Pioneer DV-37 DVD Players

DV-37

  • 10-bit / 54MHz Video Signal DAC for high-quality DVD pictures
  • 3 Factory Video Settings (CRT / Projector / Professional)
  • 1 Component Video (Y, Cr, Cb) Output
  • 2 S-Video (S2 Compatible) Outputs
  • 2 Composite Video Outputs
  • 1 Dolby Digital / dts / LPCM Coaxial Output
  • 1 Dolby Digital / dts / LPCM Optical Output
  • 2 Analog Outputs

  • User Reviews (74)

    Showing 1-10 of 74  
    coolmonk   AudioPhile [Oct 22, 2003]
    Strength:

    Build quality, progressive scan, easy setup, many features.

    Weakness:

    Poor de-interlacer, video quality, slow layer changes, no DVD-A/SACD, chroma bug.

    In my honest opinion, I would have to say that the reviews on this player is a bit overrated. I have owned this player for a little over 4 months before upgrading to the Denon DVD-2900 (which is awesome in every aspect). People who say that the DV-37 produces the "best" picture obviously have not seen the higher-end players in action. Don't get me wrong, for the money..this DVD player is absolutely superb compared to others in the same price range ($200-$400); however, it lacks audio/video quality that one would expect from a DVD player that retailed for $1,000. First off, let me state that I had the DV-37 hooked up to the 32" Sony HDTV KV-32HS510 and the Denon AVR-2803 receiver. The DV-37 performed well on both progressive and interlaced modes. One thing I did notice was that with progressive-scan on, when viewing DVD movies encoded at a lower framerate, you start seeing horizontal scanlines. This is really annoying because it makes you feel like you are watching a badly recorded VCD. Switching to interlaced mode fixes this but I absolutely hate watching DVDs in interlaced mode because of picture quality. Picture noise is really noticeable on this player in interlaced mode (and even with progressive-scan). The setup menu is easy to navigate but the manual does not provide adequate information on what each setting does. Playing around with the picture adjustments for a week or so is necessary for optimal quality. I know a lot of people say that the picture is film-like, but I disagree. The only player for under $1,000 that I have experienced first-hand that is capable of producing film-like picture is the Denon DVD-2900 and Denon DVD-2200. Pioneer's PureCinema Progressive technology just doesn't do justice if you're looking for smooth, fluid-motion pictures. I guess for the price you can't really expect too much. I also forgot to mention that it does lack DVD-Audio and Super Audio CD capabilities. All-in-all, I'd say it's a good entry-level DVD player for home theatre..but nothing to get excited over.

    Similar Products Used: Pioneer Elite C36, Pioneer Elite DV-47Ai, Denon DVD-2800MK-II, Denon DVD-2900.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    cawgijoe   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 16, 2003]
    Strength:

    Build quality. Great picture. Super sound.

    Weakness:

    Manual in terms of adjusting player's internal video settings. No real guidance.

    Picked this player up from PCMall for the price of $279 minus a mail-in $40 rebate which takes care of the shipping. It's a refurb. So far I'm very happy with it. Sound and picture quality are excellent. I was very confused at first with the video settings. The manual gives very little guidance when it comes to these. I ended up playing with them for an hour or so till I came up with what I felt were good settings. Does anyone have settings from a review somewhere they could share? Build quality is very good. Nice looking player. The remote is fine. Nothing special, but does what it's suppossed to.

    Similar Products Used: Sony DVP-S550D
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    dirty red dog   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 21, 2003]
    Strength:

    build quility Great Price

    Weakness:

    None to Report

    Great picture...Great Sound. The Best Damn DVD Player I have owned.

    Similar Products Used: panasonic 31,32,&62. Sony 615
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Jim   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 28, 2003]
    Strength:

    Quality build, awsome picture and sound, plenty of outputs...

    Weakness:

    SLOW SLOW SLOW Layer changes on DVD's....Really annoying!

    I have the Elite DV-38A (there is no post for it) which is almost the same machiene but adds DVD-A and THX certs. I think it's a great player the picture and audio quality are top notch. The only issue I have with my player is the LONG lag time while changing layers on a DVD. I have a $200 unit that does it in 1/3 the time. I have called Pioneer and they insist this is normal?

    Similar Products Used: Rotel, Awia, RCA (all of these do layer changes way faster than the DV-38A)
    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Alan123   Casual Listener [May 09, 2002]

    Just received my unit. Just wanted to post that this DVD player can be purchased at http://www.audiovideoshopper.com/pioneldv.html for under $500.00 now.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    kelsci   Audio Enthusiast [May 07, 2002]
    Strength:

    Very good to excellent video with superb contrast and color reproduction. Excellent to excellent plus on its audio reproduction.

    Weakness:

    The remote as noted in the Review Summary

    Video was tested thru S-Video on a 35 inch Sony Trinitron. Audio was tested with a Monster Coax to a Yamaha 2095 receiver with two NHT Supertwos and three NHT Superones. Not tested were TRUSOURROUND, optical and analog connection. This machine features adjustments for items such as Block Noise etc. These adjustments did not show any improvement in picture quality but might be of value if the machine is used on large screen front and rear projection units. Audio quality was limited to the recording quality of the D.D., DTS or CD. I found the audio quality outstanding with superb tone characteristics and subtle detail and nuances being reproduced. DTS music discs played better on this unit then any previous unit hooked up to this system. I found the picture quality to be very good to excellent. Color and contrast seemed first rate with a lifelike image and a 3-D effect. I am used to handling Pioneer remote controls. My quibble with this remote is the jog setup with a center button that pivots to make menu adjustments and entrys. I found it annoying to use, but one can get used to it. Overall a machine that feels and performs quite well over cheaper units. The only unit in its class that I had my hands on briefly was the Toshiba 9200. Its audio sounded very transistorized while the DV-37 almost has a tubelike sound giving it a big edge over the Toshiba.

