Toshiba SD-9100 DVD Players

SD-9100

Single disc DVD/CD player with Dolby Digital/DTS - 10-bit/27MHz video DAC - 24-bit/96kHz audio DACs - ColorStream Proâ„¢ (480p) component video output - S-video and composite video output - Coaxial digital audio output

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
James Kyte   Audiophile [Jan 18, 2000]
Strength:

progressive scan

Weakness:

none yet

The picture with the progressive scan outputs blew me away. I have the SD-9100 hooked up to my Toshiba TW65H80 set and calibrated all with the Video Essentials DVD. Once the set is properly adjusted you won't believe the detail, clarity and detail you've been missing!!! The picture has a very rich film like texture to me. Very, very clear and has a three demensional quality to it. Comes pretty close to the 1080i pictures I've seen on the Mitsubishi, Pioneer sets.
This is the best picture I've seen from any DVD player yet.
Only downside is that a few adjustments are not available at the progressive outputs. But, I was able to set up properly on my projection set.
If you have a set with progressive scan inputs that are matched to the toshiba SD-9100, then you are in for a treat!!!
Matched with the Toshiba TW65H80 this is like being at the local cinema and its pretty damn close to the hdtv signal that we will be getting one day SOON I hope

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Philip Belleau   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 07, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent CD audio sound and video quality

Weakness:

None yet

Well I had an opportunity to do a 3 way comparison between this unit and the Sony 7700 as well as the Pioneer DV-09 in a hi-fi shop about 2 weeks ago. I had intentions of using a single DVD machine as a CD player as well as DVD in one unit in an attempt to reduce the number of components in one of my systems (that system currently has a Denon 1650AR CD player), anyway my first exposure to using DVD machines for standard audio CD playback was a huge disappointment to say the least, they sound OK with DVD's but as soon as you feed it a standard CD they sound dull and lack dynamics. When I walked into this hi-fi shop I had just started getting educated in the "progressive scan" machines and had at that point decided that I would save my coin for one of those since I had already dismissed the possibilities of using a single machine to cover both formats. I had the salesman connect all three machines to a single Pioneer Elite receiver using identical MIT interconnects and I proceeded to audition the units first using some half decent Senheiser headphones since I find that with unfamiliar speakers/room acoustics the headphones easily show the differences, anyway it was a bit of a shock when the Toshiba simply put the Sony to shame! The salesman agreed and so now we went to the 35lb Pioneer reference unit, I expected it to make the Toshiba sound like the way the Toshiba made the Sony sound but guess what? The Pioneer didn't do that at all! I think to be totally honest that the Sony sounded better than the Pioneer and that the Toshiba simply outdid them both easily! The salesman called in half of the staff for their opinion(they had not compared DVD machines solely on CD audio quality before) and it was an obvious choice. Bravo Toshiba!

I am for the most part a Sony fan when it comes to video but what can I say?

The next real test for me is to now compare the Toshiba to the new Panasonic HD-1000 progressive scan monster unit, at this point I don't know what to expect, all I know is that this Toshiba has excellent CD audio sound quality. I haven't yet connected it to my system where the audiophile Denon CD player resides but I am now comparing it to a decent 20Bit SL-P999 from Technics (yes Technics, unit has 4 Burr-Brown Dacs and no muting transistors, it uses a relay in the output as most decent machines do) and there is practically no difference in sound quality.

Similar Products Used: Sony 7700, Pioneer DV-09
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
James Polk   Audiophile [Sep 02, 2000]
Strength:

Rock solid Build quality, fantastic picture, most conceiveable features, PROGRESSIVE

Weakness:

Price

When combined with my TW65X81: this unit allows me to see the whiskers on faces; the eye lines on faces that aren't in close-up; I cannot see scanlines like I could with my fairly new Hitachi RPTV.

I did a comparison with these two units right next to my prior units (Hitachi Ultravision and Pioneer Elite DVL-90 DVD player) with the same movie playing in both DVD's -- almost synced exactly, and the difference was literally night and day.

The Priest in '5th Element' had whiskers with the Toshiba combo, where I merely saw a gray shaded face with the old units. Freezeframes look like crystal clear JPEG's with the Toshiba's.

