Panasonic DVD-H1000 DVD Players

DVD-H1000

Progressive-Scan DVD/Video CD/CD Player with Dolby Digital/DTS - 10-bit video DAC - Component Video Output

User Reviews (16)

Showing 1-10 of 16  
philbers   AudioPhile [Jan 09, 2005]
Strength:

High fidelity sound & picture quality. Analog-like sound. Image is precise. Color is deep & real. Intrutments sound distingishable accurate. Built like a tank! Look as expensive as it costs!

Weakness:

Put an end to your bad recording CDs and DVDs. Believe me, you won't bother to put them on any more (time is too valuable to waste on such!). It could be a good thing for used record stores!

I found the Panasonic DVD-H1000 just by chance. It was drawn to my attention by its weight of 40 lbs, its build & its list price of 3k (yes you heard it right: Panasonic DVD for a whopping three grands!). Every good thing I read about this baby regarding the look & build, picture & sound including the out of reach tag price was a YES, buddy, it's absolutely true! I had it for about 2 months but I was so excited & compelling that I deeply owed everyone my part of the review as I had based my decision on the others'. Surely I don't know much about DVI and HMDI and I'm not trying to compare apple & orange either. My projector doesn't have those connections anyway. But for the pure Cinema Progressive Scan I can't imagine the picture quality of a DVD can ever get better than this baby. (the BlueRay or HDVD in the future perhaps?). I now hear and see things that I didn't before. The picture looks real 3-D in all regards. The colors distinctively defined. Chroma outstanding. Right now I'm sure I'll settle with this baby for as long as my Sharp DLP XV-Z9000 projector would last. Together they're perfect companions. Needless to say the xv-z9000's picture would always look good on any dvd player! It just finally found its match for perfection! I'm also a CD fan who certainly wouldn't want to throw away 500 CD collection anytime soon for SACD or DVD-Audio perhaps until after all the dusts are settled. Or maybe never. My point is the problem wasn't in the format, Dude, but it's in the recording industries/engineers that didn't care or know how to make it look or sound at its best. (Puzzle: why some CDs sound extremely better than the others? Likewise for movie DVD pictures? Are they different in format? Nope!). Listen to MFSL gold CD or XRCD then you know dawn well exactly what I meant! The DVD-H1000's sound is very analog-like and much better than my old audiophile Pioneer elite PD-75. My XRCD collection is now like the eagle finally found its open sky or the fish its ocean water! My good CDs sounded accurately much better. Alas, distinguishably it also revealed my bad CDs so sad that I would rush to Rasbutin store to get rid of them at once. Now, I can enjoy my 480p Pure Cinema Progressive Scan DVD movies & analog-like CDs music at near their nirvana! All at a fraction of the list price. However often times luck plays a crucial part when buying a used equipment. Because who'd know if it's been abused, beaten up or worst internally damaged! That's the risk that one must carefully calculate!) Thanks for reading!

Similar Products Used: My System: Dedicated room. Size 15' W x 27' L with cathedral ceiling and controlled light. Denon AVR-5800 ultra-THX Receiver Sharp XV-Z9000U DLP front projector Ceiling mounted. DA-Lite High Power 16x9 Screen. Size 120" diagonal. Pioneer Elite PD-75 CD player JVC XV-D723Gold DVD, DVD-A player Pioneer Elite LCD-53 Laserdisc player with Legato Link. Infinity Kappa 8.1 series II front speakers Klipsch center JBL surround and back speakers for 7.1 channels. Two EarthQuakes and Audiosource Subwoofers 15". 600 CD collection. Mainly Jazz/Classical/ Classic Rocks (Dire Strait's). 200 Laserdiscs (ouch!). I just got rid of my 400 LPs 4 years ago (another ouch!). 100 DVD and the 2-DVD "Movie-Pass" membership at BlockBuster!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jchoiny   AudioPhile [Aug 10, 2002]
Strength:

Top notch audio and video performance

Weakness:

CDs and DVDs only. No CD-R/RW, DVD-A or SACD playback.

Another irresponsible and useless review posted down there. 1/1? You gotta be kidding. I have two words for people like that "Grow up." Anyway, I bought this unit demo at $700. I was also offered similar price for Sony DVP-S9000ES and Toshiba SD-9200, so I asked for A/B comparison on these units. The result was quite surprising. I wanted to like Sony unit with SACD capability and the brand name. Toshiba also has more functions like DVD-Audio and CD-R's. But, at the end of the hour, both my wife and I were surprised to find that our top pick was the same, Panasonic H-1000. H-1000 is about 3 years old, but it's one of the very-well made units with top notch parts. Picturewise, the difference was not subtle. H-1000 had the best contrast and sharpness of the three. The transition was very smooth, and the color was so vivid and just awesome. Then, Toshiba was just a tad better than Sony, I thought. The difference between Panasonic and the other two was a lot, though. Audio. This is where Panasonic kills the other two. Comparison is for regular CD's only. I have about 700 CD's and am in no plan to buy DVD-A or SACD until their fight is over. My current CD source is California Audio Labs Alpha DAC and Delta transport connected by Kimber Select pure silver digital cable. Almost $3000 for CD playback only. H-1000 came very close in sound quality. Alpha/Delta has much wider sound stage and depth, but Panasonic was better in clarity and bass extension and definition. If you are looking for a DVD player that can also be your MP3/CD-R/CD-RW/SACD/DVD-A machine, then H-1000 is not for you. But, if you want a solidly built quality player that can play DVDs and CDs at the highest level, Panasonic H-1000 at its discontinued, used/demo price, is a steal. The current H-2000 model is identical in performance except DVD-A and CD-R/RW playback at >$2500. In summary, H-1000 is not an ordinary Japanese mass-produced unit, but a top quality product in the same league with serious audiophile/videophile products.

