Konka KD1800U DVD Players

KD1800U

DVD Player

User Reviews (42)

Showing 1-10 of 42  
Vacuous   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 03, 2002]
Strength:

None, the looks are out of date. Some might say it's sexy, if that's the case for their taste I'm sure your also the chubby chasing type as well. It's ugly. Others say good picture and audio... You must be using a crappy amp and a TV with a tub so out of warp that every thing comes out the same. The picture sucks, and the audio may be decent, but not up to my standards. The top strength of this product is that I don't know the people running it, mushroom stamps on all of them if I ever do.

Weakness:

It simply is a POS. People impressed with it are those that find spinning tops to be a wonder, and are still probably trying to understand, "the wheel".

Ok, I'm not sure what you other people are thinking about saying that this is one of the best DVD players you've ever used. I have had nothing but problems with mine, after warenty expired the damn thing stoped working, as though it had an internal counter for failure. It always spun up with to much noise, but while it was covered under warenty it played what I wanted it to, DVD's. I have every other peice of equ you could think of, as I Prefer having one unit for one function. But getting a Konka KD-1800U1 has been such a piss off. It was a Christmas gift from a family member not bright enough to hold onto the bill by chance that I hated the bloody thing. Other models I've used need minimal care and give out better performance. Even units that I've had for over 5 years and have stoped working at some point, were not as agravating as this POS. There are no online support sites for repair, and from the cost of the unit to the cost of repair from a manu it would be cheaper to get another unit. In other words This company builds lemons on purpose knowing that we the consumer trend will purchase a new dvd player before getting this one repaired. Thus borderline robbing us of our money. I truly hope that the Konka Electronic's company goes out of business and the the CEO is charged with some sort of criminal act.

Similar Products Used: Panasonic, Samsung, Sony, Techniques, RCA, And a product for future use will be a wooden slugger baseball bat, maybe I'll record the bashing and post a link to see yourself how much I truly hate this
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
L Lefebvre   [Jan 25, 2000]
Strength:

Price

Weakness:

Built like a Soviet laptop. Way too heavy. Excessive heat output.

Sucks big time.
Three units and none worked longer than
24 hrs. Another Fry's value.
Returned and got a Toshiba.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Dennis Wishnie   Audiophile [Jan 20, 2000]
Strength:

Decent value.

Weakness:

Slow to load

Purchased from 800.com. Paid $179.00 included 2day free delivery. Hooked it up to S video imput have had absolutely no problems. See review in December 1999 SOUND& VISION.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Jim   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 24, 2000]
Strength:

very low pricevery high qualitygreat featurescool-looking case

Weakness:

none

Paid $149 at Fry's Electronics. What a deal!
Great quality! Couldn't be happier. I'd never heard of Konka before, and was skeptical of the name, but it really is a nice product.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba-2109
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Apostate   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 06, 2000]
Strength:

Price, Design

Weakness:

Ergonomics of the remote

Excellent product for the money. Played the Matrix without a hiccup. Only layer changer I noticed was with SPR which lasted a fraction of a second. Played everything else, including VCD's, fine without any problems. No problems at all. Audio sounds great. Video is great. I am happy with the unit.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kevin   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 23, 2000]
Strength:

Nice Looking. Nice Picture

Weakness:

Problem with a couple of dvds. Subtitles have to manually turned off for each new viewing.

For the most part I have been very pleased with this machine. I have not really used it a lot but when I have I've been pleased. I have recently become concerned about the machine because I just encountered the 2nd time the machine has had a problem with a DVD movie.

When I bought the machine in December 1999 I tested it with the four DVDs that I had owned and watched on my computer dvd. They played fine except for one. The Bruce Willis film, Armageddon, would not play without the subtitles being on. I could not turn them off. They didn't stay on the whole movie but they would come on at certain times and then they would just go away, only to come back later. The subtitle on/off button did nothing at all to stop this.

