Pioneer DV-C302D DVD Players

DV-C302D

3 DVD/CD changer with Dolby Digital/DTS - 10-bit video DAC - 24-bit/96kHz audio DAC - 1 Component video output - 2 composite and S-Video outputs - 2 analog audio outputs - Coaxial and optical digital audio output

User Reviews (76)

Showing 1-10 of 76  
Floyd Crook   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 10, 2007]
Strength:

Everything, looks, picture quality, sound, it may last another 6 years.

Weakness:

None that are not easily overlooked.

I did a lot of research on DVD players before I bought this unit, being in a wheelchair I wanted a multi-disc player so I didn't have to get out of my recliner everytime I had to change a disc. I read some bad things about multi-disc player though and I really was tempted to buy a 5 disc player but this one seemed to be the very best, having the best mixture of both quality and durability. I must say this has been one great DVD player, I've had it for more than 6 years now and it still works as great as it did the day I got it. It has some of the minor flaws others have stated such as occassional popping between scenes, noisy disc changer, etc. but all-in-all this has been a great unit. It plays everything you can throw at too. I cannot understand some of the problems others are stating regarding disc playback, but they must either have extremely scratched discs, faulty discs, or just don't bother to clean or fix them when needed. I occassionally get the urge to look for something new but I just cannot find any excuse to buy another one. I've used the S-video out and Optical audio since I purchased this player and let me say the picture quality and sound are both fantastic. I've had this hooked up to a medium range Sherwood AV receiver since I got this and its performance has been just great despite the Sherwood's not being a high-end receiver (but was the best before you move up to the New Castles). One of my channels blew and so now I have a THX certified Pioneer Elite VSX 24TX (see reviews on this web site) on the way. I just can't wait until I hear what THX and DTS will sound like hooked up to this thing!! If you find one of these in good shape get it!!

Similar Products Used: RCA single DVD player
Sherwood AV receiver
Pansonic VCR
Wharfedale Rubiance 5.1 speakers
Previously had a 600 watt Kenwood Home Theater in a Box
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
keith   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 19, 2004]
Strength:

4 years old and still going strong.

Weakness:

Won't break so I can get the latest & greatest.

4 years and counting. Great pictur incredable sound. I would like to get a new pregeive scan but I cant get rid of this one becouse it still works wonderful.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
djbeaubien   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 16, 2003]
Strength:

othr than the specific problem i had this unit works very well,pioneer has restored my faith in them and i will consider purchasing thier products in the future.

Weakness:

hopefully none in the future

this is a follow-up on the dvc 302d where the audio drops out on specific dvds, after writing a letter to pioneer they offered to do an e-prom ic upgrade which should make the unit compatible w/all dvd movie soundtracks, i am thankful for thier decision to fix this problem even though the warranty had expired 5 weeks before w/best buy.

Similar Products Used: pioneer,kenwood,sony,sansui,onkyo,technics,yamaha,lots more.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Mike   Audio Enthusiast [May 12, 2003]
Strength:

Still playing dvd, cd, cd-rw, cd-r Still feel one that this unit is a bargain.

Weakness:

Remote kinda sucks. Loud tray. Has some trouble with duel layer dvd's

Way back when in Oct. 2000 I wrote a small review for this player. Well here we are in the present and I have to say that in almost three years of use there is nothing wrong or has gone wrong since the purchase. About the sound cutting out on certain movies, first: open the tray and see if the merry go round is dusty. mine was and once I vacuumed it those same movies played stright through. Second: If you are renting movies check the disk for scatches, smudges, or other things that might hinder the laser from reading the disk. I've also run across that type of problem. Just wipe it off with a cotton cloth and you should be good to go. As far as dvd's you buy for yourself, I've never had a single problem with any store bought dvd. I will admit on duel layer dvd's the sound will stop for a brief moment but thats it.