Similar Products Used: Sony DVP-S9000ES, Toshiba SD-9200
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gary Forbes   Audio Enthusiast [May 21, 2000]
Strength:

The best picture quality, and the best sound

Weakness:

High price

The 9100 and the DV-09 are very good, but to me the Panasonic is just better in all ways.The colors are very deep and saturated and clean. The audio is to my ears much better,very open,deep bass, and I really could not believe the improvement even compared to the DV-09. This is just a great player.I found mine on sale for 1675.00 at ecost.com which is a very good deal.This # has now been out for a few months so it might be a better deal now.I use mine with a Meridian 561 and Alon speakers, a Pioneer 610 HDTV. It is great,chect it out,by the way its feels of quality pick one up and see what I mean.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba 9100 and the Pioneer DV-09
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chad Varnadore   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 02, 2000]
Strength:

progressive video, audio, features, build quality, remote

Weakness:

price, availability, poor/no ventilation can cause over heating if stored in a small cabinet or stacked with other heat producing components, short warranty period for labor costs

This player has met my expectations in every way. For $3000 it's a tough sale in light of the price of Toshiba's 6200 but for under $2000 it is practically a bargain. And unlike the Toshibas, all features on the Panasonic can actually be used in progressive mode, rather than interlaced only(I still can't figure out why Toshiba would have features on a progressive scan player that can only be used with interlaced output.) The audio performance is also second to none that I have heard. The only thing that I would add to it would be scaling ability (which is rumored to be included in it's successor the H2000) and maybe a slightly better remote, though the remote that comes with it is one of the best I've seen and is only surpassed by the remote for the Sony 7700. The gamma control afforded by this player is a must if you own a 2000 model Mitsubishi hdtv and the players ability to force film/video detection is a big plus with many discs. However, even it's auto detection seems to work alot better than that of the Toshiba 9100 I have thats been collecting dust for the past 6 months. Colors on this player are also the best I've seen from any player that I've used or demoed. I'm sure this is due to it upsampling the color to 4:4:4. I have little doubt that the H1000 will be surpassed in quality and features sometime in the next year but, for now it seems to be top dog at least in it's price range. I've never actually even seen some of the more elite players available that go for $10,000 and up, though. The H1000 has been a ground breaking player, offering features and a level of performance not seen prior to it's release late last year. And it will probably remain a very well respected unite until the advent of HD DVD. If you are looking to buy this unit, though, I recommend that you consider the extended warranty as the manufacturers warranty is severly lacking. I have not personally had a problem as of yet with the unit overheating despite having it stored in a very open cabinet. However, several people I know of have had the problem and due to it's cause it almost seems inevitable with this unit. If this unit is out of your price range, the Toshiba 6200 seems to be the way to go. Good luck!

Similar Products Used: Mitsubishi DD1000, Toshiba 3108, Sony 7700, Toshiba 9100
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Robert Rogers   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 18, 2000]
Strength:

Picture Quality

Weakness:

Non Yet

This is a top notch player easily surpassing the Mitsu and Toshiba in picture quality...I can not add much to the other reviews but to say that to get the full 96/24 resolution use the stereo anolog outputs of the player and use the bypass mode on your receiver or preamp to by pass the receiver or preamp digital processing...That will give you full 96/24 output...Dont put much stock in the ability of 96/24 out put at the digital output since most processors in the receivers ar not fully 96/24 unless you are at the really high end market. In fact the 20 bit processors in some of the high end units sound better than the so called 96/24 dacs in lesser receivers...since only stereo is 96/24 using the analog output of the Panasonic with the bypass mode of your receiver will get you full resolution...Remember DTS and AC3 are 48/16....Any way this is absolutely the best dvd player I have seen...I was able to get my unit boxed at closeout for $1198 and was I lucky to do that...

Similar Products Used: Mitsubishi 6000 Toshiba progressive scan
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Peter   Audiophile [Jun 18, 2000]
Strength:

Pciture quality, build, ergonomics

Weakness:

High price

No picture artifacts. Crystal audio and video. Could've bought nearly anything up to the Meridian 800, but Panny's got the best quality for the money in the interim at least until SACD and DVD-A gets sorted out.

Paid about $1700. Could've paid $1400, but would've had to wait for 1-3 months. Needed it ASAP!

