Panasonic DVDCV52 DVD Players

DVDCV52

Panasonic Super Slim DVD Player - DVDCV52/ 27MHz/10-Bit Video D/A Converter/ Optical Digital Audio Out/ Advanced Surround/ Cinema Mode/ CD-R/RW, MP3, And WMA Playback/ Remote Control/ Black Finish

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
Mark   Casual Listener [Jul 18, 2006]
Strength:

Worked fine for four years. But I have other components that have lasted longer.

Weakness:

HO7!!!!!!

Used for four years without problems. Then I got HO7'd. Great error code. Panasonic won't even tell me what the code means. Amazed at how common this is. I guess I am luckky it lasted four years. I think the common theme I am seeing is most of the posts say they purchased at Best Buy. I will not buy from this type of discount store again. Now I am just waiting for my Panasonic TV and Stereo receiver to crap out.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
MMELECO   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 23, 2005]

"Panasonic CV52" Worked well, until I got the famous HO7 error code, don't go to the repair man, don't try to put oil on the wheel spinners. Nothing works. Your DVD player is junk, just like a junk bond, worthless. Never buy a panasonic again, the company has changed and can no longer be a trusted company. $179 down the drain

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Manu Goyal   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 05, 2003]
Strength:

5 disc changer. Lets you access all files and folders in your MP3 disc.

Weakness:

Unpredictable. Long time to start and read dics.

My player konked off for the first time after 5 months of purchase. Gave a H07 error. Then started again after being idle for 10 days. Now it has again stopped again (after a month)displaying the same H07 error. I am totally frustrated with this piece.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
druekberg   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 04, 2003]
Strength:

I liked the quality and the 5 disc stuff, though the remote is crowded and will make you blind trying to read it. Read MP3s and VCDs well. BEFORE IT DIED.

Weakness:

Usual Panasonic run-around. As bad as Radio Shack when it comes to dealing with defective merchandise.

Like many others, my unit just died 4 months after I bought it. The dreaded H01 error. (If you get the H02 check out the class action suit at http://www.panasonich02.com/). I called Panasonic and -- as others have reported -- the rep didn't know what H01 meant and gave me the address to ship it to for repair. Of course, it's one month over the labor warranty. Still within parts but you know the story: the labor will cost more than the unit.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
J Jamison   Casual Listener [Apr 04, 2003]
Strength:

Audio and video quality is good, that's about it.

Weakness:

As I have found elsewhere on the Net, frustrated users are reporting that Panasonic DVD players are famous for working for 6 months to a year and taking a dump right after the warranty runs out!!! And when it did work, it is painfully slow in powering up, NOT user friendly, takes forever to change discs and the damn thing shuts itself off after 5 minutes of being idle, no matter what. Then you have to wait for it to power up again.

I'm mad as I write this. I just rented a DVD movie and popped it in to this Panasonic changer that was working seconds before. Suddenly, not only did the whole thing freeze up and give me the "H01" error message (apparently same as flipping you the bird), I can't get the DVD out. This type of player has disc exchange, so the disc in play is 'swallowed up' from the carousel. In other words, I think I'm facing overhaul city. It's apparently under warranty, but there's no 'authorized' service centers in my state and the biggest problem is having to buy Blockbuster a new DVD. Not to mention the 4 other discs in the carousel.

Similar Products Used: My 'old' Samsung cheapo single-DVD player always worked just fine and is going back where the crappy Panasonic goes. Maybe simple is better. I also have a Panasonic bookshelf system with 3-disc CD
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
geezer49   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 01, 2003]
Strength:

5 disc changer with sequential or random play. Twin laser for good audio tracking. Runs very quiet and smooth.

Weakness:

Complicated instuction manual. Many useless features for a novice. Cheaply made remote.

If you are looking for a great CD player that holds 5 discs, this a fine unit for the price. Sound is excellent and the changer runs very smooth and quiet. One really cool aspect is that you can change out the other 4 CD's while listening to the disc that's playing. For DVD use, the picture and sound are all good. However; it does take awhile to figure out how to use all the features and the instuction manual can get quite confusing. Be prepared to spend alot of time reading. Since my use is 90% CD's and 10% DVD's, I thought this was a great buy since Panasonic is giving a $30 rebate. In conlusion; if you use your player mostly for music, i'd recommend this 5 disc changer. If you mostly watch DVD's, i'd recommend a single disc unit which is less cumbersome to operate.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer DVD-333
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
MFTjohnnyd   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 19, 2002]
Strength:

build quality quiet

Weakness:

no direct disc access from unit

Unit replaced my 1 hour old Toshiba sd-2805 which was a total piece of junk. great build quality! unit is slow to respond to commands, but i have noticed this with all dvd changers.

Similar Products Used: toshbia sd2805
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
droutre   Casual Listener [Nov 02, 2002]
Strength:

Long file names, optical link so no yoyo cables needed, random play on 200+ song disk. CHEAP with current $30 rebate.

Weakness:

Does not read the ID3 tag.

I bought this as a CD/MP3 player as DVD's are on another unit. Hooked to a Dennon amp & Klipsh speakers. Things to LOVE is that it plays MP3 on the optical link and it has shows long file names! It does not read the ID3 tag (as far as I can tell). It may have limits on mp3's about data rate but then anyone who uses less than than 128k encoding for an mp3 is tone deaf and should get an Edison mechanical "platter" player (without electronics). Manual/specs do not say anything about file names or optical link but it works -- manual does show such but no text on it. Others offer sort of same but DOS 8 char names and no digital link for mp3's (more cables, more problems). No disk has had any problems. Change to next disk/track delays may be longer than some expect on random/change disk but not more than 10-15 sec which is ok for what I use it for. A few more months may change things but for now .....

Similar Products Used: Kenwood 505? (forgot actual number) and others.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jsnj   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 26, 2002]
Strength:

Great picture, great sound, a lot of features like random all discs for CDs, repeat, quick replay, zoom adjustment to minimize black bars on letterboxed only DVD's, surround sound options, etc... It's the only 5 disc player I found that plays WMA's.

Weakness:

Not user friendly. You need to read manual to understand how to use it. Initial reading of cdrw discs is slow. A few mp3's are problematic on playback that aren't on my PC. Deep length design. Might not fit your entertainment console.

Review for Panasonic DVD-CV47. 1st DVD player, As far as I can see the only difference between the cv47 and cv52 is a progress indicator(a bar that indicates how far you've played through an item). They come with the same manual. And I think this is a Walmart only Panasonic item. Overall, excellent picture and sound quality along with many features and capabilities for the price.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com