Yamaha DVD-S795 DVD Players

DVD-S795

User Reviews (17)

Showing 1-10 of 17  
Joseph Buhagiar   AudioPhile [Aug 15, 2012]

I have had the Yamaha S795 since year 1999/2000 - it is hooked to a Yamaha DSP-A2 - an excellent combination for may reasons since the two hand shake and change the many picture and sound combinations available automatically although you can adjust manually. However I mainly use the DSP setup for watching / hearing DVD films in surround. To me the DSP A2 is excellent for Digital Dolby 5.1 and especially DSP but no use to me for stereo.

More recently, I read a review about the sound quality of this S795 - connected it to a Grundig ZV 7500 Pre-amp, a Grundig Amp that can deliver 55RMS X 2 with guaranteed measured distortion (includinh intermodulation distortion) of less than .02 at 40HZ at iKHz and 22KHZ and I could not beieve it was so good at playing stereo and I have some very good dedicated CD Players. Using my 4 way canton floor stananding speakers which have 2 x 10 inch base units too, you would not need to change anything. Just leave the pre-amp at its default settings, loundness off too, and it jsut reproduces everything with the crisp and sound stage dimention that you would expect off a good player.

But like many said, whenever it likes, it just fails to load Original CDs ( I never tried copies.) Then I sometimes open and load same disc two or three times and finally it loads.

It is a pity that it does this. Rental DVD's are unpredicable too and disappointed my wife many times after she hired them and keen to come home and see them.

But Original DVD with the correct region, never failed to load.Never!!

So if anyone wants to Hear Elton John on DVD or Zuchero and many more DVD Music, it is a really good choice since its musicality and clarity is second to none in its class.

So if you want it for Origial DVD - Yes I recommend it.
Just keep a good CD Playaer next to it - since 1 out 50 sometimes it fails to laid a CD.

Joe

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Bogdan Manescu   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 29, 2002]
Strength:

Forget all the strength if it does not read DVD's...Do you like looking at blue-screens on TV?

Weakness:

Laser unit

Well, after reading the posted reviews I must make my comment too. This DVD-player is real crap regarding their laser-unit. I can play all DVD's on my IBM Thinkpad 600X, model year 1999 but my YAMAHA S795 refuses to read some of them. To pay 500 EUR for a hi-end product and the basic function of reading DVD's doesn't work is ....

Similar Products Used: Very many other PC-DVD-units which for a tenth of the price do read DVD's.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
MasterGoa   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 17, 2002]
Strength:

Picture quality is premium! Sound is fantastic.

Weakness:

Laser pick up is utter crap, so are Yamaha's politics. They lost me as a client. It is a 5 with reliability, but 0 right now.

Bad news. I bought this unit new with a 24 month warrenty. After 27 months, the unit will no longuer read DVD's. Yamaha will NOT repair the unit. Furthermore, they charge 320$ for a lazer pick-up while a Panasonic DVD player for a computer is 65$. I am sad :(

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
EXtor   Audio Enthusiast [May 27, 2002]
Strength:

Great Video and Audio quality, plays CD's as good as any Hi-End CD players. The built in AC-3 decoder

Weakness:

Not Region Code-free

This DVD player hast the best visual and audio quality, avaible at the next generation DVD player market !. In terms of both picture quality delivered to an analog set and sound quality produced (in either DVD or CD mode), I find that the S795 considerably more than meets my expectations. Overall, I can honestly say that I feel that this is the best unit for the best price.

Similar Products Used: Sony DVP-S560 Denon DVD-1500
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
paynehos   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 27, 2002]
Strength:

Good picture and sound

Weakness:

CDr-Rw playback

Well my sony 560d dvd player just all of a sudden stoped working took it into the store and they couldnt figure out what was wrong i saw this one on sell and thought that looks like a good deal from 700 to 400 bucks yet they gave me another 85 bucks off since i bought the other dvd player from them since it was only a year and half old. Took it home noticed a nice clear picture and better sound on my awia system i got connected to it if this was an great deal in my mind

Similar Products Used: Sony 560d
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Paul Trunzo   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 19, 2000]
Strength:

Simple design, minimal buttons, remote works well

Weakness:

Can hear disk spinning. Not a problem for action films or when the volume is up, but for quiet sceens it can drive you nuts.

