Samsung DVD-709 DVD Players

DVD-709

User Reviews (124)

Showing 1-10 of 124  
Stacey M   Casual Listener [Aug 02, 2002]

CLASS ACTION!!! This is crazy...we need to get them. I know of a NJ lawfirm filing a class action contact me!!! sm800@aol.com

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
neoalec   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 19, 2002]
Strength:

-Sturdy, tough-feeling, well-made player. -Excellent remote design. -Automatic alternate angle icon. -Easy to region and macrovision hack with an Aiwa stereo remote.

Weakness:

-Won''t play CDRs. -Unit gets very hot when playing DVDs. -Hates scratched discs.

Got it with an employee discount at K-Mart as my first DVD player. I region-hacked it to region 0 using an Aiwa stereo remote. I''ve used this player for over 80 region 2 (Japan) DVDs, and I use it even more for playing music CDs. I''ve had absolutely no problems with it, except for some of the player''s limitations. It can''t play any CDR discs, which is a shame since I make homemade VCDs, but it can play SOME CDRWs (in my experience, only the older, up to 2X only CDRWs). The CD playback options are very limited, but get the job done. I especially like how an icon comes up on the screen every time alternate DVD angles are available, and doesn''t go off into you hit clear. This way you never miss an alternate angle feature (I watch a lot of concert DVDs with alternate angles, and this feature is important to me). I''ve put this player through a lot of use, and it has always been dependable. I especially like the well-designed remote. When DVD was a young format, Samsung already had things pretty well figured out. The unit does heat up a lot, but this hasn''t caused me any problems. Also on the negative side, when I first got this player a scratched rental DVD went crazy and the audio got out of synch. I haven''t used it for rentals since I first got it.

Similar Products Used: Aiwa XD-DV370
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
dougbjr   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 22, 2002]
Strength:

At least the regular music cd''s work!

Weakness:

Skips, Dont play the whole movie without poppin the disc out! Oh did i mention it SKIPS!!!! This brand is worthless and should of been burned in the factory before distrubuting!!!!!!!

I received the Samsung model 709 for a Xmas present in 2000. I played my very first DVD and not even half way through the movie the damn thing stopped playing and popped out the cd! I cleaned the cd and still did the same thing! So i thought it was a messed up cd that i rented so i went out and bought a brand new Cd (austin powers 2) and it did the same damn thing!!! over the next year or so it just sat there and collected dust! We called best buy for an exchange and they said they couldnt do it without a receipt! we wrote to samsung and still havent heard anything from them!!! so my final words of advice is SAMSUNG SUCKS ASS!!!!!!!

Similar Products Used: Anything but Samsung for now!! AND THATS FOR SURE!!!!!
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
John   Casual Listener [Jan 22, 2000]
Strength:

Price,Zoom and remote (GREAT REMOTE)

Weakness:

Skipping on daul layer disc.Player runs hot,I Put a computer
fan on back of unit no more skipping.

I was going to throw this thing out the window. Until I put a fan on the back to keep the unit cool. Works great now
just a slight pause on daul layer. When the laser changes
layer.

Similar Products Used: Rca 5220p
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
G P   Casual Listener [Jan 21, 2000]
Strength:

Very good remote control, look, RGB output, easy to play different regions.

Weakness:

Only one scart socket, only one set of analogue outputs, can't play CD-Rs or CD-RWs.

I am very pleased with the Samsung, I've got the updated one so playing the Matrix and S.A.M. is not a problem. Anyway, as I have just read today apparently this wasn't the player's fault but the dics fault. One clear drawback is that cheap DVD players capable of better CD playback have started to come out.

Similar Products Used: none, new to DVD.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Brian McFarland   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 26, 2000]
Strength:

Free with the purchase of my receiver and speakers.
Remote seems adequate.

Weakness:

CAN'T OBTAIN A CODE THAT WILL ENABLE ME TO PROGRAM MY UNIVERAL REMOTE TO OPERATE THE DVD (Samsung website uncooperative!); also a weakness - Coax input only.

