Sony DVP-S360 DVD Players

DVP-S360

plays DVD-Video discs and CDs SmoothScan search SmoothSlow forward/reverse optical and coaxial digital outputs for Dolby Digital/DTS/PCM DVD/CD Text Custom Parental Control (50-disc) Digital Cinema Sound modes Virtual Enhanced Surround

User Reviews (634)

Showing 1-10 of 634  
Chris   Casual Listener [Sep 07, 2007]
Strength:

None

Weakness:

C13

ATTENTION EVERYONE!!! CLASS ACTION NOTICE!!!! EVEN if you DON'T still own this product!!!!!
This is a link to a settlement that Sony was forced into on this and many other models!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
http://esupport.sony.com/perl/news-item.pl?news_id=166&mdl=DVPS360

Customer Service

You know.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Teresa   Casual Listener [Jun 06, 2006]
Strength:

It worked well until it died!

Weakness:

There was no indication the unit was having a problem until the "NO DISC" error message appeared and then it was too late.

Well, I spoke with SONY yesterday to inquire about where I could take my DVP-S360 for repair/replacement because after trying numerous troubleshooting options, I was unable to reverse the "NO DISC" error message when there was a disc in the player's tray. I do plan to post a complaint at the class action suit site because the only thing SONY would do for me was send me a refurbished replacement unit for $147 and change. They were quick to point out that if I used a UPS authorized shipper, they would give me a "discount" on the cost to ship the unit to them. "They have an agreement!" Boy, it seems as if SONY isn't the only entity that is making money on their less than quality electronic devices. I won't buy another and sure won't be sending their unit back to them to further support their ability to provide a "refurbished replacement" to another consumer. Thanks to all for their posts to this site.

Customer Service

Phone contact was pleasant but with this unit having so many problems, I feel SONY should be doing more for their consumer. Because I now know that they are aware of the huge numbers of faulty units, I will not buy another SONY product again. Grade - FAILING!

Similar Products Used: Kenwood Home Stereo Components, JVC Home Theater Components, Zenith TV (a dinosaur but after 20 years - it recently died!), Samsung HD LCD TV
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
John-Kenneth   Casual Listener [Aug 21, 2005]
Strength:

The true strenths of this equipment is that if you only play cd's not DVD's and your friends see it they will think you have very good stuff. that is if they are as high a kite, and can not read english and never read any one of the rewviews on this web-site

Weakness:

IT'S A SONY - IT IS A SONY! They brake down slighty ahead of their time! Buy Marantz Made in the good old USA somewhere near Chicago or Dennon or if you have money Buy Mac

Wow!The Sony dvp S360 Is better than my 8track, and beta machine. When the darn things works wrong it can not eat a tape, and the way the Sony DVP S360 works I would have a lot of broken tapes by now. After seeing this web-site maybe we all should meet behind an old stereo store and start a support group. I use the "DVD" player as a over priced Cd player now. There are so many troubles with this crappy DVD player and with all the trouble showing itself - WHEN - When the waranty is Done Dead and gone. Did Sony plan that trick on us? Or are we all making it up? Who if anyone will tell a friend that Sony is good, or even worth buying? The Sony DVP S360 AND OH YAH THE Sony str d615 also save your time and money. If you want to buy Sony Go to a garge sale buy used. and thats for whole Sony line.

Similar Products Used: SIMILAR PRODUCTS? Elax they produce the same thing in (or out) the end!
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
rmgnmsu   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 01, 2004]
Strength:

Your average dvd player

Weakness:

The dreaded C 13:00 message and crap out.

Just wanted to add another crapped out DVP S350 to the widespread C 13:00 error message and loss of functionality. It worked well for four years. It always took longer than I thought was necessary to transfer to a second layer but otherwise no problems or so I thought. It would often skip when brand new discs were being played. I have probably returned two or three discs believing they were the problem. I bought this before I really got in to HT and did not research options very well. I have used this site a ton and figured I better add something for others to use.

Similar Products Used: I guess I have to go buy one, probably a Denon or Onkyo
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Richard   Casual Listener [Jan 12, 2004]
Strength:

Unknown; this is the first DVD player I have owned

Weakness:

The dreaded C:13 error

After reading several of these posts, I feel, (1) Delighted that I have received three years of error-free problems with my DVP-360 (purchased in December 2000). Many others only have a few months or maybe a year. (2) Disgusted at Sony for not acknowledging this problem, since it is so wide-spread. (3) Determined not to buy Sony products again; one of my main reasons for buying Sony was the brand name; alas!, no more. History. In Dec 2003, it just started having skipping problems and the C:13 errors on just one disc. Now, (Jan 2004), the problem was getting MUCH worse. Thankfully, the auto calibration mentioned elsewhere here seems to have fixed the problem for now.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Mason   Casual Listener [Jan 10, 2004]
Strength:

Easy to use remote control, Great picture when it works!

