Denon DVD-5000 DVD Players

Denon DVD-5000 DVD Players 

DESCRIPTION

DVD/CD Player - Optical and coxial digital audio outputs - Dolby DTS compatible - component video output

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 43  
[Aug 17, 2013]
chris chap
Audio Enthusiast

i have had a denon dvd 5000 for a few years now, i would say its a lousy dvd player, a lousy cd player, because the panasonic transport it uses is next to useless, but i didn't purchase it for these functions, i bought it off a friend for £90 to use as a dac, it has digi inputs, it easily beats my wadia digimaster 64x, its better than anything else i have tried, proper crazy i say, my friends think i'm nuts, and then they hear it, and leave shocked, a very odd machine

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 29, 2005]
O'Shag
AudioPhile

Strength:

DVD: Very natural picture. Rich colour, but always natural. CD: Excellent performer, bass performance is superb. HDCD: Again excellent. You'd be hardpressed to get better HDCD performance than this unless you were prepared to spend a lot more money. DTS: Again Excellent, with the Denon's superb bass capabilities serving well for this music format

Weakness:

DVD: Doesn't quite have the level of detail as the Sony DVp-NS9000ES. The richness of colour is good, but not as good as the Sony e.g. Red on the Sony is more brilliant. CD: A bit too smooth and polite for some music and tastes. Upper mids are a little vague and recessed. Still a very good performer though.

An absolutely excellent all-rounder. DVD player; very filmlike image. Easy to look at for extended periods. Colours are very natural and rich. Downside is that there is no progressive. I'm fortunate in this respect because my Yamaha RX-Z9 processor has a farouda chip that allows the Denon to display progressive scan at 480p. I also own a Sony DVP-NS9000ES, another cracking DVD/SACD player (probably their best). While the Sony has stunningly good progressive scan capabilities that result in tremendous detail, in addition to very rich colours, the Denon's picture is slightly more natural. As an example, I would prefer to watch my DVD collection of All Creatures Great and Small on the Denon. This non-film material is better served by the Denon, which can render more natural images (IMHO). However, if I want to watch The Matrix or some other SC-FI movie incorporating highly detailed and complex images, the Sony is a more capable player. CD/HDCD: As a CD player, the Denon is very capable indeed, and in some respects extremely good. It has a rather laid back, smooth sound that still retains a good amount of detail. It may well be considered too polite by some who prefer a more dynamic presentation in the upper registers. Bass performance is stunningly good and this surely is the area where it shines. There is a power,warmth and accuracy of bass presentation rarely found in other players of this calibre, and I have several players with which to compare. An interesting point of comparison to my dedicated tube CD player, when listening to CD on the Denon, performers are set further back in the soundstage, with main voices sounding slightly subdued a far away. This is the one area where the Denon may lack for those who like a lively dynamic presentation in the upper midrange. The Denon doesn;t quite have the sparkle of a good dedicated CD player. Nevertheless it is very good considering that it is a universal player. For HDCD it is an excellent player and the aformentioned upper-midrange shyness is far less evident. For DTS surround music, it is a better performer on the whole than the Sony. The Sony has a tad more detail, but the Denons immmense bass performance, warmth and richness werve extremely well for this format. Worth mentioning also is the immensely high build quality of this unit. It weighs almost 40lbs! It has an all copper chassis. The discrete componentry layout means that for audio performance, video circuitry interference is at a minimum. Unlike some of the reviewers here that seem to have been beset by problems, I have experienced none. This beautiful component is very easy to live with. All in all I find it very easy to give the Denon DVD-5000 a very strong recommendation

Similar Products Used:

Carver SDA/390t (tube CD player). Sony DVP-NS9000ES, Philips DVD-963SA, Sonic Frontiers SFD-1 MKII DAC

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 29, 2002]
Janne
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sound and picture when it works.

Weakness:

DENON service is completly crap.

Excellent DVD player when it works. Build quality is obviously not good as it should be expected that a player in this price range should work more than a year. At the end it refused to accept DVDs and it was only possible to use it as a CD player. It is also impossible to get it repaired. I have had it at the service center for 6 months and it seems to be impossible to get spare parts.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Mar 30, 2002]
Sam
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Beautiful Sound,

Weakness:

Does not play cd-rw, you hear relays switching when volume is very low

This is one of the greatest sounding dvd players on the market, warm full detailed music, I have this unit hooked up with 5800 denon mission 780''s mission 78 center mission 78 bipolars paradym pw2200 sub it sounds fabulous, the picture is good too, highly recommended quality product even though it may seem expensive next to the majority of toshiba, sony, etc . The denon 5000 is in a different league.

Similar Products Used:

toshiba sd4700

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 09, 2002]
chichiuno
AudioPhile

Strength:

nice pic. if it works.

Weakness:

relablity

unit broke down numourous times, laser unit.

