Kenwood DV 505 DVD Players

DV 505

- Twin focus laser pickup.
- Dialog language function.
- Programmable memory.
- Slow motion play.
- Subtitle function.
- Full functional 10-key remote control.

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Dan   AudioPhile [Apr 03, 2003]
Strength:

5 Disk Changer MP3 Capable

Weakness:

No SVCD support. No Power Off button on remote. Does not work with some DVD's. A little slow to boot.

I purchased this player about 1 year ago and was very excited to receive it. It has worked flawlessly and then it started having problems. Certain disks (Office Space, Gone in Sixty Seconds) will play fine and then once it switches DVD layers, all sounds/voices will drop one octave. Hearing Nicholas Cage talk in a really low voice is an interesting experience.

Similar Products Used: Samsung 905 Playstation 2
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
johnsrinx   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 22, 2003]
Strength:

DVD picture looks great! Can load 5 CD's or DVD's Good looking unit

Weakness:

Small remote with hard to read buttons Automatically starts searching for a disc, then starts playing it if it finds one. CD music doesn't sound as good as my Pioneer CD player. Had problems with DVD's skipping. Kenwood replaced optics under warranty, now it works great!

I have this connected through the composite connections to a 51" Sony Widescreen TV and the picture is beautiful. The sound I have going to the Kenwood VR-6070 with a surround setup. Watching DVD's is a whole new experience. We love it! I bought this as an all-in-one player for music and dvd, but I was not happy with the music quality and use a Pioneer CD player for music. I had problems with DVD's skipping and took it to a Kenwood repair center. They replaced the optics under warranty. It could have cost me $190.00. Since the repair the player has performed flawlessly.

Similar Products Used: Harmon Kardon model in same price range. It skipped on DVD's so I returned it within 30 days.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Rayzor   AudioPhile [Jan 29, 2003]
Strength:

none

Weakness:

Everything. This player skips, won't play many DVD's or CD's.. even scratched some disks up. Worked fine for first 6 months then went to hell.

This thing is a peice of crap. Kenwood makes the cheapest japanese crap possible. Do not buy this player.

Similar Products Used: Sony's Toshiba, arcam
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Shawn   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 03, 2002]
Strength:

Both Component video and S-Video out, Both digital co-ax and digital optical out, 5-disk, MP3 support

Weakness:

This is the DVD Player from the stone age. The remote is terrible. There's a hard power-button on the player, you can't switch it off from the remote. You can't eject a DVD until the player has already read the first disk, which takes too long. It's a 5-disk changer, but there is no multi-disk random!!! It's supposed to play MP3s, but none of my MP3 CDs would work in this thing (not overly important to me, but it may be to others). Slipped out of surround modes often when skipping tracks, going through DVD menus, etc. The unit itself is fairly noisy as well.

Good product if you have no other choice. Overly basic in function and design. I had only minor problems with the unit, but it's SEVERE lack of features pushed me away immediatly.

Similar Products Used: Sony JVC XV S40BK JVC XV S500BK (current)
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
bradleybear   Casual Listener [Apr 10, 2002]
Strength:

Looks nice. I was able to program the VR-507''s remote to operate the DVD player.

Weakness:

Would not play constant tones without clipping (bagpipes or organ or strings etc) on DVD''s or CD''s Noisy DVD carriage, this was noticably louder mechanically than many other DVD changers. Would not execute commands immediately, you had to wait for it to finish doing what it wanted first.

Summary: When I first set the unit up I liked it. But then I noticed that it clipped music that had constant tones in it such as "bagpipes." This seemed odd to me and I tested the bagpipes CD on 2 players in my cars, a DVD player in my den, and my son''s CD player, even the computer played this CD flawlessly. Thinking that maybe I had a defective unit I returned the first unit after 1 week. While in the store I tried the "bagpipes" CD against every other brand and none of them had a problem. The weird thing was that every model of Kenwood had the same problem. Now this may seem odd and it was only a bagpipes CD which I could live without, so I just took home a new 505 unit and used it for 3 months. I noticed that movies would flicker at times but the same movie would play flawlessly on my other DVD players. I noticed that constant sounds like mood music in the movie where they play organs or strings would clip like the bagpipes (you talk about distracting right in the middle of Spock''s funeral ceremony the music clip, clip, clip). I tested this clipping feature in digital and analog modes. Finally I gave up and returned the unit to the store. I brought home a different brand and it works great. Actually had a noticably better picture which my wife commented on (normally she doesn''t care.) I bought Kenwood because of good experience with the receivers. But a previous purchase of a Kenwood CD player that never worked quite right made me hesitant to get a Kenwood DVD player but I took the chance and frankly I was disapointed. I love the VR-507 Receiver it works great. I also noticed that it automatically played whenever it could find a disk in the tray. Even if you pushed the stop button or the open button. It would continue doing what it wanted and not do what I was wanting until it finished. I don''t care for it when electronics act smarter than me :) I am not trying to bash the Kenwood but I feel that others should watch for these nuicances and return the unit if they notice it. It is NOT the CD or DVD disk.