    Similar Products Used: Toshiba 9200 but have used or tried the following players: Pioneer 414,825,341; Toshiba 2109,1700; Magnavox 815; Samsung 709
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Mike Nguyen   Audio Enthusiast [May 07, 2002]
    Strength:

    Picture and Sound Quality, 2 Analog output, 2 S-Video Output. Progressive-Scan

    Weakness:

    DVD-Audio? SACD? Dual Components

    I just got my Pioneer Elite DV 37 from Ultimate Electronics and only one thing i could say about this DVD Player is AMAZING DVD at the best bargain price. I watch Shrek to test the DVD, the picture is brilliant, and the sound is fantastic. I wish this DVD player could play DVD-Audio and SACD, but oh..well. My current set up is : Boston Acoustics VR975 Boston Acoustics VR920 Integra DTR 7.2 Boston Acoustics VRM/EX Surround Definitive Tech SPTL 15+ Monster Power HTS 3600 and all monster cable interconnect and Z2 series wires

    Similar Products Used: Denon AVR2800
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    richmccarthy   Casual Listener [Mar 23, 2002]
    Strength:

    Solid, good looking, progressive scan, now available at competitive prices (under $600)

    Weakness:

    Would be nice if it supported Sony''s SACD format

    I picked up the Pioneer Elite DV-37 back in July 2001 and have not had any problems with the unit. In fact, as a new user, it was up and running after ten minutes out-of-the box. I am a fan of the Elite product lines, having purchased an Elite laser disc player many years ago. I have seen comments on the remote control, but nothing is more punishing than the remotes that are included with the $200 mass-market DVDs - they usually do not have a jog wheel. I made this choice after shopping for a popular Denon model, which apparently had some glitches and was being returned by buyers. I had also considered the pricey Sony 9000es, which had just come out at the time. After seeing the Sony unit in-person, I just didn''t think it was worth the $1,300 price tag at that time (now its around $950). Anyway, the DV-37 does everything I need it to do, I like the picture and its smooth operation from the progressive scan. You can read about technical features on other reviews, I am more concerned with plug-and-play first. Personally, I do not think it makes sense to dump alot of money into top-shelf DVD player, unless you really have a over-the-top dedicated home theater. I use this in a multi-purpose room with a Denon AVR-5800 receiver and B&W CDM 7NT speakers. I am close to buying a 50" plasma, but it is a hard move for me. I keep hoping that a few issues will clear over time (e.g., false contouring, burn-in, etc.).

    Similar Products Used: Denon DVD-2800
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    olie   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 14, 2002]
    Strength:

    Easy menu navigation

    Weakness:

    Remote is lame

    I''m on my third DV-37 the first one had a problem going from menu to start of film without splashing multiple distorded screens for about 10 seconds before actually starting. Returned it! The second unit was so distorted no matter what I did I couldn''t get rid of the problem(Chroma Bug??) What is a Chroma Bug??. The third unit is finally looking like a DVD player worth what I paid for it. I''m using it with a Mitzubishi Diamond 55" 16X9 HDTV. Over all I think the clarity could be better. Any suggestions please let me know.

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    stu   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 05, 2002]
    Strength:

    Color, versatility, sound, and several more not mentioned.

    Weakness:

    Ok remote and slight pause when changing layer

    This DVD is really one of the best sold in the 500 to 700 dollar price range. In my opinion this unit competes with the flagship Denon and sony DVD players. Many people come over to my place and ask, what is the difference between the dv-37 and a 200 dollar or less machine? All I have to do is throw in a disk and watch their faces. Right away they replay, "The color and picture quality is noticably better." The remote on the other hand is alright. Simple, moderate built quality, and glow in the dark buttons. The flaw lies in the small button size. I guess the size is in proportion with the quanity of buttons on the remote. The DVD player''s video DAC is superb. I own a dvd called spring and chaos. When it was made the info per frame was very large. Most standard players froze or pixalated in various common chapters. The company eventually had to reissue dvd''s. This player handeled the DVD well with no pixalation. With all DVD''s the color is true, soft, and accurate. The sound DAC is also well engineered. Crisp, clear, strong sound, nothing anyone would complain about. With all players there are flaws. The dv-37 tends to have a very short, but noticable pause with switching layers in DVD''s. It can be distracting when intensly watching a movie. The connections on the back are great. I own both a TV (obvious) and a projector. Swithing the S-video was annoying. The two S-Video connects are a real help in releaving the problem of having to switch svideo cables seemingly every other day. Pioneer gave all the connctions that a person could want, except for the 6 channel hookups. In today''s receiver market there is no need for a 6 channel hookup thanks to new technology including digital coaxial and fiber optics (toshlink). If this player is spotted for 500 dollars, or a little more, I highly recommend buying it. The color, picture, sound, and numerous other features make the dv-37 an outstanding player for the present and years to come.

    Similar Products Used: Pioneer elite dv-36 (the dv-37 has a better picture quality than the dv-36), pioneer 525, denon 2800, and several others.
    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Showing 1-10 of 74  

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

    audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

    mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com