Weakness:

Worked great for the first year (received as a gift in 2001). Occasionally skips tracks or will freeze on DVD layer changes. Performance gradually got worse, and evenually some DVDs wouldn't play at all (e.g. won't even start "One Hour Photo", displays C13 error message for this DVD). Some DVDs will play OK until reaching a specific chapter, and then they freeze up. Generally erattic operation. Searched the Internet for "Sony DVP-S360", and quickly found out this wasn't an isolated malfunction. There's a website where you can register to participate in the class action suit against Sony for the DVP-S360 and other models: http://sheller.wld.com/SonyDVDclassaction.html. Found several websites that post easy instructions for calibrating the DVP-S360 laser, such as: http://ecoustics.consumerreview.com/pscAudioReview/Home+Video/DVD+Players/DVD-S550D,CD-DVD,Player/PRD_122503_1587crx.aspx The calibration procedure can only be run if your DVP-S360 still plays DVDs. It's easy, and worth trying if you intend to replace the DVP-S360 anyway. It may improve performance, especially for single-layer DVDs. I found track skip and freeze to be especially bad for multi-layer DVDs. Overall advice - Buy a new "non-Sony" DVD player (e.g. Panasonic), but plan on having to replacing it in a few years too! Lesson Learned: THE NAME SONY DOES NOT MEAN QUALITY LIKE IT ONCE DID. TRY ANOTHER NAME BRAND BECAUSE SONY'S REPUTATION IS SLIPPING FAST!

Sony DVP-S360 Skip & Freeze Problems

Similar Products Used: SONY SLV-N88 VCR Player/Recorder. I bought the SLV-N88 to replace a 15 year old Zenith VR3010 (which is still working but a little tempermental). In less than 6 months static started to show up in recordings, and at 9 months there was static on certain channels while just playing TV shows through the SLV-N88s tuner (not in record mode). I know it was the SLV-N88 at fault because when I bypassed it the static disappeared! ANOTHER SAD EXAMPLE OF THE SONY NAME BEING MISTAKEN FOR QUALITY AND RELIABILITY!
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Chad Kane   AudioPhile [Jan 09, 2004]
Strength:

It was nice when it worked

Weakness:

See above

It worked great until the today, when my it was saying "NO DISC" even when there was a disc in the tray. I wasted all off the night trying to fix the darn thing and even called Sony but they wanted 159.00 to fix it. What a joke? If anyone has info on the civil suite and need a witness for it I will be more than happy to help. Sony should suffer some type of consquense for thier lack of customer service and innovation.

Similar Products Used: HD Converter DVD Samsung
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
monomer   Casual Listener [Jan 08, 2004]
Strength:

none

Weakness:

see the above rant

Son-of-a-b*tch... I just today found this site. I had my DVP-S350 only a year when it suddenly 'developed' the "no-disc" error. It hasn't played a single DVD, CD, DVD-R, CD-R, CD-RW since. At the time I was philosophical about it and figured it was that "one-in-a-million" case. Well after looking at some of these reviews, I now figure I was 'one-out-of-a-million' suckers! I'm embarassed to say this but when this happened 10 months ago, I immediately went out and bought another Sony DVD player (a completely different model)... boy am I mad! I know I've spent well over $5000 in the last 15years on Sony electronics products and despite three separate receiver failures and numerous little annoyances(grounding hums, bad solder connections, temperature related shut-downs, etc.), I've always given Sony the benefit of the doubt... until today. Whew!... in the last 2 months I've purchased 1 reciever (an Onkyo) and two more DVD players (a Pioneer and a Panasonic - as a gift). I was feeling guilty about not purchasing Sony. However I've now had a change of heart... this is now the beginning of my life without Sony... I swear "I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER SONY PRODUCT... EVER AGAIN!!!!!" And I have joined the class action law suit to boot.

Similar Products Used: I've been very pleased with JVC and Pioneer and Panasonic products in the past.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Steve   Casual Listener [Jan 08, 2004]

It finally happened. The c 13 00 error. And the NO DISC. Guess my DVD player wasn't any better than everyone else's who bought this one. But it did last 2 1/2 years. Time for a new one.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
herbert45   AudioPhile [Dec 01, 2003]
Strength:

When it works, it works fine.

Weakness:

It is high unreliable. After my discussion with Sony support, I will never buy another Sony product again.

teh player was no good since I bought it. Sony's support was frankly rude, unresponsive, and refuses to assist in any way. From day one, playback has been unreliable. Today, the c 13 00 error occured. This is a frequent problem with this player. There are several mentions of this on the web, and Sony is completely disinterested. Kaizen? I don't think so. This is a piece of junk.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 634  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com