Zenith DVC-2200 DVD Players

DVC-2200

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
dreina   Casual Listener [Nov 18, 2003]
Strength:

Luxurious in appearance yet easy on the wallet - this player features a built in display giving track number, elapsed time, etc. You can risk using the remote as the unit also has buttons for most of the essential functions including a circular menu search dial. The remote also is fully loaded yet the buttons are a good size considering how many there are and are usually laid out in a logical order easy to adapt to.

Weakness:

Long load times before cueing up the DVD. Also limited to DVD's. Due to the age of the model it may be understandable that it does not play CD-RW's, MP3's or photo CDs. However in the least it should play store bought CD's and perhaps CDR's. It being limited to DVD's does not make it very versatile. Also picture quality suffers during intense scenes that may include explosive lighting effects. The player can not handle it and usually the screen flickers.

I am rather surprised at how much others have paid yet they still consider it a good value. I paid $88 in 11/2001 and it was money well spent. $88 in 2001 for a DVD was unheard of particularly for a reputable company such as Zenith. These are prices to be expected from generics such as Apex. I have now had this player two years and it continues to serve faithfully. Occasionally it will mal-function where the colors come out severely distorted and images only appear in shades of red and green. Ejecting the DVD and reloading it usually solves this problem. I have now retired it due to limitations I will itemize as weaknesses in this review.

Similar Products Used: I have now retired my Zenith DVC2200 for a Coby DVD-201 (I think this model has not been discontinued and replaced by DVD-202)I picked up at BrandsMart for $18.88! Its a generic but it does it all, CDs, photo CD's, Mp3's etc. However, the Zenith is still better as far as stability and features limited to DVD playing.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Bret F.   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 25, 2000]
Strength:

lots of features

Weakness:

Poor construction, Lousy Customer service

I bought this as an entry level DVD player. I brought it home hooked it up and everything was great.(Or so I thought) After 2 months, the sound began fading. At first I thought it was the DVDs, or perhaps some weird electro magnetic field. After rearranging my whole entertainment center, and trying several DVDs, I resolved that the problem was the unit itself and that I would have to take it in for service. THIS IS WHERE THE FUN BEGAN! Zenith has the absolute worst customer service department I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with!!! I have been on the phone with them every day for the past 2 weeks and they cannot tell me when I will get my unit back (they have had it for a month now!) I am ready to go out and buy a descent DVD player and use the zenith for a boat anchor or something (if I ever get it back that is). If I would have reviewed this product a week after my purchase, I would have given it 4 stars, but after this experience, I cannot even concieve of it! I have to however give it some sort of rating so I give it a 1 (and thats only because they don't have a zero in the drop down menu. Anyone need a boat anchor???

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Gregory Armentrout   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 14, 2001]
Strength:

Has all the features I need, plus some. Remote is OK.

Weakness:

Takes a minute or two to come on or spin up a disc. Not a crisis situation, though.

I was given this player for Xmas. It was the only one left late in the season. Was hoping for the Panasonic RV30 after reading reviews. Scared by reviews on this one. Wanted to get service contract to prevent three month failure documented in the other reviews, but have passed the 30 day mark already.
Haven't noticed any glitches yet. First disc I tested was The Matrix. (only owned two at the time). Played fine. Have played about half a dozen more since then with no noticeable errors except one that I attributed to the disc being a rental.
Looks and sounds good to me. Hooked in through coax (audio).

Similar Products Used: Zenith is my first DVD player. Also have an older Pioneer Laserdisc combo player.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Jon   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 14, 2001]
Strength:

looks good, great sound and picture, low price

Weakness:

single disc, loads a bit slow, no optical out

This has been a great entry level DVD for me. I have three DVDs in different rooms in the house that I paid much more for and this Zenith runs just as good. I have had absolutely no problems. The picture and the sound is terrific and it matches great with a Sony TV. I recently bought a couple more for gifts. They are all running fine.

Similar Products Used: Hitachi, Sony
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Karamitso Dimitrios   Casual Listener [Oct 01, 2001]
Strength:

great picture, awesome features very affordable

Weakness:

none

Very pleased with this DVD player. When I first started reading the reviews of this product I was worried about the DVD player. Whatever the proble(s) was/were Zenith corected them BIG TIME!!! Buyers do not worry this is an awesome DVD machine if you can't afford the higher end models. This machine is GREAT

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
colin   Audio Enthusiast [May 11, 2001]
Strength:

low price,good picture,looks

Weakness:

no optical out or dolby digital decoder,slow loading disc

bought new in 01/15/01 it is my first dvd player.I have played over 150 movies on it and have not had a single problem with it so far i have found this to be a great buy for a $160.The only complaint i have is it takes to long to load a disk.I have read many bad things about this product it seems zeneth has fixed the problems that afected the older models,but of course only time will tell!

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Martin   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 13, 2001]
Strength:

Zoom 4x and 16x. Multiple FF & Rew 2x, 4x, ... up to 100x. Easy to understand menus, good remote layout.

Weakness:

None Notice Yet

Unlike previous reviewers, mine works fine. It was manufactured in Aug 2000. Whatever problems they had in the past seem to have been corrected. I was attracted to this model because of the price. It wasn't until after I had used it for a couple of weeks that I saw the reviews, and was afraid that I bought a lemon, but I have had no problems. It plays multi-layered movies without a problem, including Matrix, (the holy grail of DVD quality testing).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike Eckman   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 13, 2000]
Strength:

Nice layout and remote. Lots of bells and whistles. Nice menus.

Weakness:

Freezes during some layer changes. Takes too long to start playing a DVD when inserted.

I purchased this player from Circuit City for 179.99 in May and although I knew I was getting a near bottom of the line model, I was impressed with the features. It allows you to zoom in 4x or 16x to any part of the screen. It allows you to fast forward or reverse at 2x, 4x, 16x, and 100x speeds, and has really nice menus. Many people complain about remotes, however I think the remote included was nicely laid out. This would be a great DVD if it didnt have one big flaw. Mine freezes at layer changes on a couple DVDs. I have around 35 DVDs now, and Ive only noticed it on 3. They are Stargate: Collectors Edition, Lethal Weapon 1: Directors Cut, and House on Haunted Hill. Other movies have a second pause inbetween layer changes, but thats acceptible to me. Although I can just skip past the layer changes, that is a major annoyance, but other than that, this is a nicely featured player for the money.

Similar Products Used: Sony and Panasonic DVD players
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrew Bennink   Audiophile [Dec 12, 2000]
Strength:

It is heavy, so perhaps it could serve as a paperweight. Also, it comes with useful composite cables!!!!!!

Weakness:

It freakin broke in 3 months.

DO not buy this under any cicumstance. 2 of the current 3 reviews, including mine, have stated that it breaks. This player worked for less than 3 months, and luckily I had an ESP, so I just said screw it and went with an aiwa model. For 50 dollars more, after 3 months it is working fine. This player has good features but those are useless if it cannot read the disc 90% of the time, and freezes the 10% of the time it does work, which is what happened to me. I would have given it 2 stars, but a fellow reviewer also said his broke, so it gets a minimal rating from me.

Similar Products Used: Aiwa, ps2, dvd rom
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com