Samsung DVDN2000 DVD Players

DVDN2000

· NUON Enhanced A/V Processing System · Dual Front PanelJoystick/Peripheral Ports · Convergence Cockpit User Interface · Moving Zoom Display System (1x - 20x) · Multi-Angle Thumbnail Display · Multi-Picture Strobe Display · Single Game Pad Included · Integrated HDCD® Decoder System

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
Lance Walker   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 10, 2003]
Strength:

Cool Nuon Features, games - my kids loved the Merlin Racing (best if you have two remotes)

Weakness:

The ability to play less-than perfect discs. It got to the point where we would rent VHS instead of DVD because of the problems this player has in freezing up. (My brother bought one too - with similar results)

I purchased the unit because I read a couple of great reviews. It seemed to be just what I was looking for. I like the picture and sound. The main problem is in playing rented dvds (or any in less-than perfect condition). The first unit I purchased locked up on even brand new dvds. I exchanged that one and then only experienced lock-ups when the dvds were not perfect. One out of three rented dvds functioned with out any problems. I thought this was normal until friends explained that this did not happen with their players (other brands). Last week the player lost all video capabilities. Since my warranty just ran out, it will cost more to get it repaired than I wish to spend. I am definitely going with another brand for my next player.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Amanda   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 27, 2002]
Strength:

It's basically fine.

Weakness:

Annoying remote. Loses sync. Slow to load.

I did a lot of research before buying this, however it was my first DVD player & I didn't know what I needed. Picture is really good, sound seems fine (I don't have the best system to judge that by), all the features work really well. The thing that drives me absolutely nuts & that I would avoid purchasing in the future is this toggle remote (think joystick for your thumb) -- it's really difficult to make it do what you want to do. I also hate that the fast forward & remind buttons are right about the chapter skip buttons -- all too often I try to press one and accidentally hit the other and then everything's off. I thought the whole video game aspect would be cool, but I just can't find any of these Nuon games anywhere, so I haven't shelled out the $25 for a game controller to play the one game that comes with the thing. Lastly -- it does throw dialogue out of sync frequently. All you have to do is press pause & play to get it back, but it's annoying.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Ryan   AudioPhile [Apr 21, 2002]
Strength:

Dolby Digital decoder. Outputs (component/S/Composite video, 5.1/dts audio). A/V quality. Gaming Ability & some other Nuon features. Remote Control. Price (way under $200).

Weakness:

Lack of Nuon support. Can''t read CD-Rs

I got this player Christmas ''01. The reason that I chose this player was because I needed a player with a built-in Dolby Digital decoder and 5.1 channel outputs to connect to a digital ready receiver. Out of the dozen or so decent players you can still find that have on-board decoders, this one seemed to be the best. I am convinced that this is one of the best DVD players that you can buy for the money. This is a very flexible DVD player and would work well for any application that does not require progressive scan. This player allows for a high degree of customizability in the audio department. It offers 10 or so different speaker set-ups to choose from, depending on which of the 5.1 channels your speakers can support and the size of your speakers. The picture quality is awesome as well, although I have only used the S-video output. So far, I have not experienced any of the problems that other reviewers are reporting: no locking-up, noticeable layer-change pauses only occasionally, skipping only with a scratched disk, and only a very impatient person would be annoyed with the load times. The Nuon features are great, but only a few are worth using. The Graphic User Interface allows you to change most settings without stopping the movie - great feature. The zoom is the best I''ve seen - up to 20x with little distortion. The Virtual Light Machine is a nice touch, too. The gaming feature is good, but the ones that come with the player are a joke and I can only comment on one other. Merlin Racing is a shameless knock-off of Mario Kart, but is super fun, especially with 2 players. The graphics are as good as any 64-bit platform and the soundtrack sounds great with 5-channel surround. Bottom line: enjoy the games, but don''t buy the player for this feature. As for Nuon enhanced movies - don''t hold your breath. The remote is well-designed and the joystick makes menu navigation easy. The response to remote input is only sluggish on certain commands,(power on/off and tray open/close are two that come to mind) but not the most used ones and not with the joystick. Also check out: http://www.dvdreview.com/html/samsung_dvd-n2000.html and cnet.com reviews

Similar Products Used: Sony, Apex, Toshiba
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
jasfor100   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 05, 2002]
Strength:

features price

Weakness:

need exceptionally clean dvds to play properly load times

follwoing up from my earlier review of this product. On dvds that i own i have no problem loading or playing dvds although load times are a bit slow especially on planet of the apes with built in nuon features. But if you rent a dvd from the store you better clean it before you put it in or the unit will freeze up - that is the key with this player. On sonys they seem to be able to overcome this but not samsung overall though this is a good dvd player

Similar Products Used: sony jvc pioneer
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
greg herrman   [Sep 19, 2001]
Strength:

nuon,hdcd,digital matrix,component video,dd decoder &dts digital output coax and digital outputs best bang for buck!

Weakness:

none only that i wasted $399 on a marantz after this player for some reason, dumb decision.

this was an excellent buy, for the price you get everything including a nuon based game processor digital matrix that lets you change subtitles soundtracks and flip on the 3d sound with the movie still playing. More cool features include extremely clear slow motion processing at 2x and 4x speeds plus the player has a cool feature called strobe which lets you take 20 continuous pictures and puts them on the screen all at the same time to make sure you see everything that just happened. It also comes with a dance generator that when playing cd music on your television you don't just see a blank screen it has graphics produced on a 96 bit processor that fully enhances and moves to your music speeds it is a really cool feature. This player has everything and more you could ever ask out of a dvd player and more i highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a great player since then i have bought a marantz dvd player and it has barely any features compared to this player so i put the marantz on my other tv and kept this one on my home theatre. It can compete with players that are 3 times its price plus i heard it is now around just $200 dollars amazing bang for the buck.

