Onkyo Integra DPS-5 DVD Players

Integra DPS-5

Single disc DVD/CD player with Dolby Digital/DTS - 10-bit video DAC - 96kHz/24-bit audio DACs - Component and S-video outputs - Optical digital audio output

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
Seann O'Connell   Casual Listener [Oct 05, 2000]
Strength:

Well-built. Warranty. Quiet. White-back remote. Fairly quiet. Outputs. User friendly interface.

Weakness:

Large remote. Gets pretty warm in a well ventilated space.

I had a $300 budget. Luckily my local electronics store had the B-Stock. This means it is a factory refurb. with a 1-year parts and labor warranty as opposed to 3 years for A-stock, which is $400. I talked the shop into loaning me their demo, since they had a crappy return (no refund) policy. I also bought the Panasonic from Best Buy, who did refund my money. I thought there was no difference in video quality. Integra had a slight edge in audio quality and quietness. Integra had a large edge in build quality and ease of use. I compared them using DVDs Braveheart, Matrix, and Godzilla and CDs ranging from classical to alternative to rap to metal. I was discourage to read that the Integra didn't play CD-RW. However, I burned a cd on my PC and it played fine on the DPS-5. I don't know if it has to do with the type + brand, which was a Memorex Platinum CD-RW. I liked the white background on the remote. It makes it a little easier to see in the dark. This is an excellent player, especially at $300. Although, if not for the B-Stock, I would have purchased the Panasonic, which was $230 because I am just a casual user with a modest Home theater system.

Similar Products Used: Panasonic RV30
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Paul   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 29, 2000]
Strength:

3 yr. Integra warranty

Weakness:

Remote is too bulky.

I just bought this player from our local A/V shop for $350, after returning an 'el cheapo Toshiba player from Best Buy. I've watched a couple of flicks so far, they look great. It's paired with an Onkyo 2-channel receiver, so I can't comment on 5 channel audio yet. But, cd's sound very nice (better, I think, than my Onkyo changer).
The remote isn't all bad, the white background makes it easier to see in the dark. Next best thing to a lighted remote, I guess. But it's too wide and doesn't fit comfortably in my hand. Maybe I'm asking for too much..!
I see a few other reviewer's paid about the same amount for the changer model, but all I could find were open-box'ers for less than $400.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 01, 2000]
Strength:

Black Levels

Weakness:

Jumping to a track number with the ten Key on the remote takes too many steps.

Not much to say. the Integra unit is awsome. It's a very basic unit unlike the sony's. Not a lot of buttons to make it too confusing.

Similar Products Used: Sony DVPS550, 7000
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Christopher Liu   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 28, 2000]
Strength:

Build quality. Low noise while playing.

Weakness:

A little slow with more complex discs, i.e. fancy menus/track layout

I originally bought the Onkyo DV-S525 to replace my aging/buggy first generation Toshiba DVD player, but I found that the motor generated enough noise to distract me from low volume movie dialogue. I was also having a similar problem with my matching Onkyo TX-DS777 reciever, and the hum/hiss that it was putting out. I went ahead and changed both components to the more expensive Integra version, and my problems were solved. Not only that, but the sound quality had improved, and the picture was brighter. In my opinion, the Integra products were worth the approximately 10 to 15 percent premium over the standard versions on build quality alone.

Similar Products Used: Onkyo DV-S525, Toshiba 3006
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brian King   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 20, 2000]
Strength:

Build quality, simple operation

Weakness:

No complaints here

I purchased an entire speaker package at my audio dealer, I have the Denon AVR4800, which has the Dolby, and Dts decoding, but didn't have the dvd player. My salesman showed me this dvd player, which they were running a special on it for 299 dollars, he explained that Integra is the higher end of Onkyo, and that this dvd player normally sells for 400 dollars +. Well, ofcourse at this price I had to buy and I'm soooo glad I did! This player isn't fancy, it's only a single disc, which is fine because I have a Pioneer 101 disc cd player, it's not flashy, but it performs flawlessly! One note, when they did the Matrix on dvd, there was some type of glitch in the original recording, where in the middle of the movie it would just freeze up. There are only 2 dvd players that were able to decode the whole movie without a problem, the DPS-5 was one of them! I've heard that they were currently redoing the movie, but that's good enough for me. A critical test to pass, I would think! I love my DPS-5.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
chili mc   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 05, 2001]
Strength:

Build quality, gold-plated jacks, detachable power cord, OSD, black level enhancement, warranty

Weakness:

Audio quality, video noise

I purchased a Denon DVD 1000 at a local shop in conjunction with my purchase of a Denon 3801 A/V receiver. I've had both models for about one month, and love/have had no problems with both. Then I read the reviews on this site. The reviews of the Denon 3801 basically confirmed my choice of that receiver...I think it's terrific. If only it was software/firmware upgradeable.