Similar Products Used:

sony 9000 current and other sony dvd players

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jan 17, 2000]
Tony
Casual Listener

Strength:

Weight and perceived quality

Weakness:

Laser assembly replaced once, unit faulty again after "a clean bill of health"

Not a great deal improvement over the DVD2500, certainly not worth the much greater $$$$. And both the 2500 and A350 certainly seem a great deal more reliable. To have not once, but twice have to take this unit back is twice too many for a machine of this callibre, or should i say price tag. Very disappointed in this expensive paper weight.

Similar Products Used:

Denon DVD2500 and Pioneer A350

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Oct 28, 1999]
Crusher
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

really heavy, well built

Weakness:

way too expensive

Calm down people.

I got a Linn Mimik II to compare with DVD5000. After all this months of listening, I come to an conclusion:
DVD5000 sounds very dynamic and clear but lacks musical sense.

On the other hand, the picture quality is good on SONY Profeel 16:9 with XLO component signal cables. The colour temperature is a bit low from DVD5000 and it works better with the "High" setting on Profeel. DVD5000 also produces pictures with less "blocks" when dealing with poor quality DVDs.

Anyway, it is not a refernce CD player.

Similar Products Used:

Panasonic A-300, SONY S7000

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
[Aug 03, 2000]
Drew
Audiophile

Strength:

very nice picture, neutral detailed sound, build quality.

Weakness:

soundstage could be wider. Can't believe the chassis is not grounded. No 24/96 output.

I'm hearing two strong sets of opinions about this machine, so before I add my 2 cents I would like to wonder out loud if quality control varies at Denon's factory. Also, I wonder if they changed some parts or features several months into production when the price suddenly jumped $500?

I have owned this machine since the day after it came onto the US market. I have never had any problems at all with anything. It does not run hot, and I have used it to burn in other gear by running it for weeks at a time -it gets slightly warm after a couple days of nonstop use. I found the picture quality to be better than Sony's best, and the CD sound to be smoother, more musical, more detailed as well. The Burr-Brown DACs it was built with were cutting edge at the time. The relays in my unit do not make much noise more than the smallest tick; the relays in my amps are a lot louder. The CD drawer is smooth and quiet and works fine (I don't treat it roughly; this thing cost 2 grand!!) CDs spinning inside make no noise at all. Build quality is right up there with the best. With Harmonic Technology's best interconnect cables and ProAC11 power cord the sound and picture are great. I improved both audio & video by putting the unit up on Black Diamond Cones and Pits. While the DVD/CD analog output sounds better than the Arcam 9, it is not as good as on the $4000 Meridian 508.24. Well, duh! But, it will play, and properly process, CD, HDCD, DVD video and 24/96 DVD audio. Until someone makes an audiophile universal player, I'm keeping this unit; it will play them all, and play them very well. PS - the sound can be greatly improved by using MSB's Link 3 DAC. Hey, this DAC will improve your player as well.

Similar Products Used:

sony dvd7700, etc

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 09, 2000]
Tony
Casual Listener

Strength:

Weight

Weakness:

Reliability

This is a follow-up on an earlier review. I have had four of these DVD players. The last one being a special order from Japan in the black colour, the other three were supplied by my dealer in the interim. All were "modded" to remove the macrovision and regionalisation. Out of these four units only one worked. The last one (the black one) was specially modded by AWA australia (the distributor of this product in Aust). The machine arrived in all it's splendor, I connected it up and put a DVD in....the message accross the screen is that the disc is not suitable for this region. In Australia we have a default region of 4. I tried playing region 4, nothing. I tried region 1, nothing. I tried region 0, nothing. After exhaustive testing of all 60+ software from various regions, I have five that will play in this player. I can understand a fault, these things happen. What I cant understand is why the distributor would let a machine of this so called quality out of its service division, without testing it properly. Especially of this price tag. And to have sent 3 out of 4 units back due to faults ranging from the above mentioned to laser failures!! I think the bottom line is that it is a great unit, when it works, and that may be a bit of a hit and miss approach as the Australian distributer obviously has no concept of quality control what so ever. My dealer has been patient and has ensured I have a working DVD player (if not denon, then other brands) whilst the denon has been repaired. How many tries do they need to get a unit such as this right? I can answer that quiet simply with enough is enough. If you live in Australia stay well away from the Denon DVD 5000, or if you are that keen, take your chances and keep your receipts for the repair work.

Similar Products Used:

Denon 2500 & Panasonic A350

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Feb 04, 2000]
Yee
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sound Quality

Weakness:

Picture Quality

The DVD 5000 has the best audio qullity of any of the stand alone DVD players that I've seen. However it is noat as good as High end CD players or transport DAC combos.

What's really bad fo Denon is this units ability to play video. Line have pronounce jagged edges that were bare noticible on the Pioneer and nonexistent with the Sony.
The picture had excellent detail(not as good as Pioneer) and accurate color, but the level of digital artifacts is impossible to ignore. I find it difficult to believe that a player with such a flawed picture is supposedly THX Ultra certified.

Similar Products Used:

Pioneer DVS9( Japanese version of DVL 09) Sony dvd 7000

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 43  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com