Proscan PS8675P DVD Players

PS8675P

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
smokingarthur   AudioPhile [May 10, 2002]
Strength:

Stuning picture quality period. At any price! Great sound, you audiophiles will appreciate the warm sound and picture.(You will see what I mean) Ultra-compact size and VERY VERY durable! GREAT bulid quaility!!!

Weakness:

Does not support CDR,CDRW,DVDr,DVDRW,SVCD,etc.. EXTREMELY cumbersome CD controls-very slow Slight noise (if inside cabinet it disapears.)

BOTTOM LINE: This Proscan, believe it or not.Delivers superior picture and sound quality as compared with my $1000 Denon. The colors are very warm and real. The sound is crisp and very unmechanical like my Sony and my Denon. TRUST ME!!! If you are looking for a GREAT picture and good sound and you can if you can find this for under $150, buy it. IT LOOKS THAT GOOD!!!

Similar Products Used: Sony DVP-NS500, Denon(the expensive one)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Lance Kragenbrink   Casual Listener [Feb 15, 2000]
Strength:

Picture looks great, sound if great , gold plated plugs.
componet and svideo out puts.

Weakness:

small noise when searching, not really an issue. with my
glass door shut on my entertainment center I can hardly hear it.

After looking at all avaible options in the 300.00 or less
the Proscan was a no brainer. With all it connections and
gold plugs, great looks, ok remote,and fine picture.
Im very happy.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Ron   Casual Listener [Feb 29, 2000]
Strength:

Picture, Component outs, s-video out, optical out.

Weakness:

Well only one i can think of so far is that playing a audio cd is a pain!!!!

I have always been attracted to Proscan products from my weekly visits to circuit city. Their TV always had a kick ass picture. I eventually Bought one, $849 but bought the floor model for $649(ps32600) anyway back to the DVD player, I have had no problems yet, I have it hooked to my dd/dts receiver and it sounds awesome!!!! I really don't have enough time invested in this product to say much more. So far I absolutely love it!!!

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Scott Nalick   Casual Listener [Mar 13, 2000]
Strength:

Price. Great picture and sound, no lip sincking, like the remote(unlike most others), easy to use and operate.

Weakness:

Does not play CD-R's.

I am a beginner in the DVD world. For about 2 months I looked throughought the internet, countless electronic stores and I ended up with the Proscan. The appearance looks really cool, I love the design and silver cover. It doesnt look like ur everyday DVD player.

Perfect for beginners, it wont dissapoint. It is very easy to use, took me about an hour to figure it all out. I played the Matrix all the way through and it worked like a charm. (currently my only DVD)

Picked it up in Circuit City about a week ago $265, a great purchase for me, to go along with my new infinity speaker system, and Sony 835 receiver, this system kicks some serious a$$ for around $1200 altogether.

This is surprising but I only have a 20 inch hooked up to it right now, and it still kicks. I was worried it wouldnt be quite that good but thankfully I was wrong.

Similar Products Used: This is my 1st DVD player.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
The Frog   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 14, 2000]
Strength:

- Cables (high quality)
- Image/Sound (one of the top in its class)
- Gold-plated bindings

Weakness:

- Noisy
- Remote

I was trying to find the best player available at the cheapest price possible. I was comparing the Proscan to the following players:

- Panasonic A120
- Technics 2109 (and 1009 from Costco)

as they are probably the best ones in that price range.

I got the 8675P at a very good price ($379 at a boxing day sale with the possiblity of a $50 mail-in rebate, which I'm still waiting for) and the quality of the image and sound just blew me away!

It is worth the extra few bucks from the RCA player (which is very similar...but cheaper made) and I LOVE it!

The only drawback (like everybody else: Remote sucks big time!)

Another "minus" is that it is noisy...which I corrected this by putting it in my entertainment center behind a glass door.

I strongly suggest to check this player carefully as it's value is the best in its class and the minor weaknesses gives it his 4 star overall rating.

Similar Products Used: 1st player
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Kevin   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 19, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent video quality. Plays DVDs that other players have problems with. Nice thick cables. two sets of audio/video outputs.

Weakness:

Poor remote and user interface for features. Can be noisy at times.

I bought this unit a couple days ago. I agree with the other reviewers about the quality of the video and playback. Excellent for the price (I payed about $500 Canadian)

The main disadvantage is the "user interface". The remote has the DVD control buttons spread out all over the place. The buttons are tiny, and labels hard to read. The light is useless as it only lights up the channel and volume buttons.

I got this after testing a Sanyo 5050. The Sanyo was the exact opposite, not great hardware, but excellent user interface.

Here's some examples:

Imagine a DVD with two audio tracks. One the normal track, the other the director's comments (such as Wild Wild West). In the "Sanyo" I could press the "audio" button and it immediately switches to the next audio track. Repeatedly hitting audio goes through all the available audio tracks.
In the Proscan, the "audio" button instead brings up a menu of all the available tracks. I then have to select the appropriate track, go to the "done" button, and hit enter. What took one button press on the Sanyo takes at least four on the Proscan. The same can be said for the "angle" and "subtitle" buttons. Places where you want to immediately switch force you to waste time with menus.

The "repeat" option is also a pain. In the Sanyo, if I wanted to do the "repeat A-B" function, I'd hit the "Repeat A-B" button at the start of the section, then hit it again at the end. No silly menus to work with. In the Proscan, I have to hit the "repeat" button, select from the menu what kind of repeat I want (disk, track, a-b), select a menu option when at the start of the "a", select another menu option at the "b", etc. By the time I navigate the menus, it's about 30 seconds past the start of what I wanted to repeat!!!

