RCA RC5910P DVD Players

RC5910P

· 5-Disc DVD, Audio CD Changer · Plays all DVD, Audio CD, VCD and SVCD · Dolby Digital and DTS Compatible · 96 kHz 24-Bit Audio D/A · 10-Bit Video · Spatializer Surround Sound · Fully-Interactive Front Panel Display · Disc Exchange Feature · Component Video Outputs (Y, Pr, Pb) · Optical and Coaxial Digital Outputs · DVD/ Universal TV/ Audio Receiver Remote

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
Amuzeme   Casual Listener [Apr 07, 2001]
Strength:

Not a one!!!!!!

Weakness:

Large Size. Won't play DVD's!!!!

This thing is HUGE!!!!....pulled it out of the box and couldn't believe the size. Had to knock out the back of my entertainment center to get it to fit. Now i wish i hadn't!!!!Bought this thing before i read the reviews...my bad!!!!!! It will play CD's fine, but put in a DVD and it becomes possessed!! Will play half the movie and then freeze...some DVD's it will not play at all....just sits there "loading"

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
T Anderson   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 07, 2001]
Strength:

Plays audio CD's great, easy to use controls.

Weakness:

Awefull at playing DVD's. The machine skipps, pauses and jumps to different chapters.

When I purchased the DVD player I didn't do my homework. My lose!

When the player works, it is a great product. However, during every movie I have watched using this "high end" RCA product, I grit my teeth.

Accroding to RCA there isn't anything wrong, it's the disc's or some other cause.

To others considering this player: BEWARE.

Similar Products Used: Lower end RCA DVD player.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Adam   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 03, 2001]
Strength:

Every thing, DvD playing, VCD playing, no noise, great price, great controls, on board controls (lets you operate the player, fully, with just the unit, no remote needed), only if you need zoom (for me NOT needed)

Weakness:

My one and only minor, really minor bone to pick with the player is I have to but CD-RW's to play VCD's. Hey, there more expensive. But it's probally ok for the other 70% out there who dont even know what a VCD is.

The RCA RC5910P is a great price for your money. The RCA RC5910P lets you get the most out of a DVD player, it has options like a zoom, on screen controls (you can operate the player without the remote, witch is a good feauture because I loose my controls all the time). Theres a jog dial (lets you go foward or reverse, slow of fast motion). Theres also 3D souround sound (all it does is lower the volume of the quiet scenes and but more volume on the loud ones. I dont really use it because it lowers peoples voices, so its really hard to hear. The player is NOT noisy at all. I have done about ohh.... 100hours looking for a DVD player on-line, and thats what pays off in the end! My first DVD player was a panasonic RV-30 ($199) I returned that not because it wouldn't work or it wasen't good but it didn't play any of the CD-R's I threw at it. I have a collection of VCD's so I need that option. If you want a good DVD player under $200 I sugguest you get the PANASONIC RV-30!! BUT there's a newer modle comming out on March 25, 01, it can play CD-R's, CD-RW's, CD's, ext. So if you can wait about 20 days more i suggest it. Its the Panasonic RV-31S, check out Amazon.com, look a Home DVD Players. But if you can spend about $80 more $$ get the RCA RC5910P it's a 5 disk DVD, CD, or VCD player (to play VCD's you have to buy CD-RW's!!! They are the only ones that work, does NOT work with CD-R's. On the back of the player there are RCA outputs, S-video, fiber optic, ext. Theres NO Dobly Ditigal Decoder so you can either but a reciver of if you have a stero connect it with the RCA plugs. Here are the cheepest places i found to buy the RC5910P:
Amazon.com (est. $299.00)
Etronics.com (est. $250.00)
Walmart.com (est. $278.00)
RCA.com (est. $250)
I got mine at Walmart, it was the only one they had left, it was a store modle, with no papers, and no remote, i got it for $189.00!! It was cool, no problems with it since, concitering I've only had it for 1 week though. But I highly recomennd it!! Email me for any questions.

Similar Products Used: Panasonic RV-30
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
George   Casual Listener [Jul 02, 2001]
Strength:

Plays anything you can put in it - really. See below for warning about the model, however.

Weakness:

This puppy is big - I had to redo the stack in my entertainment center, and my tape unit is now on the side.

