Kenwood DV-503 DVD Players

DV-503

· Digital to Analog Converter: 24-Bit Resolution, up to 96kHz Sampling Rate · Twin Focus Laser Pickup · Dialog Language Function · Frame Advance · Parental Control · Programmable Memory · Repeat Play · Search · Slow Motion Play · Subtitle Function

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
Klev7   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 16, 2002]
Strength:

No skipping/freezing

Weakness:

No zoom feature or power button on remote.

My previous DVD player was a Samsung. I had a negative experience with Samsung in the form of needed repairs and frequent skipping while viewing movies. I have already watched multiple movies with this Kenwood and have yet to encounter a single skip or freeze. In fact, it plays a scratched disc I own without the slightest hint of it being damaged. The Samsung would simply break apart at this point during playback on this very same disc. The picture and audio are superb as well on the Kenwood. Yes the remote is lacking a power button. Big deal! This is so minor in my eyes, I am just satisfied to have a unit which plays my movies without flaw. It has been less than a month, but at this point I must say I am very satisfied.

Similar Products Used: Samsung, Sony
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ric Lewis   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 09, 2002]
Strength:

Picture quality, smooth fast forward and rewind.

Weakness:

Ridiculous remote, not tolerant to scratched discs, no on/off or eject button on remote.

The picture quality makes even non-DVD video look super smooth. I did have to return my first one because of the crazy "disc is not compatible with this player" error, but the next one was fine. The only problem is that rentals seem to throw it completely: the laser must have very little tolerance for scratches. My current one is in for repair because of this. The FF and REW are full motion, not jerky, which is a pleasure to watch.

Similar Products Used: XMS, JVC DVD players, both with inferior picture quality.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
BOB   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 18, 2001]
Strength:

Set up, sound, picture.Compliments my kenwood reciever VR- 509 ( same design )

Weakness:

Tiny baby toy remote with no on/off button or no open tray button.Unit has no standby mode. No zoom.

After reading all the reviews here about the constant breakdowns and problems with my former SONY DVP-560d, I bought the Kenwood DV-503 to avoid getting stuck with a broken SONY. I thought it would look neat next to my reciever KENWOOD VR-509. The design is similar and it does look good but it has no standby mode. There isn't even a power on/off or open tray button on the remote! Plugged into the back of my receiver you have to always leave it on or get up and turn it on if you want to view a movie. ( Lazy or bad back or both) Yes, you do have to put the disc in yourself so you could turn it on then but what if you left a dvd or cd in it to play at a later time from the lazy boy? This is a brand new unit - not many if any in the stores yet, so reviews are slim and I never found much information. I never thought this unit would lack basic operating functions. I would take my chances on my Sony if I could, but she is long sold. Live and learn.

Similar Products Used: Sony DVP-560D
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Joshua McCall   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 16, 2001]
Strength:

Cool looking. Seamless play even with scratched, rented DVD's. Digital and Coaxial output. MP3 playback if your willing to wait for it to load.

Weakness:

5 min. wait for MP3 cd-rw's to load. It's enfuriating. I don't know if it happens in MP3 cd-r's.

When compared to my old samsung, this player is flawless. I only rent DVD's and my samsung would always skip and lock up. This hasn't skipped once on me. It looks very good in my ht stack. The remote is basically worthless. If it were a car it would be an '83 Ford Festiva (like a Geo Metro but smaller and more weak). I haven't even used it. It's too small for me and I have tiny hands. I use me universal receiver remote. My only complaint is that it takes so long to load an mp3 cd-rw. I even tried to load a brand new disc and it still sat there with the word "READING" on the screen and the display for around five min. I am sending it back for a replacement. I hope they don't all do this. Maybe all mp3 DVD players take forever to load. This is the first one I've owned. Someone please tell me if this is supposed to happen.

Similar Products Used: Weak sauce Samsung DVD-611
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Mike   Casual Listener [Dec 07, 2001]
Strength:

nice match with Kenwood HB 504 home theater system. nice picture and sound.

Weakness:

No stand-by mode. guess kenwood figures that since u have to load in dvd, might as well turn it on there too!

