Sony DVP-S570D DVD Players

DVP-S570D

built-in Dolby Digital decoding and a 5.1 channel output for connection to a 5.1-ready receiver.

User Reviews (106)

Showing 1-10 of 106  
Brian Sparks   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 28, 2003]
Strength:

What it plays, it plays well.

Weakness:

Only plays pre-recorded DVDs, pre-recorded Audio CDs and pre-recorded video CD's

This is directly from SONY's on-line support. Sums up my bad feelings regarding this unit. "The following disc formats are supported by the Sony® DVD players. DVD Video Video CD Audio CD IMPORTANT: CDR, CDRW, DVDR, and DVDRW discs cannot be played on the DVD player. NOTE: The data portion of an enhanced audio CD is not supported."

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
dan   AudioPhile [Aug 18, 2003]
Strength:

people have posted DIY fixes on the web, avoiding Sony's $100 fee to fix the problem.

Weakness:

Usable life 1.5 to 3 years. Not enough for a $300 dvd player.

Just search google on "sony c:13:00" to see your fate if you purchase this player. It overheats and is underdesigned, and though at least thousands of people have issues with their Sony dvd players, Sony won't fix them. See, there's this little fuse, see, and it blows after a couple years. Sign of impending doom (where my player is now) is not being able to finish a movie without skipping and starting over.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
studranger2   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 16, 2003]
Strength:

got it far less than lion

Weakness:

none

lion must be in la la land to pay that price for a 3 yr old dvd player lololo--they saw you coming pal

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
lion   AudioPhile [Mar 14, 2003]
Strength:

sound quality is very nice, over 115dB out of the analogs, video quality is bright, crisp and clear, looks best on high definition tv's

Weakness:

No progressive scan, bad DVD rentals are a pain, occasionally has trouble scanning and switching tracks on some cd's, not all, it's the same ones every time, don't know why it singled these paticular ones out, and not the others and does not play cd-r's for my mixes, a little overpriced; it doesn't have enough for $600 msrp - I read one review that said Sony pulls msrp's out their ass, well it was true for this dvd player

I got it because it was the most expensive DVD player at the store. I thought that there has to be a reason. I later saw that this was very foolish. However, the sound quality is acceptable out of the multichannel outputs, I like playing cd's with it. The music sounds overall, detailed and pleasant. I read a few reviews that said it sold only because of looks. I don't know, even if it has a few flaws, I am still thoroughly satisfied with this DVD player. I saw it hidden under a shelf mounted on a "bracket." It hooked up to a Panasonic plasma tv. This was under one of the Lifestyle Bose system demos. They were using the DVP-S570D instead of using the Bose system itself. Maybe the Bose demo was broken. Or maybe they just liked the DVP-S570D.

Similar Products Used: I looked at some pioneers, jvc's, and considered panasonics
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Michael   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 21, 2003]
Strength:

Plays CDs OK

Weakness:

Most DVDs jump, skip, freeze, don't play. Very frustrating.

Nice looking unit, about 8 months after purchase I started to get skipping and freezing, then c:13:00 errors, no disc errors. Initially I was returning the DVD's because I thought they were faulty. I now know its the player, but not in time before the warranty expired. I tried laser alignment and running with the cover off - no good. I've become quite expert at polishing the DVD's to a high gloss. I'm ready to junk it and call it a loss. What a waste of good green.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
ATKAR   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 01, 2003]
Strength:

Aesthetics, image & sound quality, ease of use.

Weakness:

Initial playback problems until I sent it back to Sony for repair. Bright silver WEGA style doesn't match the rest of my black equipment.

I purchased mine new on eBay. Had no problems for about 5 months, then I started getting the C13 error everyone else seems to have experienced. Started out only occasionally, and usually with rented disks in poor shape, but got progressively worse. After a couple of months, it became completely unusable. Since it was still under warranty, I took it in to a local authorized Sony service center who sent it back to Sony for repair. Absolutely NO PROBLEMS SINCE! The player now functions flawlessly, even with rough rentals. We probably average a half dozen movies per week and at least triple that usage with CDs. Techs at the service center told me that the laser needed realignment and a component on the PCB (either a resistor or capacitor - I don't remember specifically) had to be replaced. Sony obviously didn't get their initial QC right on this model, but did a fine job they got it back for repair. I'd now give it a solid 4 for performance, image & sound quality and ease of use. The remote is fairly easy to learn and I love the Jog dial for controlling FF/RW and single-frame advance. My gear: Carver TFM-25 powering a Polk Audio RM-1000 Passive Sub Pair of Carver Silver 7t mono blocks each driving a single B&W Nautilus 802 Carver CM-1090 for center and surround channels Carver CT-28V Pre-amp Pioneer Elite SP-99D Dolby Digital & DTS decoder ProScan 27" CRT TV

