Yamaha DVD-C900 DVD Players

DVD-C900

5-DISC DVD/CD changer with Dolby Digital/DTS - 10-bit/27MHz video DAC - 24-bit/96kHz audio DACs - S-video and component video outputs - Optical and coaxial digital audio outputs

User Reviews (41)

Showing 1-10 of 41  
PATRICK   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 07, 2003]
Strength:

looks dam good on my rack when it wants to work?

Weakness:

your kidding right? o.k. no hd cd's or rewritables and bad remote.

WELL I DID NOT EXPECT THIS FROM YAMAHA . Last week i saw a demo model for $94.00 and laughed my way quietly out the back door with said unit in hand . Oh i figured those boy's at tweeker must of had aball with this one.heah you know leaving it on non stop for 18 months collecting ungodly amounts of dust ,having it subjected to proding hands ,bogus enron induced power surges ect.Well i'm not laughing now.better have them boy's at tweeter fix it quick before my warranty runs out,it seems my unit has alittle problem stuttering too!

Similar Products Used: denon, b&k ,parasound ,nad .
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
cris kelly   AudioPhile [Mar 13, 2002]
Strength:

nice box

Weakness:

does noy play all the dts movies,cd`s skip,poor remote,unit has a very slow response,player stops during a movie for no reason,over priced,unit lets go a raunchy scent when tray opens,no power on off from ugly remote and much more....

shame on you Yamaha for making this degrading machine and then selling it on the market.

Similar Products Used: sony,hitachi and toshiba
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Dan Beeder   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 18, 2000]
Strength:

Good picture and sound, nice looking

Weakness:

limited CD shuffle capability

This is my first DVD player. I bought this unit because I already own a Yamaha receiver, and this DVD player is purported to have better sound reproduction than the Sony DVD changers I looked at first. The secondary reason was because I always wanted to have multi-disk CD "shuffle" capability for parties, long afternoons, etc. As for DVD capabilities, the picture and sound quality are excellent and I have had no skipping or disc reading problems (though I have only played 3 DVDs in the unit). Nevertheless, the unit did not fulfill my secondary reason - CD shuffle. It turns out the unit only has a partial shuffle capability (Yamaha calls it "Random mode"). Specifically, if you put 5 discs in and hit random, the unit will play random selections from *one CD only* until all tracks on that disk are spent, then randomly choose another disk and play all songs on that CD randomly, and so on. I confirmed this by calling Yamaha Customer Service, who said it was "too hard" to have a true shuffle mode on a unit that can also play DVDs....Puhleeease! As far I as I know, Sony is doing it! What advantage does this Random mode offer? I might as well just play 5 CDs in row.
I am returning the unit to the store tommorrow. I guess I will go with Sony (assuming it DOES have a true shuffle).

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
mike   [Jan 24, 2000]

Got my problem fixed!!!!

Some DVD have problems. The Matrix was the worst. As it turns out, there is a firmware upgrade that makes everything better.
Check out http://pcfriendly.com/en/support/title/matrix/consumer_usa.htm

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brian   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 01, 2000]
Strength:

Looks nice, plays great.

Weakness:

May need firmware upgrade


Purchased the C900 recently. I wanted to get a Yamaha DVD model because I have a Yamaha receiver and really liked the performance and look and feel of the unit.

I originally had a 1st generation Denon unit. The Denon was okay, but didn't have component video, couldn't read DTS disks and the transport was rather loud ... at quiet parts of movies I could really hear the disk spinning.

So far, I have played about 10+ DVDs in the Yamaha and it's a really nice player. Great picture and sound, and it is VERY quiet. I can't hear the disk spinning, which is nice. The screensaver is a nice touch too. I have a 56" Panasonic widescreen, and the video is excellent. Anamorphic DVDs are especially enjoyable.

One problem -- "The Matrix" had playback problems on my unit. I contacted Yamaha and they said there is a firmware upgrade for early models of the C900. I did have to pay to mail it to their service center, but the fix was free and they pay to send it back.

Supposedly, newer builds of the C900 already have the fix. According to Yamaha, you can determine if your unit is "new" if it has a gold, green or blue sticker near the serial number on the rear panel.

I'm giving the unit 5 stars. They really make nice, high-quality, great-looking stuff, and their customer service is great too.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave Mayer   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 24, 2000]
Strength:

Nice looking unit

Weakness:

CD and DVD disks are constantly locking up or going into repeat mode

I have experienced constant problems with DVD's locking up (not just pauses) and CDs skipping or repeating. The only way to get past the lock-up is to start the movie over and skip to next chapter. I have tried 3 of these units and they all have the same problem.

