Nakamichi DVD-10 DVD Players

DVD-10

Single Disc DVD/CD Player - Dolby Digital - Dolby DTS compatible - 96kHz/24-bit audio DACs - 10-bit video DACs

User Reviews (40)

Showing 1-10 of 40  
phaserevoxfreak   Audio Enthusiast [May 07, 2003]
Strength:

Picture quality.

Weakness:

Display on unit, remote is not lighted, Nak customer service is horrible or non-existant since the company has disappeared. I found the sonics when playing cd's to be quite "edgy" coming from my ADS L-810's.

For the money the Nak dvd-15 is an excellent buy. I do feel that Nak may have shortchanged the consumer when engineering it's display as it is difficult to read.

Similar Products Used: Sony dvd
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Chas Underhay   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 17, 2003]
Strength:

Good quality sound from both DVDs and CDs Good quality Picture

Weakness:

A bit slow and finicky

Audio enthusiast is not really accurate, more music enthusiast, audio is a tool for a job. Anyway that moan out of the way I was interested to note that many people have also had problems with the slow reading of DVDs and CDs. I would also agree that the Nakamichi DVD10s tends to be a bit finicky about what it plays but I have often traced this to being due to dirt even on new discs scratches scratches on old discs. Not withstanding the above gripes, I consider the overall audio and video performance is very good. When my wife and I went to audition the Naka the dealer thought the sound quality would be on a par with a £350 CD player. we asked the dealer to set up both players and a good £600 CD player so as to see what we would be loosing out on. The truth is that we never even listened to the £350 player because the Naka walked all over the £600 player. A mate of mine is upset because his £800 CD player doesn't sound as good and doesn't play films either. We listen mostly to LPs and for years wouldn't have a CD player in the house and apart from the quirks this is a good product. We dont use the gimicks and toys so we can't comment

Similar Products Used: Michell Gyrodec Record Player
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
roberto350z   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 16, 2003]
Strength:

the picture clarity, depth, color and realism eclipses all other player. With quality interconnects, CD listening quality is definetly on par with 300-600 dollar CD standalone units. One guy said it rivals $1000 players. I.e. dont bother with a dedicated CD player unless its class A. If you are going to get this player for near $300 at a store or auction, I say do it and use it for exceptional video and audio.

Weakness:

Nak. screwed up on the software for this product. Slow tray, slow reading, terrible GUI and sloppy functions Id rank it low on the totem pole for thoughtfullness for the consumer.

I got a great deal on the Nak. DVD 10-s If it were retail price, then Id be upset. Yes the player has its eccentricities demonstrating Nakamichis total inabiliy to progress and develop new products. The tray is slow and mindnumbing to watch, reading discs gives you enough time to mix a martini and find the remote in the couch cushions and switching between CD's and DVD's is about as tempermental as a spoiled brat, but once all that is in order I find that I have a top performing product on my hands. Others reviewing this product who have payed full retail will be harsh in scoring the NAk. Since I payed so little for it, Im actually excited I have it and love it. See its strenghts below to find out why I scored the player so high despite its terrible functional craftmanship.

Similar Products Used: H/K CD players, sub standard players like SONY and Toshiba.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
ra8488   Casual Listener [Nov 18, 2002]
Strength:

It gives good picture and sound when it reads fine. Changing the audio tracks on DVD is quick and easy.

Weakness:

Noisy, over heats, no progressive scan, dull on screen controls.

Review for DVD-15 First let me say, in the past I thought the word Nakamichi meant true quality. I guess times have changed. I bought this DVD player by name alone, and without ever seeing one in person. The player was MSRP at around $1200 and I thought I was getting a GREAT deal. This unit is extremely noisy. As discs revolve, there is a constant knocking coming from the motor. When playing discs, it gets very hot. You can’t load a disc while another is playing. For the $$$, you should be able to get progressive scan. Not crazy about the onscreen controls for music cd’s. I had to send the unit in to repair the laser and was somewhat satisfied with customer service but at a MSRP of $1200, I think it should last longer than half a year. Once I got the unit back, it still made lots of noise and runs hot. Bottom line, this thing has flaws galore and if I knew then what I know now, I absolutely would not have gotten this. There are other players for less $$$ that are equivalent or better. I learned a huge lesson with this purchase!

Similar Products Used: Zenith 2600
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
indofunk   Casual Listener [Apr 13, 2002]
Strength:

look. Picture tweaking capability. Good video quality but can''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''t compare to progressive scan unit esp. the RP91

Weakness:

too many: noisy when changing disc, slow, awful GUI - have problem distinc among PCM, Dolby Digital and DTS. Lack of memory for picture setting, most recent scene, audio setting (no comparasion to the old Sony 550). So-so r/c.