Similar Products Used: Kenwood, Sony
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
djbeaubien   Audio Enthusiast [May 10, 2003]
Strength:

3 disk, DD, DTS,

Weakness:

noisy,fast forward is terible,workmanship defect,

i`ve had this unit for about 3 years,it was the stores top of the line dvd player,they say you get what you pay for,i thought i did, but a year or so after i started to have the audio problems everyones talking about,although i didn`t realize it was the player,i thought it was the dvd`s themselves,so i didn`t think twice about it,until i saw these reviews,to my dismay my warranty ran out 5 weeks ago,so i`ve asked circuit city to see the facts and be understanding,that they sold me a defective unit from day one and pioneer knows this for a fact, i don`t know if theres a recall or not,but i think that most people thought the same as me,that it was simply the dvd and not the player,which kept the complaints from becoming so overwhelming that they would have to do something,instead they concealed the truth, my next step is to call pioneer,if any one knows more on this would you contact me at,djbeaubien@hotmail.com.thanks these reviews are very helpful.

Similar Products Used: this is my first dvd player, but i have a lot of nice equipmen`t that works just fine.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
matt   Audio Enthusiast [May 05, 2002]
Strength:

picture quality

Weakness:

audio. Loud changer. confusing remote with little buttons.

Interesting reading about this dvd player. I have been going nuts trying to figure out why some dvds have audio that jumps in and out and back and forth at times. If I playback again, it may be exactly the same skips, or play fine. Some dvds play fine. Others skip frequently. I''m inclined to think it must be the dvd from reading these reviews. I find it a real pain and very distracting to watching the movies. Remote is confusing in the dark; three different ways to back up, pause, etc. With so much money invested in dvd''s and a t.v., I may look to replace this player with another model.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
David H   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 22, 2000]
Strength:

3 Disc Changer W/Dolby D ANd DTS Built in.

Weakness:

I Have Yet to see Any.

This Is A Very Good Dvd Player For The Money Msrp on it is $399.99 I only paid $230.00 Thanks To Sears Out Of Stock On the unit I wanted to Buy And They Sold this for the Same Price.

Similar Products Used: 1st Dvd Player
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rob Vickner   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 02, 2000]
Strength:

Great video, sound and features such as the onboard Decoder..

Weakness:

Remote is effie, but who cares its just a remote

my 2nd DVD player, 1st was good (Philips 825) but lacked the nessesary digital decoder for 5.1 surround sound.. but this one has it all.. great buy....

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Rhodes   Audiophile [Mar 06, 2000]
Strength:

True random play, true 96 kHz digital output, multi disc capacity

Weakness:

only 3 disc, no HDCD

If I had all the money in the world (I don't - Duh!) I would have bought the Denon DVM-3700. Because it had all the things I really wanted. The Main contenders (Harman Kardon, Sony, and Yamaha) all seemed to have their own little quirks that I found a problem. The biggest one was not haveing true random play which I use a lot. The other thing was that Only the Yamaha had true 96kHz digital output. Which I have been lead to believe will be necessary for DVD-A whenever it hits. The picture on this player is among the best I've seen. But then I like my colors saturated and punchy. I feel that for the money ($399.99 at Best Buy) it was worth the money. By the way, if your considering buyg on the internet Pioneer only honors the warranty if your buy from an authorized dealer, and only Best Buy and Circuit City are authorized according to Pioneer. Unless you are a SERIOUS audio enthusiast who can tell the difference in sound and video (I couldn't, and I consider myself an enthusiast) then I would say buy this DVD player. It schould last you for at least a few years.

Similar Products Used: Denon DVM-3700, Harman Kardon DVD5, Panasonic DVD-C220, Sony DVP-C650D, Toshiba SD-4109X, Yamaha DVD-C900
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
James   Casual Listener [Mar 19, 2000]

As with Kenneth (3/4/00), I have had at least two DVD movies interrupted by periods of sound outage which required stopping and resuming to correct. The titles were Tarzan and The Haunting. I love the picture and sound quality but am disappointed with this glitch. Two machines suggests a design flaw.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 76  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com