Athena Technologies Point 5 Complete Home Theater System Home Theater in a Box

Point 5 Complete Home Theater System

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
ronnbot   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 15, 2014]

I didn't hesitate to buy them when I saw these with an AS-P6000 sub instead and 2 stands for $100! That said, it is worth it's MSRP. I have a Tannoy HTS-101 5.1 set that I paid $300 (after 50% off sale), and it isn't as good as these Athena but I wanted a smaller system for a bedroom setup. Been using a pair of the Point 5 as rears with AS-F1.2 (fronts), WS-60 (centre) for years and I'm very happy. I gave a pair and the centre to my Dad and he's very please with them and he has Paradigm's and Magnaplanar's in other rooms. Obviously, the satellites do not have much bass and rolls off below 100Hz but it's pretty good above that with nicely detailed mids and highs.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Doesn't Matter   Audio Enthusiast [May 24, 2007]
Strength:

Efficient (Will play loud with little power)
Wall mounts (Included)
Very true sound above 60Hz.
Very nice quality for the price.

Weakness:

Siver face I could pass on but may be nice in your home.
Will need a sub for home theater.

I purchased this system from another forum member @ AVS. I had read great things and expected the same. The previous owner had them pretty much broken in when I got them but they have broken in even more in the 8 months that I've had them. Those that don't believe in speaker break i have never owned Athenas or Onix speakers. They do get much much better with time. I enjoy my music LOUD at times and with the efficiency of these Athenas, they will surprise you. They are a bright speaker, no one will deny that. You either love them or hate them, it's all up to your ears. My system did not include a sub so I purchased a Bic Acoustech H-100 from ebay and was absolutely blown away but that's another story. The Point 5's are a very clear and efficient speaker which will fit the bill for any budget home theater as well as music needs and do it better than any home theater in a box to date. The wall mounts that are included are a very nice design and come in handy. If I had spent $500 on this system I wouldn't be disappointed.

Similar Products Used: Bose 301 & POS Center(Don't shoot!)
Onix (From AV123)
Panasonic HTIB (I've learned my lesson)
Yamaha Bookshelf Speakers
Infinity Kappa 8.0 (Now these are speakers!)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Grayson73   AudioPhile [Sep 01, 2004]
Strength:

Very clear sound, able to handle loud volume, come with mounting brackets.

Weakness:

Need a subwoofer for bass (obviously)

I'm running this with Panasonic SA-XR50 receiver and SVS 25-31CS subwoofer. The speakers sound very clear and are a bargain for $199! They even come with mounting brackets! I plan on upgrading the front speaker to AS-F2 and the center to AS-C1.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Gflash   Audio Enthusiast [May 16, 2004]
Strength:

- Detailed and clear sound once they are broken in - Good mid-bass which eases subwoofer set up - Dynamic, full bodied sound (with a subwoofer) when properly set up - tons of value for the $$$ - excellent build quality and gloss black/silver face plate finish

Weakness:

- Long break in period - Need a subwoofer for lowest bass (obvious, no-brainer weakness given the speakers woofer size)

The Athena Technologies Point 5 system is one of the most excellent speaker systems in its price range. For the review below which states that they are bright and boxy, Athena Technologies recommends a break-in period of 100 hours. They will sound bright and boxy right out of the box. Once they are broken in they are a killer set speakers! The brightness calms down to a detailed and airy treble, a clear midrange and a decent mid-bass that makes them easy to blend in with a subwoofer (which this system needs due to the small 4" woofer). Once you have properly broekn in and calibrated them using your receiver's/processor's test tones or a Home theater set up DVD and a sound pressure meter, you will be treated with a dynamic, full bodied sound. The Point 5's are good with music as well as Home theater. There are many favorable reviews on the internet on these speakers by some pretty reputable reviewers (Home Theater magazine, Sound and Vision, GoodSound.com, AudioIdeas). They also sound better when your speaker settings are set to 'large' and Athena Technologies recommends the 'large' setting anyway. Sounded wrong to me at first given that they are small bookshelf sized speakers but they actually do sound bettter set to 'large'. I have cranked the volume up with no ill effects. Unless you have them set up in a vary large room, these speakers are quite capable of putting out fairly high sound levels. Definitely audition the Point 5s if you are looking for a budget priced but high quality music/home theater speaker system.

Similar Products Used: Paradigms Titans and Atoms
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
larrimore   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 15, 2004]
Strength:

Clear highs, good midrange and unbelievable bass (down to around 70 Hz.)for their size. Athena even recommends you set your receiver on all "large" speakers. Good looks and easy to set up with the wall bracket mounts integrated.

Weakness:

You really have to break them in good, otherwise they really sound bad. I have never had any speakers change this much in performance during the break in period- my guess is the man made silk used in the tweeter takes a long time to break in compared to real silk.