Similar Products Used: none of this par better than most high end players.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Evan Pickett   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 06, 2001]
Strength:

Plays everything; no glitches or oddities; looks cool; lots of outputs; very little drive noise; excellent interface and remote; great picture.

Weakness:

Long load times; some discs pause during layer changes; I paid too much.

I bought this for Christmas about seven or eight months ago. What can I say? NUON is way overhyped, but this is one heckuva solid DVD player. All the outputs are there, it plays everything, the remote and interface are excellent. It doesn't place SACD's or DVD-Audio but those formats were far off when this unit was introduced.

It has a lot of features that most people probably won't use, but I find myself changing language tracks often in the middle of discs, zooming in to check out details, and using slow motion all the time. These were new things a year ago, when the N2000 was new.

You can find it for less than $200 now, which is a pretty good deal. Three stars for value because I paid so much; four overall. If it was progressive scan and DVD-A/SACD it would be great - but it would also cost a couple hundred bucks more.

Similar Products Used: Sony low-end - S360, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
John Chebekov   Casual Listener [Jan 20, 2002]
Strength:

Nuon processor, HDCD, Dolby Digital decoder, Component, Games, picture and sound

Weakness:

Slow load times, Graphics on games, pauses on cd-r's and cd-rw's

I bought this product in january. I tried to play a cd-r but did not play because of the color of the dye(blue and green). I tried a lighter color like silver and worked. I am very satisfied with it although the load times are ridiculous. The picture quality is the best I have ever seen but the games seem horrible! This would be a good buy for someone who this is there first dvd player.

Similar Products Used: Hitachi dvp415, Sony 400 series
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Daniel   [Jan 14, 2002]
Strength:

I don't consider it to have any strengths if it can not play a dvd with out messing up.

Weakness:

Skip's, pauses, won't read dvd's

This product is very slow to bring up menue's and scenes.
It will pause very frequently and skips many scenes. I can have a brand new dvd and it still won't play through with out lots of pauses and skips. This is my second samsung dvd player because I returned the first one for the same problems. Please do not buy this product. It makes me so mad I want to go back to VHS video's.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Mike D.   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 24, 2001]
Strength:

Game play and virtual light machine capability, NUON processor, every input/output options you would need, full set of features, well planned remote control.

Weakness:

Slow loading on some discs, occasional pauses on layer changes, game are expensive and non-existent, only one NUON dvd on the market.

This was my first DVD player purchase so I tried to research it very carefully before I purchased it. After I saw that this unit was CNET's editors pick in DVD players (at that time), I read all of the reviews that I could find on it. It looked to be a very reliable and full featured DVD player. When it first came out, it was sellin for $350. When I started to look for it, I could tell it was being cleared out since it was last year's model. No store in town had it, so I went to the internet to look. I ordered the last one from etronics.com in NY. The unit basically died after having it for a week. It started by not recognizing audio CD's. It progressively got so bad that it wouldn't even play a DVD with out locking up. After my rage subsided, I decided to take it in for service since it did have a 1 year warranty. I could pay to send it back for a refund, but I was still convinced that I wanted this unit. After a week, I got the unit back with a new main board and optical pickup. I did confirm with the shop that this was a very reliable unit. They only remember getting two others in the last few months. Maybe it was that trip across country in a hot UPS truck, or maybe I am just not a lucky person. All of that aside, I brought the unit home and hooked it up and it performed pretty much flawlessly. The only real problem that I have noticed is a pause during layer changes on VERY FEW OCCASIONS. One big advantage to this machine is the NUON processor which makes the slow motion and zoom features very smooth and clear. It also has an interesting capability called "screen fit". If you really don't like letterbox, you hit one button on the remote and it stretches the picture to fit your TV screen. The game platform is handy, but the games are still $30+ for fairly non-sophisticated games. These seem to take even longer to load. The unit also has a VLM (virtual light machine) for use when playing audio CD's. It has 200 different light show patterns to display on your TV while the music plays. These patterns change as the music changes. The NUON chip is supposed to give you additional capabilities on DVD movie that are NUON compatible. To date, the only DVD on the market that is NUON compatible is Bedazzled. I haven't rented or purchased it yet, so I can't comment on those features. Probably the best feature is that just about every set up, language, and subtitle feature can be altered on the fly. It just reduces the video to a smaller window while it displays the menu options. I am convinced that there are better DVD players out there, but not for this price!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
jason   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 16, 2001]
Strength:

great picture/heaps of features

Weakness:

load times

I bought this dvd player because of the nuon chip and to utilize the functions this player had to offer. Compared to sony the controls arent as responsive but really when i put a movie in the first time I want to watch it right though. In comparison to onkyo and pioneer dvds ive had, the picture is definately superior - compared to the sony id say that its 5 % below that.

Its handy to be able to play games on this player but not the reason I bought it. The graphics are ok and sound ok nothing special compared to the new games machines but something to keep the kids occupied.

basically if this is the type of player you want dont be shy to purchase it - it will not disappoint you.

Similar Products Used: sony/onkyo and pioneer
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com