Zenith DVD2250 DVD Players

DVD2250

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
Jim   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 05, 2000]
Strength:

Price, Plays cdr's

Weakness:

Light weight, plastic parts

I bought the Zenith 2250 because Circut city was out of the Phillips 525. They have a 30 money back guarantee, so I thought I would give it a try. One of the features that I wanted was to play cdr's which it does. I was unawhare that the 2200 player that Zenith put out was a such a flop! I have now played at least 10 movies on the player with no real problems, including the Matrix. It has hung up for 1 secound on a couple of the movies. But this is in only one scene during playback. So I can live with that. Nothing like what people said about the 2200! This is a very watchable player. The 2250 also has coaxial and the optical digital output jacks. I'm not sure but I think the 2200 only had the coaxial. The only real problem I have come across with the 2250 is that when playing audio cds is that for some reason it does not read the first 2 secounds of the 1st song. It actually plays music very well. Other then that, for about $200 dollars this is a pretty good dvd player, for someone like me that cant afford to spend alot of money.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
tom   Audiophile [Nov 13, 2000]
Strength:

Zoom features- bookmarks, 100x fast forward

Weakness:

picture skips, takes forever to go through startup menu.

This is the first DVD player I have ever bought. I was disappointed in the 2250's performance. I wish I knew about this site before I bought it. I had problems after the first week ( I've only had for 2 weeks) The picture skippes constantly, and the startup routine would take forever to load. I am returning this one and probably buying a Sony.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
tom   Casual Listener [Aug 15, 2000]
Strength:

Connectors, zoom, durability, picture, controls

Weakness:

slow startup/selection process.

Been using for 13 months. Always worked well. Very happy. I had two dvd problems. One skipped quite a bit, after several attempts to use the dvd I replaced it and the new one worked fine. The second one: galaxy quest (which was played several times) started to jump for no reason. I removed it, wiped it and it worked fine although there was no signs of dirt etc. If this product continues to work as will as it does I will buy it again (hopefully several years from now).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Ken   Casual Listener [Jun 20, 2000]
Strength:

Very User-Friendly, Great Remote

Weakness:

Have had problems with several discs hanging up, skipping

I purchased this player in December, 1999. For the most part it has been great, but I've had a lot of problems lately with freezing & skipping with the following titles: "The Abyss", "Stigmata" (alternate version of film won't play), "Army of Darkness" (documentary won't play), "Galaxy Quest" (Won't play at all!) "The Matrix" (only froze once or twice)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Greg   Casual Listener [Apr 10, 2000]
Strength:

Price/features

Weakness:

Hard to find reviews on


I've had the Zenith DVD2250 since Christmas and over all
I'm pretty happy with it. The only movie I've had a
problem with so far is Matrix. Three scenes stopped and
repeated several times. Kind of a pain but I've heard
other players have worse problems with Matrix.
The one thing that REALLY bugs me about the 2250 is
that it looses its bookmarks when the power is turned
off. This being my first DVD, this may be common to
all DVD players. As far as I can see, the only way
to start watching a movie from where you stopped it
is to note what time the elapsed time display showsand fast forward back to that spot when you start watching again.
A real pain in the butt. The DVD palyer should have
enough smarts to remember the last DVD disk that was in it
and remember any bookmarks saved for that disk.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Jon   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 09, 2000]
Strength:

Price

I have had this player for a little over a month, and have watched a couple DVD's each weekend. All in all I have had no problems with it. I have noticed that it is very tempermental towards heat. Example: I was watching Contact, and about an hour into it the picture and sound went to hell. Thinking it was a disk error, I skipped to a new chapter and the same thing happened. At this point I decided to check the temperature, it was warm, but I didn't think exceedingly so. I turned on a fan, opened a window, and turned the thermostat down from 80 (my roomates are freaks). After letting it sit and cool off for a while I started up again and suffered ZERO problems. So all in all I've had no problems with the player, just keep in mind that it is a touch heat sensitive, but this just may be the location (boxed in with no air flow).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Lorne   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 09, 2001]
Strength:

DD and DTS outputs; zoom; low price (at the time).

Weakness:

Frequent playback problems.

I have always had minor playback problems with this unit, and they seem to get worse all of the time. Usually, popping a laser lens cleaner in and rewiping an already spotless disc would solve them, but some discs are a constant problem. This player does not seem to want to play alternate versions of a disc AT ALL. I have yet to be able to view Rocky Horror Picture Show or Dressed to Kill in their alternate version without it skipping over complete chapters. Loading time is exceptionally slow, as is chapter search, and accessing special features (particularily deleted scenes) -- I've yet to be able to view the trailers on my Emperor's New Groove special edition disc. Minor pauses and skips during playback are fairly regular occurrences, as well.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
leicanut   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 15, 2001]
Strength:

alot for the money at that time

Weakness:

the firmware does not accept the multi-region hack found on later goldstar units, but it does accept the VCD hack. No macrovision disable. unpredictable playback of non-original dvds. a color scheme which fits no known audio industry standard.

if i rented all my movies from blockbuster, this unit would be ok. but I don't, and it is a bit too persnicky over what it will, or will not play. hence, it may become a gift to an in-law soon. either that unit, or the 3109.

Similar Products Used: samsung 709, toshiba 3109, pioneer 533, apex 600
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
MountainGoat   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 24, 2001]

Just want to add my US$0.02 to what Simon said. 1 month after the warrantee ran out so did the laser. Had trouble finding the start of all CD's and DVD's. As advised, I called Zenith and after only asking for the serial number they sent out a UPS shipping label. There is an acknowledged problem (described to me as a "weak laser") and they'd repair it for free.

UPS tracking shows they received it on 11/21/01 so I don't have it back yet to test but so far I'm impressed.

C.

Similar Products Used: My first DVD player.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Robert Whitehill   Casual Listener [Nov 15, 1999]

I purchased this DVD player from ValueAmerica.com a few weeks ago. I had currently been using a Panasonic A300 but I really needed DTS output for a few of my DVD's.

A few of my thoughts.

Takes a bit of time for the menu's to spin up.
A little slow on the fast forward, I remember my Panasonic to be quite a bit faster. Also, the controls for the Panasonic were better. (Joystick) I've only had one problem with a DVD and that was with Stargate SE. I keep getting scenes where the same thing happens again. I'm not sure if thats the disk or the player. I still need to check that out.

But for the price I played, I'm pleased. DTS output and a pretty good dvd player.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com