Denon DVD-3910 DVD Players

DVD-3910

  • DVD-Video, DVD-R & DVD-RW
  • Plays SACD, DVD-Audio, CD, CD-R
  • Plays digital photo CDs (JPEG)
  • HDMI interface with multichannel audio
  • Denon Link digital audio output

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
Mario Chapdelaine   AudioPhile [Aug 14, 2010]

Wow ! Igot it used but what a nice and precise reader. It is a solid gold dvd-cd reader. I Love it. And reproduce audio with clear sound image .The video side is amazing and lot of details .

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
pitdogg   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 05, 2007]
Strength:

Two cable hook-up, Excellent picture and sound and a remote that fits the hand much better.

Weakness:

slow slection process in the DVD menu's you pick and it seems like takes 10-15sec. to go where you need it to go vs. 2900 pick and bam your there

This 3910 is a very good player. The Denon link is a vast improvement over the analog ext. outputs on my 2900. HDMI is also very good. I cannot believe how much of an improvement it has made when compared to my 3805/2900 paring. I have read where everybody say's that the upconverting from standard DVD is not the same as a high-def DVD. Well that my be but i am here to say that when compared to 720p hd tv and 720p upconverted DVD you would be hard pressed to which is which. Superbit 5th element DVD the smoke is so real it seems like you could walk right up to the TV and take a puff! The only downside i have found so far with this player is that the selection process in the menu's is very slow as compared to my 2900 so much that when i called Denon to ask about using a short 1ft. piece of cat 5 cable instead of their supplied Denonlink 2m cable they also said that was the one thing they did not like about the player vs. the 2900. I cannot comment about the 3930/2910/2930 as i have not toyed with them. But I will take the stunning sound,picture and the loss of 10 inter-connects vs.2 HDMI&Denonlink on the 3910. I'll give it a 5 star rating on value because at 700.00 shipping included in that price i consider it a steal but due to the slow DVD menu selection process I'll give it as a whole 4 stars

Similar Products Used: Sony dvp s7700 Denon 2900
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
comeup   AudioPhile [Oct 22, 2005]
Strength:

Great picture Great sound hd upconversion through HDMI or DVI and built quality

Weakness:

(honestly) none that I can find

Love the way it sounds Love the way the video looks. Had a pioneer Elite dv59ai that sounded slightly better in mutichannel audio mode, but had a chroma problem on my Hitachi, so I returned it for the Denon which has a stunning picture. The two channel sounds better than my Rotel cd player couldn't believe that. It stands out in stereo even better than the Pioneer although the Pioneer sounded really Hi Res in multichannel audio. if I wanted just for dvd-audio-sacd would have to go with the Pioneer, but the Denon sounds dam good, also the build quality of the denon is far superior the thing is built like a cannon weighs in over twenty pounds. The best overall dvd player for the money.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer Elite dvd 59ai,47ai
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Vestige   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 25, 2005]
Strength:

Video up conversion to 720p or 1080i through HDMI or DVI, Denon Link now passes all audio signals in the digital domain to a Denon Receiver with the connection, Excellent video and audio quality.

Weakness:

Firmware upgrades can be confusing and tedious. This is nick picking because the player is truly a great performer for its' price range.

A great product just got better. Denon recently released a SA-CD firmware update for Denon Link and addressed some video issues through HDMI. I've owned this player for about 6 months and it sounds better every time I listen to it. SA-CD’s and DVD-Audio discs sound amazing through Denon Link. Video performance over the HDMI is spectacular and the Audio performance over Denon Link is superior to any other connection, including i-link. Denon Link passes DD, DTS, Digital DVD-Audio & now SACD signals. With just two cables (HDMI and Denon Link) all of your video and audio concerns are addressed with outstanding quality. Video up conversation to 720p or 1080i look stunning (after calibration). This is the perfect match for the Denon 3805 and together, you achieve perfect video and audio at an affordable price. I highly recommend this player. It's worth every penny!

