Pioneer DV 444 DVD Players

Pioneer DV 444 DVD Players 

DESCRIPTION

Pioneer combines form with function in its progressive scan DVD player, the DV-444. This full-featured, single-play DVD/CD/CD-R/CD-RW/VCD/MP3 player offers quality performance with a slim, stylish, silver exterior.

The DV-444 provides film-like quality images with the integration of digital progressive scan output. To accomplish this, the player processes the signal from the DVD disc purely in the digital domain to minimize signal loss. The DV-444 then outputs a signal with twice as much information as a conventional interlaced DVD player. This faster processing virtually eliminates all jagged edges and creates a very smooth, film-like picture.

The DV-444 has the ability to play multiple music formats including the widely popular MP3 format. The unit takes a technological leap forward with the MP3 format, providing cataloging and on-screen menu features to utilize the storage capacity of CD-R/RW discs. The menu allows for simple navigation and song selection with easy use of the remote. The device also automatically decodes MP3 encoded content.

Providing superior sound as well, the DV-444 offers 192kHz/24-bit Burr Brown audio DAC. It combines a sophisticated noise shaping technology, excellent operating stability, wide dynamic range and an extra high signal-to-noise ratio of 105dB.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 34  
[Sep 02, 2018]
ilyasm


Strength:

Aesthetic design and some good functions.

Weakness:

Plays very few formats!

Price Paid:
50
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2001
OVERALL
RATING
3
[Dec 11, 2003]
Adder
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

It turns on properly.

Weakness:

Everything

I had this unit for a year and I must say this unit is a POS. This player struggles to play the latest DVD titles such as the Hulk, X-Men 2, Lord Of The Rings II Towers...I could go on, and this continues even after a firmware upgrade. To continue, the Progressive scan also sucks. The progressive scan distorts and ruins the image quality. Try hooking this POS to a large high quality HDTV, and run a resolution test from VE or AVIA test DVD’s with and without progressive scanning, then you will see what I mean. I start to wonder if those professional reviewers who gave this player good marks actually tested and gone through this POS thoroughly. If I could, I would rate this thing a 0 out 5.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Dec 12, 2002]
Holst
AudioPhile

See my brief review under Definitive Technology BP 1X speakers. Price paid was in pounds sterling.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 18, 2002]
patch
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Front panel display dimmer. Quick to load. Fairly good system setup menu. Plays most CD formats.

Weakness:

Ugly, unless you like cheap looking audio components. Poor CD sound quality. Remote Sucks

Pioneer replaced my DVD-343 unit with this one because the problems with the former unit could not be corrected. Video from this unit is a very nice improvement over the DVD-343. Occasionally the unit freezes for a split second before continueing when crossing a DVD chapter boundary. The remote just plain sucks. It's useless in a darkened room because all the keys are small and crowded together. Absence of backlighting is bothersome. It's interesting that although the unit includes Burr/Brown audio DACs, the CD sound quality is sub par compared with the DVD-343. Switching from analog to digital output and allowing my Marantz receiver to perform the conversion improves the sound a little bit but still lacks midrange detail and is void of any bass impact. I can only assume the Pioneer did a lousy job of implementing the Burr/Brown converters. I would feel sorry for anyone who pays list price for this unit because there are better players available for that kind of money. This unit is worth the 225.00 but not any more. If you are looking for a unit that shines with both DVD and CD this is not the best choice. As a DVD player it's pretty nice but you'll need a separate CD player if you want top quality CD audio.

Similar Products Used:

Pioneer DVD-343

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[May 14, 2002]
walkman666
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

picture, sound, slim design, set-up, manual

Weakness:

poorly designed remote

I bought the Pioneer DV-444 after reading the consistently high reviews here (compared to Sony-700 and Toshiba 4700/5700). I was shopping for an upgrade to my DVD, I had been using the reliable, but semi-dated Toshiba SD-2109, after buying an A/V receiver and surround sound speaker package. I am most pleased with this purchase. Superior home theater picture using S-Video connection AND sound using TOSlink compared to my older Toshiba player (I use a dedicated CD player for music so am only using the Pioneer for movies, no MPEGs, no CDWs, just movies). One day I will upgrade my TV to see what progressive scan using component video connections looks like. The DV-444 also has a nice sleek look. The remote is too busy with small buttons, but that is not critical to me since I mainly use the on/off & open/close buttons. The value of this DVD is great, at only $220. Set-up was very easy, too, with a well-written manual. Also, other reviewers have indicated that they like the music it generates. I cannot comment on that.