Plays EVERYTHING, and I do mean everything - DVD, CD, CD-R, CD-RW. Also plays VCDs, SVCDs or EVEN CD-R/RWs recorded with MP3 files. Interestingly, the data sheet on the RCA site, as well as the demo units I've seen at RadioShack do NOT have the SVCD/MP3 capabilities. The unit I have had "MP3" printed on the box, the other units I have seen do not. Beats me, but I love the feature.
As I said, mine had MP3 emblazoned on the box (that's why I bought it), as well as on the carousel front panel. If the model you see in the store doesn't have this, it WON'T play the oddball stuff (MP3s or SVCDs) - I've tried a few tests in other stores.
Is it a PERFECT DVD player? Sonetimes takes a bit to load, and does stutter on dirty DVDs from time to time, but the "plays all" feature makes it a hell of a deal. I gave it 4 stars on value / 5 stars overall, because I haven't seen anything else that will play this much stuff.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Chris   Casual Listener [Jan 20, 2002]
Strength:

5-disk changer, plays MP3's, etc.

Weakness:

Slow to change disks, BIG!

My player has been reasonably good, overall. It sometimes has trouble reading disks, but cleaning the disk usually fixes that.
I bought my player while on vacation, and then read the reviews when I got home, and just had to cross my fingers that there were no problems.
As is common with most older, 1 laser DVD players, there is a layering effect that occurrs when it plays DVDs, where it will pause for a second while the laser refocusses, and then keep going. That's annoying, and detracts from a movie watching experience, but doesn't ruin things entirely.
If I had been more informed at the time, I probably would have spent the extra $50 and bought the Pioneer at Best Buy instead, but now that I have it, I'm pretty satisfied with it.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Tomas   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 23, 2001]
Strength:

Excelent video and audio quality. Nice options plays almoset anything

Weakness:

lost a dvd in it once cause i pushed the tray in by mistake while in exchange mode with a dvd playing

Excelent dvd player i have never had it in the shop or had any problems with it (i got the stuck dvd out myself). can take some time to load but other than that no problem. I playm it jsut about every day for 6 to 7 hours and thats from the day i bought it. Never had to clean the lense onnce

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Amuzeme   Casual Listener [Jul 26, 2001]
Strength:

NONE

Weakness:

GARBAGE.....GARBAGE....GARBAGE

Well, here i sit 4 months later, waiting for my FOURTH replacement unit!!!! This thing is the biggest piece of garbage i have EVER purchased. It is my first and DEFINITELY my last RCA product.
The original unit that i purchased played CD's fine, but skipped, froze and jittered it's way through almost ALL the DVD's. I returned this unit to Walmart for an exchange. The second one must have been dropped, kicked and beaten with a hammer...because it skipped on CD's and then stopped playing them altogether and also would play DVD's horribly. Still jittering, skipping and freezing. I went to return this piece of Garbage also, but Walmart was out and wouldn't be getting any in anytime soon. So i had to contact Thomson. After 3 weeks of them screwing around with my credit card information, I finally received my THIRD replacement unit from them. Took it out of the box, plugged it in and guess what???....wouldn't play CD's!!!!!!!!. It would sit there "Loading" then give me the message "No Disc" I tried about 15 different CD's in this thing. Cleaning the cd first, then cleaning the laser lens, but still nothing!!!!! After more than an hour on the phone (most of the time on hold)The Rep insisted that "This is a good product, we hardly ever get any complaints about it" "You must be using non-standard audio cd's in it" What the hell is a non-standard audio cd???? This thing advertises as being able to play damn near anything that you put in it, but won't play commercially bought, STANDARD audio cd's!!!!! Finally after their staunch position of "We don't issue refunds, and we have NO service people in your area" I agreed to accept ANOTHER replacement unit.
Stay AWAY from this product!!!!!!!! If i could give it 0 stars i would.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
kenneth   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 14, 2001]
Strength:

when it works, everthing, great picture and sound on movies sounds great with cd

Weakness:

it never works ,see summary

First player would not play cd at all,player would read no disc on front panel, it would play movies about half way through then start skipping and jumping and freezing so bad you have to stop the movie. RCA did replace this unit free. The second player does play cd wonderfully,however,it is worse on movies than the first player. I am now waiting on the third player from rca. I would not recommend this player to anyone.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
John Williams   Casual Listener [Feb 24, 2001]
Strength:

Good vidio quality and sound

Weakness:

none

So far, so good. This unit delivers good video and sound quality without any problems so far. I have not noticed any skipping or any other undesireable behaviour with this unit. It performs as well and looks and sounds as nice as the pioneer unit that I was using previously.

Similar Products Used: pioneer dvc503
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dan   [Jan 11, 2001]
Strength:

Plays dvds with great picture and sound, cds sound great and it even plays my burned cds. Very quick at changing spots on a disk.

Weakness:

i can never make it back to a movie I paused, it always cycles off. and slow to change disks.

Im very happy with this DVD player. I started with a lower end RCA and had problems much like the other person writing about this DVD player. When i went back i asked to trade up and I have had no problems with the rc5910P DVD player and am looking for a widescreen tv with component video to compliment it.

Similar Products Used: just the cheap one disk rca that was junk.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com