JVC XV-FA95 DVD Players

XV-FA95

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Mike Petty   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 09, 2003]

This is a pretty good player. Seems a bit finicky and I'm complaining about the random play options too. Now, don't get me wrong this dvd player has features far above and beyond any other dvd player in its price range. I'm happy with it. But it could be better: For a DVD player, anything over a 3-disk changer is overkill. That's a two-dvd movie with the extras disk in or a trilogy. Either way, that's a good 5-6 hours of sitting there just watching it. There's going to be a snack break or an eye-resting break in there somewhere where you can change the dvd's with no hassle. 7 disks of pure movies would be like 14 hours straight. That's overkill. There's no reason to have a 7-disk changer *just* for movies. But 7 CD's in a changer is pretty sweet. It allows you to get a good mix on. Lots of different types of music and its enough to bump a party on whole night without it getting repetitive. So, why are the CD player random options so lacking? If you're going to have the extra disks that are ONLY useful for music playing, what good does it do me to basically not be able to use them? If you want to just play DVD's, this player is fine...got a lot of options for its price range, but you can probably find a 1-3-5 disk dvd player that has the same options for a little less (and might more random play optinos). You basically shell out the extra $20-$50 for the geek factor of it being a *wow* 7-disk changer. Give me true random play and I'll take this dvd player with me to my grave. It'll do everything then. My second minor complaint is that its a little finicky. I'm not sure if its over-heating or what (put it in the same spot as my older dvd player, which didn't have any problems...but it is pretty warm there). On a scene in LA Confidential it just freezes and both my computer and Playstation 2 handle it without an error. CD's that have some minor scratches skip on this player when they don't skip in my car player. My Computer and Playstation also seem to be able to handle scratched DVD's better than this player. It's not significantly worse, but enough to notice. I know, you should take better care of the disks, but when someone brings over a movie to watch and they haven't taken care of it there's nothing I can do about it. I bought a returned unit though, so maybe this is just mine. Wouldn't doubt the sales-person gave me a little lie about it never being used. I got it for under $200 though, so its hard to complain. I also live in a very dusty environment, so it might just not like dust. Those are how the DVD player shapes up for me. Its a good player with good clean video and sound. Everything it does, it does right. I just wish that it did better random play and my player at least is pretty finicky. If you want a dvd player, buy this sucker. If you also want to play music search around for a 5-disk that does more random play options. This sucker only random plays like single cd's. Won't random play among all the disks and it won't random play an mp3 cd.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Nate   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 09, 2003]

This is a pretty good player. Seems a bit finicky and I'm complaining about the random play options too. Now, don't get me wrong this dvd player has features far above and beyond any other dvd player in its price range. I'm happy with it. But it could be better: For a DVD player, anything over a 3-disk changer is overkill. That's a two-dvd movie with the extras disk in or a trilogy. Either way, that's a good 5-6 hours of sitting there just watching it. There's going to be a snack break or an eye-resting break in there somewhere where you can change the dvd's with no hassle. 7 disks of pure movies would be like 14 hours straight. That's overkill. There's no reason to have a 7-disk changer *just* for movies. But 7 CD's in a changer is pretty sweet. It allows you to get a good mix on. Lots of different types of music and its enough to bump a party on whole night without it getting repetitive. So, why are the CD player random options so lacking? If you're going to have the extra disks that are ONLY useful for music playing, what good does it do me to basically not be able to use them? If you want to just play DVD's, this player is fine...got a lot of options for its price range, but you can probably find a 1-3-5 disk dvd player that has the same options for a little less (and might more random play optinos). You basically shell out the extra $20-$50 for the geek factor of it being a *wow* 7-disk changer. Give me true random play and I'll take this dvd player with me to my grave. It'll do everything then. My second minor complaint is that its a little finicky. I'm not sure if its over-heating or what (put it in the same spot as my older dvd player, which didn't have any problems...but it is pretty warm there). On a scene in LA Confidential it just freezes and both my computer and Playstation 2 handle it without an error. CD's that have some minor scratches skip on this player when they don't skip in my car player. My Computer and Playstation also seem to be able to handle scratched DVD's better than this player. It's not significantly worse, but enough to notice. I know, you should take better care of the disks, but when someone brings over a movie to watch and they haven't taken care of it there's nothing I can do about it. I bought a returned unit though, so maybe this is just mine. Wouldn't doubt the sales-person gave me a little lie about it never being used. I got it for under $200 though, so its hard to complain. I also live in a very dusty environment, so it might just not like dust. Those are how the DVD player shapes up for me. Its a good player with good clean video and sound. Everything it does, it does right. I just wish that it did better random play and my player at least is pretty finicky. If you want a dvd player, buy this sucker. If you also want to play music search around for a 5-disk that does more random play options. This sucker only random plays like single cd's. Won't random play among all the disks and it won't random play an mp3 cd.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
soundguy   AudioPhile [Aug 29, 2002]
Strength:

* Progressive Scan * Multi-Disk * Variable speed forward/backward, fast/slow playback and Zoom feature, lets user play w/ DVD movies

Weakness:

NONE. (except for split second delay in sound when moving to and from scenes and Features pages. Most users wouldn't notice this, I did as I watch movies almost every night.)

Excellent unit! I bought this component MAINLY to watch DVD movies - the unit's MAIN purpose (some reviews complained about playing MP3 and CD?). 7-disc PROGRESSIVE SCAN, AND DECODES DOLBY DIGITAL AND DTS WITH ALL THE NEEDED CONNECTION OUTS - WHAT ELSE WOULD ONE NEED?! The JVC is connected to my Pioneer VSX-D810S rcvr via MONSTER Lightspeed optical cable (fiber-optics won't pick-up interference like Coaxial cables) and the sound is EXCELLENT. The DVD player has excellent features and in my opinion the remote isn't that hard to use as mentioned in other reviews. The player also has a great ZOOM feature for enlarging scenes for closer looks and variable speed forward/backward, fast/slow playback for playing around w/ movie scenes. I read an article in Home Theater Magazine that suggested fully utiizing this JVC's progressive scan feature by connecting with MONSTER (yeah baby!)COMPONENT VIDEO-3 CABLE. It's connected to my Philip's PP559701, 55" Widescreen, Hi-def/digital TV. THE PICTURE IS MAGNIFICENT! The combining of Progressive scan, Hi-Def/ Digital TV, and MosterVideo 3 component cables collectively produce awesome picture quality that must be seen in order to appreciate. I immediately noticed the ddifference between my Sony (DVPNS-400)interlaced scan DVD player and the JVC Progressive-Scan. There is a a big difference also, between Monster Video3 Component and regular RCA cable when connecting your DVD player to TV. As hard as I try, I CANNOT imagine what the higher end $1000+ DVD players can do that this JVC can't do if connected properly. I do notice a split second delay in sound when moving to and from scenes and Features pages that is not there on my Sony DVPNS-400 DVD player (which isn't progressive scan or multi-disk.) But that's the ONLY complaint I may have. Overall, this is the BEST PROGRESSIVE-SCAN, Multi-Disk player you can buy for under $500 - hands down. You'd be Hard pressed to find a comparable player w/ all the same features for this price. This is a DVD player and excels at it. It has ALL the features you need to watch and play w/ DVD movies. If you're looking to play MP3's or music CD's w/ the "random" play features look for a CD player w/ those options. If you want a great multi-disc, progressive scan DVD player, that decodes DD/DTS that also plays MP3 and audio Cds, at a great price then this is your unit.

Similar Products Used: Sony DVPNS400, Emerson DVD2000
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike Petty   Audio Enthusiast [May 30, 2002]
Strength:

All the options you'd expect in a high quality dvd player, without the price. They didn't skimp on these things either.

