JVC XV S60BK DVD Players

XV S60BK

- Plays DVD-Video discs, CDs, audio CD-Rs and CD-RWs, and MP3 CDs.
- 54MHz/10-bit video D/A converter (progressive-scan mode).
- Selectable interlaced/progressive-scan video output (progressive-scan requires a compatible TV).
- 3D-Phonic virtual surround sound.
- Optical and coaxial digital outputs for Dolby Digital/DTS/PCM.
- 1 set of A/V outputs (composite video, S-video, and component video).
- Zoom magnification for Play/Pause.
- Multi-brand remote with glow-in-the-dark buttons.
- JVC AV CompuLink.
- 96kHz/24-bit audio D/A converter.

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
Ryan Conrad   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 21, 2003]
Strength:

Prog-Scan Clarity Simplistic design Price

Weakness:

Remote Sucks

Great DVD Prog-Scan Player! This unit is comparable to my friend's Pioneer Elite that he paid close to $1000 for. We watched X-Men on his Pioneer and my JVC back to back and he felt ripped off. For the money, this player can't be beat for under $250. Remote does suck, but fortunately my Onkyo remote does just fine.

Similar Products Used: Sony dvd-n60 Pioneer Elite Prog-Scan
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ryan Conrad   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 21, 2003]
Strength:

P-Scan Picutre Clarity Simplistic Design

Weakness:

Remote Control

This is a great Progressive Scan player. For the price, there is not much better out there. My friend who spent close to $1000 on a Pioneer Elite P-Scan said this is just as good, as we set them up one after another and watched X-Men. This remote is kinda weak, but fortunately I have an Onkyo receiver that rocks and that remote is just fine. I would say this is a steal if you can find it under $225.

Similar Products Used: Sony DVD-s60 Pioneer Elite P-Scan
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
swederic   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 10, 2002]
Strength:

Audio and video quality are great. It can play mp3s. It has progressive scan output. Great price.

Weakness:

Some minor mp3 quirks.

This is my first DVD player and I'm very happy with it, it definitly makes my old 28" TV look better. I obviously haven't used the P-scan feature yet but I have used the mp3's, which works okay but sometimes it has trouble with playing the very odd track, it will sound like it is skipping and playing through the track at 1oo mph, but all i have to do is start the track over again and it plays fine. You can't skip through the track at all, which sucks, and if you use folders on your mp3 discs it will not automatically go to the next folder and play it, you have to go back through the menu and enter the next one manually. Other than that its a great unit a/v wise

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Sajo   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 24, 2002]
Strength:

Lightweight, low profile and slim design. Very happy with visual and audio quality. Would reccommend to other HDTV users to complete the line doubler feature...ESPECIALLY for this price!

Weakness:

Takes a while to eject, and load from the slow reacting tray.

Did a lot of research before I bought this. (Much came from this site) I notice the picture sometimes "shakes" a bit but quickly goes away and is not noticed. Other than that, this is a great DVD player. My third one so far. I can see the clarity in this but it does take a keen eye. I like the features such as automatically adjusting between 16:9 and 4:3 and the true 2:3 pulldown. The menu and setup is not really straightforward but I got through it as I am sure most of you would.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer 343; Pioneer DV434
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
phm141   Audio Enthusiast [May 29, 2002]
Strength:

Decent picture with my trinitron.

Weakness:

Bad unit in my case.

Seven days old and it will not recognize DVDs. Have played 3-4 movies. No easy fix-am returning for refund. Bought this to replace a Sony DVP-S360-see 482 bad reviews of that POS on this sight.

Similar Products Used: Sony DVP-S360
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
edbo   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 15, 2002]
Strength:

Price, features, performance! Seemless layer transfers, excellent progressive scan performance!

Weakness:

Not for this price!

