Onkyo DVCP500 DVD Players

DVCP500

Onkyo 5-Disc DVD Changer - DVCP500/ Exclusive Direct Digital Path/ 192kHz/24-Bit D/A Converters/ MP3 Playback With Onscreen Display/ Dolby Digital And DTS Digital Outputs/ Progressive Scan Video Output/ Optical And Coaxial Outputs/ Parental Lock Function

User Reviews (15)

Showing 1-10 of 15  
DSR   Casual Listener [Jul 08, 2006]

I wouldn't buy an Onkyo product again. The DV-CP500 has been in the shop more than on line. It completely burnt up after 2.5 years of use.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Jeff Armstrong   Casual Listener [Jan 16, 2004]
Strength:

none

Weakness:

doesn't play DVDs

I bought this unit because I was pleased with my Onkyo receiver and CD changer that have worked great since 1996 with no problems whatsoever; however, this DVD player is a piece of junk. The unit worked fine for the first few months, but then the performance degraded. It started freezing in the middle of movies, then it just wouldn't play DVDs at all. The error message states "This disc is incompatible with this player. Please insert a compatible disc." As it turns out, every DVD is "incompatible with this player." Funny how these exact same DVDs work flawlessly on my Dell laptop. Onkyo should sell the DVCP500 as a "boat anchor" rather than a DVD player. And to add insult to injury, Onkyo customer service just plain sucks.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Coach Dizzy   Casual Listener [Dec 16, 2003]
Strength:

Great picture and sound when it worked.

Weakness:

Did not last.

After 3 months audio would sometimes disappear. A week after the warrenty ran out it would not turn on at all! Onkyo said they would pay for parts not labor.

Similar Products Used: Panasonic ,Pioneer, JVC (another piece of crap)
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
hvymtl6988   AudioPhile [Nov 15, 2003]
Strength:

CD play mode, great A/V performance, very quick to move through tracks, and not as slow as some at changing discs

Weakness:

Poor reviews, dependablilty issue, no zoom feature, cannot scan foward or reverse through MP3 tracks

I purchased this unit as an "open box" item". It had it's original remote and manual so I jumped on it basing my decision on price and Onkyo's reputation for quality and dependabilty. So far, I've not had one problem with this unit except for once, the first day I had it, it locked up on a CD. I had to power it off and on and it came back to life. It turned out though that it was a very dirty disc and cleaning it solved the problem. Everything works fine, otherwise. MP3's, CD's, DVD Video, and DVD Audio discs (in Dolby Digital or DTS only). I am reassured that I do have a one year full warranty on the unit in case something goes wrong. The previous reviews are not very comforting though and I hope it's not a defective unit. As I said so far, it has worked like a champ and the audio and video quality it just fine.

Similar Products Used: Philips(crap), Sony(good), Pioneer(good), RCA (crap).
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Toby Creek   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 21, 2003]
Strength:

Good audio, good features.

Weakness:

Poor progressive video performance (avoid it for this reason alone).

Good features, didn't mind the remote, poor video performance, annoying behavior. Pretty much, that sums it up. I used this DVD player for quite some time before getting fed up with the slightly blurry video in progressive mode. Interlaced was fine, but grainy. When I went progressive, everything got a little fuzzy and shifted to the red end of the spectrum. After replacing the cables with Monster THX component cables, I decided I needed to figure out if it was the TV (RCA 53" HD) or the player. I brought down my cheaper ($250) Panasonic 5-disc unit from the bonus room and had a bake off. My wife is not as critical as I am, and she saw a huge difference. The Panasonic is clear, bright, and more color accurate (although it did shift a little red as well, but not as much). The Onkyo went back upstairs with the old equipment. It's fine for driving a 25" TV and a 10yr old audio system, but don't expect this pricy player to drive your good gear to it's potential. Other than the performance sucking, it's got decent features. I don't like the auto-play on startup (that is REALLY annoying to me). The remote is OK, but I used it to program a universal, so I didn't really use it much. The unit is a little loud changing disks. Has everything in terms of outputs. To play MP3s, the disks have to have a very specific directory and file naming structure, so I never used that feature.

Similar Products Used: Panasonic 5-disk progressive, Toshiba single, Fisher single.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Bikesick   Casual Listener [Oct 16, 2003]
Strength:

made by company with good receivers! ..wow!

Weakness:

Junk Junk Junk

This is great! I ordered one of these units THEN! see this review page. (Note the sarcasm..) So the unit hasn't even been delived yet and I'm sure it's going to be a total pile of crap. Wonderful! ..I'm so happy! :-)

Similar Products Used: toilet paper
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
ACSAUTO   Casual Listener [Oct 15, 2003]
Strength:

Great video quality, Onkyo build quality, cosmetic appearance, audio quality (when the audio works).

Weakness:

Reliability, overall mechanical design, remote control, intermittent audio problems.

What a disappointment. I am now on my third unit, and ready to exchange this one for a totally different model. The first unit made horrible noises when plugged in, right out of the box. The second had an audio problem where the audio would delay between chapters, and sometimes the tone would change completely after changing to a different scene. My present unit as well, has this audio problem. The problem, I found, is not with the receiver like I was told; the problem still occurs even when run through the TV. I know Onkyo doesn't normally make garbage like this, but I may have to demand a Sony or something similar when I make my monthly trek back to the Onkyo dealer to return this model, again.

Similar Products Used: Doorstop, paperweight.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
karlbonde   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 10, 2003]
Strength:

Sounds great, video quality is great (well, at least when it works). Progressive scan capability & a low price.