Similar Products Used: JVC 7 Disc DVD-Audio player, Panasonic and Sony players.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
edward   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 17, 2005]
Strength:

Outstanding picture Detailed SACD and movie audio Lots of outputs Many user adjustable features for fine tuning

Weakness:

CD playback abit warm/soft

Before upgrading my DVD player I tried to gather as much information from as many places as possible. I listened to what local dealers said about their favorite DVD players, auditioned what they liked and read reviews before making my decision. Its hard to use many of the reviews in my decision as the other equipment a reviewer has in their home theater can highly affect what his or her results will be with a given product. I also found the importance of having your TV calibrated by a professional, or at least with one of the good do-it-yourself DVD's that can be purchased.After careful looking/reviewing I decided to look further into the Denon DV-3910.After more internet research I came across a site that professionally tests DVD players using specialized equipment. They send the players through many different deinterlacing and core tests to determine the accuracy of the picture. The Denon DV-3910 was in the top 2 (the other was a very expensive high end Denon model) and my decision was made to purchase one. The Denon DV-3910 uses the Faroudga FLI-2310 deinterlacer which is noted for a outstanding picture but can also add macroblocking in dark areas. A friend has the flagship DV-5900 which uses the same deinterlacer and was known for macroblocking. A TV calibration reduced this problem to almost unseen levels. The DV-3910 has almost no macroblocking as I first used my friend's DV-5900 on my bedroom TV and noticed a minor macroblocking problem and then used the DV-3910 on the same TV with great results and no problems. This problem can varie from TV to TV. The DV-3910 uses very similar electronics as the DV-5900 and it looks as though Denon has addressed the problem. I never have had the FF fast scan problem noted in one review. The SACD and DVD-A playback is superb and very detailed. The CD playback is a bit on the warm/soft side for my tastes but very acceptable. If your looking for a great universal player look no further as the DV-3910 will please both the movie and music lover. I hesitate to give anything 5 stars as every player has its setbacks but I think Denon has come up with a all around winner at an afordable price.

Similar Products Used: DV-2900 DV-5900
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Charles   AudioPhile [Jan 12, 2005]
Strength:

Gorgeous picture. Quality sound. Upconversion to high definition output. Plays darn near every format.

Weakness:

Freezes on a couple of DVDs that a cheaper Sony plays through fine. The drawer mechanism makes a bit of noise (sounds like vibration).

I bought this from Crutchfield (wanted full warrenty). It looks to be built well with a solid feel to its construction. I hooked it up through the DVI output to my Sony television and have audio through Denon link (into a Denon 3805 reciever, which acts a surround sound pre-amp feeding an older Audio Research amp for front channels - and the 3805 for surrounds). I also have the two gold analog stereo jacks connected and the analog surround jacks connected. I mostly use the Denon link (you cannot the Denon link with SACD at this time). I have not really compared the various connections much, and they would probably depend upon what you have this unit connected to as a pre-amp, but at this point I prefer the gold analog outs when not playing a surround track.(Does no one do a good copper connection instead of gold though? I wonder if gold plating is the way to go). The picture from this is outstanding. I have an older Arcam FMJ (that I bought used and is starting to have playing problems) and its picture is better than the Arcam (although the Arcam may still sound better, I haven't compared them directly). Basically deep, rich colors and black level with lots of details. Nor does it show the funny behavior with (particularly red) colors that a Sony DVD player does (chroma noise?). This is a universal player, so it plays DVD-Audio, SACD, CDs, DVDs , picture discs (haven't tried those though) and just about everything else. I would judge the sound as very good, although that wasn't been my primary goal with this player, video was. I have not noticed the lag in starting with CDs that another reviewer noticed. However, I have a commercially recorded DVD that plays fine through the Sony but freezes (always in the same spot) on the Denon. The degree seems to vary with the Denon, from a momentary stop to a complete freeze and seems to be worse when the Denons been running a while (heat problems?). I also have a couple of DVDs that I recorded off a tape that have similar problems. Fortunately I've not found this problem to be common and most disc play fine including most DVDs I've recorded myself (and including some that give the Arcam fits. The Arcam has problems with any disc that isn't absolutely perfect. Why do high end players seem to not track as well as cheap players?). But I am going to give the Denon a 4 instead of a 5 overall because of this. The Denon also includes a firewire output,so you can play an SACD back digitally if your pre-amp accepts this connection and if you're so inclined. It has a formatting button (480p,720p,1080i) for high definition video upconversion through the DVI or HDMI (cables not included, however). I have noticed a slight color shift between the DVI and regular 'yellow' video connections when running through the 3805 reciever (you cannot use the component out when using DVI or HDMI), but I don't know if that is due to the 3805 or not (I haven't connected the DVD player's 'yellow' video jack directly to the Sony TV). Overall, a great player with excellent picture, including upconversion to high definition, and quality audio that plays nearly everything you can throw at it.