Weakness:

I want tons more random play options!! Hell, my friends $30 five disc cd changer has better random-play options than this thing.

Pretty nice dvd player, especially for the price. It looks pretty, and the user setup options are good. I get great audio, and sweet video from it and a 7-disc changer for below $250. It's seriously hard to beat that....My singular complaint is that they REALLY need to do something to allow more random play options (like being able to random-play mp3's, mp3 groups, discs, etc). Not having that kind of option ruins mp3 playability since you have to listen to them in order, but if you put like 500 mp3's on a disc you can just set a different starting point each time. Still, I'd like to be able to make a set of groups and be able to random-play between the groups. I hope they provide some type of firmware update including this if it's possible. Don't let this dissuade you though, it looks great. They put a lot of work into the form as well as function. For a little over $200 you can't find a better deal.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
josh   Casual Listener [Jan 03, 2002]
Strength:

price/ progressive, dvd-A, optical and coaxial digital outs, plays cd, cd-r/rw, video cd, mp3, 7 disc changer

Weakness:

No muti disc shuffle or programming. initial disc read sounds like the machine is in pain. (mine might be.)

I couldn't believe this player did all that it did for so little money. Now I know this was too good to be true. In addition, my player seems to be defective, or doesn't work in combo with my TV (Sony Trinitron 27"), but I'm mostly pissed that a 7-disc changer only lets you random play or program one disc at a time. Also, others report that MP3 playback is spotty. DVD-audio is good but the sound "effect" option all suck Though I can't speak for the decoders yet I'm betting you'll definately want a receiver to handle decoding for you in stead of this player. Fortunately it can send a digital stream. I can't use progressive scan but the video is good (except for my defect). Seems like a lot of good features, zoom, 4:3, 16:9.

This player is not a real changer and so far the sound isn't great so I wouldn't reccomend using this as a cd player. I'd get the 70/75 single player (if you wanted to get this product due to inexpensive dvd-audio, progressive scan, MP3(?), digital outs.

Regarding the defect. Video playback skips out in intelaced playback over s-video. ANyone else experienced anything similar with this player

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Paul   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 08, 2002]
Strength:

Features, value, multidisc, progressive, DVD-A

Weakness:

MP3 capability is non-functional, transport mechanisim jams, two processor lockups so far, no random across discs, limited VCD capability

Lots of features for the price, but some problems. No random playback of CD tracks across discs. MP3 simply does not work as far as I can tell (10+ discs burned in every format possible, all will not playback). Player disc transport is unproven (pie-shaped pieces on two levels), I've already popped the unit open to pull out a jammed disc. VCD limited to only standard resolution, no XVCD or higher. Processor has locked twice on me. Won't play Blue Man "Audio" DVD-V side, simply locks up after 16 seconds of playback. Not recommended.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba DVD players
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
Jake   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 16, 2002]
Strength:

Amazing picture quality, Progressive Scan, DVD-Audio, DVD-Video, Audio CD, CD-R/CD-RW, VCD, MP3. Optical, Coax and RCA outputs. Component Video. Highly functional, but complex remote.

Weakness:

Does not play SACD, but that dosent really matter anyway. Drive mechanism on tray complex and could cause problems in future.

An excellent device, fully functional and amazing quality for the price. Mass production may yeild a few bad apples, but overall system is terrific. All burned discs work and work well. CDs that skipped on other players are no problem for this one. Two models of two colors to match system scheme.
I have used this device with a TV, and it is quite amazing in quality.
I did not purchse this device though for watching movies. I needed a new CD player and decided that i might as well take the next step up in this system. In selecting a device i wanted a CD changer that played 5 or more discs. Surprisingly, i was unable to find any other DVD-A players that played CDR/RW at this price range which had multiple discs.
This unit has done nothing but please me. From stability, to ability to play formats and appearance coupled with price, it has served as a terrific addition to my system.