I purchased this player a few weeks ago for the firestation tv room. At the same time I purchased Kenwood's HB504 home theater system. These seem to match very well together and sound very good for the price range. The dvd player is very easy to hook-up and set-up,the 503 is a bit more expensive compared to the Sonys etc. for a single disc player. The bad part is that I have already had to replace it with a new one. After the 1st week or so I got a call from the guys on the other shift saying that the 503 would'nt play a dvd. It would play a music cd but attempting to load dvd the message after about 2 min. was, " this disc is not compatible with this player". Got on the phone with Crutchfield's tech support and went through some steps to set the machine back to factory settings but that did not work. Crutchfield QUICKLY sent out a new one with pre-paid shipping for the defective one.I think that the dvd region code in the machine my have just wacked out. The new one is in a doing fine so far. Hope this was just a fluke!!

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Dodd C.   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 21, 2001]
Strength:

Being a Kenwood

Weakness:

Remote control controversy

Thanks to the first reviewer, Chris Martin, I got the best price I could find for this unit. I'm sure someone will find one for less. I think this is a very nice dvd player. It compliments the Kenwood VR-510 receiver I got at the same time. It has all the needed outputs optical audio, s-video, component video. Great picture. Quiet operation. There is only one thing to complain about. You don't know what remote control you'll get with the unit. You might get the real nice one you see on Kenwood's website. You might get the little one I have. Mine has no on/off or open /close. The one on the website has those feature plus a few more. Take away the remote controversy and you have a very nice dvd player for the money

Similar Products Used: Proscan dvd player
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Pasqulae Kumpherman   Audiophile [Dec 12, 2001]
Strength:

It rocks out hrod core. Very awesome machine

Weakness:

None to come to think of. I love all of the options and features.

This piece of equipment is for Audio and Video enthusiasts. Not for the faint of heart. It has alot of features and makes the whole DVD experince a piece of art. It costs more, but it is defiantely worth it.

Similar Products Used: Hitachi DVD. I purchased and disliked very much.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Corey Marsh, Sr   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 02, 2002]
Strength:

phenominal sound, great gui, coax & RCA jacks

Weakness:

laughable remote, software (flash) problems, customer support.

I recieved this player for X-mas from my mother in-law. My wife and I were VERY excited to have a DVD. We got everything setup, but unfortunately had to buy GOLD connectors for TV to VCR, then VCR to reciever. (Macrovision made the colors bleed...) It played fine for a couple of days, then it stoped reading all my DVDs. It would play CD's just fine, but DVDs would say after 5 mins, "This disc is incompatible with this player. Please insert a compatible disc." I tried to get in contact with customer support and was on hold for two hours! I guess it might have messed things up when I enabled the movie rating password or something. Really loved the player, but it seems like there are some issues that kinda need to be addressed.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Bob   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 18, 2001]

I just left a review on my Kenwood DVD player, and I was very unhappy with the remote. I have gone to the Kenwood website and I discovered that the remote I got with the Kenwood is the wrong one. I bought it on EBay and it was supposed to be brand new, so I assumed it was the right remote, but it definitely is not. On the Kenwood website, (www.kenwood.com)the remote appears to have the open button and the on/off button. I must have gotten swindled on ebay and now I feel foolish about my previous review, so I wanted to set the record straight.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Chris Martin   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 21, 2001]
Strength:

Great audio and video. Comes with a free coaxial cable. Plays MP3 files with onscreen display. Price and Kenwood name.

Weakness:

No Zoom.

This is my first DVD player. The DV-503 is actually Kenwood's brand new DVD single disc player for 2001. I am a big fan of Kenwood's products and this DVD player does not let me down at all. Had it up and running in 15 minutes. I played Superman I and everything about it just blew me away. Hey, I am new to the DVD world! For the price, unless you want the zoom features of the Panasonic RV31k, I highly recommend this unit if you can find it. I chose the Kenwood because they are not as mass produced as the Pioneers, the Sonys and the Panasonics. With all the options like playing MP3s, you cannot go wrong with this one.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com