I agree with last few reviewers. WHAT HAPPENED TO NAKAMICHI''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''s QUALITY? A quality built but there are so many interface glitches. I am sorry I got it. Should get another Panasonic RP91 instead, an excellent unit. For $250, I rate 1 or 2 stars...

Similar Products Used: Panasonic RP91, RP56, Sony 550
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Tsingtao   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 27, 2002]
Strength:

It looked well made

Weakness:

But it wasnt !

Never did work properly with DVDs & always shut down about 40 mins into VCDS or Music CDs. Nak offered to look at machine ( for a fee ) but rekoned it would cost about HK$1200 + to fix SO..... put it in its box and brought a budget sony machine which has been working perfectly for the last 6 months. Any one asks me about NAKs products i tell them that the company has lost the plot ... They used to make such great stuff

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
cknoch   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 05, 2002]
Strength:

Excellent Audio, great video (for awhile), nice features, like the loading mechanism.

Weakness:

Player go Splode, Lucy!

This is for the Nak DVD-15 Musicbank Changer. I bought it to replace an RCA changer that would not play CDR''''s. The Picture was superior, the audio was fantastic. But.... The changer quit playing DVD''''s after about the third movie. Still plays CDs and CDRs just fine, but it makes a low grinding sound when spinning up a DVD and errors out the disc. After reading the reviews for the 10''''s here, I think maybe our buddies at Nakamichi can''''t build a consistantly reliable DVD player. Mine took a dump after 4 days. I have come to realize why there are billions of things flooding the autions and dealers, and I thinks that''''s because Nakamichi realizes they have a problem here. I''''m working with the dealer to get mine repaired, and to date they have been very helpful. In the meanwhile, I''''ve hooked up my old RCA and am using it. It may not look or sound as good, but it works. I can''''t give them much of a rating fot this POS for obvious reasons, and I never thought I''''d ever say this about Nak equipment, but if I had it to over again, I wouldn''''t buy another one. Good luck to you if you do. By the way, if you look at the Nak website, they are pretty specific about not honoring the warranty unless you purchased from an "authorized" dealer. So think twice and ask questions from the seller if you just have to have one.

Similar Products Used: RCA
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
O K   Audiophile [Feb 15, 2000]
Strength:

stylish, musical...

Weakness:

no coxial out

I enjoy Nakamichi DVD10 with my AV 10, it produce good sound and picture on my system.
You cannot buy any other DVD player like this cos it worth more than you pay.

Good Luck!

Similar Products Used: pioneer 626
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark Morrow   Audiophile [Mar 26, 2000]
Strength:

Performance, features and design.

Weakness:

Price.

I purchased this unit, a DVD10s from a Seller on Ebay, new in the box, for $560.00. Having used the product for a month, the price was a steal. I am using it with a Adcom system featuring a Adcom 200 watt/channel amp, Adcom GSA700 preamp/amp, Klipsch Chorus II speakers, Polk center channel, Wharfedale Valdus 500 rear channel speakers. The picture without the digital input is superb on my Mitsubishi 36". The built in Dolby decoder works great through the standard RCA inputs on the Adcom, however, I look forward to installing the Adcom decoder and using a coaxial or optical cable in the future. This is a design fault of the Adcom preamp and not the Nakamichi which I understand is an upgrade from the previous DVD10, it has a digital coaxial and optical cable out. In comparison to the Toshiba and Denon I've tried in the past, this is by far the better value, exceeding the others in sound quality. It does not have the same weight, however, I personally don't believe it is indicative of a unit's quality to weigh a ton. Truely a timeless component that will be used years from now.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba 9000 and Denon 5000.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ernest Toh   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 16, 1999]
Strength:

Excellent sound on both DVD and music CD. Great warranty.

Weakness:

One. Will explain in the review.

Nakamichi DVD-10 is indeed a sleek machine as mentioned by other reviewers. I love the sound and the picture is great although I would not say it is on the same level as the top machine from Pioneer, Sony, Toshiba, or Denon.

I had problem with my machine after a few weeks of using it but it was replaced by the local dealer which I find truly amazing since consumer rights in Hong Kong is still way behind other developed countries.

Two weaknesses I found on this machine:

1. The loading time is a bit slow for such a high end machine; I tried the same disc on another middle range player of and the loading time was much faster.

2. I can't play "The Snowman" DVD disc. The disc is a double feature with "The Snowman" and "Father Christmas". When loaded the disc will show the feature menu where we can choose either one of the two features; I have no problem with "Father Christmas" but whenever I click on "The Snowman", "Father Christmas" will play instead of the selected feature. It is certainly not a defective disc because I tried it on other players and I was able to play both features. I thought it was a defect of my player but when I tried it on another Nakamichi, it did the same thing.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 40  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com