Similar Products Used: Panasonic Sony DVP NC600
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Lowell Hassall   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 26, 2002]
Strength:

Very quick changing. Ease of setup.

Weakness:

Remote. No power on / off. Very small buttons.

Very good quality. Not the most expensive but close. Reading the other reviews seem that the cheepest is not a good way to go in this field. Steup was realy quick. Picture is very clear.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
David   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 08, 2002]
Strength:

1. Coaxial cable included for digital PCM output. I was surprised by the difference in sound when playing a CD. But you have to have a good amplifier to be able to tell the difference. 2. Except for DVD Audio, supports most of the formats, especially MP3 and CD/RW.

Weakness:

1. Certain control and indicators are not readily accessible via buttons on the unit or the remote control. They are only accessible using the remote control via on-screen disply which means a TV has to be attached and turned on to get to that control, such as toggle between Track/Disc Elapsed/Remain. 2. Can not random play all discs without turning on "repeat all discs". What is the logic behind that? 3. Can not random play MP3 files. 4. "Program play" requires too much button-pushing on the tiny remote control and therefore is a useless feature.

A good combination of 5-disc changer and DVD player with good S/N ratio, a decent appearance and many connectors. (Audio: coaxial and optical; Video: composite, component and S-video) Price is before taxes.

Similar Products Used: Technics 5-disc CD player
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
breck42   AudioPhile [Feb 17, 2002]
Strength:

Crystal Clear Picture(best in its class) Five Disk Changer Nice onscreen display Duel scan

Weakness:

Won''t play some Titles in DD (possibly) No on/off/standby switch on remote Bulky, but you''ll enjoy what''s under the hood

Kenwood continues to surprise me with their quality home theater products. My of my friends went shopping for a home theater, without my advice. He called me and told me he bought the DV 505 and RV-507 receiver, and wanted me to help him set it up. I was like, Oh no not a Kenwood. It didn''t take me long to realize that I was completely wrong. For what he paid for these two units, he got an absolute steal. Let me just say right off that the 505 has the best picture of any dvd player that I''ve seen in this price range. It does NOT have the Chroma bug like 95% of the dvd player do, even the $1000 ones. It does have a few problems, the most serious being its (possible) inability to play Pearl Harbor, and possibly other movies, in Dolby Digital. The DD soundtrack put out a horrible scretching noise, which I just knew was frying the receiver. Well, no harm that I know of. Pearl Harbor did work flawlessly in DTS. I must add that this could have been caused by the RV-507 receiver. Sorry, didn''t have time to thoroughly test it. Also, another minor flaw is you cannot turn the DV-505 off with the remote. You have to manually push the button, no standby.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ray   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 27, 2001]
Strength:

Nice Clear picture, fast disk changing, lots of outputs, easy remote.

Weakness:

A little noisy when the carousel is moving, and the odd time freezes up. (Happens usually when you're tell it to switch a disk or somthing, while it is processing. Best way to avoid this is to press stop first)

This player combines quality with the convinence of a 5 disk changer, and all the extras (MP3,V-CD, ect.) All it's missing is the ability to play DVD Audio Disks. No biggie, I don't own any. :) The picture it produces through component cables is sharp and clear. Color is preserved, and recreated on-screen flawlessly. The audio quality is just as mentionable. However, there seems to be some bugs in the machines program. It freezes up on occasion when you try and send instructions to it while it is busy processing other information. Quirky, but avoidable. All in all, a very decent product at a killer price!

Similar Products Used: $129 peice of garbage.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
O J Ray   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 12, 2001]
Strength:

Sound/picture quality, ease of setup, nice features

Weakness:

a little noisy when starting up. But very smooth once cd is playing.

Just got this home. Had it up and running in about 5 minutes. Setup was very quick and simple. Factory setup was pretty much right on with my system. This is my 3rd dvd player and it seems to be great so far. Will write again in about 6 months. That seems to be a good check point to see if it is going to breakdown like my sony did. I've never had a problem with a Kenwood product before. That's why I decided to buy this player. If your looking for a dvd changer then this one is for you.

Similar Products Used: 2 sony dvd players. 1 is a paper weight now.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com