SCAN SC2000 DVD Players

SC2000

DVD-Movie and Video Playback with MP3 MPEG 1 and MPEG 2 video and audio decode Backward compatible with CDDA, VCD1.1/2.0/3.0, MP3 and SVCD

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
Patrick Leenders   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 30, 2000]
Strength:

Loads of features, plays MP3 has zoom, can forward up to 64x does a lot of things I never saw a DVD player do before.

Weakness:

Picture quality is the worst I have seen yet...

What use are hundreds of gadgets if the picture is this poor. The picture and the audio are the essentials of a DVD player, I think. On every disc I've played so far there are just too many artifacts showin clearly, my VCR has a far better pictue than this, even after copying a tape over 6 times...

Similar Products Used: None (but I saw my friends Sony player...)
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
G Thomas   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 04, 2001]
Strength:

DVDs

Weakness:

SVCDs

Scan in 2001 are selling the new SC2000. Picture qualioty through scart is perfect, never had a problem with DVDs - however the audio track slips on S-VCDs. Maybe as these SVCDs look iffy as anything, but I have lent them to friends with Sony DVD players and no probs. So yes great for MP3 CD's, DVD originals and VCD - but dont touch with SVCDs

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Steven   Audiophile [Nov 16, 2001]
Strength:

Cheap.

Weakness:

Multiple problems with firmware, hardware and support.

I've managed to live with the SC-2000 from Scan for about nine months now. Here are the tales of my three players...

Player No 1:- Had a problem with glitching (short pauses 6-7 times during DVD playback). I was instructed to upgrade the firmware. I did this, the problem was still there so I got a replacement.

Player No 2:- The player was working reasonably well, though it still glitched on Underworld's DVD (even after several firmware upgrades). I went on holiday, came back a couple of weeks later and the player was totally dead (though the power supply was okay). After a total of 90 mins on hold trying to get through to tech support, I got a replacement player arranged (though I had to pay postage).

Player No 3:- The brand new model, delivered on 01/Nov/2001. This one manages to play Underworld, but can't manage The Godfather Pt III. I'd had enough at this point and purchased a Pioneer DV-545.

Overall, don't buy one, I know three other people that own this DVD player and between us, we've had eight players delivered! When compared with a decent DVD layer, the picture is grainy and dim, and the audio quality is poor. Out of interest the Pioneer plays all of the DVD's listed above perfectly, the picture and sound quality are stunning.

Similar Products Used: Replaced by Pioneer DV-545.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Tom   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 13, 2002]
Strength:

Does exactly what it says on the tin. Multi-region (incl. RCE), MP3, fast operation, good set-up menus, nice remote.

Weakness:

No component outputs for video, no separate channel outputs for sound. Sometimes reluctant to give back disk (but never waited more than ~15 seconds)! CD playback not nearly as good as Technics SLPG490 (which was ~$60).

Definitely recommended for people who want a good player on a tight budget - it's not going to complement a $3000 TV set properly but it's a good starter player for me.

Multi-region comes (almost) straight from the box thanks to a photocopied sheet with all the hacks on. Can be set to specific region or auto-select.

Picture is better than most budget players I've seen. Some sound lag once on Shawshank Redemption but fixed with pause/unpause and no more problems since (even with that disk).

Operation is very quick and responive and the remote is the best DVD remote I've used.

Similar Products Used: Hollywood+ harware PC DVD, PC DVD with software through Matrox G400-MAX to TV, PS2 DVD with RGB hack, couple of other budget players (limit, cyberhome, alba, bush etc).
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Andy   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 08, 2000]
Strength:

This unit has lots of features to lure the unsuspecting DVD newby such as MP3, CDR/RW playback, zoom, DTS, built in multi-region etc etc

Weakness:

It's no good if none of it works!
Looks and feels plastic.
SCAN Customer support and returns departments are useless to the point of being non existent!

The reviews that I read of this unit were very good which was why I decided to part with my money, however I subsequently followed some threads at the discussion forums of www.dvd.reviewer.co.uk, and have discovered that this unit is riddled with problems.

The major problem being that SCAN support and returns departments are rather insufficient to say the least.

If you get a good one you might be OK, but if you have to deal with SCAN then you can kiss goodbye to your sanity and to days of your life!

The problems that I encountered with my unit were as follows:
1) DD5.1 audio had drop out in the middle of movies
2) The unit did not switch into DTS mode properly
3) None of the instructions supplied (of which there were two different versions) to switch the unit into multi-region or other hidden modes worked!