Similar Products Used: Other JVC models in class, Apex DVD-A/SACD player, Toshiba DVD-A
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Paul D.   Audiophile [Jan 07, 2002]
Strength:

Beautiful picture(plenty of options), 3-2 pull down, cd player, MP3, and all the decoders, and DVD audio is unbelievable

Weakness:

none

One of the best picture qualities I have seen to date. I didn't expect the picture quality to be much better than my Onkyo but it is. After listening to dvd audio, I'm not interested in CD's any more. What a sound! My reciever is a Harman Kardon AVR-520. So when you play a HDCD on the player my HK decodes it. It did cost a small fortune to hook up the unit. I had 3 sets of Monster 400 series cables, but replaced them with Monster Interlink Reference 2's. You should hear this thing. Well worth the investment. I do prefer the Dolby Digital and DTS decoders in the HK so I do have Monster lightspeed 200 cable to do that job. I didn't think I would ever use the MP3 but, it sounds surprisingly good. Sure the're better units, but I'm not about to spend $900 to $1100 for a Denon etc. For the money I see nothing in the ball park. If only more bands would record on DVD audio disk.(maybe they will in the future)

Similar Products Used: Proscan, Onkyo DVC600
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Scott Staschke   Audiophile [Jan 07, 2002]
Strength:

PLays dvd-a, progessive scan, cdr cdrw, mp3,dvd,cd,video cd,7 disc, bult in decoders, every output desirable on a dvd

Weakness:

Well, none but will end up spending much more on cables than actual cost of dvd player.. but hey where talking about serious cables

Simply awesome..cannot beat the price.. very good design...check out the specs yourself at jvc website...won't find anything that comparies even at couple hundred dollars more... Full a feautes... excellent picture quality and the versitality... no more cd player, no more mp3 player, plays DVD Audio...simply incredible sound reproduction will blow a cd recording out of the water

Ok I mention the cost of outfitting your new dvd player with all the good cables, Im using the high end monster cables for all connections...component video $100
.............................Fiber opitc $69
........for 5.1.....................3 sets of rca ($49) each or $150 (you need this to play DVD Audio)
thats close to $310

But well worth it... It comes with all the necessary low end patch cables so you can upgrade slowly if don't want to shell out the bucks...but like any hi fi piece..if the signal is sent through low end distortion cables there is no way to achieve the full true quality of sound and image.


Also note to enjoy progessive scan...a more true format to the original film frame rate.. you need a progresive TV....don't buy this dvd player if your TV can't handle proggisive scan...you will probally better off with a nonprogressive scan DVD and save some cash...also make sure your reciever has 5.1 input so you can enjoy DVD-Audio ...I believe this DVD player comes with a couple Demo discs to try... I tell you, If you already got the speakers and reviever your in for a real treat.. check it out.





Similar Products Used: pansonic multi disc DVD, Sony playstaion Dvd

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
DJ   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 04, 2002]
Strength:

Plays just about any disc there is, Prog scan, 7 discs!

Weakness:

None so far.

To the reviewer below.. It sounds like you should be contacting your seller to get a different unit, something is obviously wrong with yours.
I have owned a DVD player as long as there have been DVD's and I've watched the quality progress steadily throughout this time.
This unit is absolutely on-par with anything released in 2001. The Onkyo mentioned above was at the time one of the best available interlaced pictures IMHO. The JVC is every bit as good with the benefit of progressive scan output.
The only noise I've heard is the unit shuffling discs when moving from one to another. This is necessary in order to fit 7 discs in this fashion and doesn't bother me in the least. In fact, I'm quite fascinated at the way it manages this shuffling and it's very neat to watch. Operation and playback is absolutely silent. Although I have DTS and DD in my decoder and have not tried them, there is a 6 channel built -in decoder.
I have no idea how they made this unit so inexpensive but I assure you, it is anything but cheap.
Excellent in every aspect so far.

Similar Products Used: Onkyo DV-C600, Toshiba SD-4109X, Sony, Pioneer DV-C500, many others.....
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com