Marantz DV-7000 DVD Players

DV-7000

Single Disc DVD player - Dolby Digital/DTS - Component Video outputs - 10-bit video DACs with 27MHz filtering - 96kHz/24-bit audio DACs - Component, S-video and composite video outputs

User Reviews (16)

Showing 1-10 of 16  
ernesto   AudioPhile [Jun 01, 2015]

It was the year 2000 when I was a plant so 'comprises ..... Denon avr 3300, Marantz DV 7000 and speakers B & W CDM nt, Sub Velodyne CT 120. One of the most' beautiful plants with a memory linked to a musicality 'exceptional
After all this time I recovered the Denon avr 3300 already 'for years, and now, even the Marantz dv 7000. Unfortunately this player model has flaws on reading for weaknesses on the mechanical construction of the project and the laser assembly always. But when it works well, it has a very good musicality to be a video player. As CD I find it very beautiful. It has nice voices and the sound is music. Great player. I put 5 stars as sound and 3 stars as construction, because of this defect on mecanica- laser afflicting these dv 7000.Per the rest, until 'work and not blocks in reading and 'a great apparecchio.Co in CD from' the best of 'in my opinion

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Glenn   Casual Listener [Jun 06, 2007]
Strength:

Good sounding CD. A little bright in my opinion.

Weakness:

Slow in reading media (DVD or CD). The door opens slowly compared to other CD players I have owned.

When I first auditioned this DVD, I was really impressed. By far, the best stand-alone CD player I have ever owned (I don't use the DVD). I also heard Marantz makes pretty good CD players.
An outboard DAC is not necessary for this although some use this CD as their transport.
This CD shines.

Similar Products Used: Rotel RCD 855, Sony DVP-S7000,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark   Audio Enthusiast [May 20, 2002]
Strength:

Great sound quality, Amazing picture quality, SCART plug, component out, Region code free

Weakness:

It is slow, and the remote is still not easy to use (even after using it for a year). After 18 mths, I get an error ever now & then when it loads a disc.

Great player, but now I think that it is expensive for the price. Players have become more affordable, so you should be able to find a machine of this quality for a lower price. My requirement when looking was for sound that was good CD player quality (having digital media, I didn't just want good picture - it needed to be good everything). Also, not buying the whole 5.1 surround thing, the sound quality had to deliver pure sound to be put through a Rotel amp (ie - no bells & whistles, just pure clean stereo sound). The Marantz delivers. Note though that the CD sound is not as good as my Rotel CD player & I do not use the Marantz to play CDs. The difference is small, but having the CD player, might as well use the better of the two. The sound quality is unbelieveably better than an old Sony CD carousel I have. Picture quality is great - I have a Loewe TV with Scart input & I invested $100 in buying a serious cable to run between the DVD player & the TV. Result is a sensational picture (best I have seen on any DVD/TV combo) and high-grade sound quality. The player is slow - you will hear that from everyone - this is just loading, I have no trouble in layer transition. As far as I am concerned, it is a small price to pay for the quality of the output. You may disagree if you need things to happen fast! I am slightly concerned that I get error messages every now & then when loading a disc (the player is less than 18mths old), but it is still under extended warranty, so if that ends up being an issue, I'll get it fixed. Still, not what you expect from a player in the high end of the market. Recommendation - use the foyer shoot-out scene from Matrix to audition the player - you'll see what people talk about...

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Mike Melli   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 21, 2000]
Strength:

Crisp, clean picture. Great sound. Great features.

Weakness:

It's ugly gold lettering stands out like a sore thumb against my beautiful NAD equipment.

I recently picked up this unit as an exchange for my NAD T550 dvd player, which I sadly returned due to it's substandard picture quality. I think I've finally found a DVD player I can be happy with. This Marantz unit has a great clean picture and good sound. It's chock full of nice little features without being gimmicky. Zoom is cool. A nice, unobtrusive OSD is fairly simple to use, and it has good setup options, etc. So far it's worked out great for me, and after my great dissatisfaction with the NAD unit, I think I'm happy with this one. The picture is one of the best I've seen. I demo'd this unit in my local hi-fi store against the NAD, Toshiba 3109, and Sony DVP-7700 .. The Marantz had the cleanest picture of the bunch.

One small nitpick - the manual has more typos than I've ever
seen in a product manual. It's crazy. hehe.

Oh, and the remote is ugly, but aren't they all.

Overall a top-rate unit.

Similar Products Used: Sony DVP-S330, NAD T550
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Tv   Audiophile [Feb 22, 2000]
Strength:

Build quality, video quality, analog audio (for a DVD player), clean look

Weakness:

No progressive scan. Slightly overpriced

The Marantz DV7000 is an excellent DVD player that performs as well as the price tag would suggest. However, progressive scan players will eclipse it technologically this year (2000). I do not consider this a “best bang for the buck” player and think that it is slightly overpriced. For those of you who have no intention of buying a new TV, projector, or monitor with the capability to accept progressive scan input in the next several years, then this player will meet your entry-level high-end DVD needs. If you are looking to buy a new TV in the near future, you should wait, buy a less expensive player, or purchase one of these from a dealer who will allow you to trade-up for full value within a year’s time. Since progressive scan effectively doubles vertical resolution (non progressive scan DVD players degrade the video image to be compatible with the non-progressive scan televisions which interlace the video image; use only every other horizontal line per frame…or something to that effect) this is an important consideration to those willing to spend this kind of money on video equipment. I don’t know Marantz’ intentions, but I hope they make a player comparable in quality and close in price to the DV7000 with progressive scan output by the end of the year as I chose the later option.

