Onkyo DV-C600 DVD Players

DV-C600

DTS Compatible Digital Output
Dolby Digital Audio Output
Plays DVD,CD & Video CD
Direct Digital Path for improved audio playback
96kHz/24-Bit Audio D/A Converter
10-Bit Video D/A Converter
Enhanced Black Level Control
3-Mode "Zoom-In" function
Full-time Active Video Output
High resolution On-Screen Display
2 Digital Outputs (Optical & Coaxial)
Component Video Out (Gold Plated) & S-Video Out
Dual Focus Optical Pickup
5 Disc Exchange Play
CD Only Play function
Next Selection
Dynamic Range Control
4-Mode Search
3-Mode Random Memory & DVD Slow motion playback
RI 54-Key Full function Remote Control
Audiophile Class 6-Disc DVD/CD/Video CD Player

User Reviews (44)

Showing 1-10 of 44  
Kasper   AudioPhile [Jan 20, 2004]
Strength:

Wonderful movie performance, great detail and floorshaking dynamics, plus perfect picture

Weakness:

won't play DVD-Rs, CD-Rs, VCDs; loading mechanism requires maintenance after a few years, loud drive noise in CD-mode

Having had this baby for a couple of years, I can say it is a great piece of equipment. Seriously, I haven't yet encountered a better sounding DVD player or one that would provide a better picture quality. I use a projector for my movies and believe me, even the newest DVD players find it hard to deliver a 2-by-5 meter image and keep it flawless. The sound quality in movies is perfect, this thing sounds exactly like the equipment in really good theaters - while delicate and faithful in details, extremely powerful when the soundtrack calls for it, especially in DTS tracks. I don't use it for playing CD-Audio. Although the sound is detailed, it's not as warm and creamy as the one developed by my Marantz CD player. Also the drive gets very loud when playing CDs, which also doesn't improve the overall impression. The remote is nicely designed and easy to operate. However, there are some dark sides - the loading mechanism gets tricky with time, and sometimes fails to load discs when all 6 are inserted. I never bothered to repair that, I guess it's not a big deal. The biggest problem is that it reads CDs, DVDs, and that's it. Forget about CD-Rs, DVD-Rs, and even VCDs. This means you won't be able to expand your collection using a DVD recorder, and these things get really cheap these days.

Similar Products Used: pioneer, sony
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
visualpascal   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 14, 2003]
Strength:

Amazing audio quality, professional appearance, and very quiet operation.

Weakness:

Doesn't play DVDs.

Excellent cd audio! I recently recieved this product from an uncle of mine, under the impression it no longer functioned. Well, this was partially true: it no longer plays DVDs, but has no problem playing CDs. Unfortunately, information on this product seems to be fairly lacking on the 'net, and its doubtful that calling customer service will result in anything productive. If anyone has this player and knows of an easy fix (I know with the Apex players you can flash the firmware to alliviate some problems) please post it here! Even if its a not-so-easy-fix, you should post it. Otherwise, color me impressed with this product. Even on a setup with an ancient Adcom GFA-535 amp and GTP-400 reciever, this unit blows every other CD player I've ever used out of the water. I have no experience with the standard issue remote for this unit, but the RC-391m works flawlessly.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
G242   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 10, 2003]
Strength:

Excellent performance when working. 6 discs is a really great feature.

Weakness:

Stops reading discs after a while, kind of big. May not fit in some shallower entertainment centers.

I'm suprised to see that no one has mentioned the fix for this common problem. I too have expirenced the problem with it not reading discs. Bad thing was it started right after the warrantee expired. The Onkyo service centers here in AZ suck. The are all pompus a-holes to you when you are on the phone with them trying to get an idea of just how much this POS is going to cost you to fix. I'm very suprised that they couldn't give me a ball park figure of repair costs when this seems to be a very common problem with the unit. I tried to clean it and even opened it up to blow air in it but nothing worked. It has been sitting in my closet for the past year while we watch movies on a crappy Panasonic that my wife got for free off the internet! That junker works better than the "high end" Onkyo! LOL! Ahhhh, you just have to laugh at the situation. I feel bad that my wife spent that much money on me only to have the thing turn out to be a POS. Anyone have the solution please email me. Thanks!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
ali shah   Audio Enthusiast [May 19, 2002]
Strength:

great sound, picture. and set up

Weakness:

loading problem, cd-r compatibility.

got this DVD from circuit city 1 and a half years ago as they said it was hands down the best at that time. i would HIGHLY recomend the 3 year plan that CC has as this player develops loading problems randomly as other people have mentioned. the 3 yr plan saved me from major headaches, although it is a major irritant. another problem is it doesnt even play CD-R''s. i use my 7 yr old cd walkman to play the cd-r''s. aside from these things, it has great sound and picture and easy set-up. although at this time a player with cd-r/w, mp3, dvd-r, progressive scan r a no-brainer over this.

