Panasonic DVD RP91N DVD Players

DVD RP91N

Progressive Scanning (480P) output for true-to-film picture playback of DVD movie discs1
4:3 Shrink Function w/ Letterbox Zoom & Shift lets you watch DVD movie discs in their original aspect ratio on a 16:9 wide screen to preserve the high picture quality of progressive output
54MHz/10-bit Video D/A Converter uses 54MHz oversampling to help bring out the amazing picture quality offered by our progressive-scan DVD players
DVD-RAM Video Playback Capability
MPEG Digital Noise Reduction (Mosquito/Block/3D)
Picture Control (Brightness, Color, Contrast, Sharpness)
Gamma Correction allows a choice of different gamma settings to help bring out detail even in dark scenes
2-Dimensional Sharpening Filter
Monitor Select allows for connection to a standard TV, CRT Projector, LCD Projector or a Projection TV
Switchable Component Video Out (480P/480I)
Advanced Surround (V.S.S.) allows for a remarkable surround sound effect even while only using the front two speakers2
Headphone Surround (V.S.S.) provides great sound even with headphones
Cinema Mode for cinema-like luminance and color with improved detail even in dark scenes
Dialogue Enhancer makes the dialogue channel clearly audible over the other sound channels
Disc Stabilizer for improved playability
Still Picture Display (I/P/B) freezes an image to allow for precise picture quality adjustments
Auto Switching Field/Frame Still for added versatility
Frame Advance (Forward & Reverse) for incredible control
Black Level Control
192kHz/24-bit Audio D/A Converter provides greater sampling rates and bit depths than standard audio formats for amazing fidelity and sound quality
Built-in DTS3 & Dolby Digital4 5.1 Channel Surround Decoder with Speaker Setting delivers crisp, theater-like sound
3-Mode Digital Re-Master Processing for CD/DA Playback
Virtual Battery Operation
Audio Only Function (Video Circuit OFF)
Dual Digital Audio Out (Coaxial/Optical)
Headphone Jack with Volume Control
Dynamic Range Compression
Illuminated Joystick Remote Control
DVD/CD Text Display
Disc Memory
CD-R/RW Playback5
Twin Laser Pickup for DVD/CD playback
Chapter Preview helps to refresh your memory of a movie by showing you the first 3 seconds of each previously viewed chapter
Hi-Speed Smooth Motion Scan: 5 Speed up to x100 allows crystal clear scan quality while locating desired locations on a disc
On-Screen Menu Icons to help guide operation
Energy Star Compliant for low energy output

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
contractK   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 21, 2003]
Weakness:

A little on the light side.

Easy to use dvd player with awsome picture quality. Havent tried the dvd audio yet but thats comming. This dvd is a steal for 345 and ive just seen it for 325 on ebay. GO BUY this dvd player if you are in the market. No need to pay any more then this, it has it ALL. HD-dvd will be out in 4 years anyhow.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jay   Audio Enthusiast [May 19, 2002]
Strength:

Plays everything under the sun except SACD. great DVD movie audio. Various output types, analog digital

Weakness:

misses the first split second of playback when starting or changing tracks. scan lines

Like most equipment with various options, this can be a bear to set up but once done, you forget it''s there. It just does it''s job, well. This player misses the first split second of play when starting or changing tracks, manually. Most noticable during music. Listening to music is dull. It''s fine for background noise, but I''d never just sit and listen to this player. My stand alone pleases me more. Scan lines appear, for a split second at a time, during fast scenes. I have a Mit WS86955. This has gotten really annoying. I know this was probably a refurb unit but that''s no excuse. I don''t use the panny remote. I use the Marantz RP2000. I highly recomment any one looking for a good universal remote. This remote is available alone, easily found on EBay. I shy away from those all digital, no button remotes. They are not as useful as one might think. The RP2000 is half button, half screen. The play button in VCR mode is the play button in DVD mode. How cool is that. My equipment Marantz 19EX Panny DVD 2 Parasound 855 amps Sony ES CD75 PSB Stratus Gold all around 2 Sunfire Jr subs MitWS86955 IXOS interconnects

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Dalancroft   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 18, 2002]
Strength:

Many adjustable settings, picture and sound top-notch, gold exterior (which matches the trim on my gear rack) is attractive.

Weakness:

Uhhh--TOO many adjustments? As previous reviewer stated, us sausage-fingered guys will find the remote tricky.