The next movie that I had a problem with was the recently released Toy Story 2 (two disc version, not the 3 disc deluxe version). The Toy Story 2 disc played just fine. It is the Toy Story 1 disc that has problems. In the opening sequence when Andy goes downstairs with Woody, while the credits start to appear, 'Angle 1' is displayed in the top left corner of the screen. Pressing the 'Angle' button does not remove this display. The picture also momentarily freezes at various time during this sequence. One time it froze and stayed frozen. Afterwards the movies plays fine but the 'Angle 1' displays appears at different times during the whole movie.

I returned the movie to Best Buy and exchanged it for another one. The new one did the exact same thing. Now I don't know what to think. Is the player or the DVD? Both of the movies play fine on my computer's dvd drive.

I also have a problem with the subtitles automatically turning on. I went into the setup menu and set the subtitles to 'off', but for some reason every time I put a disc into the player the movie starts with the subtitles turned on. Every time I play a movie that I just put into the machine I have to hit the subtitles 'on/off' button to turn them off. I quess that it is not such a big deal but to me it is annoying.

I am also not happy with how long it takes for the drawer to open when I turn on the machine and press the open button. It takes to long just to put in a disc.

I've e-mailed Konka about the subtitles and the 2 movie problems that I've encountered with the player. They responded that there is no way to automatically turn off subtitles, and that there must be a problem with the discs that I've been having problems with.

Since the middle of next month will make a year that I've had the player, I am trying to decide what to do about this situation. After searching the net the past few days I have discovered some intereesting things about this machine from other owners. The first is the overheating problem. But it seems that this can be fixed by just changing the fuse in the unit to a 350ma one. The second is the secret menu that allows for some possibly desirable changes to the player. Now I don't know whether I should return the unit or keep it and just hope I don't have any problems with any other movies.

I'll try to leave an update on what the final outcome for this situation was.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Roland Parungao   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 23, 2000]
Strength:

Nice design, cheap price, plays many types of media

Weakness:

remote is slow to respond

First of all..I have the Konka 1800U1 version...so Im not sure what all is different..but I have not had the fuse problem and I have had mine for about 4 months now...it plays dvd/cd/vcd/ and cd-r, which is great for someone like me who loves HK movies on vcd...and it looks cool as well. Also, I got it for 179, but people seem to be getting even better prices for it as well...and you cant beat such a low price. I should note that this version doesnt seem to have the secret menu everyone is talking about..so if you are into this..you may want an older version...Overall, I am very happy with this dvd player.

Similar Products Used: ge dvd player before, returned it...
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Wei   [Dec 19, 2000]
Strength:

Great sound and picture, well built and good look.

Weakness:

Manual is horrible. remote has to point right at player.

Mine is KD1800U1 which replaces the older KD1800U. The sound is incredible for both CD music and DVD movies. Explosive bass and great high. And picture is flawless. Very well built. solid and good looking. Just like the amazon.com review has described, the review
said one thing wrong tho - the Konka does have
DTS support. Another good thing is it can play VCD. It also has S-video output. The only features it's missing are component video output and a picture-enhancement circuit available on those fancy players. But these features are basically useless unless you own a high-end TV that has component video input.
In a scale of 1-5, I give it 5 for value and performance.
4 for easy to use (the remote is easy to read, but a bit
unresponsive sometime).
btw, don't connect DVD player to VCR. All DVD players have
anti-copy circuit that distorts signal when it detects a VCR.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Greg   Casual Listener [Feb 23, 2000]
Strength:

Not only read VCD, read bad VCD as well, good picture.
chapter skip, time skip.

Weakness:

Fuse (still working), Weight, buttons on remote.

I posted here before. Now find out this unit also reads
bad VCDs. Hehe, some of the VCDs I have extreme bad luck
with CD roms on PC's does play on this unit. And even
bad DVDs. I do have one bad DVD disk that has a file I
can not read on any of my PC DVD rom. This tank plays it
fine! Looking for both good quality and no hassle of
work? (like returning the unit for exchange the fuse if
it is bad) And you think you should get all this with a
price tag between $139-$149. I think there is no free
lunch in this world, is there?

Similar Products Used: many DVD players on PC
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
yue   Casual Listener [Sep 20, 2000]

a comment adding to the musicality of the player. DO NOT EVER use this for CD listening. it totally sucks.. tinny bass and NO midrange... bad

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 42  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com