Marantz DV 4100P DVD Players

DV 4100P

The Marantz DV4100P is engineered for exceptional video and audio performance, featuring advanced digital technologies and premium components for superlative picture and sound quality. It is the ideal source component for a wide variety of high performance installations.

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
wingwang   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 04, 2003]
Strength:

FANTASTIC sound quality with both CDs and movies. Brings a valve system to life with both CDs and even movies!

Weakness:

Cruddy remote - why are the important buttons SO tiny???

The 4100 ose has really surprised me. I needed a new DVD player and my old Marantz CD-63 SE died on me, so I thought - "lets kill two birds with one stone if possible". What I wasn't prepared for was the absolutely stunning quality of the 4100 ose as a CD player. It trashes the 63 SE that I have - which in itself is a pretty good player. I note that there have been complaints of its heavy bass, well, this might have worked to my advantage as I have a valve Audio Innovations 200 power amp that was never ever bass rich in the first instance. Partnered with the amp and a modest sub-woofer and I have to concede that I have NEVER quite heard my music collection this way before. Not the last word in transprency perhaps, but the system positively sings now with a great "live" feel. It is great as a DVD player (zero complaints, miles better than my old proline crap) but it is really the sound quality of the player that has knocked me out.

Similar Products Used: Audio Innovations 200 series power amp Snell K speakers Prometheus Audio CD Director passive pre amp
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ANDYCRYSTAL   AudioPhile [Jan 15, 2003]
Strength:

video playback very good CD playback is of a very high standerd

Weakness:

remote could be designed better disc loading tray is rather flimsey disc loading speed is a little slow

This is a review of the 4100 OSE i purchased my Marrantz DV4100 OSE for £200 and i think it is a bargain.the video performace is of a very good standard,the colours are crisp and clean, and with excellent contrast.i watched the return of the jedi and lord of the rings and i have noticed no problems with low light level scenes as some people are saying on this reveiw site. The quality of the the CD playback is of an expectionally high standard.the level of detail is extremeally good.The trebble is clean and clear with none of the spitting you so often get with CD replay on DVD players.This is due to a dual laser pick up that the machine uses (one laser for DVD and one laser for CD).The bass is tight and well controlled and the midrange is very good.In my opionion the CD replay is better than both the CD6000 ose and the improved version the CD6000 ose LE. If you are thinking of upgrading your CD player then i would suggest you audition the Marrantz DV4100 ose as a serious hifi component,and i think you would have to spend at least £300 on a cd player to get better sound.The only bad points of this player is of the build quality,and the remote.The loading tray is very thin and flimsy and the remote could of been better designed,with important buttons made a little bigger.The only other bad thing is the on screen graphics,they are simple to use,that is providing you can read them,as they are superimposed rather than being solid and clear to read.The one last point i would like to make is i have only given this product a four star rating because it"s current retail price is still £400 ,and for £400 you can get better , but i would be very surprised if you could get better than this for £200 i got mine from "Richer sounds".and one last point this player won product of the year in the 2001 awards in what hi-fi

Similar Products Used: I only had a wharfdale dvd750 so i can"t really compare the dvd,but my CD player is the Marrantz cd6000 OSE and this DV4100 OSE is better as a cd player than my cd player is.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Daninthemix   AudioPhile [Nov 05, 2002]
Strength:

CD sound, movie sound. Good picture in terms of colour/sharpness.

Weakness:

Picture noise in low-light scenes particularly.

This is a review of the Marantz DV4100 OSE...not the pro model. I bought this as an all-in-one player that would give me decent CD playback as well as good AV sound and picture. The CD sound is exceptionally good, although rather bass heavy. I don't think Marantz makes a disc spinner that isn't class-leading in it's particular price band, and this is no exception. I only used this as a transport for AV sound, and can only comment that it is a perfect match for the Marantz x200 range of receivers. Picture is reasonably sharp, quite rich, but with a noise level that is slightly higher than the ideal. Overall this player performs remarkably well as a CD and DVD playback device. It doesn't break new ground in any area, but everything it does, it does well.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
mesak   Audio Enthusiast [May 20, 2002]

Andy, on my unit i haven''t noticed any problem with VCDs disks as far as it was recorded in VCD 1 standard. I doesn''t play VCD 2.0 version but it says so in the manual and specs so i wouldn''t be surprised if it wouldn''t work. Make sure that you record your disks in this format. By the way - after copying few DVDs i just stopped doing so because the image quality is horrible - it is as watching VHS with good sound.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
andy2810   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 30, 2002]
Strength:

Video quality - Excellent. Much sharper picture to=han my JVC 522. Very noticable with dark objects and text on the screen. Audio - yes but couldn''t really tell the difference from my existing machine, but that''s just my opinion.

Weakness:

Build quality - expected more from marantz. VCDs - Doesn''t like playing mine at all.

