Marantz DV-7010 DVD Players

DV-7010

DVD, CD, CD-R, CD-RW and Video CD playback

User Reviews (19)

Showing 1-10 of 19  
Marcus Wellstead   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 04, 2002]
Strength:

Detailed, rich and musical sound which gets to the emotion of music and film alike. Attractive looks and nice general finish.

Weakness:

R/C and CD draw quality are not great but not enough to spoil overall

No regrets with this purchase whatsoever so far. Sounds a little harsh for first day or two but then mellowed wonderfully. I bought this primarily as a CD player and DVD secondly and it fits the bill perfectly. Typically full-bodied Marantz sound quality. It is very detailed and from my experience sounds very comparible to my previous CD63se which I though was a cracking machine. Soundtracks are replayed very nicely, and picture quality is perfectly crisp. Operation is straight forward from the box and has plenty of adjustability to suit different audio and tv set ups.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba SD220 which had excellent picture quality but not good on audio playback.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 06, 2002]
Strength:

Quick loading, quiet operation, smoothe layer changes, nice picture and great audio.

Weakness:

Not progressive scan and a bit on the high side pricewise (if buying new).

I must disagree with the last reviewer regarding the video quality of the 7010. To me, in comparing it with my old Pioneer DV-525 (a great unit by the way), the picture quality is much improved. I should note I'm viewing on a 35-inch tube using S-video hookup. To me, the picture quality is superb. It's a little on the soft side, but not so much as to annoy. Layer changes also seem smoother and quicker than on the 525. I notice, though, that the setup menu looks suspiciously identical to that of the 525. Perhaps Marantz borrowed some of the 525's inner workings? Other plusses for the Marantz are the much quicker loading speeds and overall quiet operation. Sound, of course, is superb. The 7010 makes a great stand-alone CD player, even better than my Marantz 5-disc CD changer. In fact, I wouldn't hesitate to use the 7010 in place of my California Audio Labs Icon Mark II in my dedicated 2-channel audio system coupled with my Classe CAP-101 integrated amp and B&W Nautilus 804 speakers. As for value, well, I wouldn't pay full retail, which ranges from $599 to $799. But that's because I don't believe in spending that much when new and improved DVD players are coming out all the time. I bought mine as reconditioned for $300. My value rating reflects that price. In sum, if you can get this model on clearance (it is being phased out) for between $300 and $400, go for it.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer DV-525
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Daninthemix   AudioPhile [May 31, 2002]
Strength:

Great CD playback, surround sound. Nice features such as resume from where you stopped (even if the machine is turned off). Fast disc accessing.

Weakness:

Very sub-standard picture quality.

I bought this player as an 'all-in-wonder' unit to plovide me with decent CD playback as well as DVD. As with most Marantz mid-to-high end stuff, the CD playback is excellent - both as a transport and using the analogue output stages. Surround sound is also well positioned, precise, and dynamic. The main problem is, I feel Marantz DVD players (all the ones I've seen, anyway) lack really good picture quality. Sure - you'll get a reasonably sharp image, but also one that seems to emphasize both the film grain on the recording, and video noise from the DAC (presumably). As a result this player is very distracting in low-light scenes, but does a reasonable job in evenly-lit scenes, such as outdoors in daylight. My opinion of the DV7010 is the same as with other Marantz DVD players I've seen - this is essentially a good CD player, with a video DAC and DVD transport bolted on. I'm selling mine, and instead getting a Marantz CD17mkII KI CD player, and a Toshiba SD900E DVD, as I feel Tosh players offer the best picture quality BAR NONE, and I love the sound of Marantz CD players. Best of both worlds!!! As a DVD player the 7010 is a failure in my view, but less fussy videophiles who want CD playback may well benefit!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
John Carroll   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 28, 2002]
Strength:

Everything except the tray. Oh and did I mention great looks too?

Weakness:

The tray

I am a regret buyer, that is, I usually hate what I purchase after I take it home. This was not the case with this unit. I purchased the DV 7010 when it was first introduced as the ''replacement'' for the 7000. It was not intended to be my combination cd/dvd player as I have an excellent cd player that when compared to the 7010 playing cd''s blows it away. I wanted a pure dedicated dvd player with no frills and that is exaclty what i got. The build quality is excellent, in fact it has essentially the same components as the reference DV-18, sans the copper sheilding and better transport. Disc load times are the fastest I have ever seen on ANY DVD player, and seek times are equally as fast. This might be the selling point for anyone who is tired of using players that are ''sluggish''. The on screen menus are user freindly. Th unit looks great as well. Real ''videophile'' minimalism to it. Video quality- AHHH superb! I don''t really understand how or why it is better than other mass market players in it''s price range, but the DV 7010 just is. I demo''d it against a few players, including Toshiba which I though was great for the money, and the Marantz unit smoked them, esp. on the audio end, which I kind of expected. If you are not using component video cables with this unit or any DVD player, you are missing out big time. I still compare it now to players that freinds have, but they cannot compare to mine. The remote works well, although a little goofy in the layout, but I can''t complain. It is not prog scan, but that does not matter as my display device upscans to 540p anyway. If I have one gripe against the DV 7010, it is the flimsy tray. Not exactly Apex or Sony, but damn near close! I sometimes cringe at the idea of loading a DVD into the player for fear that the tray will snap off. A steal for the price, and great picture and audio to boot. No regrets.

Similar Products Used: Lots
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Dutchaudio   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 14, 2002]
Strength:

as described above

Weakness:

Noisy, specially with DVD''s which are made of low quality (rented dvd). The noise when playing cd-s is more then acceptable. The noise on the DVD 7000 is significant lower.

