Samsung DVD511 DVD Players

DVD511

Samsung DVD player brings functionality and solid performance to a new wave of consumer. The DVD511 demands attention with its full array of output terminals and the finest Audio Video circuitry. Along with features such as a universal joystick remote control and jog shuttle functions, to the new on-screen display that makes controlling elaborate DVD features simple. There is even a screen saver function to prevent involuntary damage to your TV Screen when no disc is present. The DVD511 is an effective solution for any home entertainment system.

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
  Audio Enthusiast [Apr 10, 2003]
Strength:

None

Weakness:

Poorly made piece of crap

This product is a piece of crap. It went south on me after 13-14 months. Won't read TOC for DVD's anymore, but will read CD's. Too expensive to have repaired with prices for new units so low now. Soundtrack first tried to pawn off an open box return that had been taped back up to look new. After I got out to my car I opened it up to see what the rattling was all about- obviously returned after being used. That should have been my first clue about the quality of this product. I will never ever ever buy another Samsung product and will never ever ever buy anything from Soundtrack again!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
dr_bob   Casual Listener [Aug 24, 2002]
Strength:

multiregion multiregion multiregion..no chipping or sending the mnachine away so some soldermonkey can take it apart and ruin your warranty..a few button presses on the remote and you can use US disks...so no more waiting six months extra for a dvd missing all half the features our transatlantic cousins get. other than that its buisness as usual... well well well worth the price , snap it up if available

Weakness:

sound apparantly isnt brilliant for cd's so if you're planning on plugging it into an amp to double as a cd player this may be an issue..me I just have it playing through a standard phillips hifi, (yeah i know all you audiophiles are gnashing your teeth at the thought, but a misspent heavy metal youth has left me half deaf so anything else'd be wasted on me!...)and for playing movies it sounds fine to me..( also I have seen it mentioned in other reviews that this model skips...never seen it myselft hough so I have an inkling that this was fixed in later releases of the player no it doesnt play mp3's or cd-r's , but when these machines were released neither was a standard it will play vcd's or cd-rw's though

I bought this dvd player as an impulse buy about a year ago..I'd been in the market for a dvd player for a while , and happened to be glancing at them in an electrical retail shop when I noticed that above the dvd on display some one had taped the region hack instructions above the unit...that sold me there and then, it was a brand I knew through experience was good (samsung stuff tends to be cheaper than sony etc over here, cos they are not what you'd calla household name), it was under 250 quid AND MAINLY as it'd play region 1 discs. Now if you're from the US or canada you may as well stop reading now..in a nutshell its a good player, sound isnt brilliant and some of the early releases had a skipping problem(never seen it myself), thats it. For the rest of the world, read on

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Klev7   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 03, 2002]
Strength:

Warranty

Weakness:

Skip & freeze

This will be brief. Samsung has had numerous problems with their DVD players since the beginning. After 3 months I began to experience major skipping and freezing with the DVD-511. Under warranty it was repaired at my local electronics shop. It has been another year and once again the player is skipping and refuses to play certain discs. Mind you, the same DVD''s play without error on other DVD units. Picture quality is very good and audio is acceptable. If you are looking for a trouble free product, I would advise against the DVD-511 and the early Samsung DVD line in general. One positive is the warranty, which is 1 year parts AND labor. The DVD-511 has S-Video but no component output.

Similar Products Used: Sony
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Ingemar Lindell   Casual Listener [Nov 16, 2001]
Strength:

good picture and sound,(when not skipping).

Weakness:

skipping, skipping, skipping...
cannot play cd-r, mp-3

When I first bought this player I thought it was something wrong with my records but then I noticed that they played in other dvd-players. It skipped about 30-40 times per movie, so I returned it to the store and they replaced the pickup and the main-board.(it costed them about 200$)
It still skips but not until it gets warm, about half way into the movie.
Going to return it again, but personally I think it is a bad construction. I will try to exchange it for anoyher brand.
BEWARE!
(If anyone have some ideas to fix the player, please let me know).

Similar Products Used: sony, philips
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Dave   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 19, 2001]
Strength:

Great value, amazing sound, and video.

Weakness:

No component outputs or digital co axial..These are only on the 611 model.

This unit has given me no problems so far. It incorporates great features, and quality withought breaking the bank. I have had no problems as of yet. If there is a smudge on the dvd, it skips..but you just need to ensure the dvd is clean before putting it in the player. Great value dvd player, and I find no need to upgrade. It works very well.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
M. Schneider   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 23, 2002]
Strength:

Great picture, great sounds during movies.

