JVC XV-523GD DVD Players

XV-523GD

DVD player that also plays the CD-R and CD-RW recordable CD formats

User Reviews (62)

Showing 1-10 of 62  
Austin Aronis   AudioPhile [Apr 22, 2003]
Strength:

Good sound and picture. Dolby digital and dts.

Weakness:

operates poorly.

I have had my jvc xv-523 for about two or three years now and have not had any significant problems with it. The only plroblem I have had is that sometimes when I insert a dvd and it reads it, it would begin to make a countinous loud noise like it's the motor. I took it in to be looked at and they said that there was nothing wrong with it, but it still happens sometimes. It does load especially dvd's slow. Sometimes it will not read a dvd then have to restart it and try again. Audio cuts out when transferring from layer one to layer two format on dvd. But it does have good sound and picture. I have had no skips and no freezes.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba, mitsibushi
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
1
wombatlvr   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 01, 2003]
Strength:

Solid performance. Reads all CD-RW and CD-Rs I've thrown at it. Plays normal CDs flawlessly. DVDs look fine, though there is some blur effect in busy scenes; could be my TV.

Weakness:

Slow CD reading time. Biggest complaint is the audio dropping out when switching layers on a disc or switching between chapters. Also audio dropped when navigating DVD menus.

First DVD player I ever owned. I'll be brief here. I think I made an OK decision; this by no means is/was the best player, nor was it the worst. Truthfully, I liked the look of it (aesthetics, I'm such a sucker for it). Since this model is outdated and they have newer versions available, no one will read this.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
pcron   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 07, 2002]
Strength:

High Quality. Every Input and Output you could ever need. Great dvd player.

Weakness:

None. Bought it before MP3 players were popular. Doesn't support them.

I never had problems with this unit at the start. Once I started renting dvd's I noticed a lot of skips and pauses. I learned quickly that I needed to run the rental dvd's thru a cleaner before using. I havn't had any problems since. This is a high quality unit and I wouldn't trade it for any of the cheap models out there. Lots of great features. Actualy more than I will ever use.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
jcondejr   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 12, 2002]
Strength:

Plays all CD-R/RW media and every resolution of XVCD I can come up with, with video bitrates of up to ~2400kbps. Although it does not support SVCD, it will play the SVCD MPEG-2 file if you remux it as a VCD and burn it using a VCD template - amazing! The compulink feature is nice, automatically turning on and selecting the correct A/V source on my JVC DTS 5.1 receiver.

Weakness:

No SVCD support and no backlighting on remote.

After almost 2 years of continuous service, I am still extremely pleased with this player! Had some initial skipping problems with DTS DVDs but after relocating the player to a "cooler" spot and "recalibrating" it (hidden service menu), I haven't had a problem since.

Similar Products Used: Toshiba SD3109, Toshiba SD5109, Apex AD1500.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
rosman   Casual Listener [Aug 20, 2002]
Strength:

Err.. looks nice?

Weakness:

Skips and hangs when I play the DVD9's I bought which was previously ok!!

Worked fine in the beginning but now skips and stalls especially on DVD9 discs.Called tech and they said it's common complaint for this model and can't do anything about it :(

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
a2guy   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 01, 2002]
Weakness:

Uhhhh...it stopped working

Well it worked and skipped. Then decided not to work at all. Picture ok I suppose when it worked. Not worth fixing according to my tech friends.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Roger Faulkner   Audio Enthusiast [May 29, 2002]
Strength:

Picture

Weakness:

Sounds consistency. Loading time for DVD.

Well it finally happened. The carousel started making grinding noises and now the unit is in shop for 2 second time. Thank goodness I did buy an extended warranty for this. Still the picture is better than the loaner I have from CC. (A Sony out of the box DVP300B) but the inconsistency of loosing sounds bugs me. I have bought many products from JVC, but I beleive my allegiance has come to pass. The quality is just no longer there. The Sony loner doesn't miss a beat. I have shiftet from chapter to chapter as fast I could and still the sound does not cut out. I would recommend this unit only if it was $99. Over $100 look somewhere else.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
paul davis   AudioPhile [Mar 23, 2002]
Strength:

GOOD picture quality and sound.

Weakness:

SKips, crashes, slow loads.

I bought this product and it worked well for the first two years but now it randomly skips after I insert a CD. This has only occured with the new DVD that are being released this year. I did not have this problem even in september. Skipps 4 second rewinds and total crashes are a frequent occurence. I hace noticed too many other similar problems with other complaints to think that this is a islotaed incident. We need to have JVC be more responsible at least to post a fix and give a reason why their product is failing. All in all the DVD player worked good for a couple of years but I will not buy JVC because of their incomplete customer service.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Ajene Watts   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 20, 2002]
Strength:

Wonderful DVD player that lasts.

Weakness:

The remote

I purchase the JVC 523GD in 2000 and have not had a problem with it. It was my first DVD player and it did well and is still doing well. I watch at least one movie a night and I have not experienced any freezing. My DVD player plays everything even Disney DVDs because many old DVD players have a hard time playing Disney DVDs. I was a little skeptical of JVC when I bought it, but things have work out well.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Stemcell   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 19, 2002]
Strength:

Looked nice

Weakness:

Lasted 7 months

Slow loading, occasional DTS problems, died after 7 months with a wonderful Circuit City warranty that meant it wasn''''t worth fixing. My last JVC anything. Currently using a cheap Zenith player with component outputs and like it better than the JVC.

Similar Products Used: Hollywood+ card from computer to TV, Zenith DVD2201
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 62  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com