Almost too many features, stunning picture, smooth sound, great buy for videophiles. I bought this to replace a Toshiba SD-1200 (a fine basic unit) and feed a Panasonic 47WX49. I immediately noticed a substantial gain in picture quality, but the improvement in sound quality was more subtle -- warmer, perhaps, than the Toshie, and smoother. I especially like the ability to tone down each individual component color as the Panny RPTV is known for its "red push" problem. Reducing the red setting a couple of clicks brought the colors into better balance. And the colors are stunning. Very smooth, dimensional, lifelike and reminiscent of film. I went through about 10 DVDs, including Fantasia 2000, The Mask, etc. and the picture was spectacular without a hint of grain or artifact. I look forward to watching many, many films on such a high-quality source. P.S. Why haven''''t they changed the menu so one can click on "2002" for the model year???

Similar Products Used: Toshiba SD-1200, friend''''s mid-level Sony
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
NY1PR2002   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 18, 2002]
Strength:

Great Picture,Nice looking DVD Player,Lots of settings and features,Best Progressive Scan Ive seen so far.....

Weakness:

Not enough space to move the joystic on the remote for someone with big fingers.Otherwise its a great unit!

After reading many reviews and searching for different DVD players this is the one that i decided to buy and Im so glad for making this choice. In its category and for the price I paid for it this Panasonic its in a league by itself.This DVD Player will perform just as great (if not better) than those units costing over a $1000. I strongly recomend this DVD player. Way to go Panasonic!

Similar Products Used: Sony DVP-NS900v,Denon DVD-2800
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
billy   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 16, 2001]
Strength:

incredible sound,well laid out,great picture,value packed,
very versatile

Weakness:

instruction manuel,sometimes there's a pop when it changes
dvdaudio tracks, menus sometimes hard to take

saw this unit in the store for some time and finally broke
down and bought it one day. I hope to upgrade to hdtv and
progressive scan dvd's will maybe last me till it hits my
neighborhood, but the interlaced pic is so good on this unit
I might decide that I can get by without one for a while.As with my first panasonic dvd I noticed some noise in the picture, but tweaking the controls mitigated this greatly.
there are some sawtooth edges on video sourced material but
its very rare while it was a plague on my toshiba. progressive scan will probably reduce this greatly. My
players' model no is rp91D-n and I dont know what the diff
is but it cant be much.
At any rate the picture off of film source material is first
rate, and the "smooth scan" is exactly that. the slowmo, freeze frame, etc are surperb.the poster who complained about noisy mechanics might want to check out his player, as mine is absolutly quite, and I mean ABSOLUTLY! This thing
doesnt make a sound and operation is smooth as a baby's butt
the whole package resembles a high quality cd unit in look and feel and operation. Which begs the question, how is the audio? to sum it up in one word AWESOME. The dvd audio is
not just a "gimick" and, imho,well worth the trouble. but they need to get their act together. one disc I have says
"dvd dolby digital" and "dts". I dont know if its just
dolby dig and dts or dvdaudio (but its 96 mhz and sounds great). Tigerlilly, by natalie merchant is dvd audio and
is so lifelike its scary, sometimes there's a pop when it changes tracks automactically, but this is mostly on mp3's
I pretty much gave up on mp3's because they seemed flat. but on this unit with remaster on they sound almost (but not
quite) like cd's. speaking of the remaster button this is a
nice bonus.My cd's sound really great and I dont know if its the higher sampling rate or the great transport but
problem disc's that wont play any where else play with ease
on this machine. I imagine it helps if the dac in your receiver or pre-pro can handle 88 mhz signals (mine can) do
yourself a favor and drop by sam goodys or somewhere and pick up some dvdaudio discs and see for yourself. this is a
great format! hi-fi is my first love and what this unit does
for music is amazing. panasonic is a great mainstream brand
but this unit is hi-fi caliber, and its built in japan!I guess they still build some stuff there. So I guess my changer will collect cobwebs because convienient as it is how can I live with it when I have this on the shelf? the delicate cymbals and realistic voices rivals my turntable
(sacrilige!) sorry to be raving but this unit is really a
dream. But how am I ever going to get a hdtv when I'm spending all of my money (24.95,19.95 a pop) on dvd audio discs? gotta go, buddy rich is playing the drums in my living room!
system
yamaha rxv-800 receiver
mitsubishi 60 inch tv
b&w 602s2's front
def-tech pro 80's in back
cheap yammie sub in front for movies
cheap klh sub in back to help the pro80's on bass