Similar Products Used:

Toshiba SD-2109

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 06, 2002]
DMan
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

video and audio quality, great mp3 interface, low price, 4 years of firmware updates, full 1 year warranty, sleek looks, adjustable picture quality (did I mention the price already?), easy menu structure

Weakness:

very trivial - no tv/video button on remote, only plays mp3 level 3 encoded at 44.1 or 48 kBps

This player is fantastic, especially for the price. I was in the market for the 440, but J&R was out of stock, so they gave me a deal on the 444. Unfortunately, I do not have a digital TV, so I can''t take advantage of the Progressive Scan feature. Nevertheless, this is a great multi format player. The picture is sharp and clear, and better yet, adjustable (Contrast, Chroma, Sharpness and Hue are adjustable.) The audio quality is better than my old Sony (DVP-530S). No problems with CD-R/W. I plugged it in to my receiver via the analog outputs for audio only, sice the DAC was better than in my Kenwood VR-509. I use the Digital out for DVDs to get the 5.1. I have heard audiophiles complain about this unit, but what is an "audiophile" doing with a $200 DVD player anyway. Get a life! The MP3 interface is really amazing. it is basically the same structure as Windows Explorer. It shows you your folders, and the contents of each on the TV screen. It displays the first 8 characters of the filename, which seems the be the industry peak. I can''t believe my old mp3s sound this good. I have only listened to mp3 on my pc previously, and I can''t believe the difference. Plus they give you 4 years of firmware updates incase the technology changes. A good saftey net until there is some standardization for HDTV.

Similar Products Used:

Sony DVP-530S, Panasonic RA60

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 03, 2002]
walterb
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

I''m satisfied.

Weakness:

regio code (europe)

This is my first ever dvd player. Bought it with as a set with receiver end speakers. Very glad it play als kinds of discs and formats. A lot more thebn described in the manual. :) So far I''v tried dvd, dvd+rw, cd, cd-r, and cd-rw with succes. It plays audio cd, mp3, vcd, svcd and dvd. Have not tried xvcd and sa-cd yet.

Similar Products Used:

None, only pc dvd roms

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Apr 19, 2002]
Big Tex
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Quality video, especially with component. Better than expected audio. Very easy to set up and use.

Weakness:

Not available in black

I have had a DV414 for several years and have grown tired of it. It was a great entry level unit at the time but is now outdated. I have been looking at Elite units but a buddy got the 444. I was impressed with it on his Pioneer 64" RPTV. Picked one up for less than $220. Right away I was impressed. Don''''t let anyone tell you that it is as good as an Elite player, because it isn''''t. But I was knocked out at what it does for the price. Very good video in S, and outstanding in component. No color saturation as with the 414. Very fast tray and several nice features, such as auto start. Audio quality is very good, especially for the price, but not as good as the Elite. CD playback is impressive but not overwhelming. Has no bad points that I can point to. Tossed the remote in a drawer because I use a Pronto. I wish it were available in black to match my other gear.

Similar Products Used:

Pioneer DV414 Pioneer Elite DV05 and DV09

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 28, 2002]
Sonefree
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Plays MP3 CD-Rw CD-R Automatic sonefree. Looks good Very fast RGB out. Don''t have DD, DTS decoder

Weakness:

Would be great with mic in for karaokee

The first reason for buying this unit, was the ability to play MP3 CD-r, CD-rw. I have been waiting for a great DVD-player without DD, DTS Decoder. This has been a prob. since all the good players with RGB ect. also had DD DTS Decoder. The reason for this is that I have it on my Reciver, and don''t want to pay for it on my DVD player. All the MP3 CDs CD-r VCDs I have tried on it, works perfect. I also love that you can see what kbps the MP3 is. 192 kbps is a must for keeping great HIFI sound on MP3s. Another thing that I love is how fast it is. I hate to wait 15 sec. to load a CD ect. This unit is the fastest I have seen. This is the DVD player I have been waiting for. This completes my needs for now! next year I don''t know =)

Similar Products Used:

Panasonic RV-60 NAD DVD

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 03, 2002]
witters
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great picture and excellent sound.

Weakness:

For the money, none.

At this price the picture and sound cannot be beaten. It outperforms decks costing much more. Might not have all the bells and whistles but for me it''''s about performance on the screen - not wether it takes a nano-second longer to load!

Similar Products Used:

Sony 7700, Pioneer 737, Sony 700.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 34  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com