RCA RC5225P DVD Players

RC5225P

· Digital Video Disc Player · Plays Movies from CD-Size Discs · Unsurpassed Picture Quality · Distortion-Free Special Effects · 4:3, 4:3-Letterbox and 16:9 Capability (with compatible discs) · SRS ( • ) TruSurround · CD-Quality Sound* · Plays Music CDs · DTS Bit Stream Output* · Built-In Dolby* Digital Decoding · Universal Remote · Multiple Repeat and Programming Functions

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
David   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 26, 2002]
Strength:

None

Weakness:

Does not work

This player has 2 fatal flaws. First, it constantly locks up and has to be "reset" - read, unplug, wait, and plug back in. I thought only Windows was that unstable... Second, it consistently refuses to play ANY discs, saying the disc is incompatible with the player. These are discs the player has played before, so it is not a disc problem. Also, I have kept the lens clean and the unit well maintained and cooled. RCA customer service has been basically nil. I will probably soon be sending this pile to the junkyard and replacing it.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Ray Thompson   Casual Listener [Oct 11, 2001]
Strength:

Small size, easy to use

Weakness:

Doesn't work

This product is a piece of junk. After about 3 months of use I had several lock up problems and errors reading some DVDs. And it just keeps getting worse. I called RCA customer service and the unit is in parts warranty but they charge $90 for labor to send an exchange unit. I have read several reviews about the predecessor of this unit (RC5220)and there seems to be a common theme with problems of not reading disks, tracking errors and lock ups. Hopefully, RCA Thomson is not using the same drive in their current products. I think that they should extend the warranty for this and the previous model and just replace them since they definitely have a known problem.

Similar Products Used: RCA VCR
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Pierre   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 10, 2001]
Strength:

Ease of use, Looks great, great picture and sound

Weakness:

None so far

I had this newer model from RCA for 3 weeks now. The DVD set-ip menus are well done and easy to use. This model comes with the AC3 chip included. I don't use it since I have a Nakamichi AV-8 Digital Receiver. The reading of disk/menus is very fast even with complicated DVD's such as T2 Limited Edition nor Matrix etc.

I strongly recommend this DVD player.

Similar Products Used: RCA 5210 (purchased in 1998)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Peter   Casual Listener [Nov 09, 2001]
Strength:

nice menus, plenty of features

Weakness:

runs too hot, even hot when power is off - not good

I've had this DVD player for about 6 months, and had no problems with it until recently. I went to watch a movie, turned the power on, and nothing happened. The power light came on but that was about it. Turned out I needed to reset the player by unplugging it and plugging it back in. That is unacceptable. Also, certain movies break up and become unwatchable (Shrek - fit for TV version). At first I thought I had a defective disc, but now I believe it is the fault of the player having trouble reading the layers on the disc. Also unacceptable. One more thing, this player runs way too hot. I'm not sure if that is a contributing factor to my problems or not. Apparently it is a common problem among RCA DVD players, so beware.

With all that said, I still have some good things to say about this player. The sound and picture quality are top notch, the remote is very nice, and it is loaded with a lot of featurs for the money. I've always liked RCA products in the past, but I think they're really starting to manuufacture lower quality products while living off their old reputation. Let's see how long they get away with that.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
alex callahan   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 15, 2001]

I messed around for a month reading reviews, and couldn't decide. I finally grabber this DVD Player, and haven't looked back. It has played all DVD's I tried including some $3.00 crap I bought at a flea market. Real Good, and Real Cheap, Go for it

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
steven logan   Casual Listener [Oct 06, 2001]
Strength:

everything it is excellent

Weakness:

none

i had my dvd player for 4 and a half months it has worked awesome for me it was the best purchase of a dvd player i have ever got before in my life i highly recommend it to anyone who wants a dvd player just for watching movies on

Similar Products Used: none first ever awesome dvd player
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
david starr   [Jan 22, 2001]
Strength:

The remote is excellent and easy to learn, load up time is fast, machine is quiet, display dims, overall a good buy at $230

Weakness:

Hope second machine does not go haywire on me like first, not easy towatch dvd's w/o remote.

This machine has done very well. I have tried various other machines around the $200 range and this one has to be one of the best that I have found. I gave this machine to my mother and Had to take it back because it kept freezing up on me for no reason, but I believe I must have just bought a dud machine, because the second one has worked fine. The menu's are great and the remote was superb. THe load up time is fast and having the built in digital decoder allows you to buy the surround sound speakers without having to buy a reciever (unless you want dts sound). I gavethis product to my mother because I decided to buy the Aiwa DVD 370 which has better/more options (mp3 playback is wonderful, 300 songs per disc). I found it for only $200 at circuit city. If you want a dvd player for someone that is not very electronic savy then I would go with the RCA, otherwise go with the Aiwa (the only downfall I noticed for the Aiwa was the remote and no internal decoder)

Similar Products Used: Aiwa DVD 370
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
lou   [Apr 25, 2001]
Strength:

everything

Weakness:

none yet,but I've not dug for fault

I believe of what I researched,the amount of money I paid, and for the features you
get,I did very well.I just hooked it up to my new Hatachi 43in HDTV and with my
surround sound hook up

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jason   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 12, 2001]
Strength:

Fast loading, universal remote, awesome onscreen menu

Weakness:

None so far...

I purchased this DVD player to replace my JVC501BK which everyone knows has its problems. HH Gregg was having a huge sale on all items at employee prices so I could not pass it up since the MSRP is $349. This unit has all the connections of the high end units and includes a built in AC3 decoder.

I was suprised how much faster a movie began playing compared to my JVC. Onscreen menus are pleasant and well though out by the engineers. Image and sound quality are top notch even if paying $349. The unit has a sleek design and is very quite with the exception of the the door mechanism which sounds somewhat clunky.

I would highly suggest this player to a novice as well as the audio/videophile. Other units in this price range do not have the features nor are they made by reputable companies.

Similar Products Used: JVC 501BK
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com