Yamaha DVD S1200 DVD Players

DVD S1200

Yamaha's DVD-S1200 DVD player does it all. It plays DVD-Audio discs as well as DVD-Video, CDs and VCDs. The DVD-S1200 can also playback CD-R/RW discs, DVD-RAM discs, and features interlaced and progressive scan video output.

Cinema Image recognizes a movie and softens the brightness for better viewing on coventional direct view TVs. It also improves the visibility of dark scenes and reduces picture noise.

The DVD-S1200 provides multiple audio outputs, including a 5.1-channel analog output, a two-channel analog output, and two digital outputs - one optical and one coaxial.

Seamlessly changes the aspect ratio so that conventional and widescreen videos can be seen to their best advantage.

The DVD-S1200 provides Virtual Surround, yielding a convincing surround experience through only two speakers. It also incorporates Yamaha's VSS, providing a surround experience using conventional stereo headphones.

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
JW   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 09, 2003]
Strength:

Progressive video

Weakness:

remote

This dvd player does a great job for both progressive video and audio.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
i_like_scotland   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 11, 2003]
Strength:

Good video and sound quality, it looks nice with my Yamaha DSP-AX2!

Weakness:

The remotecontrol is very cheap for a € 1200,- (euro) dvd-player.

I´am verry positive about this product, it has a good picture quality, and the DVD-A sound quality is great. I have bought this dvd-player in the Netherlands(Europe).

Similar Products Used: Yamaha DVD-S796
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
MiloDC   AudioPhile [Nov 28, 2002]
Strength:

Fantastic sound and picture quality right out of the box, very few tweaks required. Extensive sound and (especially) video customization features. Plays all media I've thrown at it thus far (DVD, DVD-A, CD -- and even DVD-R and DVD-RW, despite the claim in the manual that it sometimes can't play the former, and never plays the latter).

Weakness:

None. (No complaints about the remote; I virtually never use any packaged remote, since I have a Home Theater Master MX-500 universal remote.)

This is the fourth DVD player (excluding my PC DVD-ROM) that I've bought in about two years, and it has the best picture and audio quality of the four (the others were Sony, Pioneer, and Toshiba models). I'm using my S1200 with a Toshiba 50HP81 plasma display, a Yamaha RX-V2200 receiver, and an enhanced M&K 750 THX 6.1 speaker set-up. Like all of the Yamaha Natural Sound hardware that I've auditioned (I own three such units), the sound quality of the S1200 is excellent. DVD Audio and DVD Video discs play with pristine clarity and warmth. A friend of mine listened to "Never Going Back Again" off the Fleetwood Mac _Rumours_ DVD-A, and he thought that I was processing the sound through my receiver to make it sound live (Yamaha's Natural Sound products are typically that good). Sound separation and definition was a little better than that of my Toshiba SD-4800, and a lot better than my Pioneer DV-444. Another thing that I find particularly nice about this unit is its onscreen set-up interface. Audio and (especially) video set-up is very versatile and controllable, right down to a nitpicker's details, like separate sharpness controls for horizontal and vertical resolution, and three different digital processing settings for the reduction of picture granularity. Furthermore, unlike all of my other DVD players, this one is plasma display-friendly, with black level settings and a default picture quality that doesn't require me to crank my display's brightness and black extension way down or way up. Lastly, it played the DVD-R's and DVD-RW's that I put into it with no apparent problem, even though the manual states that it doesn't like DVD-R's, and that it flat-out won't play DVD-RW's.

Similar Products Used: Sony (don't remember model), Pioneer DV-444, Toshiba SD-4800.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
aaron smith   AudioPhile [Oct 22, 2002]
Strength:

GOOD PICTURE QUALITY, GREAT SOUND, GREAT FEATURES!!!

Weakness:

STUPID UNCOMFORTABLE LOUSY RETARDED REMOTE, THE WORST REMOTE I HAVE EVER USED IN MY ENTIRE LIFE ON ANY DEVICE!!!!