Weakness:

It has a low price for a reason. Slow disc changing & 'boot-up.' Mine broke within two weeks of ownership (refurbished). And, of course, the remote sucks.

I bought this unit refurbished from eCost. I was immediately suprised by how long this machine takes to "boot up." I also dislike how it starts playing CDs left in the tray as soon as it turns on. After owning this unit, I think I will be purchasing a CD-only changer as well as a single tray DVD player - this unit doesn't excel as either. Its kind of like a futon: it sucks as a couch and it sucks as a bed. After using it for two weeks, it now continuously spins the cd/dvd tray and it won't stop. I cannot get it to open the tray at all either. Considering how many of these refurbished models are for sale (look at Ebay) for dirt cheap, I think its safe to assume that this product has some very serious design flaws that aren't easily fixed permanently. I wish I could return it, but I'm stuck with it now and I'm quickly running out of the warrantee period.

Similar Products Used: Technics/Panasonic receivers & cd changers, Onkyo receiver (works great)
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Anne Huber   Casual Listener [Oct 02, 2003]
Strength:

came as a part of a reasonably priced package with a very good receiver

Weakness:

doesn't work

Non-functional product, just read the next review (Richard 3107). It just stops working. Was exchanged under hh greggs lemon policy for a DVCP-701. DH is installing as we speak. Something went very wrong with the production of this DVD player.

Similar Products Used: Denon
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
richard3107   Audio Enthusiast [May 04, 2003]
Strength:

Picture quality. Multi-disc and multi-format capability.

Weakness:

Extremely poor quality. Price. Remote.

Onkyo manufactures very high quality receivers; sadly, the same cannot be said of their DVD players. The DV-CP500 is a perfect example of how a DVD player should not be: noisy disc tray, slow disc carousel that seems to stop at the wrong point, a myriad of mechanical and laser pickup problems right out of the box, a very cheap remote (Most DVD players do have chintzy remotes, but for $300.00, I expect more), and extremely poor customer service, especially pertaining to Onkyo’s selection of “factory authorized” repair shops. The DV-CP500 is clean and uncluttered looking, both front and back. The front panel consists of the standard operating buttons such as play, stop, disc skip, and open/close. The back panel features a component video output, a standard video output, and an S-video output. There are also the standard audio outputs as well as two digital audio outputs, one coaxial, and one optical. For the highest picture quality, and to make use of the progressive scan feature, you need to connect via a component video cable with a high-definition TV. For premium audio playback, connection is done with either an optical or coaxial digital cable. The digital outputs of the DV-CP500 will pass DTS, Dolby Digital, and PCM signals. The DV-CP500 features a built-in Dolby Digital decoder and a 10-bit video DAC. In addition to DVD and CD playback, it will also play your MP3 files that are recorded on CD-R and CD-RW discs as well as video CDs. I honestly don’t know which company built the progressive scan chip in the DV-CP500, but, according to the Onkyo website, they claim that it possesses the same chipset as their higher-end models. The DVS-939 uses a Genesis deinterlacer, and the DV-SP800 uses a Pioneer, so take your pick. The picture quality, when it worked, was reminiscent of what I saw on my former Panasonic RP56 that used the highly acclaimed Sage/Faroudja progressive scan chip. The remote control of the DV-CP500 is small and light. The buttons are rather tiny and in close proximity to each other. If you are not careful, it is very easy to hit several buttons at once. It is not backlit, so have a flashlight ready if you want to pause a movie and you have all of the lights turned off. I can’t tell you how many times I went to do that very thing, but depressed the stop button instead because it is right next to the pause button. I purchased my DV-CP500 at Circuit City for $300.00 back in September of 2002, and immediately out of the box, it previewed some of the problems to come. When ejecting the disc tray, it emitted a very loud “clunk” sound and was very slow to open. When watching movies, it would occasionally freeze up, and would not work until I powered it off and then on again. The freeze up issue progressed from “once in awhile” to about 5 times an hour on every DVD I tried to watch. I should have returned it right away, but lets skip over my temporary stupidity and continue this sad little tale. After 6 months of this misery, I took the unit to the factory authorized service center in my town to have them look at it. Now I know that one should not judge a book by it’s cover, but I really did not feel too confident about leaving my expensive electronics in the hands of this repair shop. It was a small, noisy, dingy, dirty, dumpy shop with beat-up junky-looking components stacked to the ceiling, and the repair people did not look much better, nor did they speak good English. The shop claimed that there was nothing wrong with the unit and that it did not display the problems that I described. So, I took it home, hooked it back up, and voila! Freeze up! At this point I called Onkyo customer service to no avail, they just told me to take it back to the same shop. I then decided to try to return it to Circuit City, and even though I was well past their return policy period, they were gracious enough to let me exchange for another unit, so happy day! Or, is it? I hooked the new unit up, and although the disc tray was still noisy, it was not as bad as before. The freeze up issue was not present, so I was feeling pretty good, at least for three weeks. That is how long it took for this unit to just stop functioning, period. When I powered it up, the front panel display would just blink at me. The disc tray would not open, front panel buttons would not work, and remote buttons would not work. Totally flat-lined. So, I took it back to Circuit City, and this time they gave me store credit in the form of a gift card. Finally, I have washed my hands of this atrocious piece of junk and I am purchasing a Panasonic player. It was a headache for sure, but it all worked out in the end. Plus, I am a little more educated about DVD players. I can excuse the problems of the first unit; every company makes a clunker once in a while. But, when the second one has a completely different set of problems, those are just incredibly poor manufacturing and quality control standards. It is sa

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 15  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com