Similar Products Used: panasonic players
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
John   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 18, 2000]
Strength:

Picture and sound quality; 6 disk capacity; Zoom feature for DVD viewing on Widescreen format w/o a wide TV.

Weakness:

Lack of random shuffle between disks (CDs or DVDs.) Very Deep, 18" before cables, at least 20" with cables.

This unit has definitely sold me on the benefits of viewing movies on DVD rather than on VCR format. It gives new life to my old 27" television. The unit itself is so large in depth that it unfortunately doesn't fit in my entertainment console, my fault because I didn't factor in the cables sticking out the back when I bought it.

The fact that this unit doesn't have random shuffle between disks is a tremendous fault. I am returning this unit for one that has shuffle.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Jason Kleypas   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 06, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent audio and video quality, user friendly, and very functional remote.

Weakness:

Maybe the inability to shuffle between discs.

I have only had the unit for a couple of months and have already fallen in love with it. The picture is excellent and the audio is some of the best I've ever heard. The remote is well thought out and is very functional. I personally think that if you've operated any audio/video equipment in your life, this unit is easy to figure out. I really can't find much of anything to complain about. I can understand the down-side of not being able to shuffle between discs, but for me personally that's not a big deal. As for the people belly-achin' about the size; COME ON! I'm not quite sure what you expected from a 6-disc carousel changer, but those 6 discs have to go somewhere. If you take some measurements, it's not that much larger than most 6-disc carousels, if any at all. This review is not meant to create enemies for myself. I just wanted to point out some of the obvious that some of you may have overlooked. A friend of my just purchased an Oritron last week and is already having sound drop-out issues. The first DVD player I had experience with was the Phillips 815AT, and it was a nice player. It just didn't have everything that I needed. My 7-year old sony multi-disc died on me, and I wanted the multi-disc capability. So I went to my local shops and decided on the Onkyo because if the features, quality, and price. In short, I have really enjoyed it and would recommend anyone to buy it.

Similar Products Used: Phillips 815AT, Oritron?
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jim   Casual Listener [Dec 10, 2000]
Strength:

plays all dvd's very well

Weakness:

doesn't play CD-R

I searched for 2 months for the best quality and price and ended up with this Onkyo DV-C600, why didn't anyone tell me that very few dvd/cd changers play CD-R's.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Brad Boes   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 31, 2000]
Strength:

Solidly Built- Video and Audio both excellent

Weakness:

?

Picked this up after auditioning a couple of other plalyers after my A110 bit the dust- very very impressed with the video and audio quality- it's a very solidly built machine, I do expect it to be around for quite a while, judging from past Onkyo experiences. I don't have problem with the fact that this machine won't shuffle play between discs- I knew that going into the purchase- so, my feelings are that if that is not important to you, you will not be disappointed in this machine.

Similar Products Used: Panasonic A-110
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Lawrance Morrissey   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 28, 1999]
Strength:

Sound and picture quality are excellent. (Plays the Matrix flawlessly!) Overall layout and looks are awesome.

Weakness:

Useless shuffle feature. The word "Zoom 1" stays on the screen, in the picture during playback.

Dear Onkyo Executives,

I have just received my new DV-C600 DVD player and I have very mixed emotions about it. First of all I would like to say the overall quality and features are outstanding! However, there are two features that I find unacceptable that I would like to bring to your attention.

Problem number one: The random feature is useless. What is the point of buying a CD/DVD player that holds 6 disks if you can't shuffle between them all? That is the entire point of being able to hold 6 at once. Big boo-boo.

Problem nuber two: The "zoom 1" message remains on the screen during playback. The reason a zoom feature is on a DVD player to begin with is so the watcher can enjoy playback at different sizes. Why in the world do you insist on leaving the type not only on the screen, but in the picture area? Very bad idea.

Of all the features and qualities on a DVD player, you missed on two of the most important "features" that would make this the best DVD player on the market. Unfortunately for you and me, I have no choice but to send the player back and give the Toshiba a try. I'm sad I will not be able to brag to my friends and relatives on what a great DVD player you make. Sorry guys, you're really close, but you need to make these changes if you want to sell your product to people who look at the details.

Sincerely,

Larry Morrissey

Similar Products Used: Panasonic DVD, GE DVD
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Tanvir Hafiz   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 28, 1999]
Strength:

Picture and sound, 6 discs loading capability.

Weakness:

Random only on remote.

You can get rid of the "ZOOM 1" by hitting the "SETUP" button twice.
I am assuming that if this is the same unit as the Toshiba 6-disc DVD player.

Taz

Similar Products Used: Toshiba 4109X 6 disc DVD player.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 44  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com