Overall I like the picture and sound quality this DVD player provides. The black backgrounds are black, the
sound is clear, and the search features are clear. With
regard to the spinning noise, I went back to the retailer
and listened to the Yamaha demo as well as Sony, and Pioneer. All made the same annoying spinning sound except two models that were over $2500 each! I have since decided to purchase an audio rack that encloses all the units. This
should solve the problem

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Andi   Audiophile [May 10, 2000]
Strength:

Perfect picture and sound. Many connectors. Good OSD.

Weakness:

Read no CD-R and CD-RW.

For real Home Entertaiment buy this DVD Player. If you want to play audio CDR buy an Pioneer.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mark   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 17, 2000]
Strength:

video quality

Weakness:

none

I was able to upgrade to this unit from the s700 and the improvement is so great I can finally say I have a unit that is better than the first generation sony models. The dvd "earth girls are easy" was so spectacular. The s700 had started to pixelate after trying 3 different units from the store. They finally gave me the 795 (because the 796 will be out next month) and the improvement is like night and day. Yamaha was failing in the video market but they bounced back nicely with this unit.

Similar Products Used: s700 same manufacturer
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jim Brown   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 25, 1999]
Strength:

While I absolutely make no claims as to being an expert, I truly cannot find anything negative to say about this unit. I had no experience with DVD, or home theater beyond a VCR for that matter, prior to the purchase of this unit and the accompanying rebuild of the system to support it. Having had a system which consisted totally of Yamaha components for the past 12 years, I knew that that was the only way to go. While other manufacturers might have a better bell or whistle here or there, there is nothing that can beat the consistent, reliable quality of Yamaha no matter where your given price point falls. In accomplishing the rebuild of the system, I replaced my old Yamaha integrated amp and separate tuner with the Yamaha 2095 home theater receiver which has both the AC-3 and DTS decoder built into it. I used my old Polk SDA-1B speakers as the main speakers and added a Polk center speaker and 4 Polk bookshelf speakers for the surround channels. The DVD player is set up to deliver an undecoded digital bitstream to the receiver via its fiber-optic connection and all A/D conversion and decoding are done in the receiver. The television is a PROSCAN which is about 3 years old and is connected to the receiver using an s-video connection.

In terms of both picture quality delivered to an analog set and sound quality produced (in either DVD or CD mode), I find that the S795 considerably more than meets my expectations. In the area where I live I was able to acquire the unit from a major electronics retailer for $599 on sale. With regard to the mention below of "metallic sound," I find absolutely no problem with this; quite the opposite, actually. Not knowing what components/system the gentleman has surrounding his S795 unit, I would be inclined to to him to look elsewhere in his system for the problem's origin. Overall, I can honestly say that I feel that this is the best unit for the best price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 21, 2000]
Strength:

Thin case , power on/off remote / built in AC-3, QUICK DRAWER.

Weakness:

NO ZOOM!!!!!!!!! Remote could use some work , or I should put on my glasses!!!

Finally broke down on a DVD , I needed one that had built in AC-3 , the sony was terrible (sd-560) , and the toshiba dual tray was discontinued replaced by a much thicker 6 disc model. I don't have the space or I would have gone with the toshiba. Have played about 12 movies and all work fine, no problems on the Matrix. I have seen no artifacts and picture is fine. It does pause for about 1/2 second while switching layers but not a problem. I am only using a 25" TV so the lack of zoom is a real problem. Movie sound is good , but volume seems low , not as low as the sony though.I am not a video nut so can't say too much else about the picture quality. CD sound was a bit of a disappointment, my 89 JVC 444 sounding better with much more depth even with both units running digital out to Adcom 700 DAC. I had hoped to use the DVD as a CD transport and kill 2 birds with one stone. It also has a dialouge enhancer setting that works without a center channel , handy. I hope this unit continues to function and it doesn't have the problems that the Panasonic version has, they are supposed to be basically the same machine. Oh yes forgot to mention I have this running through a Yamaha 3 channel processor DSPe-492 for video use connected to my stereo . AR-07 + P-10 bi-amped to Energy e 5.1 mains with energy ESM-2 rears and es12 sub . Have to give it 3 for value , I paid $600 cdn, and overall 3 stars due to lack of zoom .

Similar Products Used: Sony , toshiba
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 17  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com