Marantz VC-5000 DVD Players

VC-5000

5 Disc DVD/CD Changer - Dolby Digital/DTS output - 10-bit video DACs with 27MHz filtering - 24-bit audio DACs - Component video, S-video and composite video outputs

User Reviews (27)

Showing 1-10 of 27  
jgennett   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 01, 2005]
Strength:

good sound and picture when it worked

Weakness:

Unable to auto-switch from DD to DTS, etc, unable to output component and s-video simultaneously, menu options hard to access, does not switch to correct 6.1 decoding automatically, doesnt work! d

This was my first Marantz product, purchased along with an SR7200 receiver. Overall I am disappointed with the player. After a year, the player began freezing, skipping, etc. It was repaired under warranty. Now, a year later and out of warranty, the same problem has resurfaced. The picture and sound are great when it works, but now that it's been replaced by a $150 Denon I see where I did not get what I paid for. The features are the same, the Denon exhibits excellent sound and picture quality and is more intuitive in sensing signal type, audio output type, etc. Marantz is considering helping fix the busted player, but we'll see.

Similar Products Used: denon 1710
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
VIguy   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 14, 2003]
Strength:

Great sound and picture for DVD's

Weakness:

Constantly malfunctioning. Poor quality sound for CD's

Great sound and picture when it works. I have been very dissapointed in this particular DVD player. It constanly has problems with the signal out. The DVD's won't play the menu won't display etc. After reading the other reviews it would seem I am not alone when it comes to problems with this unit. This player is going back and I would recommend you not purchase this one, it clearly has problems for more than just a few people. I like Marantz gear but this is the second Marantz DVD player that I've had problems with. For now my wife and I have purchased a Panasonic base model at a third of the price and so far no problems. There sure seems to be a lot of bugs to be worked out with a lot of the DVD players on the market, I hope we see better gear available across the board in the near future. DVD's are wonderful to watch and it's a great technology but the players need work.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Mark Iberri   AudioPhile [Sep 16, 2002]
Strength:

I have not found any.

Weakness:

This is a real lemon.

Warning!!! Do not but the VC5000, it is nothing but problems. Constant disc error message. Will not play CDR. Will not shuffle between disc. Do your homework so you do not make the same mistake I did.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
joe   AudioPhile [Jun 07, 2002]
Strength:

superb sound image and image image... quality does not degrade, rare for 5 disc mechanism

Weakness:

marantz documentation and support if you want to play low quality VCDs and music you can't. But why would you?

Amazing sound quality. Yes it is slow to change discs but it is accurate, the sound is full and a little soft (not too much). I found it to be better than the newer model, but this is probably a matter of taste. As a rough measure, If your system (decoder, amps - receiver, speakers, not including TV) is in the price range of 2000-4000 this component is perfect. Below that you can live with a $150 DVD from Kmart, above those prices I can't tell.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
joe   AudioPhile [Jun 07, 2002]
Strength:

superb sound image and image image... quality does not degrade, rare for 5 disc mechanism

Weakness:

marantz documentation and support if you want to play low quality VCDs and music you can't. But why would you?

Amazing sound quality. Yes it is slow to change discs but it is accurate, the sound is full and a little soft (not too much). I found it to be better than the newer model, but this is probably a matter of taste. As a rough measure, If your system (decoder, amps - receiver, speakers, not including TV) is in the price range of 2000-4000 this component is perfect. Below that you can live with a $150 DVD from Kmart, above those prices I can't tell.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
William Mina   Audio Enthusiast [May 15, 2002]

Just a follow up on the VC5000 disc error problem. I found after time, no amount of warm up would stop the unit from malfunctioning. I called Marantz directly, and they got me with their refurbisher in IL. They replaced the entire disc mechanism at no charge and the problem is solved. Good to point out how well Marantz stepped up to solve the problem. Turn around was quick (less than 2 weeks). If anyone decides to send theirs out and would like the same info. I used....give me a holler at tymp@pcrealm.net

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
William Mina   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 06, 2002]
Strength:

None......but at least it works after 24 hours in standby mode

Weakness:

Plays Movies and CDs only. No recorded discs No progressive scan No Optical Output Noisy and Clunky

I have found a partial solution for those who have problems like myself with this unit showing "disc error" and having to re-initialize the player to get through a movie or cd track. Simply leave the unit in standby mode (red pilot light on) rather than a complete shut down. This unit needs to stay warmed up to function correctly for some reason. For whatever small current the thing draws while on standby, it is a small price to pay for the performance benefit.

Similar Products Used: RCA Panasonic RP56
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Robin   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 15, 2000]
Strength:

Outstanding Color/Standard enhanced black level

Weakness:

Reliability/Quality!!

Chose the manrantz based on being very pleased with my MA 500's and having owned upscale phillips gear before they changed the name to marantz.
What a mistake. The first unit was DOA! wouldn't power up. -- turned out a cable was misrouted.
The second unit was plagued by freezes and data errors when watching DVDs that even power-cycling would not cure.... It was all but unusable for DVDs. It finally also refused to power up.
Other than that the sound quality and picture quality were well above average.
They need to fix the quality of these units asap! I'm not alone with the problems I've had

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
b   Audio Enthusiast [May 19, 2001]
Strength:

great sound and picture

Weakness:

noisy when changing dvds

bought it from ubid refurbished and couldn't be happier. this dvd player has great a picture and sound. i'm using it with my hk avr 300 and it blows away anything i have previously used. it is being auctioned off for about the 200.00 to 220.00 price range on ubid right now and it's a great buy. do not let these other reviews scare you into buying it.

Similar Products Used: pioneer dv414, apex ad-600, hk dvd5
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bersonic   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 29, 2000]
Strength:

Well integrated CD & DVD
Easy to Use
Beautiful Sound
Detailed Picture Quality

Weakness:

Lacking random play feature

Product has worked perfectly from day one. No problems at all.

CD sound was astounding. Detailed but not sizzled. Bottom octives were accuratly produced and very "fast".

Little operating noise noticed. Changing disks was very quite.

All in all...I got exactly what I wanted at a fair price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 27  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com