Panasonic DVD CV51 5 Disc DVD Changer Multiple DVD Players

DVD CV51 5 Disc DVD Changer

- Front-Loading, 5-disc Rotary Design.
- Front Panel LED for quick and easy disc status confirmation.
- Direct Disc Select for easy disc selection.
- Disk Exchange in Play Mode lets one disc play while allowing for the 4 non-playing discs to be changed.
- A, B, C, D features for enhanced theater experience (Advanced Surround (V.S.S.), Bass Plus, Cinema Mode, Dialogue Enhancer).
- Advanced Surround (V.S.S.) allows for a remarkable surround sound effect even while only using the front two speakers.
- Bass Plus output allows for two channel setup that still provides a big home theater sound thanks to a discrete subwoofer output.
- Cinema Mode for cinema-like luminance and color with improved detail even in dark scenes.
- Dialogue Enhancer makes the dialogue channel clearly audible over the other sound channels.
- One Touch Cinema Memory lets you store your A, B, C, D function settings in memory for instant recall at the touch of a button.
- Disc Stabilizer for improved playability.
- Picture Control (Brightness, Color, Contrast).
- Discrete Component Video Out allows for high quality transmission of digital video to compatible video equipment.
- 27 MHz/10-bit Video D/A Converter for amazing picture quality.
- Still Picture Display (I/P/B) freezes an image to allow for precise picture quality adjustments.
- Auto Switching Field/Frame Still for added versatility.
- Frame Advance (Forward & Reverse) for incredible control.
- Black Level Control.
- Optical Output for DTS & Dolby Digital Surround Sound allows for amazing home theater sound quality.
- 96kHz/24-bit Audio D/A Converter for outstanding sound quality.
- Dynamic Range Compression.
- CD-R/RW Playback.
- MP3 Playback.
- Twin Laser Pickup for DVD/CD playback.
- Chapter Preview helps to refresh your memory of a movie by showing you the first 3 seconds of each previously viewed chapter.
- Hi-Speed Smooth Motion Scan: 5 Speed up to x100 allows crystal clear scan quality while locating desired locations on a disc.
- On-Screen Menu Icons to help guide operation.
- Energy Star Compliant for low energy output.
- Remote Control.

User Reviews (19)

Showing 1-10 of 19  
Roy   Casual Listener [Jul 05, 2006]

One of the better 5-disc changers for both CDs and DVDs. Sometimes skips and pauses even with new DVDs and CDs. After 2 years, got a "H02" error and it simply stopped working. Dead. Very disappointing as Panasonic is (was) noted for quality.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
mushymoses   Casual Listener [Jan 19, 2006]
Strength:

5 dvds

Weakness:

can be a bit noisy

Failed after about 4 years with the seemingly common "H02" error. I was quite happy with it, and it has worked like a charm until now. Only the odd problem with skipping, but it was always related to a scratched disc. Was easy enough to use that my 3-yr old can use it.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
snap67   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 28, 2004]
Strength:

MP3 playback, VCD compatible

Weakness:

Quality

Failed after 2 years with H01 error--can't get any help from the website or phone on what that means. The "factory authorized service center" will check it out for $30 and then tell me whether it is worth it to fix! They call this "service"?!?!!? The initial price looked like a good value, but when you have to buy a new one every two years... The last Panasonic product I will buy.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
dmartin66   Casual Listener [Jul 04, 2004]
Strength:

Looked good. Like remote control.

Weakness:

It died after less than three years' service.

Bought this thing in January of 2002. It just died tonite (07-04-04). Same error reported by others ("H-02"). Judging from others' posts, this thing is history. I'll be looking for something other than a Panasonic next time.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Eduardo   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 25, 2003]
Strength:

Good Remote Control Can play VCD, MP3.

Weakness:

Renderization problem. freezing problem. Slow to change the DVD. After 3 years the system got dead with the H02 Error and the display got burned.

Initially very impressive. I thought I could trunst in PANASONIC productus but it is the second problem that I have with them. When usuing the DVD We sometime thing we are not pressing the right button because it appears to be crazy.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Dave   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 12, 2003]
Strength:

Looks nice. Decent audio & video quality.

Weakness:

Judging from the reviews in this web-site, it looks like Panasonic has a major reliability problem in this model. The initial purchase price was fair, but if I have to buy a new one every 18 months, it's hardly a bargain!

Add me to the list... mine died after 18 months. But not H02, rather the unit has gone insane! I've never seen such a bad example of software in my life! The micro often locks up, requiring me to unplug the unit to reset it. When it locks up, the front-panel buttons (even Power) won't even work. When I turn it off, the display says "OFF", but the unit stays powered up and locked-up. Open the carousel and push Disk Skip, and it thinks about for 30 seconds before acting. A music CD is playing, I push Skip back to beginning of song and the display indicates the CD is playing, but there's no audio. I'm very unhappy with the quality, will not buy Panasonic again.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Andy H   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 12, 2003]
Strength:

Price, multi-discs

Weakness:

Doesn't like scratches, SLOW to load discs (much slower than CD changer), seems to be dying after less than two years.

I reviewed this item when I first purchased it. It does not handle scratched discs well at all, we're talking heavily scratched discs from the public library. Recently some discs have begun to stick in the loaded position if left overnight, necessitating removal of the cover to remove the disc. Just bought the Pianist, new disc has some flaw which renders certain chapters unplayable due to pixelization etc, but my DVD-ROM only pauses a couple times instead of locking up.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
Karen   Casual Listener [Aug 31, 2003]
Strength:

Worked with few problems until it died.

Weakness:

Manual had no useful info on hooking up to receiver rather than television. Would occasionally not "see" DVDs, which could be remedied by removing the DVD and putting it into another slot on the changer. Died shortly after warranty expired.

Died at 1 yr 4 mos with an H02 error code. Bought Panasonic because have had good experience with in past.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Mike   Casual Listener [Jul 28, 2003]
Strength:

worked fine until it broke

Weakness:

it broke and online or phone support is particularly unhelpful

Died after just over 1 year. Error code H01 doesn't help as none of the service people can tell us what that means or whether it is worth repairing. Won't buy this brand again.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Peter   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 22, 2003]
Strength:

Great remote DVD/CD/MP3 playback Price

Weakness:

POOR QUALITY DEFECTIVE - SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED

I purchased this unit without doing my usual research and got a lemon! After 14 months of use I got the dreaded H02 error, which I've learned from other Panasonic victims is a failure of the laser optical unit and generally requires replacement at > purchase price costs! If you have experienced a similar problem, see www.panasonich02.com to catalog your experience for possible class-action suit. I've learned my lession: don't buy on name alone and always research!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 19  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com