This unit is built fairly well for a DVD player. It has component, S-video, and composite video outputs, optical and coaxial digital outputs for audio, and standard analog audio L/R channel outputs. RCA output jacks are gold plated and the front panel has the deceptive appearance of a flat, thick metal plate (upon closer inspection, it proves to be a nicely finished thin metal facade). It feels heavier than most typical DVD players. The transport is placed off to the side, which may improve isolation. The tray is thin but has a firm feel to it. This transport seems to run quieter than the one in the Marantz DV4000. The front panel is clean and laid-out to be visually appealing (though asymmetric) and could be considered ergonomic for regular DVD operation, though some of the buttons are small and located underneath the display to maintain an uncluttered appearance. It has a headphone jack and an associated volume control.

For CD playback through the analog outputs, you do get better than mass-market CD player sound, which means it should outperform your typical DVD players as well. It does not loose analog audio information the way mass-market CD and DVD players do. However, for the price of this DVD player, you can buy a well-regarded, excellent sounding, and very well built CD player such as the Rega Planet, CAL Icon Mk II (if you can find this discontinued model), or an Arcam piece (Rotel also has a sub $1000 player that has been turning heads too). You can select between sharp and soft digital filter if you use the analog outputs. The sharp setting appears to bring-out the details and provides good separation between instruments but can be fatiguing to listen to. This setting just didn’t work well for normal listening with my NHT 2.5i speakers (Adcom GFP-750 preamp, GFA-5500 amp, Marantz SR8000 receiver, Audioquest Ruby and Coral interconnects and Indigo speaker cables). While the soft filter setting took care of the top-end sizzle, it was not as engaging as I had hoped it would be as the image lost some life and the high’s sounded purposefully rolled-off. The midrange was very nice on both settings, though the sound seemed slightly lean in the upper-bass. Mid and lower bass were well defined and tight. Perhaps with a well-matched (bloomy) speaker, this DVD player has the potential to be a satisfying CD player.

DVD playback is excellent, slightly better than the DV4000. However, note that a better video cable provides more “bang for the buck” improvement than stepping-up to better electronics. My experience showed that a DV4000 with a Tributary Silver composite video cable will provide a better picture than the DV7000 with an Audioquest Video-1 composite cable. I can’t comment on the S-video or component video abilities since it will be a few more months before I upgrade my television.

The Marantz DV7000 is an excellent piece, and will serve those who demand near-hi-end quality as I do. The drawback is that progressive scan products are rapidly coming to market, and a less-expensive or similarly priced progressive scan DVD player mated to a progressive scan TV should easily outperform the best non-progressive scan equipment. If you plan on spending as-much for a DVD player, you will do well to purchase this piece if you don’t plan on taking advantage of the progressive scan technology (perhaps you just purchased a 36” Sony Wega a few month ago), or your dealer will allow you to upgrade within a year and receive full value for the trade-in.

Similar Products Used: Marantz DV4000
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Mo Schmo   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 05, 2001]
Strength:

Build, picture quality, fantastic sound (plays CD-R's and CD's perfectly.)

Weakness:

Slow (if you're a crackhead)

I love this player. For anything under $500, it's a great buy. Yes, it's kind of on the slow side, but it's an older model player. The best part about this player is the sound quality. I don't need a separate $1000 CD player when I have this. And it plays everything.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer 434
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Cuneyt Ocaklilar   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 19, 2000]
Strength:

Sharp and clear picture, good sound, build quality, no modification required for multi region.

Weakness:

Remote.

I preferred this unit over Sony 7700 because of 96Hz/24bit digital output. I found that this unit produces sharper pictures than Sony 7700 and was equal on sound. Menus and on-screen icons are beautiful. Happy to get multi-angle icon again after 7700 and it has also an option to display it or not. I also had a good match with Marantz SR-7000 receiver. Remote is non-backlighted but I will use only the remote of SR-7000.

Similar Products Used: Philips 750, Sony 7700
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andy   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 10, 2000]
Strength:

Build quality, video quality and very good sound for mass prod. DVD player

Weakness:

Remote, no progressive scan

Previous DVD experience with Panasonic was complete disaster. I decided take a shot with DV-7000 because I never had any problems with Marantz equipment before and compare to Pioneer and Sony players (same price range) video and audio quality is much better. The internal audio DAC (in stereo) is not bad, compare to Link DAC it is missing bass a little bit, but for HT - sound quality is perfect. This unit is running relatively hot, and if you have closed rack beware about it.
P.S.
I got my player online for $450.00

Similar Products Used: Panasonic A310u, Pioneer Elite DV-05
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
rob   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 23, 2000]
Strength:

wicked picture, good audio,ease of use, multi region ready no mods needed(no macro disable though)

Weakness:

non so far except price,about to be replaced by dv7010

tried nakamichi 10s, pioneer 717,525 audio seemed slightly better on marantz than naka,blew the pioneers away.
delighted so far.

Similar Products Used: pc dvd only.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
E K   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 12, 2000]
Strength:

Excelent picture, crispy images. Very good as an audio source, CD-R compatible. Free-zone.

Weakness:

Plastic cd-tray, slow operation
"unergonometric" remote, not illuminated, difficult do operate while watching a film.


Video Section - Good image, you can see details e texture.
Specially with the S-VHS output, and with good cable (I use moster cable). Unfortunatelly my tv doesnt have video component inputs.

Audio Section - Very good. Much better than mass market cd-players. Very good midrange. The treble is a bit brillant and the bass is a little laid back.

A very good option for those who are looking for a DVD and
CD source.

Expensive in Brazil.

Similar Products Used: DV-525 -Pionner
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com