Panasonic DVD-A320 DVD Players

DVD-A320

DVD / Video CD / CD Player with built-in dts and Dolby Digital decoders - Component Video Output

User Reviews (71)

Showing 1-10 of 71  
evalese   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 25, 2004]
Strength:

Minimal tracking errors Dolby Digital 5.1 and DTS decoders Component outputs provide a beautiful CRT picture

Weakness:

Interlaced scan only

This dvd player is dated, so I don't know if anyone will read this. I've had a great experience with it, so I thought it would be fun to post a review anyway. I've had the dvd-a320 for over 4 years now, and it's never let me down. It's still going strong and plays current dvd and dvd-audio disks without any problems. I don't try to play cdr/rw disks on it. I used this player's component output with a 32" JVC CRT tv, and the interlaced picture has always been impressive. The 5.1 sound with the built-in 5.1 decoders has been great, too. I'll soon be replacing it, my tv and my Panasonic receiver with HD components that have HDMI and DVI connections, but I fully expect this dvd player to continue to perform well for years to come on my soon to be secondary system. Because of my experience with this dvd player, I'll definitely be considering Panasonic again. I should note that I used a disk drive brush cleaner disk from time to time, and haven't had problems with the laser.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rocketman_jer   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 14, 2003]
Strength:

Built in 5.1 & DTS on a value priced machine!

Weakness:

Can't play CDRs ... oh well.

3 years later - never failed to play a DVD rentals included. Wicked picture, built in 5.1 and DTS. Combined with Technics Amp, Infinity Satelites and Centre & Paradigm SubWoofer....shakes the house down all with a crystal clear picture (pixelation? never!!!) This DVD player kicks ass - Nuff Said! When this unit finally dies (I hope it never does) I'll buy another Panasonic!!

Similar Products Used: First and only DVD player (unless you count PS2)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
med   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 20, 2003]
Strength:

-Good sound and picture quality -Plays all movies -Good remote

Weakness:

-Does not play CD-Rs -access/load/layer change times are a little slow (Only when compared to the excellent times that the Denon unit reaches

Still playing fine after almost 3 years. Other than the fact that it can't play CD-Rs, this is a fantastic unit. Great sound and picture quality; never once had a problem reading any disc; good remote layout. Recently replaced it with a Denon DVD 2900, which looks and sounds even better. Also plays anything I can throw at it (Including SACDs and DVD-Audio discs).

Similar Products Used: Denon DVD 2900
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
ramcharger84   Casual Listener [Dec 25, 2002]
Strength:

Loogs good.

Weakness:

Laser reader.

I bought this player brand new in the summer of 90. It played pretty well up until two months ago when I had a bunch of pixelation and boxes showing up on the screen, at first I thought it was the actual DVD, but it was doing it to practically all of them. I'm assuming it's the laser reader, as alot of you have already figured that out.

Similar Products Used: Don't try APEX
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Mike Theman   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 31, 2002]
Strength:

Sound and video

Weakness:

CAN'T PLAY MY COLLECTION OF VCD'S Why say it plays video cd's when it doesn't. I'll go out and buy a cheap APEX instead panasonic realy sucks now a days

Got this player after i sold my cheap philips dvd player Tried a dvd and works great BUT my collection of video CD's is now useless Can't read a Dam cdrw

Similar Products Used: NONE the rest actualy plays cdrw
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
creekfishmo   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 27, 2002]
Strength:

Smooth,quiet,great picture and sound.

Weakness:

It did not even last 3 years!A few times it did not recognize DTS,then it could not go more than a hour 20 before the picture broke up into squares and then went to total fuzz.Failed lazer.AARRRGGGG!

While it lasted,I was very pleased with the sound and picture.The player was quiet and it never hesitated or hiccuped.It died June 27,2002.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
gmenzelr   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 24, 2002]
Strength:

Built Decoders, Excellent Video and Audio

Weakness:

Faulty Laser Pickup

Until year ago work fine. But several months ago, the player read single layer disc without problem, but dual layer read some times (at last read when are used by many minutes randomly). The reason are the famous holographic lens (a bad idea with medium use). Only CD read perfect (but I use for read DVD, no CD). Expensive machine considering 2 years of use. DTS and AC-3 sound are excellent, Video Quality are wonderful, the machine are well constructed, but laser reader are faulty. I think Panasonic are give a chance to users of DVD-Ax20 users to replace the laser without cost. Are design error. Today all use dual laser pickup (including Panasonic in later series), because are tested that work for many years.

Similar Products Used: Sony DVP-S550
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Anthony Towsley   Casual Listener [Apr 11, 2002]
Strength:

Looks nice. Can''t think of anything else really.

Weakness:

Fundamentally flawed in my opinion. Picture didn''t look any better then my low end one. Could have been my TV not being able to display the difference well.

This DVD player has chronic problems with pixelation and not recongnizing DVDs. Took it in to the Panasonic repair center here on Alpha lane in Dallas. They repaired it and it worked fine for about a month. Then back to the same problem. It would be hard to find this DVD new (thank god). But, if your considering buying this used... DON''t!!!!! After a $250 repair bill this player has cost me $750 bucks. I do believe this was an issue on the 2nd gen models only. I''ve had no problems with the 3rd gen "very cheap" Panasonic I bought. Price you pay for being on the bleeding edge. Now that I have a Pioneer Elite 720HD being delieved once the cabinet is built, I''ll upgrade to a better DVD player. Probably will be a Sony high end player though. Don''t know why I bought Panasonic 3 times in a row. I guess I''m stubborn.

Similar Products Used: Various cheap DVD players. Nothing really speacial. I do know that the a320 is a peice of crap.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Shawn Farrell   AudioPhile [Mar 28, 2002]

What a letdown. What started off as a very nice player now does not recognize DVDs more than it recognizes them. It is not a case of a defective DVD, as many I''ve tried to play recently and failed have played before without problems. My parents had a Panasonic VCR that lasted them 16 years. This DVD player didn''t last one! This model is garbage.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
c2it   AudioPhile [Mar 13, 2002]
Strength:

SOUND IS GREAT!!!!!! I can not stress this enough!!!

Weakness:

Problems reading CDR and CDRWs....I hate that "NO PLAY" BULLS...

Never had a problem reading DVD''s however had a hell of a time with CD-R and CDRWs....never read them when I burn them at home, a friend burned me a VCD of Fast and the Furious and it plays great....I made a copy of that CDRW and it did not play.....what gives?????

Similar Products Used: APEX DVD1100 the cheapest stuff in the market, it plays mp3''s, vcd and everything else...too bad it doesn''t have DTS/Dolby decorder on board.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 71  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com