Note: I had read many professional reviews for this Progressive Scan DVD player and decided this was the one I wanted. I ran into an AWESOME price on Ubid and the shipping was about 22 dollars on top of my bid, so I still came in under $145 for this nice unit. Review: I replaced my older JVC DVD player with this one to have progressive scan hooked up to my Mitsubishi HDTV. Setup was straigtforward and simple and the instruction manual covers things pretty good too. It was also nice of JVC to package the component video patch cords as well as the audio patch cords as well, very nice however I used my existing ''overpriced'' Monster patch cables which were already in place from my previous player and also the digital output to my old JVC 884 DD reciever. My first test disk was Superman as I always noticed serious jagged edges from the big "S" and red cape whenever I watched this movie. I ran the scene (Superman''s Date with Lois Lane) in non-progressive mode first and noticed that these seemed a little better than my older unit but still fairly noticeable. Next run was after "Progressive" mode was enabled on the player. The jags were gone! But not only that, the picture was much better as well! Extremely clean, I tested out other various DVDs (Moulin Rouge, 5th Element, Fast and the Furious, etc.) and the pictures appeared to be much clearer! I also tested the layer switches on each of these DVDs, and noticed no artifacting or delays. My older DVD player always showed these and they were a real pain sometimes. So this DVD player has really exceeded my expectations, and for this price, I am entirely satisfied and highly recommend this equipment. It also provides MP3 playability and my CDs sound great on it too! Another feature I have come to love on this is the auto-resume feature. I had gotten interrupted in the middle of viewing a DVD, stopped it, powered it off, and returned later and restarted and it automatically started back where I had left off earlier! That was really nice, and not even having to go into the menu system to do this! Of course you have to leave the disk in for this to work!

Similar Products Used: JVC XV-554 DVD Player
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave Clark   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 19, 2002]
Strength:

great image quality fast smooth layer changes no lockups! excellent zoom feature price is absolutely unbeatable.

Weakness:

the remote doesn''t glow.

Great product for the price. I bought this unit based on it''s reputation for great image quality with the progressive scan output. I can''t say that I''m dissapointed, as everything looks great on a hitachi 53'' hdtv. Also I have had absolutely no problem with any discs (my previous hitachi player was terrible at layer changes and could not read some discs at all). Also I have burned a few svcds and haven''t had a problem playing any of them back. I have never tried the mp3 feature, but I don''t ever plan on using it so it is a non issue for me.

Similar Products Used: Hitachi 365 (or something like that)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Louie   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 18, 2001]
Strength:

MP3 quality, CRR/RW reads perfectly

Weakness:

mp3 support is extremely sparse.

I used this player for about 3 weeks and I really don't have too many nice things to say. For example, with mp3 playback, it only sends signal out analog, no pcm conversion so you have to switch your reciever from optical to analag even with auto swictching as the jvc never turns off the pcm signal from the digital out.
MP3 playback is only supported at 128, there is no random play with mp3's.
Last but not least, it has laser issues and will send out audible noise randomly, and will just stop playing on mp3/cd/dvd disks at what seems to be random.

Similar Products Used: Numerous
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Steve   Casual Listener [Dec 09, 2001]
Strength:

Decent pic/sound qualiity

Weakness:

slight artifacting

with a new hdtv it was time to upgrade to a progressive scan player , (my 5 yr old panasonic looked pretty bad ) I decided to try the panasonic rp56 after reading posts here. a local bj's had it for 209,.00. i was amazed with the pic quality but the picture pulsated in dark senes so i picked up the jvc xv-s60 , the pic did'nt pulsate nearly as bad , plus it had a lot more features/ adjustments on it. The panny had a slightly better pic but the pulsating was driving me nuts. I guess i will have to accept that you cant buy perfection for 200.00

Similar Products Used: panny rp56
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Glenn   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 24, 2002]
Strength:

- Best bang for your buck on the market.

Weakness:

- Couldn't get MP3's to play properly.
- JVC Receiver RX-9010VBK remote volume control causes
the chapter to change to 10 periodically on any DVD with
this player. I fixed this by placing black electrical
tape over the IR port on the Receiver's remote and
relying on the RF instead - worked like a charm.

I LOVE this DVD player. I set it up and have put it through the paces over the last several months - this is an extremely reliable unit - never gives me any trouble whatsoever. If you are new to DVD's or an experienced person on a budget, you can't beat this unit. The unit puts the DTS signal through perfectly on DVD's that support it, and the view menus, etc. are extremely easy to use. I did have some problems with the MP3 features of the unit, but never looked more deeply into it, since I didn't buy this unit to play MP3's anyway. The progressive scan feature is there, DTS is there, most features are there that you would see in a DVD player that is $300 more expensive than this one, and it definitely does not disappoint.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com