The machine looks to me like something built by techies, with no testing done with actual users. If they could fix up their user interface, this would be a five star machine all around for me.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Ryan Peddle   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 01, 1999]
Strength:

Amazing picture and sound, no lip sincking, nice remote, easy on screen display.

Weakness:

No zoom, no coaxil out, makes a noice during a search

After much deliberation and many trials...I decided upon the Proscan.

It has a few lacking features that I really do like, like zoom, and it doesn't have a coax out, but after I saw the picture you get using Svideo (I haven't tried component yet, but I can just imagine)I was sold.

If you are more interested watching the movie than paing with it...go for this one...everything is gold plated, and the build quality is better than anything in it's price class.

Similar Products Used: JVC 501, pionneer 525
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeff   Audiophile [Dec 18, 1999]
Strength:

Excellent 4X3 Down Conversion
Seemless layer changes!

Weakness:

Too many to list here

I've read the good reviews on the Proscan PS8680Z which is the American version of the PS8675P, so I thought I'd give this a try. I was looking for a cheaper player to tie me over for 6-8 months before getting a higher end player and this seemed like the one to do it...And maybe last me longer.

A very nice Future Shop salesman let me purchase the demo and take it home to try. If I had liked it, I would have taken exchanged it for a new one but I didn't exchange it. Read on...

PROS:
-----


The video performance of this player came as a surprise. I've heard the Proscan had excellent 4X3 down conversion so this is why I wanted to try it at home on a properly calibrated TV. I was amazed how sharp and clear the picture was. Gone were the "jaggies" associated with Toshiba players yet the picture retained the sharpness without "masking" the down conversion like the Sony's do with the soft picture. I did find the skin tones a little off but a little tweaking (or running Video Essentials again) should have fixed that.

At last seamless layer changes! I tried both The Matrix and Buena Vista's Armageddon and the layer changes were very difficult to detect. There is no reason why other manufactures can't do this with their DVD players.

Monster Cables! Yes, this player comes with a set of audio L&R, video and S-Video Monster cables! That's very impressive! And so are the gold jacks on the back that match the gold tipped cables.

As far as build quality I would have to say it's the best in the $300-$500 (Canadian) price range and has a very aesthetically pleasing look to it, although some may not like the silver color along side their black components but I really thought it was spiffy looking!


CONS:
-----


Ok here we go...The single most troubling aspect of this player that made me take it back was the popping noise you get from your speakers when cycling through the chapters.

*NOTE* This is also mentioned in the Proscan PS8680Z reviews as well so it's not my equipment, although my guess is that people using less powerful receivers won't be bothered by this as much or may not hear it at all. I use amps which probably worsens the problem. And let's face it, most of those purchasing a unit like this aren't going to be into really high end gear.

The player it's self is also very noisy. It was hard to get a good idea as to how noisy it was in the store but when I brought it home, I could hear it from my listening position, which isn't good. It was ok with action movies but for dramas it can be BORDER LINE distracting.

The remote for this player has to be one of the worst. It would have been nice, since Proscan is a high end RCA, that the remote wasn't modeled after the horrible RCA remotes, but it was. It is semi-backlit but only lights up a few buttons you don't need lit up. The channel buttons double as the chapter buttons (which is odd but you get used to) and there is no open/close button which I really missed since I like the drawer open by the time I walk up to the player. Yes, I'm lazy!

There is only one optical jack on this unit and it's odd that Proscan opted for optical rather than coaxial. Again the one jack is fine for those all in one receivers (Dolby Digital, DTS built in) but for separate DTS and DD decoders, it's a pain. And if your receiver only supports coaxial, you're screwed.

It does have it's moments and for the price of the RCA (around $300+) this player wouldn't have been bad but for $500 Canadian, you can do much better with Sony or Toshiba. Heck the Pioneer DV-525 is lower and has way more going for it.


Similar Products Used: Toshiba SD-3109, Sharp DV-600U, Pioneer DV-414
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Joseph   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 01, 2001]
Strength:

cables, picture and sound, remote, EASY to operate, great GUI, looks good

Weakness:

slow performance on CD's, won't play CD-R

After waiting for what seemed a lifetime, I decided to go out and buy a DVD player. I had reviewed a bunch and decided to go with the Sony. I was so disappointed that I quit playing with it after about three days and took it back. I then got the proscan. This player slam dunked the sony and I couldn't quit messin with it. It even plays CD's backwards! The GUI is wonderful, complete with a glossary and more options than some people know what to do with. The sound and picture is excellent and the remote is wonderfully easy to use even without looking for buttons in the dark room (part of it is backlit too). I really have no complaints other than it takes a couple seconds to get to the next song on a CD, but I have a CD player that also plays CDR's. I was extremely surprised to see high quality cables (S vid included) which I am sure help with the quality of the pic and sound tremendously. Gold plating is nice to have too. The samsung was actually better than the Sony in my opinion...it had more options but was a little harder to operate the funky remote. I had this one at the same time as the RCA and took it back after 2 days. I have to give the RCA a 5 due to it's excellent sound and picture quality, along with ease of use, GUI, and remote.

Similar Products Used: Sony that was about $50 more; Samsung that was about $20 less
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Josh   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 24, 2001]
Strength:

Very good video playback! Optical out, excellent sound, Audio cd's sound great as well. Very good quality. A steal for the money.

Weakness:

A little noisy on playback but quite tolerable. The shape is strange. Much narrower than any of my other components (And deeper) which is a pain in the ass if you stack your gear as I do.

I really have enjoyed this DVD player. It is excellent both video and sound. A surprise that it sounds better than my JVC CD player! A great, great value.

Similar Products Used: JVC Garbage DVD player. See JVC reviews for DVD my god!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com