Weakness:

No dolby decoder

I bought this machine second hand and don't regret it. I use this player for playing DvD only. The regular audio CD's are being played on a uadio CD player.
The picture of this player is really great. It beats the VCR picture in every way. I didn't know my 7-year old Samsung TV could deliver this quality!
Also, during DVD play, the sound is very noce. It doesn't matter what I play (a movie or a live performace like the Eagles), it performs nice. The only thing I don't like about the sound during concert DVD's is the too much pronounced S's.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Jonathon O'Neal   Audiophile [Nov 26, 2001]
Strength:

Many special features. Great picture quality. Mine rarely jumps. Only once in a while and probably because of a little piece of lint or a small scratch on the disk. Screan savor is good for the television. This is a great system for someone who is buying their first dvd. You can't find it at stores anymore, because of newer models, but if you were to find it used, I'd say that it is a good buy. The other woman who had problems must have gotten a bad system and was very unwise to spend that type of money on fixing it. It is usually cheaper to just buy something new. But this is a good player that I highly recomend

Weakness:

It only has optical and not coax. I can't play the Nuon special features on my "Planet of the Apes" dvd, but this is a more expensive dvd player that I will probably own someday.

I have mine hooked up to my surround sound system, and it's great. The other woman complained about not being able to play mp3s. This system came out before it was more comonplace to put these on dvd players. Samsung does have players that will play mp3s and are good prices. If you want to play mp3s, I recomend you buy a player that will play them. It'll say whether or not it does at the store on a little piece of paper under the product. Complaining about this is like complaining that the tape walkman you just bought won't play cds.

You can get a dvd playerfor really cheap now-a-days, but I wouldn't buy from a cheap company. I've had bad luck going that way. It's always good to stick to well-known companies when dealing with products like these. Samsung is a reliable company, that has better prices that most of its competitors. Sony is more expensive. But as my friends put it, "Friends don't let friends buy Sony." And these are people who work at places like Circuit City selling these products. Toshiba is a good company but is slightly more expensive with no real difference in the product.

Similar Products Used: Only dvd that I have owned. Friends tell that RCA is horrible. I wouldn't trust a cheap company. I did on vcr's and had two break within a month each on me. My parents bought me a samsung vcr finally and I have had it for four years now, and it is great. This is why I wouldn't buy any other company but samsung. My mom has a model samsung player and hasn't had any problems.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nathan Anthony   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 15, 2002]
Strength:

Price, easy to use.

Weakness:

Picture/Sound

Was initially going for the Pioneer and then saw this player going at a good price so I decided to try this. The set up was fairly simple and I got going almost immediately.

Put in a DVD and it seemed to be fine. Then tried a CD and compared to the old Sony CD player this thing sounded like someone took the life out my CDs. Needless to say I was not impressed. Certainly the rest of the system was not a problem (Nakamichi's AV10 and Missions 701 with 77C1 centre at the time)

Got a few friends together that evening to watch the Matrix DVD and at various points on the movie the player dropped frames which for me is totally unforgivable since for the the same price other players dont do this. The response I got from the dealer was that this happened on this player and was taken to be normal!

The next day I returned the player and got the Pioneer DV535 as i had intended. Immediately the picture was a lot better with better contrasts and colours and the life was returned to the CDs also not to mention better sound on DVD.

I don't really know if the player would have skipped on other DVDs but I can certainly say that for the money there are better players out there. Try the Pioneer - its a belting player for both CD and DVD and for price/performance its certainly a great buy. Since I know there are far better players for the price I cannot give this Player a good rating.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer DV535,Nad
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Craig McLellan   Audiophile [Jan 12, 2002]
Strength:

All of it

Weakness:

None of it

This is my first dvd player. I bought it in february after my birthday in january when i was 12. At first i wanted to get the Philips DVD 701 but it was out of stock and they offered me this one. I was disappointed at first cos it didn't look as nice as the philips one. All my dvds work fine for me and i haven't yet tried playing mp3s yet, i prefer to plug my pc into my hifi. Picture is great but i only have a 14 inch tele. Sound was great through my philips fw530c hifi but i wanted surround sound, so i got a JVC MX-J850R at christmas. I will certainly if my tele breaks down get a samsung job. I will always buy jvc for other things though!!! I have no criticism about the outputs but when i eventually Dolby Digital, i will try and get one with an optical input to go with my DVD Player or use the co-axil output

Overall a great introduction to DVD for me and i truly recommend this piece of kit.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com