Similar Products Used: Recently replaced the Sony with an Integra DPS-8.3 (Paid $1100) for addition of DVD-A and SACD capabilities
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
glenonoka   AudioPhile [Jan 24, 2003]
Strength:

Brand Name

Weakness:

Lasted only 1.5 years

Lasted about 1 1/2 years, then no disc errors regardless of whether I played a DVD or CD. Unfortunatly, I this is my second Sony that lasted 1.5 years only to have it die with the same no disc errors. Called Sony, and they stated they had no known issues with their dvd palyers dying. Beware. I won't be buying another Sony DVD player.

Similar Products Used: SONY DVP_S530D
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
studranger2   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 29, 2002]
Strength:

ALL

Weakness:

NONE

again a review--dont know what the ch 13 is all about--owned mine for going on 2 yrs--no probs lol and i log on about 15 hrs a week--thats 60 HRS a month--no probs here--like i been saying=luck of the draw--you get a good one--goes on and on and on--luckily lolo i got the luck of the draw-sorry to all that didnt

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
NOSony Dontbuy   AudioPhile [Dec 27, 2002]
Strength:

All the Bells & Whistles it claims to have, plus it's look.

Weakness:

Not all the Bells & whistles work. It freezes up every time I use it. For 20% of the MSRP you can buy a better DVD player, that actually plays your DVD's. Sony can't help here, maybe this product should be pulled & scrapped.

Silver DVP-S570D within a year: Same issue I keep hearing are here in my player. I've seen the C13 error, mostly i keep reinserting the disk, it will eventually play or never at all, DVD standars can be that way, but it does not accomplish all the to-do's it claims. It does pause between layers, a little too noticeable, DOES FREEZE, RESET & FLAT SEIZE UP. Can you guess where my issue is! Unit looks nice & some of it's functions are pretty good. However... I wouldn't buy a 3 wheel Jaguar much less replace this with another Sony. What frustrates me is that it's just a DVD player, C13 most of the time no big deal, pauses between layers, so what, freezes & locks up guarenteed within 1-2 hours of play, I can't handle this. I feel I've invested $500.00 into Enron. Just in case you need to know, I turn off the unit 1-5 minutes & resume play after finding where it froze. In some cases I've just played the disk in my Sony Playstation 2 hmm.. Maybe they could have used that DVD player in this unit, oh bother. In any regard if your reading this please join our club, you have been scre**d, just accept & move on. If your lucky like me I kept the box in prestine condition, I plan on giving it as an expensive gift to that "one relative" like it was new with no receipt. I was hoping to find more help or advice via online, after reading some of these posts, I'm just going to go buy a 100.00 DVD with a good rating. You win some & Sony loses some. Tisk tisk.

Similar Products Used: P2 P1 Various other, no unusaul complaints. Sony is OK, just this DVD player & my being out 500 peeves me a bit.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
mfbullen   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 20, 2002]
Strength:

Works fine until the warranty runs out. Then it's a great paper weight.

Weakness:

Piece of junk? Hello? 'Nuff said!

Can I give this dog the equivalent of leaving a bad waiter a penny? How about 1/4 star? I think Sony is having serious trouble figuring out how to build good DVD players. Seeing how they invented CD technology, this is especially a joke. I first bought a 5 disc DVD/CD changer, that died after a year or so. Out of warranty of course. It was fairly cheap and not worth fixing for the cost (around $200), so I figured it was a fluke and bought the DVP-S570D. After the warranty, this one is on the fritz too. Freezes, pixelation, delays between layers (on it's best days) and skipping. It's like watching Schizophrenia theater, without the fun. The rest of my A/V equipment (TV, receiver, VCR) is Sony and the equipment is rock solid, but the DVD players have been junk. Will never buy another DVD player with Sony on the front again. Maybe Sony likes raking in the $$$ for junk players, but my idea of a DVD player isn't disposable.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 106  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com