Also, have a problem with image rapidly jiggling up and down. This only appears while viewing special features on certain disks. Don't ask me why.

Also, had a problem with the only DTS encoded disk that I have tried. It wouldn't play the audio correctly while in DTS mode. The audio seemed to rapidly drop the audio then regain it resulting in a scratchy sound. Had to switch to Dolby Digital before it would play correctly.

The unit seems very picky about disk quality. I am constantly removing CDs and DVDs looking for scratches, smudges, etc. and cleaning the disks. Never had to do this with my Sony ES series CD changer. The cycle time for changing disks and finding tracks is significantly slower than my Sony CD changer. Don't know if this is a "feature" of DVD players or just another problem with Yamaha's design. I plan to try another brand (probably Sony) to see if I have better luck.

Similar Products Used: Sony ES CD changer
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Anthony   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 20, 2001]
Strength:

When it works it has great sound and video reproduction and a solid turntable.

Weakness:

read on...

For the first few months I had no problems with this unit when I purchased it in march 2000. Like the other reviews state, all of a sudden, mid-movie the player would just stop reading and reset like there was not even a disc in it. The only way to get past this was to skip to the next chapter. It seemed only to happen say about 1 out of every 4 movies and usually into an hour or so into the movie. Sometimes it would happen just once, other times it would continually do it to the point where i'd skipped so much of the movie I would just shut it off. I can't believe after all the money I paid i'm having a problem as huge as this. And the best part - I returned my original unit and got a replacement from yamaha and now this one is doing the same thing. That's 2 units now. I'm currently talking to Yamaha and if I do not get a response I am definately taking this to the next step - small claims court.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Todd Hay   Audiophile [Feb 23, 2001]
Strength:

Fantastic Picture, Awesome Sound. However...

Weakness:

Stopped working after 3 mos. I've been through 3

I must say, this was a very disappointing experience. the c900 was a fantastic player, when it worked. The picture and sound quality are fantastic.

However, after 3 mos. It stopped working. Movies would quit half way through, eventually getting to a point when the system won't even recognize any DVDs.

I returned the first unit and got a replacement.

Later, I had the same problem. This time, I got it repaired. The laser was shot.

Now, 6mos later, I have the same problem again. Needless to say, It's going back to Yamaha, and I am searching for a new player.

Similar Products Used: none, yet.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Jason   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 19, 2001]
Strength:

Picture & Sound Quality, ability to change 4 discs while playing

Weakness:

Remote, stall problems, tray doesn't "fully" open when stopped

Bought it a year ago and was able to get a 3 year warrenty thrown in(lucky). Worked great for six months then wham, you'd have thought I'd dropped it. Miscellaniously stopped when playing, fastforwarding, chapter skipping, etc. Brought it back, and the repair man said it was just dirty. Yeah right. Took it home, did the same thing again. Brought it back again, and they had it for four weeks, when i got it back, they had changed the laser pick up. Brought it home two months ago, and it's worked great ever since. The player has a great picture for a non-progressive machine, better than any of the three others I've tried. I watch it on my Sony KP-53HS30 tv, and what a stunning picture. It does also have better cd sound than my 10 year old pioneer ld player(401) but take that however you want. You can't buy these anymore, and I wouldn't recomend it anyway, see all the rest of these reviews. But if you have one and it's giving you trouble, the above fix has worked excellent for me. I would have rated this machine a four if there had been no trouble.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer, Toshiba, Panasonic
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
JF   Casual Listener [Sep 25, 2000]
Strength:

Sound and picture.

Weakness:

Doesn't work - so any strengths don't really matter.

I had problems with this unit from the beginning, but I just
was too dense to realize that they were symptoms of something bigger. From the beginning, on some DVDs the player would just stop dead and return to idle. No freezing, no skipping, just bam - you're done. I thought this was due to bad DVDs (some of them were rentals).

A while later, however, it started happening more and more. Then, all of the sudden, it would not recognize any discs at all. No CDs, No DVDs. I had to take it back to where I got it and they putzed around with it for a bit over a month (with many false starts). I got it back finally about two weeks ago. We played a couple movies and everyting looked ok --- and then...

It happened again. No picking up of any disks. I am now in the process of getting it replaced and Tweeter has said that they will work with me to return and replace it with something else.

If I had found this site earlier, I could have saved myself a bunch of trouble. Looking through the posts here, it seems that my experience is not far off the mark.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 41  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com