Being like alot of readers on this website, I buy things quite often that I really don't need. This was one of those purchases. On a recent trip to Best Buy, I saw this 5 speaker pack on closeout (I guess it is being replaced by the new smaller 5.1 system Athena has)for $299 and since I had read many good reviews in print, I decided to at least give it a try since I have a great Hsu sub. At first listen, I was ready to pack them in and take them back right away- they were thin and bright and sounded like so many of the cheaper 5 speaker systems out there. Having read comments here about the tweeter in the Audition series needing much break-in, which the owner's manual talks about as well, I set up Heart's "Barracuda" turned up and on repeat and left the house all day for work. About ten hours later, they sounded better, but still not great- so I thought I'd keep at it a while. After a week of doing this (40-50 hours)these became excellent little performers to the point that I am astonished at the sound even without a sub. I wouldn't dare use them without one, but they still make real music on their own. I have decided to at least keep them and sell some of the other speakers I have on e-bay. Astonishing for the size.

Similar Products Used: Cambridge Soundworks Ensemble, Polks, JBL, the list goes on and on...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ken atnikov   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 16, 2003]
Strength:

Fantastic value, Attractive high tech looks, very good construction, bonus wall mounting system included that is well thought out and saves you money!clear, crisp sound with uniform sound quality accross the field(thanks to identical drive units)high power handling, and very good in audio if not a bit bright. Price is very good for a system of this quality. I like it better than the energy take 5 system I use to own. I would give it an unconditional 5 stars if they improve the sub or charge 100.00 more and include the 10in. audition sub with the package!

Weakness:

Terrible sub. Get the big brother sub from athena and you will be delighted with the system as a whole

I have auditioned the Point 5 system for 3 weeks and agree with the many press reviews and consumer reviews with one QUALIFIER!!( the sub)I think the sattelite, center channel and rear surrounds are amazing. Very clear, detailed and homogenious sound quality that is essential for rewarding home theatre experiences. The satelites(s.5) also sound very good on 2 channel audio which is a very nice suprise. They image like crazy, throw a good sounstage, have excellent detailed highs and very nice midrange. The s.5's have amazing bass response on their own for such a small speaker. The system also includes an excellent wall mounting system that saves you money on stands and is very well designed.My only caveat in wholly reccomending this system is the point 5 subwoofer. I can not understand why the reviewers out there think this is a strength of the system. I often wonder if I am listening to the same product they are describing! In fact I had my sub checked out to see if it was malfunctioning in some way. Simply put the sub is useless! It will distort like crazy on any heavy bass material. Serious woofer/cone breakup will be heard with honking chuffing and desparate pleas by the sub to turn down the volune! And I am not talking about loud volumes. You can forget u571. Lord of the rings, amd Black hawk down. Music such as reggae will tax the little sub in seconds.The design is good in principle with it,s sct technology that matches the sub and speakers with a flick of a switch. Only as I say you have to be selective of music/video with little heavt bass content.The audio/video switch is a nice feature, but useless on this sub. If you think it distorts on heavy bass passages in audio.... look out in the video mode which boosts the mid bass significantly!! As I say I cant figure out why the sub is also raved about in the audio/video press. Athena would do well to redo/rethink this one component of the system. I switched over to there larger sub that is offered in the audition series for a remarkable 399.00 usd. This is an excellent sub which blends perfectly with the point 5 system. The sub actually has a .5 setting on it.s adjustable crossover that takes the guess work out. I highly reccomend purchasing this sub separatly. See if you can work something out with your dealer.

Similar Products Used: Energy take 5.2, Polk sub-sat systems ans mission m71 and c2 center channel
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Norm   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 02, 2002]
Strength:

-Explosive home theatre for small speakers -Great for moderate music listening -Easy to set up, mounting brackets included -Excellent bang for buck -Has the midrange that most other similar packages don't have. -A very full sound for home theatre

Weakness:

None

The Athena Point 5 system surpassed all my expectations. Here we have a speaker package at $1,000 that has left all other systems that I heard in the dust. First we have a speaker that could either be viewed as a small bookshelf package or a larger lifestyle package. This speaker has much better mid range than other lifestyle systems, but is still small and compact. It was also a big point that mounting brackets were included in the set. Anyone who buys this system will be shocked with the performance, accuracy for the price and the size of the speaker. Among the best scenes I've heard were from the movies Gladiator, and Behind Enemy Lines. I was also impressed by the sound quality for music. Five channel stereo mode was great for accurate, clean music listening. The subwoofer complements the speakers nicely, and gives it the extra bass response for deep music listening and movie watching. I recommend this system to anyone who wants a full, incredible sound out of a small speaker.

Similar Products Used: -Polk Audio RM6600 -JBL SCS series -Bose -Mission
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
csv96   Casual Listener [Nov 15, 2002]
Strength:

Price. Good bass.

Weakness:

Mids and highs definitely not "tower"-quality.

Very nice for the price. The P.5 sub provides surprisingly low bass. S.5's have a good range, down to 80hz on their own. C.5 matches perfectly and can go down to 60hz. Great for movies. Decent for music.

Similar Products Used: Klipsch Promedia 5.1, Panasonic SC-HT95 HTIB, CSW DTT2500
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
jeff 148   Audio Enthusiast [May 13, 2002]
Strength:

looks, sound,and the sub is one of a kind great engineering.

Weakness:

none

I shop around for a while and had look at alot of speakers and listened to quite a few and the athena point 5 were the best I herd out there. When I listened to them at the store they sounded awsome and when I brought them home and hook them up they were great i am very happy with these speakers not only by the sound but buy the looks as well they are made with alot of pride and workmenship as well.Out of 10 I rate these at 9.99 awsome speaker system.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com