Pioneer DV-AX10 DVD Players

DV-AX10

· PureCinema Progressive Output · 10-bit Video Processing System w/ 54MHz Bandwidth · Automatic Jitter Adjustment · Component Frame DNR · Y/C Timing Adjustment · Dynamic Black Level Extension · Horizontal and Vertical Sharpness Control · Brightness and Contrast Controls · Color Saturation and Hue Controls · Viterbi Decoding Process

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
jumbochang   AudioPhile [Feb 15, 2006]
Strength:

none, just like other players.

Weakness:

Heavy box, worst quality.

It is a good product. The service is very bad. My unit was broken on May 2005, send back to dealer to get fix. Until now my unit still can't get fix. Bad bad service.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
LTTONY   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 29, 2003]
Strength:

DOES EVERYTHING YOU COULD WANT FROM A DIGITAL SOURCE.

Weakness:

WEIGHS 57LBS.!

LIKE MANY REVIEWERS HERE,I WAS LOOKING FOR A SOURCE COMPONENT THAT COULD PLAY ALL FORMATS AND DO IT WITH OUT MAKING ME WANT TO TRY SOMETHING DIFFERENT. THIS PLAYER HAS ACCOMPLISHED THAT QUEST. I AM USING THIS IN A TWO CHANNEL SYSTEM. IT IS CONNECTED TO A TV, BUT I SELDOM WATCH MOVIES ON THIS SETUP. I HAVE BEEN USING THIS PLAYER STRICTLY FOR AUDIO. IT IS STILL IN THE BREAK IN MODE. HOWEVER, IT'S PERFORMANCE THUS FAR HAS PROMPTED ME TO SELL OFF MOST OF MY ALL IN ONE CD PLAYERS, TO NAME A FEW, MUSICAL FIDELITY A3, ARCAM FMJ, EAD 2000, AND A CAL CL15. THIS PLAYER LEAVES NOTHING BEHIND IN ANY FORMAT THAT I HAVE AUDITIONED. TOTALLY REVEALING, ULTRA SMOOTH, EXPANSIVE SOUND STAGE, AND MICRO/MADRO DYNAMICS THAT ARE SIMPLY OUTSTANDING. WHEN I FIRST PURCHASED THIS PLAYER, I THOUGHT I WOULD RESELL IT FOR A QUICK PROFIT. BUT, MY CURIOSITY GOT THE BEST OF ME AND I UNPACKED IT AND HAVE NOT REGRETED IT FOR A SECOND. IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR THE ULTIMATE ALL IN ONE, DIGITAL PLAYBACK, THIS IS AS GOOD AS IT GETS,AT LEAST FOR MY BUDGET. IN CASE YOU ARE WONDERING ABOUT THE PURCHASE PRICE? YES, I DID PURCHASE IT NEW, A STOCK FROM AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR THAT PRICE.

Similar Products Used: LINN IKEMI, ARCAM FMJ, SONY DVP S9000ES, MUSICAL FIDELITY A3 CD, CAL AUDIO CL-15, AND EAD ULTRADISK 2000.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Beneford   Casual Listener [Mar 27, 2003]
Weakness:

The weaknesses for this heavy DVD player was not enough audio output connections to connect to TV and amp,you need to turn on the amp when playing the DVD.

Now I have a pioneer AX-10, Philips SACD-1000, and Philips Q50. For CD playback Q50 was the best. For SACD playback Philips SACD-1000 was the best. For Video backback Pioneer AX-10 was the best. I also got SONY S-7000 but already sold,the video compare with AX-10, AX-10 still better. Knowing that some DVD having DVI output get much better video playback, let wait to see. I have no DAC,I only using the Audio Research tube pre-amp and power-amp, rogers 15 ohm speaker.May be another picture if I change a AV-amp.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Onet   AudioPhile [Feb 01, 2002]
Strength:

As close as you can get to a universal player as you can get! And video- I agree with all the superlative reviews in this thread.

Weakness:

Does not play multi-channel SACD- short of a truly universal.

I have always wanted a statement player that will play everything. This one came and I was a disappointed with the SACD palyback. But then I was comparing it the $28,000 DD-100/DC-101 combo my friend has. I''m not as rich as my buddy so I settled for this. CD playback was compromised also due to being a jack-of-all-trade machine. But then I had my machine modified by MSB Technology and they put in a 24/192 output board and I mated this with MSB''s Platinum DAC and it is audio nirvana! Owners of this machine-consider doing this if you are as much of an audiphile as a videophile. I tell you I do not miss my old Wadia transport and DAC! And since DSD is converted to PCM internally in the machine the Platinum DAC is able to decode the SACD. Well, not like Accuphase but close! And better than the true SACD Sony 9000 and 777ES, although the 777 can play multichannel SACD.

Similar Products Used: Wadia 270/ Wadia 27ix. Mark Levinson 380S pre-amp Mark Levinson 335 Amp Eggleston Andra speakers. Transparent & Siltech Cables. Marigo Power Conditioner. Pioneer Elite PRO-1000 HD plasma monitor
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
gregory   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 31, 2001]
Strength:

Gorgeous picture, elegant design, very good remote. Only player on the market that handles all known formats out there. Yes it plays both DVD-Audio and SACD.

Weakness:

Price, price, price.