Similar Products Used: panasonic dvd, toshiba sd2109
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rob   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 09, 2001]
Strength:

Image color, Picture quality, Audio Quality, Nicely built, Options

Weakness:

None at this point

First I'd like to point out that this unit has the new 12bit Video DAC unlike the stated 10bit above in the product summary. Second...this player is very nice! I read the manual and was kinda dissapointed that it could not play SVCD's...I thought for sure that it could. I guessed right! I tried it just for the heck of it and it worked like a charm. It reads them as PCD's (picture cd-roms) but it plays them flawlessly. I guess I got the newest release since mine says DVD-RP91D-N on the box. Anyway, awesome player for the $$ and worth every penny. I was going to go for the Pioneer Elite DV-37, but Panny has been good to me and I'm glad I stayed with them. Also, allow time for burn-in to get the full picture quality...my dvd's look better each time I watch a movie. Highly recommended.

Similar Products Used: Panasonic DVD-A310
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Don   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 08, 2001]
Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

None

This is an awesome player. Picture looks FANTASTIC on my Panny 45WX51. The Aspect ratio controls on the DVD makes up for the lack of aspect controls in Progressive mode on my TV. Sound is Awesome. I Reccomend this to anyone. Much better then the rp56 that came with my TV. Way to go Panasonic.

Similar Products Used: Panasonic RP56, Panasonic 5 Disc Changer, Serveral JVC players
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Vaino Narma   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 04, 2001]
Strength:

Solid/Clean Progressive Output, Audio Performance, MP3 Function

Weakness:

Sad Manual, Not backlit remote (Really only glow in dark), physically lighter than expected.

Wonderful. Used in with a Sony HS53HS10 (4:3 DTV). Picture is clean and sharp. Color is a big improvement over the interlaced A310. Sound quality on standard CD is great too. This is just the first months impression, but so far excellent!

Similar Products Used: Panasonic A310
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Ken   Casual Listener [Jan 21, 2002]
Strength:

Fabulous picture, good control over picture characteristics, multi-channel audio. Pull down menus.

Weakness:

Blue light.

Notwithstanding all the barking from other reviewers - I found the manual to be acceptable.

Picture is great - blows away the line doubler in my XBR.

Available control over picture image is almost too broad - I find myself constantly playing with the thing, trying different settings.

I didn't realize how much of a difference progressive scan can make. Colours are much more saturated - image is more clean/crisp.

Downside is that it makes the rest of your video options look pretty lame.

Similar Products Used: RCA, Sony
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Deep   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 15, 2002]
Strength:

picture...Picture...PICTURE!!

Weakness:

a few but read below!!

Just came across this update while surfing around for a firmware upgrade I heard about for the player. It corrects the left shift of the picture when in progressive mode and also a couple of other things. You can go here for addl. info: http://www.hometheaterforum.com/htforum/search.php?s=e4e6bd40a8fb0b29c582e6ef72237a9c&action=showresults&searchid=101014&sortby=&sortorder=

To check what firmware version you have, just press (on the Front of the RP91): Stop, Pause, and the Open/Close button at the same time with one hand and press 7 on remote control with your other hand. Look at the LCD display and the last three numbers will tell you the firmware version.

Go here for the firmware: http://63.97.204.237/rp91-236-iso.zip. Unzip the .iso file then burn it with your favorite program. I used EZCD 5. Then just put the disc in your player and follow the prompts. It completes in about 5 minutes.

Here's some instructions for burning the .iso image with Roxio (EasyCDCreator):

Burning a CD-RW using the ISO file and Adaptec (Roxio) Easy CD Creator:
1) You must go into the "File" menu and select "CD Layout Properties."
2) Switch the file system selection from Joliet to ISO9660.
3) Again on the "File" menu, select "Create CD from CD Image...," switch the file type to .iso, and browse to your extracted file.
4) Burn as normal.
5) After the burn, you may want to switch the Easy CD Creator file system type back to Joliet, so it will be ready for your next MP3 session!

It worked for me BUT...I take NO RESPONSIBILITY WHATSOEVER for problems that may arrise from attempting to upgrade your player using the updated firmware. If you have doubts, read through the forum in the link above. Just trying to help everyone out. Good Luck!!

Similar Products Used: n/a
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com