I had no plans to buy a DVD player any time soon, hell I just bought my first VCR a year ago. Nonetheless, the fact that hifi.com was giving it away with any surround system purchase and I was looking to make such a purchase anyway...
It's kind of tough to complain since based on my reading of the other reviews in this section, I really don't know what I've got and what I don't got. My wife and I have watched The Matrix (which we also saw in the theater), The General's Daughter and something else which apparently didn't make much of an impression since I can't remember it. The Matrix was great and how could it not be. I'm thinking the Sci-Fi is the best stuff to watch on a DVD but I really haven't seen anything from the action genre or anything else substantial for that matter. My wife hates to have to watch everything in Letterbox format but it doesn't bother me much. All-in-all, I'm happy with the Samsung because I got a DVD player and I got it for free. It's definitely better than VHS. We did notice some skipping type problems with the General's Daughter but we didn't know whether they were as a result of the DVD or the player. I hate it that I can't program my Universal Remote to operate the DVD player but all-in-all, it's better than a poke in the eye with a sharp stick!

Similar Products Used: None, first entry into the DVD area.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 15, 2000]
Strength:

Price,features

Weakness:

Skips on alot of CDs

I took mine in for the up grade and got home and it was better but still skipped tok it back and they clame nothing was wrong. This DVD could be so much better if they would fix the skipping problem and add more outputs for audio and fiber optic video

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Greg   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 19, 2000]
Strength:

Price, Video and Audio quality over VHS. and thrill factor :)

Weakness:

Seems to run hot in a enclosed audio cabinet. Skips sometimes when it gets hot. Unit doesn't like dirty rental disks.

I received my unit on 2-10-00 and have watched a dvd every night since I got it, which is 8 days up to now. I have the unit in a enclosed audio cabinet with no fans and little ventilation. I have found that it seems to run a little hot and smells like it is if I close the audio door while its playing, so I leave it open when its on. I'm thinking of adding a fan so I can run my player with the cabinet door closed. I haven't run into the skipping problem other reviewers have except on rental dvd's that are dirty. Once I clean them they work fine. My wife bought me a brand new Matrix dvd and we watched it and it worked just fine.
When I get skipping on my rental disks I run them under water and rub them down lightly with a cotton ball and then dry them with a soft none lint cloth and then they work fine on my player. The two new disks that I have bought have worked fine without skipping. Try cleaning your disks before you go for the service center fix it might do the trick.

Similar Products Used: none, my first DVD player
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Steve   [Sep 16, 2000]
Strength:

Good picture quality when unit is working. The tray actually opens and closes.

Weakness:

Skipping, picture freeze, noise, load time.

I've been using this product for over 9 months and I strongly discourage anyone from buying one. My unit worked fine for about 3 months until I began to notice some minor skipping. I experienced my first picture freeze while watching "The Sixth Sense". Since then almost every movie I've tried to watch has froze at some point. Sometimes I'm able to skip a scene and finish the movie, but that can be very time consuming and frustrating.

Out of frustration I called Samsung Tech Support to find out my warrantly options. Unfortunately, I had to ship my DVD player to get serviced since there weren't any authorized service centers within 70 miles of my home. I was very excited when I got my DVD player back from the service center complete with the firmware update. However, the first movie I tried to watch froze!!!

Samsung has agreed to send me a "reconditioned" DVD player for no charge. However, I once again have to pay shipping charges to send them my broken DVD player. I sincerely hope that this "reconditioned" unit is not a DVD-709.

Like many people out there, I got this DVD player for "free" from hifi.com. Although I paid nothing for it, my value rating is 1 star b/c it really was part of a home theatre package and I believe that its prive was built into the entire cost of the system. I also believe that the device actually needs to work to have any value. All my unit is good for is taking up space. I suggest that anyone in the market for an affordable DVD player buy a model from a more reputable company such as "Onkyo" or "Sony".

One other thing I should mention. This unit will not play copied CD's. I've tried to play "burned" cd's from using several different types of cd's and it just won't work.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Daniel   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 12, 2000]
Strength:

zoom feature and remote control

I got this on my b-day from my wife and was pleased until I chose to play the Matrix. Eventually, I brought it in to be serviced and, now I am pleased with my DVD player. I guess I have to make sure that any CD/DVD's have to be clean so that they can load and play properly.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 124  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com