Go Video DVR5000 DVD-VHS Player DVD Players

DVR5000 DVD-VHS Player

· Complete versatilty to play DVDs, audio CDs or VHS Tapes · Watch a DVD while recording a TV show to the VCR · Auto setup automatically sets clock and searches for channels · A/V switching between TV, VCR and DVD deck with TV view button for ease of use

User Reviews (31)

Showing 1-10 of 31  
TJ   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 29, 2003]
Strength:

None

Weakness:

Does not work very well even when playing DVD

Purchased the Dual Go Video unit to allow our children to view both VHS collection and venture into the DVD arena. Go Video offered one of the first dual VHS/DVD players and we purchased it. After one Month, the DVD drawer simply would not open. Calls to Go Video and the standard "unplug" for 20 minutes did not help the problem. Was asked to send unit back to factory for warranty work. Took one month before we received the unit back. Occasionally had the DVD lock-up problem, seems to do this when warm. Skipping and other play problems continued. It has finally locked up for good and again refuses to open. Next step is the curb. The VHS side of things has been worry free but the DVD transport is terrible. With all the new companies in the dual player market, would highly suggest seeking another brand

Similar Products Used: Sony, Phillips, Denon
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Jessica   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 15, 2003]
Strength:

I love the dual DVD/VCR idea.

Weakness:

Paying $100 for a VCR is a bit much.

I bought this refurbished unit from a private seller on Ebay (smart feller, to get rid of it...), and was at first very pleased with it. The VCR worked (and continues to work) great, and the DVD player only occasionally skipped, something I attributed to the rental DVDs. The remote (a universal remote, not the original) drove me up the wall, since it was impossible to program properly, and we could only ever select things from the left or right (not up and down), but again, this was not the fault of the player. In the last 6 months, however, the DVD player has started to evidence all of the problems noted by everyone else here: if it recognizes the DVD at all, it skips or freezes at the most inopportune times (right in the middle of one of the most harrowing parts of The Ring!), and we have to sit there, patiently inserting and re-inserting the disk until it finally recognizes the DVD, and we can try to continue watching the film. Yesterday, we finally gave up and bought a new player (a Magnavox dual system... anyone heard anything about those?), and so far, it's worked like a dream. We cheered when it recognized the disk on the first try, and almost cried at the end of the film, because it hadn't skipped once...

Similar Products Used: Magnavox MDV540VR ($130 at Target): so far, so good.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
DJErica   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 09, 2003]
Strength:

I like that I can watch a DVD and record a show on the VCR at the same time. My daughter likes it as it's simple to use, just insert the dvd or video and it's on and playing, no hard to find buttons to press in sequence to get the show to play.

Weakness:

I really can't find one. We don't watch a lot of videos or dvds so this machine doesn't get used much. The only weakness I can think of is that this machine is so big, takes up a lot of room in the entertainment center next to the tivo box. Silly though.

I really like my DVR5000, I chose this one over the 4000 models because the features were so much more. It was originally $399.99 but got it on sale. I also like the ability to play my CDR and CDRW on it. It's really an A+ machine.

Similar Products Used: I also have a Sharp brand model. I like this one too.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Patrick the techy   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 21, 2003]
Strength:

Great concept, nice layout, neat features, NONE OF WHICH WORK! Maybe that is why Denon got the company 'GoVideo' so cheap?

Weakness:

Obviously, LG electronics was as poor an assembler on the DVR-5000 DVD sub-assembly as they were on all those FREE computer CDROMs I acquired that are on the JUNK PILE, also! Why can't we give some things a ZERO STAR rating?

I like to get free JUNK to fix... and this is definitely FREE JUNK. So, I tried it out, opened 'er up, and, even though I am a Retired Air Force technician, and have since designed the standards for UL fire/burglar reporting centers, and several alarm panels, and have access to a multi-million dollar repair center, on our spacious assembly lines, I will pass on this one! Kept the new batteries from the Remote, and that Free, New Coaxial cable, with the gold ends!

