JVC XV-525BK DVD Players

XV-525BK

Single tray DVD player with Dolby Digital, DTS

User Reviews (16)

Showing 1-10 of 16  
Nic Schmitt   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 29, 2000]
Strength:

Numerous Features, Many Slow Motion Speeds, Ease of Setup

Weakness:

None

The RX-525bk is a good deal at $170. Sears price matched the Internet price of $170. The units seems to vibrate when reading the disc sometimes, that is the only complaint that i have of it. There are many slow motion speeds, Only one zoom setting, optical out, component, composite, basically everything you need. Nice theater option which decreases the contrasts of the picture, so the TV is not blinding at night. Plays the Matrix DVD no problem. Overall a great buy and too many options to describe!!!

Similar Products Used: Toshiba
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Drew   Casual Listener [Dec 31, 2000]
Strength:

had good assortment of outputs, but could still use 5.1 and a second S-video output.

Weakness:

remote is counter intuitive, unit broke in about 6 mos.

the next dvd player I buy will not be a JVC.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Jean Mastalinski   Casual Listener [Jan 02, 2001]
Strength:

?

Weakness:

Made a grinding sound for about the first ten chapters of the movies.

After the first ten or so chapters the grinding went away. But it was rather loud and not easy to ignore when watching a movie. Haven't really played around with it other than that. I am going to return it and see if it was just this particular unit.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Joseph Kidd   Audiophile [Apr 24, 2001]
Strength:

Ease of set up & use Digital audio & video

Weakness:

n/a

It just works great

Similar Products Used: n/a
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Joe   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 28, 2001]
Strength:

Price, ability to play DVD-R&RW

Weakness:

Digital sound output erratic

I have a Denon receiver that automatically determines the type signal that is being fed to it from various components. This DVD player will not consistently send a Dolby digital signal and reverts to a Pro Logic signal whenever a layer change occurs on the DVD or if I fast forward or do a chapter selecton from the main menu. I can't say whether this is a faulty unit or this problem is common to this model. I am waiting to hear from JVC customer service on this, and Vann's assures me that if they (JVC) doesn't come up with an answer, they will refund my money. Will keep you posted.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba 4109x
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Thomas becoming a movie enthusiast   [Feb 04, 2001]
Strength:

has alot of features that I don't quiete know how to use yet.

Weakness:

None yet

Bought this product because of some of the reviews and the price. Replaced the piece of crap GE product I bought second hand. I have had no problems with this unit, then I had bought a tigger movie for the kid and it played about 10 minutes and the picute went out, so thinking it was the movie I took it back and got something else...this movie did the same think but only after I played all the way thru the first time. Then someone suggested it may be my cable because distance was so far from the tv and dvd I could not use the supplied cable. So i used one i already had. Once I replaced with premium cables...no problems.

Similar Products Used: Also own a GE1105P that really sucks!
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Michael Labrie   [Nov 01, 2000]
Strength:

Easy to Use, Inexpensive.

Weakness:

None So Far

This is a great inexpensive DVD Player. I have been using it for a litttle over a month now and have had no problems what so ever. Remote was easy to setup and is easy to use. The DVD setup was also painless. Great and at only $200.00 you'll have plenty of cash left over to buy your faborite movies!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Stuart Perez   [Oct 10, 2000]
Strength:

The DVD has very smooth Slow Motion and Search Speeds
It plays all the new "Dual Layer" DVD's easily and smoothly.

Weakness:

No Headphone Jack, One Pair Audio Outputs

JVC XV-523GD DVD PLAYER
High Quality at a Low Price !
Before buying this I did much research.
Since there seemed to be so many choices.
I read the reviews of all the new model DVD players in the
$200-$250 Price range.

They all seemed to get basically the same review.
So I had to judge the unit on how well it's made and the features.

Its great looking Champagne color unit with a front panel jog shuttle control. It stands out from others on display in stores.

The player seems more solidly constructed as compared to
most DVD players. Weighing 7 pounds it is heavier than most.

The power supply, audio and video circuits are kept separate from each other. This helps to avoid any audio and video interference.

The display is clear and easy to read, and the controls on the player itself are nicely set up.

Overall, the picture and sound quality is exceptional.
It plays all the new "Dual Layer" DVD's easily and smoothly.

The DVD has very smooth Slow Motion and Search Speeds.
1/32 1/16 1/8, 1/4, 1/3 1/2, slow Speeds. Fast Search speeds
5x to 60x.

There's an easy to use Slow Motion +/- button on the remote.
Plus a 2 X ZOOM feature.

It has easy and quick chapter and time search using the remote. The remote will also control most TV sets.

But it is the remote that stops me from giving this player my top rating..

If you press and hold down the remote controls PAUSE button
for more than ONE Second. It causes the Player to go into
a (9) picture Strobe mode.

You need to press two buttons on the remote to cancel this feature and to go back to normal play mode!

This player has these features usually found only on higher
end players.

* It plays CD-R, CD-RW, and Video CDs *
* 3D simulated surround sound with settings for Drama, Action, Theatre.
* Theatre mode for adjusting video contrast. *Fiber-out, *A-B replay, zoom, indexing, component and S- video outputs, and Dolby Digital 5.

Overall, this player is one of the best in its price range.
The JVC's features and solid construction, make it the obvious choice!

* Shop around this player sells between $185.00 and $250.00.*
Ease of Use: All features are easy to learn and apply
Sound: Excellent for all average users
Picture Quality: Sharper and crisper than real life

Digital Decoder: Optical digital outputs for PCM, Dolby Digital, DTS
Number of discs: 1

Component Video Output, 10bit/27 MHz video D/A converters & Video Fine Processor for the best video quality.

JVC's acclaimed 1-bit P.E.M. D/D Converter system assures the absolute best musical fidelity.

The power supply, digital circuits, analog circuits, video and audio signal paths feature separate construction for optimum performance.

Similar Products Used: JVC 3600 SVHS VCR
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Tom   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 22, 2001]
Strength:

Component Output, DTS, Dolby Digital

Weakness:

None as of yet.

I am having great success with this DVD player so far. It provides excellent video via the component outputs and the sound is awesome as well. I haven't had any of the problems as some have described. IE. Vibrating, Lockups, etc. I think this is a great DVD player for the price!!

Similar Products Used: First DVD Player
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nic Schmitt   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 07, 2001]
Strength:

none

Weakness:

many

Disregard my review below, that is before i had numerous problems with this player. I brought the first one back to sears, got the second one, it would not play at all, brought it back got a third one, it froze up a week after i bought it. That was it for the JVC I brought the third one back and bought a Sony. This JVC product is not at all reliable. I you need a DVD player go and get a Sony or a Toshiba PLEASE!!!

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com