Let me first start by listing my current setup:- JVC Interart FR1EK TV, Marantz SR5000 AV Amp, 2x pairs of Mordaunt Short MS20i Pearls, MS Centre Speaker and of course Marantz DV4100 OSE. I decided to add a review not because I have a great knowledge Audio technology, but because it helped me decide what to buy. When I read reviews I enjoy and value other peoples'' opinions, but sometimes cannot help thinking that at times, we are all sometimes guilty of buying-in the a product''s hype. An example of this would be when you hear 5.1 surround sound for the first time you think WOW! It''s tempting to think this DVD player''s the business and the only one that can do this! When the reality is that all DVD players do that but may more have the WOW WOW! factor. I made that mistake when I went for the DV4100 OSE and listened to DTS for the first time. I had a level of expectation that a £300 product couldn''t live up too. Don''t get me wrong, the machine produces excellent video by comparison to my current JVC 522 and the sound, in particular DTS, is simply stunning. in stereo mode, I could not really tell the difference to the JVC to be honest. But I told myself it has to be better because the hype says so. But for some reason expected more. I was however, disappointed with the build quality. The front fascia and Marantz badge look a little cheap and the disk tray looks like it could break with little pressure. Overall, the Marantz is a good machine, but for it''s price, you can get a "mainstream" branded player with DVD Audio, SACD, progressive scan and onboard decoding etc... but a good choice if, like me, you want to pair it up with a Marantz amp. Great product - but left me a slightly disappinted.

Similar Products Used: JVC 522 DVD player
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Antonio Gavrilovski   AudioPhile [Mar 10, 2002]
Strength:

Good as CD player,region free, picture quality

Weakness:

remote

I have this unit more than a year paired with Onkyo TX-DS575X A/V receiver. I am very pleased with the performance. DVD playback is awsome and I think it is the best product for that price. I use it as a CD player too, and I think that it''s sound quality is in the range of Marantz CD6000. It is very good but it lacks some details in the lower octaves.Otherwise it has very good soundstage and reasonable amaount of details. The vocals are great. I have no remark on the surround sound and till now it hasn''t failed me not even once.Great product!

Similar Products Used: Pioneer DV525
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Robbert   AudioPhile [Mar 01, 2002]
Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

slow discloading, non-programmable CD-player (as if I care)

This is a great one-stop do-it-all that gives excellent CD-sound and perfect picture quality for a bargain price. Sound is brilliant and on the same level as a €500 CD-player, picture is better than what you''d expect from a €700 machine. I am very pleased with the sound from well-recorded CD''s, agreed that the bass is a bit bloomy, but not excessively so. Please don''t take the word from the reviewer below who''d rather have the (newer) DV-4200: It is an almost basic Philips-player without the CD-optimised circuitry that makes the 4100 and OSE even more so fine with CD''s. The picture quality is substandard in comparison also, as the lower price would suggest. I''d stick with the 4100, especially the OSE, which is wonderful! In an A to B comparison with the 4200 it showed the poor thing every corner of the listening room. Another great advantage letting your DV double as a CD-player: as technology progresses and the sound becomes dated, buy a dedicated DA-converter as the digital signal from the DV is state of the art! My setup: Harman/Kardon HK 1400 (int.stereo amp) Marantz DV 4100 OSE (DVD/CD) Sansui TU-717 Sony TC-K511 S MC 302 (local built speakers one pair) Vanden Hull cables

Similar Products Used: This is my first DVD-player and for the time being the last; it''s here to stay!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mesak   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 04, 2002]
Strength:

Great CD sound and DVD image.

Personally, i like this unit. I like the way it sounds on CD and DVD. Actually i was amazed how good the DVD player can sound as CD - good stereo image, clear , probably a bit unbalanced. I''ve heard Yamaha S-510 (i never was big fun of Pioneer - so i didn''t pay attention to their stuff) - the Maratnz sound better on CD, no questions. But read this: http://www.hifichoice.co.uk/review_read.asp?ID=1801 You can find this article being a weird one if you read it twice - from one side they say "The bass is indeed heavy-handed, though there were occasional flashes of greater purity and subtlety, which were also picked up by the panel." Probably they didn''t warm it up well? Now i read in "features" - Nevertheless, this version is a very well-balanced player in its own right, bearing some resemblance to Philips'' DVD-712 in the choice of transport and decoder sections but featuring an analogue board of clearly superior performance. But for god''s sake - why did they label it with ** while the same Phillips they did with ***? Uh? Later, - Even at -60dBFs (one thousandth the peak-level output of 1.88V), distortion is just 0.13% - the best result for subtle detailing in the test. Otherwise, the player benefits from a wide 104dB signal-to-noise ratio, very low 160psec jitter and excellent crystal clock selection. Again - why **? If it has very low jitter, excellent clock, etc? I''ve heard that this player was awarded as the best-buy from some magazine. Does someone have a link? Have someone heard Denon 1000 dvd player ? Happy listening, Daniel.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
steven carter   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 16, 2001]
Strength:

what can I say great picture. great sound. especialy on CD source . I can see why WHAT HIFI maade it Product of the year

Weakness:

only that if you have a tv which is regioned ie only PAL or NTSC there is no chance of watching a different region disc shame as it come so out of box multi region. also no progessive scan but that only comes in to it whith projectors and plasmas

this is a great product. the CD play back is the biggest thing CD-R CDRW the lot, with a clarity that is close to the cd 6000 series of the same manufacturer.IT wipes the floor with it's competition
On DVD this box sings no messing with the signal just plain clear picture and sound, no gimic.
Top one box solution for £400 can't argue with that esecialy as it is as good as a £400 DVD and a £300 cd player rolled in to one.

In england the model is the 4100 ose (original sepecial edition)



Similar Products Used: samsung dvd709.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mick t   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 16, 2001]
Strength:

Great looks, minimal, unfussy. Superb CD playback, rich bass and excellent natural decay, DVD playback is faultless

Weakness:

No display OFF option, stupid spinning LED disc serves no purpose and is frankly quite annoying, mindye, i just stick a cd case infront of it and thats the problem solved.

Great overall one box stop, from its looks to its performance, superb stuff. I immediately noticed improvements in CD playback the natural tone and decay simply blew away my previous player.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer 636 (terrible)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com