I love this unit but it sometimes has problems reading scratched dvd discs from rental stores. My pioneer dvd-rom player in my computer plays scratched rental dvd's fine. The audio and picture is great. The remote on the other hand is lousy!!! My only complaint really, is the remote!!! It is built for some tiny child for Romper Room Play-school. One would think,for a $ 1,000 player it should come with a nice chrome plated remote with a nice button layout and it should be comfortable in your hand, it most definately isn't!!! Did Yamaha even think on this??? My suspicion is that this s1200 is a Panasonic model with a cheap-ass remote. Panasonic makes good dvd players but with real lousy remotes.

Similar Products Used: TOSHIBA DVD PLAYER, SAMSUNG DVD PLAYER, PIONEER DVD PLAYER, PANASONIC DVD PLAYER
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Rafael Adames   AudioPhile [May 24, 2002]
Strength:

Value(good price)Equipment is well finished and solid. You can immediately see and feel the difference between this Good old toy" and the other"knock offs"

Weakness:

The remote ergonomics are awful. Too many buttons in such small area. The company should either redesign the remote or give the buyers vouchers for eye doctors.

Picture quality excellent.The progressive scan mode gives the movie "a new life".I would reccomend this player to any movie and audio buff.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Scott   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 10, 2002]
Strength:

Picture and Audio Quality Media support (DVD-Audio, DVD-Video, MP3''s on CD-R/CD-RW, etc.)

Weakness:

Glitches with certain software titles

The DVD S1200 can do a lot in one player, i.e. DVD-Audio, MP3''s on a CD-R or CD-RW, etc. DVD-Audio titles sound particularly impressive (Blue Man Group''s Audio is just thunderous!). Compared with other DVD-Audio/SACD-capable units now hitting the market for hundreds less (March 2002), it''s not quite the value it was back in September 2001. Picture and sound quality are excellent when the unit is "happy" with the media being played. When it''s not, the unit can be very glitchy. You can''t select chapters without locking up the unit and the layer switch is a 1 to 2 second pause with "The Matrix" DVD. I recently tried to play Dream Theater''s new CD "Six Degress of Inner Turbulence" and got garbled audio on the S1200, but it played fine on any other CD player. On the other hand, it was able to handle the Terminator 2 Ultimate Edition DVD with no problems, which is a title that caused problems on my previous DVD player. Overall, the S1200 is impressive with most software titles, but the mentioned "glitches" in a unit at this price are unforgiveable.

Similar Products Used: Previous generation Yamaha DVD Players (which are Panasonic clones)
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
alexkidd   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 26, 2002]
Strength:

Very nice picture. Better than the Denon progressive scan model I compared it too. DVD-Audio (although I''m not sure thats really a strength).

Weakness:

The Remote Blows. It is easily the worst remote I have ever encountered. The buttons are tiny, you have to point the damn thing directly at the machine arms outstretched, and the batteries weigh down the top end of the remote so it feels very unnatural in your hand. I cant say enough bad things about it. Parts quality see above.

I bought this player in September of 2001. It worked beutifully without any problems until February. This month I put in two different DVD''s and half way through both the screen would pixilize and tiling occured until the machine shut itself down. I had it replaced with a brand new unit, plugged that one in put in a disc and the the player wouldnt read the disc. It was broken right out of the box. I took it back to Tweeter and they did some troubleshooting on the replacement and had no idea what was wrong. The damn thing just didnt work. The picture on the unit when it worked was superior and the sound was very good as well. However, with the problems I had with the player, (having to take it back twice for a new one), I would advise any to buy this unit at their own risk. You may have good luck, but I would not reccommend this unit. Luckily, Tweeter let me exchange the Yamaha player for the Sony 9000ES model for no extra charge (even though retail its a higher priced player.). I dont know how many DVD players Yamaha has on the market, but I would be wary of their products at this stage in the game.

Similar Products Used: Denon, progressive scan (not sure model type)
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
george xxxxxx   Audiophile [Nov 14, 2001]
Strength:

a little noise only when you play dvd audio at the only when it change from one song to another one no when is playing

Weakness:

remote control small touch tone in wrong position in the low part of the remote control

in general is a good machine i'm using for play movies with
rgb color cables red,blue,green but when you play a dvd audio is fantastic the sound big difference i bought the dvd audio Jazz at the movies terrific really have a nice sound i spend $1200. canadian money it play also all my cd-r
i can tell you my friend side cd is excellent
if you like to try the format dvd audio you don't regreat
another gadget if you live it on for long time it gonna shut done automatically i'm very happy with.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com