Wonderful picture quality. Fantastic cd-player. Difference between Marantz DVD 4100 is clearly audible. The sound is very brilliant, especially after connected on a very good network filter (van Medevoort, real Dutch art). For each of you who are looking for a DVD player of which is used as cd-player for 80% of the time, this is the machine you are looking for. In combination with the Marantz SR7200 receiver (when modified by Marantz as the mute switch causes troubles and occuring electro statical plops), you will have yourself a wonderful combination. Thank you Stassen Hifi for recommanding this tremendously set!

Similar Products Used: DVD 7000 and DVD 4100 also produced by Marantz
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark Spencer   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 17, 2001]
Strength:

Solid transport. Quality construction. Versatile set-up menus.

Weakness:

None found, yet.

Discernable improved audio and video quality as compared to my panasonic and my philips dvd players. I was surprised at the difference; it was more than a subtle improvement.
The person that sold me this Marantz piece said, "If it doesn't sound better and look better than what you are using, bring it back." I thought it was hype, but it is so superior I was really surprised. It has enhanced my whole system. (Marantz Digital Receiver, KEF speakers, Velodyne Subwoofer). The best money I've spent on audio equipment in a long time. I'm done buying disposable dvd players from mass merchandisers.

Similar Products Used: Panasonic 310 (fixed twice for laser alignment), Philips 825 (sticks alot).
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ray   Audiophile [Dec 05, 2001]

I'm looking for a dvd payer for 60% in misic (playing cd) and 40% in movie (playing dvd & vcd). Is it a only one (best buy) in the market at the moment this price range. Anyone can give me advice. One of the concert is the noisy. Is it really series while playing disc.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Dan   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 21, 2002]
Strength:

Great video and sound quality, superb build quality, fast loading.

Weakness:

A bit noisy, too wide.

First of all, thanks to PaulG (below) for answering some of my questions and encouraging me to make this purchase. I ran across the DV-7010 at accessories4less (they sell through eBay, too) and read up on it here. I f you are considering this player, definitely take a look at their monthly special on refurb units. They're an authorized Marantz dealer, which helps ease refurb concerns.

I've used the DV-7010 for a week now and have been very happy with it. My major gripes with the above tested DVD players have been inconsistencies from disc to disc (skipping, noise, pixelizing, etc.) and annoyingly long pauses on layer changes. If any of these areas were documented to the extent they deserve addressing, I'm not so sure DVD would have caught on in the first place...

Anyway, aside from one of my test discs which seems to cause lengthy pauses on layer change for any player, the Marantz has reduced such pauses to almost non-existant. I've actually only noticed the pause on one other disc with it, and that one only because I already knew exactly where it was coming. It really is smooth.

For a component of such obvious quality, I would have expected it to be a bit quieter. It's fairly noisy on menus, but it quiets down quite a bit once the movie starts playing. Not quite sure why, but I figure the menu is the best place to have excessive noise!

I have fairly cheap S-Video cables, but I'm absolutely stunned by how good the video quality is on the Marantz. It handles panning across scenery (i.e. country side or city lights) impeccably and does quite well in low light pictures. Audio is very good, although I had a hard time detecting any difference between it and the lower priced DVD players I tried. Now that I think about it, that might be because the digital audio out has the audio being processed by my receiver regardless of the player...

Discs load very fast, averaging 4-5 seconds for DVDs and about 9 seconds for CDs. I'm surprised CDs take longer to load. Most players are the other way around, but with both taking significantly longer than with the Marantz. I can certainly live with those times.

Probably my biggest surprise came when sliding the Marantz into the stereo shelf, which accomodates 17" wide components. The very stylish and heavy duty faceplate on the Marantz over-hangs the body just a bit and makes it about a quarter inch too wide for the cabinet, so be warned if you don't want lots of components stacked *on top* of the shelf...

Only other negative I can think of is only one fast seek mode (2x ?), but that's made up for in most cases by the time seek option. As far as connectivity, the back panel has more hookup options than I could dream up uses for! :)

I'm torn between 4 and 5 stars on the overall rating. The drawbacks to this unit are too easily remedied to be issues on such a high end item, yet they still exist. On the other hand, the DV-7010 is so much better than entry level units from the other major brands that it becomes fantastic by comparison. The value rating is a no brainer at $300.

Dan

Similar Products Used: Where to start... Philips DVD702, Pioneer DV-434, Sony NS300, Toshiba 1700, Samsung DVD-P401, Sanyo DWM-370
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gianluca Signorino   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 18, 2002]

Very good products.I used it for audio cd and i think it's a good compromise for the audio/video solution.
I think it have a very nice style too

Similar Products Used: Sony
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
Thomas Wullum   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 08, 2001]
Strength:

Great picture. Excellent sound, also on CD.

Weakness:

Noisy. No MP3.....

A great player - no doubt! Warm, clear an calm picture, just excellent! I am also very happy with the sound. It is very easy to use, the OCD are easily acessed and simple to understand. Expect for alterings sones wich is a bit tricky. The player also has quite a few built-in utilities that I have learned to apreciate. For instance the resume-function, and also to memory function which allows you to remove a DVD, load another DVD, then resume the original DVD again when loading it.
Basically the player has no weakness ecxept that it is a bit noisy. Not a problem when watching movies (if you're into some volume) or playing music normally. But when playing silent background music you may be bothered by the noise. Also you may expect a MP3 dekoder on a $700-player?

Similar Products Used: Denon DVD1500
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 19  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com