My advice is to find a DVD player which has been reviewed by independent people (not magazines as they never seem to say anything bad!) and check that they have experienced long term reliability. I've learned my lesson!

Similar Products Used: None - yet, but I will rectify this as soon as I can extract my money back from scan.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Dean   Audiophile [Dec 18, 2001]
Strength:

Plays Multiregion DVDs with no trouble at all.
Plays MP3s too.
Great remote control.
Looks just like a Pioneer stack component with its lovely black case and gold feet.

Weakness:

Occasionally needs to have the door opened and closed a few times to read certain DVDs. Might be a software bug.

I don't believe what the previous reviewers say too much. Anyone can end up with a dud occasionally and they seem to have just been unfortunate as my Scan Sc-2000 works perfectly. I haven't needed to upgrade it in any way, all my instructions were included and were very thorough. They explained in detail how to make it permantly multi-region... though I can't remember how to put it back now that I've done it... and shouldn't need to either.
Access time from pressing "Play" (or "select" usually!) is almost instant. The picture quality is as good as any other Digital equipment I own and better than video cassette. Sound quality is also good with no lagging or whatever they call it. Not as good as my Pioneer 703s dedicated CD deck but then it isn't supposed to be for the money. The only problem I've found is that connecting an Ondigital box through its pass through port makes either the Ondigital picture go to all blue (if rgb rather than composite output isn't set on both) and if rgb is set then it tends to be blurry. Using a separate scart socket removes that problem anyway.
I did have a few problems with a couple of DVDs which wouldn't work when I first tried them unless I opened and closed the door a few times but that may be a fault on the DVDs themselves. Strangely the same DVDs don't cause any problems now at all so it was either condensation, dust or some minor bug which has worked itself out... teething troubles from sitting in a cold house and not being used for a while after initial purchase I think.
I am almost 100% satisfied with my Scan DVD player. It fits in perfectly with my Pioneer stack system as well due to its black case and gold shiny feet and details. Unfortunately, I don't understand all the things that the display panel throws up at me but it's big and clear so if I could be bothered to read the instructions again, I might find out! It looks neat though.
And another thing... it is really easy to use. Just connect it up, plug it in, bung a DVD in it and let it rip... easy as that. Who needs instructions anyway. You have to be pretty dumb not to understand a DVD PLAYER... a DVD RECORDER on the other hand might be a different ball game.
The best things about it are the big manly remote control and, of course, the price!

Similar Products Used: None. This is my first and only DVD player.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Phil   Casual Listener [Jul 21, 2001]
Strength:

Lowest priced multi-region DVD player that I could find at the time. owner-upgradeable firmware. Plays DVD, CD, MP3.

Weakness:

Occasional sound sync problems, but I'm told they've been fixed in the latest firmware. Originally colours were a bit washed out, but a firmware upgrade fixed that.

When I bought this DVD player, it was probably the best value player around. A friend works with 4 people who owned one, and I bought one on their recommendation.
Setting the player to permanent multi-region was a breeze, and I've never had to change the region since.
Upgrading the firmware has produced better image quality, and I'm told the latest version improves the sound synchronisation, so I'll be upgrading soon.
Upgrading is as simple as downloading from the net, burning to CD-ROM and putting the disc in the player.
Try finding a Sony, Pioneer etc., that let's you do that!

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Graham   Audio Enthusiast [May 23, 2001]
Strength:

Multitude of features. Well finished unit. Quality remote. Ability to upgrade firmware.

Weakness:

Complexity of modifying setup

Overall very pleased with quality of unit and picture. I use s-video and SPDIF. Day to day use of product very simple but, if you want to change say, the Region.... let's just say you need to be a bit technical! The non-Scan FAQ and update site is comprehensive and thorough if you can understand the complex procedures. Generally a superb value for money DVD for the more technically-minded.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Paul   Casual Listener [Aug 18, 2000]
Strength:

Reads DVD, VCD3.0, CDR, CDRW, MP3 + handset hack.
(new version has macro disable)

Weakness:

Picture quality is poor every dvd I played on it showed artifacts.

This player has it all, I personally am just not satisfied with the picture quality.

But then what you pay for is what you get!

If this company boosted the picture quality up there near the sony 335 and offered it at £300 pounds sterling.

I would pick it over the sony anyday.

I sent the player back for a refund which I still have not got, due to my player was from a faulty batch.

I am now going for a hitachi 505 when it is released in the UK.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com