I read the reviews for the Denon DVD 1000 and panicked. Then I read the reviews of the Integra DPS-5. Since my 30 day refund period was about to expire, I ran out and picked up the DPS-5. I figured I had dodged a bullet, and gotten a better quality deck for less than I paid for the Denon DVD 1000. Unfortunately, there is unacceptable video noise every time the DPS-5 changes tracks. And, believe it or not, the audio from the Integra deck doesn't come close to the quality of the Denon unit. Perhaps that is because it is paired with the Denon 3801. In any event, since the audio was not as good (the Mrs. noticed, too) and the video noise looked like a warranty claim waiting to happen, I opted for the Denon. Maybe I'll buy an extended warranty for the Denon!

Similar Products Used: Denon DVD 1000
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
jon   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 25, 2001]
Strength:

just about everything

Weakness:

nothing that wouldnt show how petty and shallow i am

i specifically went after this model because of this website. i found a guy who does custom installations and is also an authorized dealer and i bought it from him. so this is what i got it hooked up to, 27 inch toshiba tv, yammy rxv 800 av reciever, polk 600 floor, polk 245i? center, infinty bookshelves as rears, pinnacle ac100 sub monster component and coax cables.
i have a large variety of dvds from different types of animation to action, and i highly recommend Star Wars Episode 1 dvd, even if you didnt like the movie (i dont know how you couldnt) its perfect for putting your system to the test. Well, if i ever have to justify spending so much money on equipment, this dvd player and Ep 1 are it!!! this picture is amazing, when i first got it, i thought i was looking at a computer screen, and sometimes i still think i am!!! sound wise i couldnt be happier, the THX test on Star Wars gives goosebumps everytime, all my dvds sound perfect. there has been some trouble in moving from some tracks, but i wonder how much this is the dvd themselves, as i know these things are defective alot and are recalled. so i say buy this piece, you wont go wrong, its got a nice look to it, plays great, cds sound good too, and who cares if it doesnt play cdrws, ITS A DVD PLAYER!!! go buy a cd player you mutts. i will more than happy to tell you how great this machine is via email

Similar Products Used: toshiba, ive been looking at dvds for a minute
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Scott Kelly   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 14, 2001]
Strength:

Quality and 3 year Warranty

Weakness:

Screen saver doesn't seem to ever kick in.
Although, I haven't really investigated yet!

When I purchased my Sony 61" digital TV, I received a free KLH DVD player with the unit. Nice gesture, but big difference in quality. The comparison is not worth mentioning. The DPS-5 produces top-notch video and sound quality. I was using S-video at first, but kept hearing component video was the best video picture. So, I bought the component cables and they were well worth the money. The quality is like what you see in the store auditions and what you expect from a high dollar TV and DVD player.
I am very pleased with this purchase and plan to buy the Integra DTR 7.1 or 9.1 receiver next month.

Similar Products Used: KLH DVD
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Darren   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 10, 2001]
Strength:

Outstanding product quality, great features, picture and sound, well thought-out on screen menus, terrific price

Weakness:

small buttons on remote

The Integra DPS-5 DVD player was a complete impulse buy after I got fed up with my JVC and decided not to attempt repairs on the old unit. I took a big risk by not looking at any reviews prior to my purchase. Fortunately, I am lucky to have a great A/V shop about 2 miles from my home and they steered me to this particular unit after I told them about my JVC experience.

Limitations in my eyesight makes it hard for me to see the picture quality difference between DVD players, but I was still able to notice a difference between the Integra and the two lower price units that I looked at. I was also attracted to the build quality and the easy to use on-screen menus. Finally, the sound quality is terrifc despite limitations in my current speakers.

This DVD player has been absolutely flawless and was really worth the money that I paid (particularly since it was about $45 cheaper than my old JVC).

The Integra DPS-5 was my first Onkyo component, but most certainly will not be my last.

I would reccomend this DVD player to anyone, as long as they do not want a multi-disc unit.

Similar Products Used: JVC-XV501BK
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Joe   Audiophile [Apr 19, 2000]
Strength:

Build quality, Cosmetics, and sound

Weakness:

None

First let me give you a list of equipment used: Lexicon MC-1, 4 yes 4 Onkyo Integra M588-F amplifiers, 3 pairs of Dynaudio Audience 9's, Audience center, and 3 JM Lab 38-A 15" sub woofers. I have been using the Pioneer DV414 for about 1 1/2 years (Running coax digital to MC-1 using Wonderlink "2" cable)I think it is a fine player however, I felt it was a little bright and lacking just a little in depth. When I read about the DPS-5's direct digital path I thought it sure sounds like a good idea... So after thinking about it for a couple months I went and bought it $400.00 plus tax at my local audio store. I have to say there was a very noticable difference... I thought the DPS-5 was smoother and provided better imaging than the Pioneer. The video side was at least as good if not better than the DV-414. In conclusion I would say this is probably the player to beat under $1,000.00 I know I know it has stiff competition against the likes of the Pioneer DV-505 but trust me this is a very good player... P.S. This is only "my" opinion you should audition it yourself and be your own judge good luck and happy listening. P.S.S. any and all comments welcome.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer DV414
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com