Zenith DVD2200 DVD Players

DVD2200

Dvd player.

User Reviews (49)

Showing 1-10 of 49  
JeffreyMorgan   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 24, 2002]
Strength:

With the skip problem, that pretty much takes out any strengths that the unit might have, who wants a dvd player that skips on every disk.

Weakness:

This is a poor product and should never have been released. This speaks volumes about zenith's quility control process, as I am not the only one with this problem. Shame on you Zenith !!!

I purchased this 2200 new and I am sure that I paid top dollar, but it was a zenith, and I have had good luck and experences with zenith, however, this dvd player has a bad skip problem from day one, after 1 hour or more of playing. The longer it plays the worse it gets.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Pernette   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 14, 2002]
Strength:

No problems

Weakness:

Doesn''t play CD_R or VCD

Well so far this has played every DVD. I own the Matrix and have watched it many times without any problems. I have played approximately 30 movies on it so far. I got a big universal remote with it that is really nice. I don''t know the model year or what firmware is in it, but it has been a very good addition to my Home Theatre. From what I gather it wasn''t that expensive either. I think around $200. canadian. My wife bought it for me as a Xmas gift. If I have any problems I will post another review.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Jarek Azevedo   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 28, 2000]
Strength:

One of the few dvd players with a bookmarking feature, zoom, Dts, virtual surround, nice menus

Weakness:

poor reputation

This player works superbly. I have had no problems with movie or cd playback. The matrix worked without skipping. I dont know about this firmware upgrade but I bought it new when my Konka 1800 blew a fuse. In january, 2000.

Similar Products Used: toshiba
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Michael Thomas   [Jun 15, 2000]
Strength:

Good Bells and Whistles... zoom, angles, aspect ratio, DTS & Dolby sound... s-video output, coax digital output.

Weakness:

Won't play home-made CDs (at least for me). Doesn't have digital optical output (does have coaxial digital out)or composite video outs.

Great inexpensive DVD player! CC has them for 170.00 But make sure to get the most recent manufacturing date possible....ie: May 2000 (date sticker is on the box...) Mine played the hard-to-play Matrix DVD perfectly, and has been flawless with all others so far....

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Walter   Casual Listener [Jun 02, 2000]
Strength:

Price

Weakness:

Problems on playback on some DVD's


Not bad for the money. I've experienced the problems with skipping but it wasn't too bad. Probably worse on other DVD movies. Anyone know how to check what the fireware version is from the front panel. Can probably figure it out by openning it up but trying to avoid it.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Danny Pollutro   Audio Enthusiast [May 31, 2000]
Strength:

Good performence, almost every feature available on more expensive models

Weakness:

No digital out, no DD decoder

This is an amazing DVD player for the money you pay. It's got an amazing amount of features. The only thing which may be bad is that other reviewers said that this model skips while watching movies. So far nothing happened to me. It would have been a real value if it included a DD decoder but you can't have everything. I recommend this player to anyone which would like get started in DVDs.

Similar Products Used: First DVD player
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Luis Santiago   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 22, 2000]
Strength:

After firmware upgrade, player performed flawlessly. It is a great basic dvd player.

Weakness:

Awkward remote, slow load times, needed firmware upgrade.

I received this player for Christmas and I was quite surprised and a little disappointed. I was suprised becaused I did not expect my wife to buy something like this for me and I was disappointed because it was a Zenith. I REALLY wanted a Sony.
Before I actually hooked it up I visited this web site to see what others had said. To my dismay, the reviews were mostly bad. Most of the reviews said that many movies skipped or did not play at all. People actually hated their player.
When I finally hooked it up the first movie I tested was "The Matrix." A "CHECK DISC" appeared on my TV screen. "OH NO" I cried. I then tried "The Iron GIant." The result was the same. Three out of next 10 discs I tested resulted in the same message.
I called Zenith and they told me to send it to them and they would upgrade the firmware for free and that I would have it back in two weeks.
Exactly two weeks later I had the player hooked up again. To my surprise and delight every DVD that refused to play before now played flawlessly.
I have read that "The Matrix" slows down or skips on many players. My upgraded Zenith showed none of these problems. The Zenith turned out to be a great player for the price.

Similar Products Used: N.A.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
William   Casual Listener [Dec 14, 1999]
Strength:

none

Weakness:

skips on most movies and gets worse the longer you watch.

i picked this dvd player up for $149.99 -$30 mail in rebate. So i thought wow what a great gift for xmas. Boy was i wrong. This dvd is horrible. I watch movies and it skips throughout several of them. Throughout both of them that i bought with it for a gift for my sister and niece (Little mermaid and Wizard of Oz). Well i thought ok so i need to send it in for the software upgrade, so i did, and i got it back and guess what, it does the same thing, just not as bad. Usually it does fine for the first 1-2 hrs only skipping here and there but if you watch movies for about 3hrs straight it starts to skip ever 2-3min and we are talking not one second skips but like 5 second skips. I don't know if this is a defective one, but either way i sent it in for repair and they supposedly fixed it, which they didn't. THe people at zenith are incompetent and their products aren't worth the cost of shipping. Now i get to go out and spend another $200+ on a reliable nonzenith dvd player so i have a christmas gift for them.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Brett MacLaren   Audiophile [Nov 15, 1999]
Strength:

Many features, easy to navigate on screen controls. CHEAP. DTS Output is also a plus for such a cheap player

Weakness:

Lack of Component Video outputs. Lack of Optical Outputs.

Overall, I am happy with this DVD player for the pittance that I paid for it ($120 after $30 rebate). It has a decent variety of options, and the DTS is fantastic. The on screen controls are also a snap to use. Wish that it had a few more options on the output side, as I am forced to use S-Video even though my TV has Component Video Inputs. Overall, a solid entry level DVD player.

Similar Products Used: Creative Labs Dxr2 5.0 DVD-Rom drive.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Nathan   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 30, 2001]
Strength:

Good playback of, CD's MP3 CD's, and DVD's

It's a great DVD player! I have model 2201, witch includs the fermware update talked about. I have had no problems.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 49  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com