Doing the same syncing with 'Stargate' -- I saw sand grains with the Toshiba's, but only blond color with the older units (that I thought were top of the line).

My Elite is in the bedroom on an Interlaced screen now... and the Hitachi is at the in-laws... who are enjoying it.

The price is steep! But I found it brand new and 1/2 off on the 'Net. VERY much worth that price. Also read where Home Theater Mag a few months ago compared the Toshiba's to Runco's setup -- and they (claim) the Toshiba looked better. I haven't gone to this extreme, as I can't afford the Runco's... but to even hint that there was a comparison to arguably the Best in the Business is worthy of me plucking down significantly less money and enjoying these two units EVERY TIME I TURN THEM ON!!!

I have to admit, when I bought the Hitachi in 97, I looked at Toshiba, and was very much underwhelmed with their offerings. It took a lot to pay this much for their tainted image (in my mind). The TW65X81 has only "controls" problems (too many commands to make the unit do what I believe are simple tasks I did all the time with the Hitachi). But the outcome (picture) is not comparable. I haven't found a flaw in any part of the SD9100; not even a hint of one.

I do understand having both is a key thing -- I wanted to replace both my units for this combination and it's paying off for me in spades!

Similar Products Used: None known
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jason Walter   Audiophile [Mar 21, 2000]
Strength:

PROGRESSIVE SCAN! - lots of connection options, excellent audio section

Weakness:

4:3 / non-anamorphic material stretched on non-Toshiba displays

Within a week of setting up my Mitsubishi WS-55805 widescreen RPTV, I knew my Yamaha DVD player wasn't up to the display's capability. The Toshiba was just the upgrade I needed - WOW! What a difference progressive scan makes!

Anamorphic material is excellent! There is virtually no video noise present in a progressive scan image. Because the Toshiba outputs signals via every connection available, I was able to set-up both sets of component outs (interlaced and progressive) to each of the inputs on the Mitsubishi (input-3 component and HDTV component). I currently run this not only to awe myself at the wonder of progressive, but to also have the flexibility to have the best possible picture when 4:3 or non-anamorphic material is being viewed. When the Mitsubishi senses 480p (progressive), it stretches the picture and locks out the formatting controls (something to do with meeting HDTV requirements, I believe). Therefore, I use my regular components on non-anamorphic material then zoom to keep proportion and eliminate most of the black bars. I have been a lot more selective on my DVD purchases - ANAMORPHIC is the only way to go with a 16:9 display.

The audio section of the Toshiba SD-9100 is also FAR superior to the Yamaha it replaced. Right off the bat, I noticed that dialog was easier to understand, dynamic range and transients were much improved, as was the overall soundstage.

I think the value is pretty good - of course it'd be nice to see the price come down, however, it's a new product and that's to be expected. I only gave the SD-9100 4 stars due to the fact that it doesn't "fix" 4:3 or non-anamorphic video to display properly on the Mitsubishi widescreen.

Side note: I've heard that on Toshiba widescreens that the 4:3 output does display correctly. Also, the Panasonic DVD-H1000 has a work around for 4:3 material for all widescreens (might be my next "upgrade" if I can confirm and justify the extra $$$$). I think the "problem" might be more Mitsubishi's fault than the Toshiba, however, I'm still quite pleased with this combination.

-Jason

Toshiba SD-9100
Mitsubishi WS-55805
Yamaha DSP-A1
Paradigm (all the way around)

Similar Products Used: 1st generation Toshiba, Yamaha S1000, Yamaha S700
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris Crawford   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 02, 1999]
Strength:

Perfect picture with no lines or flicker

Weakness:

price

The movie theater is dead. Why pay 7.50 for a movie when a superior viewing experience can be had at home

Similar Products Used: older toshiba DVD Player
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Dub   Audiophile [Feb 17, 2001]
Strength:

Best Picture I've seen from a DVD player. Progressive Scan as well.

Weakness:

EXPENSIVE.