Associated equipment:
Meridian 861
Runco 5801
Krell KRC-HR
Krell FPB-250M
Krell KAV-250a x 3
Avalon Eidolon fronts
Revel Voice (center)
Revel Embrace (sides)
Revel Gems (rears)
Revel LE-1/Sub-15
Harmonic Tech cables

Similar Products Used: Sony 7700, Pioneer 09, Tosh 9100
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bill   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 29, 2000]
Strength:

Tremendous build quality, stable, good looking unit. 39 lbs.

Weakness:

High price

Awaiting my HDTV with 480p input. Tested unit on Toshiba HDTV, with fabulous results. Very clear and rich colors. Credits were rock steady. Using unit as CD player with Marantz SR 19, deep bass and very warm mid's. Great sound for a dvd player. Vast sound stage with AR 1's. Will put high end cd players to shame, and has progressive scanning to boot. Presently available on close-out sales.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba 9100
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Rich   Audiophile [Mar 21, 2000]
Strength:

Incredible image image quality and excellent sound from a reference player capable of progress scan

Weakness:

High Price, No HDCD support

I have tested the H1000 with a Pioneer HD505 Plasma monitor. The improvement was incredible over my sony 7700 player. Smoother motion, reduction in digital artifacts, brighter colors and contrast, and improved sound.

The H1000 performed noticably better than the Toshiba 9100 in progressive mode. Others have reported timing problems with the component outputs. I noticed instability in reds that was clearly visible in the Toshiba and completely stable with the H1000.

Also, the CD and Dolby Digital sound was much better with the H1000. I am using the Toslink output to a Sony TAE9000ES preamp. Others I gave auditions to confirmed that the Pansonic was definately cleared with better base and midrange definition. I would not have believed it had I not experienced it.

This is a great product. You cannot go wrong.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba 9100
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
T B   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 18, 2001]
Strength:

Stunning audio and video--Robust construction--Now available for $899 or less from JandR

Weakness:

None

Very solid, well built unit. Easy to set up. A steal at $899
or less--I paid $840 plus shipping. Will be replaced by the DVD-H2000. Only difference is the inclusion of DVD-Audio
on the new unit and chanpagne in color. Price will jump back up to around 2K with the new model just for DVD-Audio and champagne cosmetics. This is the piece to buy if you're looking for a high end, no compromise progressive scan
player. Performance is superb.

Similar Products Used: CD audio output comparable to Sony CDP-XA7ES
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Dorn   Audiophile [May 25, 2000]
Strength:

The best picture from DVD I have ever seen. Great remote, great onscreen displays, build quality, flawless operation.

Weakness:

Pricey, but worth it. Lists for $3,000; but I paid $1,800 on the net with shipping. Set up is slighty kooky and instructions are not the clearest, but you can experiment until you find what's best for your display.

I agree fully with the other reviews so I won't repeat them. Build quality is extremely high; weighs almost 40 lbs. Not as good looking as the Pioneer 09, but plays and operates better. (Without the remote you can't play some discs on the 09). Necessary controls on front panel with full control from the remote. Remote has large transport buttons that can be operated by feel, not backlit but they glow in the dark. Remembers where you stop even when turned off. Quiet, quick operation. Outputs full 96khz signal on digital out from music DVD's, can downsample to 48khz if needed. Most others already downsample, losing the benefit of 96khz available.

The onscreen display appears across the top and does not block out the viewing area. Not only displays the status of every feature on the disc, but directly allows manipulation of those features: you can change the audio, the angle, the chapter, the title, the output, subtitles, gamma, and more immediately. Simply the best way I have seen to handle these features.

The picture is simply the best I have seen, bar none, including the $15,000 Meridian. Clear, flawless, 5 speeds forward and backward, slow motion, still. Hard to see the difference between S-video and component out unless you have a great set. The REGULAR component outs into a Sony Wega 36-200 is breathtaking, almost 3-D. I have taken the player to the dealer to see the progressive outputs on a new Pioneer Elite 710 - the dealer was impressed. It produces an even better picture than the built in line doubler (which is the best internal doubler I have ever seen!) However on the Pioneer you loose the ability to change picture size in progressive mode - you see what is on the disc (problem with Pioneer not Panasonic).

I have played the most difficult discs mentioned in magazines and all of them are played flawlessly. Perhaps the most difficult thing to play is end credits with small print in white on dark backgrounds or black. These are totally jitter free, and clear. To pay full list price would still get you the best player I have seen (but this is a rapidly improving and changing area in electronics) but you can get this unit for almost half list which is the bargain of the year, even if you don't have a progressive capable set. The picture from the regular outputs is simply as good as it gets right now. Progressive is gilding the lily!

The sound is also incredible from the digital outputs. Equals any CD drive I have heard at any price, including the Meridian 800. If you have a decent, good, or great digital processor, the Panasonic will deliver the goods to it.

This is a first rate product of the highest caliber at a reasonable price if you want the best.

Similar Products Used: Sony 7000, 7700, Pioneer 09 and 414, Toshiba units, RCA and cheaper Panasonic and Meridian 800.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com