Similar Products Used: You name it, I been there, done it, in electronics, from the All American 5 radio, since 1963, to the Itanium 64 bit technology, worldwide!
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Patrick the techy   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 21, 2003]
Strength:

Great concept, nice layout, neat features, NONE OF WHICH WORK! Maybe that is why Denon got the company 'GoVideo' so cheap?

Weakness:

Obviously, LG electronics was as poor an assembler on the DVR-5000 DVD sub-assembly as they were on all those FREE computer CDROMs I acquired that are on the JUNK PILE, also! Why can't we give some things a ZERO STAR rating?

I like to get free JUNK to fix... and this is definitely FREE JUNK. So, I tried it out, opened 'er up, and, even though I am a Retired Air Force technician, and have since designed the standards for UL fire/burglar reporting centers, and several alarm panels, and have access to a multi-million dollar repair center, on our spacious assembly lines, I will pass on this one! Kept the new batteries from the Remote, and that Free, New Coaxial cable, with the gold ends!

Similar Products Used: You name it, I been there, done it, in electronics, from the All American 5 radio, since 1963, to the Itanium 64 bit technology, worldwide!
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
ruy_99   Casual Listener [Feb 15, 2003]
Strength:

none

Weakness:

poor sound, awkward controls, fragile

Don't buy it. It plays choppy MP3. The sound system is inferior. The remote controls are awkward. I seldom used it and in less than a year, it won't play ANY DVD nor VCD. I use it merely to tape TV programs.

Similar Products Used: APEX is better and muct cheaper...
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Jim   Casual Listener [Feb 02, 2003]

Go-Video DVR5000 has been nothing but trouble. Makes a great paper weight. Tapes are garbled and 60% of DVDs stop in the middle of watching and say "Disc error, cannot read". Don't buy Go-Video. PS This is the replacement one. The first one NEVER worked and I had to exchange it. Oh and the remote broke after less than six months.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
angry consumer   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 24, 2003]
Strength:

helpful user's guide for the most part. vhs player seems to work fine but the dvd player has given me problems.

Weakness:

DVD PLAYER IS WORTHLESS!

i am EXTREMELY disappointed in the go.video dvd/video player. i was in the act of watching one of my favorite dvds when it froze. i tried to play my other dvds but they wouldn't even load. DO NOT buy this product, unless you want a RIP-OFF. the vhs seems to work fine i am only having dvd problems. but i rarely watch vhs so this is a big problem.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Craig Tamboia   Casual Listener [Dec 31, 2002]
Strength:

NONE

Weakness:

The DVD [player has not worked since we bought it, I thought that it was the DVD's, but now it won't even play DVD's. Terrible customer service, THEY NEVER CALL BACK.

I am very disappointed with the DVR5000 by SENSORY SCIENCE under the label of GO.VIDEO. The DVD player has been nothing but problems since I firts bought it. I have tried to contact Sensory Science at 1-480-998-3400 or as it is now called Sonic Blue; but no one is willing to correct my problem, AND NO ONE CALLS BACK. The DVD player is a piece of GARBAGE and since they won't support their product (the warranty has expired) nor help me I am going to the New York Stat Attorney General as well as the Better Business and The Department of Consumer Affairs. I am not going to pay to have a problem that they built into their player corrected. They are going to fix their own problem and refund my money.Do not buy from these crooks. Go out and buy a Sony DVD player. If anyone would like to join me and try to get our money back reply to me and we'll arrange a way to exchange info.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Gavin Curtis   AudioPhile [Oct 19, 2002]
Strength:

Very well made unit, nice remote. On screen programming/firmware very well thought out. Full of features. VCR works great. Just the DVD is having problems.

Weakness:

Worst DVD player I have ever encountered. This unit gets VERY HOT inside.. hot enough that metal parts inside the VCR door are uncomfortable to touch! I attribute this to the DVD failures. Solid state lasers do not operate properly in such temp extremes... which is why the DVD's skip.. especially when reading data from the second layer. I am going to take a hole saw and carefully cut two openings in the back or top panal and install two fans to control the power supply temperature (which is the reason for it heating up so much). I am at my wits end on this.

Would have been a perfect audio/video component if the DVD player worked! My friend also bought one and his is having the same problems.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 31  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com