I wanted to purchase a progressive scan DVD player so I would be ready for when I purchased a TV that was compatible with progressive scan. So right now I'm using a Toshiba Cinema Series 35" Tube that does NOT have progressive scan input. Even without the progressive scan, this DVD player has the best picture I have ever seen. I used to have the Pioneer 525 DVD player. It was a great unit. Especially for the money. However, there is no comparison with the Toshiba. The picture is clearer, sharper, more refined looking - just better looking all the way around. For those that think a DVD player is just a DVD player - think again! I see a HUGE difference between these two units. And I loved my Pioneer. I can't wait to see what this will look like using progressive scan! 5 stars for Overall Rating, 4 stars for Value - because it's $2000 new.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer 525.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Scott   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 03, 1999]
Strength:

Great color

Weakness:

Pathetic 4:3 downconversion

The good:

This player has exceptional color, better than a Yamaha model I had hooked up for a few days. I use the progressive jacks because I have a TN55X81 progressive capable set. The sound is good. Remote is backlit. Unit has solid construction.

The Bad:

This player has adjustable settings for tint, sharpness, contrast, color etc., BUT they aren't available in progressive output.. which was the whole purpose of this player.

The 4:3 for widescreen DVDs downconversion is really bad. Motion artifacts, distorted faces in a crowd. I don't think it could be any worse.

The remote is a lot bigger than most.

Final comments:

If you have a 16:9 480p capable TV, this is a outstanding player. If you plan on buying such a TV, I would recommend it also. If you have a 4:3 TV with 16:9 squeeze mode I recommend it.

If you have a 4:3 TV without squeeze mode (like all the toshiba models), I would look for a unit with better downconversion.

Its hard to assign a rating to this player because if you have the right set up, it is definitely 5 stars. If you don't have the right setup, it equates to a $300 model. Since it costs $1000, I have to give it a 2 for the bad downconversion.

So make it a 3. I don't think most people have all the right equipment to get the most of this player. Its a pitty, all they had to do was make downconversion in this player comparable with the Pioneers etc, but they dropped the ball. Maybe they should get online and read what people say everyonce in a while.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Michael Hiatt   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 07, 2000]
Strength:

Progressive Scan, Build Quality

Weakness:

None yet.

Purchased to replace my Sony 7700. Using this unit with the Sony 53XBR300. Picture quality is much more detailed and 3D with 480p rather than 480i. The picture was slightly darker than the 7700 but that was easy to correct with brightness and contrast. No lip-sync problems or any other problems so far. Build quality is excellent. Recommend! A great value at $999.00 from www.onecall.com.

Similar Products Used: Sony 7700
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jim   Audiophile [Mar 09, 2000]
Strength:

Progressive scan, build quality.

Weakness:

NONE.

The best DVD player available money can buy. The only other dvd player currently outputing "progressive scan" video is produced by Panasonic, and they're asking $2500 retail for theirs!
A previous reviewer posted a negative review of the SD9100 based upon his interpretation of an E-town review for the unit. DISREGARD! He obviously misinterpreted the E-town review. The SD9100 produces "component" video like the previous Toshiba flagship model, the SD9000. The only distinction between the two players is the progressive scan optional output for the SD9100. Once you've seen progressive scan video, you can't go back. This is nothing against normal component video, it's just that everything is more 3 dimensional, and filmlike in progressive mode. Colors are so much more saturated...it's frankly, incredible. But, of course, you'll have to own a progressive capable display to take advantage of the SD9100s best attribute...Suggestion: Buy one, and don't look back. Best home theater investment I've made thus far, bar none.

5 stars? Well, if any player is deserving of a 5 star rating, the SD9100 certainly is. Frankly, the SD9100 produces the finest DVD production money can buy, at a reasonable price. Nothing tops it to date!

Similar Products Used: Sony 7700, Toshiba SD9000
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Stephen Jennings   Audiophile [Apr 24, 2000]
Strength:

Wonderful picture quality. Plays DVDs and CD equally well. Great remote. Easy to use.

Weakness:

none

Compared with Pioneer Elite DV-09. Toshiba just as good with picture quality, better sound and it is $500 cheaper! Plus, this is progressive scan. Best bang for your buck. Highly recommended.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com