The best picture I've ever seen from a DVD Player bar none. Watching on my RCA F38310 HDTV, films look like films. Zero artifacting, no combing (to my eyes anyway) and a smoothness that is superb. The champagne finish on the unit is simply sublime. The remote lights up the areas that need to be lighted up (most of the time) in a clear but not harsh red tone. Though for six grand, maybe they should have lit up the whole remote. Unfortunately I cannot rate the value of this machine as highly as I'd like to, as it is twice what any other top of the line DVD player costs. The reason for this is that it plays all formats. DVD, DVD-A, SACD, CD-R, CD, VCD and HDCD. What you are really paying for is the only unit on the market that has both DVD-Audio and SACD. I assume Pioneer had to pay a fortune to both of the patent holders on these new audio formats - hence the price. Ok, having said that...if you have to have the ability to play both formats then this is the player for you. My opinion is that only one of the formats is going to stick around and it's probably going to be DVD-A. Not because it's better perse but because WB have been quicker to support the format in releasing titles. We'll have to wait and see.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba 9200, Integra 9.1.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
2
Sunny Wong   Audiophile [Jun 03, 2001]
Strength:

Can play DVD-Video. DVD-Audio, SACD, CD, VCD. Excellent DVD picture quality ----- Pioneer flagship quality. The picture output is excellent no matter it's progressive component (480p), component (480i), s-video and composite. CD sound is the best from Pioneer so far. SACD and DVD-Audio are also extremely good.

Weakness:

None. Top quality of every kind of disc. What else do you want?

I connect its balance output to my set of Krell pre and power amp. The result is many hours of music enjoyment. I sell my Sony transport and PS Audio Ultralink II HDCD after purchasing DV-AX10. You see how strong is AX-10 in CD playing.

DVD-Video ----- Ever since the appearance of LD players, Pioneer is the king of optical disc technology. Same in DVD-V.

SACD and DVD-A ----- new generation pure audio format. Pioneer AX-10 let you verify the power of SACD and DVD-A. They are much better than CD!

Similar Products Used: Sony S7000.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
TheEAR(s) Hearing Aids   Audiophile [Jun 27, 2001]
Strength:

Superb built quality,every conection you can dream of even balanced!,SACD player!,overall quality feel,image quality unmatched by onther players(maybe some Ultra High-End ones costing several times as much),sound quality rivaling separate transport/DA converters.

Weakness:

Even at $8000 CAN its a great deal!This has to say someting about this piece.Its real High-End for even the most die hard audiophile maniac!I ordered one!have to wait now,its well worth the wait!

For starters forget anything you saw from Pioneer,this unit makes other Elite DVD players look cheaply built in comparison!And Pioneer is known to make some of the best DVD player on the market!

First the built quality is simply impressive,from the quality finish to the quality of the conectors on the back!
The unit weighs around 50lbs!In the same weight range as my two other players from Denon and SONY!

While built quality and weight dont mean you will get astounding performance this unit exells at CD playback and DVD playback! Its a High-End CD,SACD and DVD player!

The sound is detailed,spacious,no sign of electronic glare.
Its a real bargain even if used only as a CD player!Its that good!

In fact after the rave review Stereophile Guide to HT gave this unit I had to have one.And after the experiance at the store I will soon get my hands on my unit!

Great work Pioneer,top quality sound and built like a tank with detail reserved for a Swiss watch.Very very nice.

Recomended to anyone who can spare the change to get this unit.Even if you are a soupe au lait audiophile elitist ,like me!

5/5 and justified.Its audio and video nirvana.

Similar Products Used: So far none as high-end in terms of DVD playback,I own a high-end Denon CD player and a SONT SACD player both great but just a bit behind this Pioneer.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sunny Wong   Audiophile [Sep 20, 2001]
Strength:

Still excellent sound quality for DVD-V, DVD-A, SACD and CD. First class DVD-video quality whether the output is 480p, 480i, s-video or composite.

Weakness:

None even til now.

There's a new player Q50 from Philips, which is made in Singapore claiming to beat Pioneer DV-AX10. What a simple and naive conclusion! Such results were report in Singapore and a few discussion forum in Hong Kong.

I personally have the Pioneer AX-10 and Philips Q50 to do a detailed comparison. I don't need to hear the faked results and message. I tell you what.

As far as audio part is concerned, Pioneer beat many expensive transport+DAC. Philips Q50 is nothing here. Giant (Pioneer) and child.

In DVD-V, Pioneer AX-10 won in 480i, s-video and composite outputs. Philips was no match with Pioneer. In 480p output, AX-10 won at least 95% of the time. Only when the DVD is weird will the Philips perform a bit better.

Perhaps most people are now poor in HK, they tend to praise cheap products a lot and even diseminate false information. The Philips machine has a poorly designed remote. It's slow in response and weird in button location. There's a lack of operating information on the panel, too.

Guys, look clearly what AX-10 is ----- thick and heavy chassis for resisting vibration, very high quality transformer and power supply, top class audio DAC and circuitry for best sound, unmatched experience and knowledge in video disc player, first class remote,.... Too many merits. Buy one to enjoy if you can afford.

Similar Products Used: Sony 7000, Sony transport, PS Audio DAC
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Panos   Audiophile [Jul 30, 2001]
Strength:

This is the only digital source you will ever need IMHO.

Weakness:

None

What can i say about this unit?...I was looking for the ultimate digital source for my 2-channel system and i came across this beast. I gave it a listen, although it is a DVD player, and i was blown off my seat!
CD,SACD,DVD-A,CDR all sound perfect. The overall sound is laid back with excellent dynamics and soundstage.

Combine this unit with equivalent equipment and you won't be dissapointed!
Even at the asking $5,000 this is a bargain.

Bravo Pioneer!

Similar Products Used: Sony 9000-ES
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com