Similar Products Used: Sony Arcam
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
grubs4fishn   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 22, 2004]
Strength:

Nice looking, great sound and video. Quite and solid. Lots of Bells and Whistles

Weakness:

Glitch in Zoom 1.5x Denon needs to correct with firmware or ?? Zoom features limited to 3 settings. One other weakness that I hate to mention. I was expecting to be able to run my Cantons in the Large speaker config and still get the LF track sent to the sub, but this like so many other players, require the speaker to be set to small before it sends anything to the sub. channel. I happen to like full sound my Cantons produce when the player is configure to large speakers, but then I loose the sub. Can someone tell me a way get full sound from the mains and not loose the sub?

I did the research and read the reviews. Certainly, it looked like the best for the money. I hooked it up and the WOW. CD audio sounds never heard before were everywhere, picture was stunning. Better than a lot of Time Warner HD programs, not live broadcast of course. I was very happy until one discovery. The two units I tested and the dealer's floor model all have a glitch, for lack of a better word, during video playback using the zoom feature in the 1.5x mode. All movies tested (not copies) had very annoying jerks and skips, with an occasional audio drop out as well. This is completely unacceptable for me... All other modes work just fine, but I need the zoom feature to view wide screen movies on a 4:3 HD Toshiba Tube. It would be nice for Denon to have a Zoom feature that is not limited to 3 settings being (1.5x, 2x, and 2,5x). So far Denon has not responded to my Dealer or my personal attempts to contact them. I downloaded the latest Firmware, but no luck. Now I stuck through Christmas with a defective player as my dealer won't do a refund until he has a couple weeks to get the issue resolved via Denon. My Bad, used cash instead of credit. Buyer Beware.... If you don't need the zoom feature, you will be very happy with it.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer Elite dv-59 ai,
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
pzl1nz   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 07, 2004]
Strength:

Read above... Sound Quality and reproduction Video quality and resolution Build quality Connectivity options including Denon Link

Weakness:

NONE

This DVD player is stunning! This player replaced my DVD-2900 and I am SO happy and have never looked back. I originally traded in the 2900 for the 3910 for sound quality reasons only and then I found out how much better the video of the 3910 is compared to the 2900. First, I want to address some of the previous reviews...Redbook CDs as well as all other media, including burn discs all work flawlessly. Don't believe the garbage that the other review said. Denon did their homework and vastly improved on the 2900 with this unit. This unit is more realistically closer to the DVD-5900 than it is to the DVD-2900. Also the build quality is fabulous for the price range and the features. The sound quality is fabulous. Bags of detail, uncolored sound with tons of authority! SACDs, DVD-Audio, Redbook CDs, etc all sound wonderful. This is the all in one player to have! The video is fantastic too. Colors and resolution are terrific. Look... bottom line go demo it and see for yourself. You will be amazed for the money. Nothing else can touch it for an all in one player.

Similar Products Used: Denon DVD-2900, demoed many others.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
musicguy04   AudioPhile [Nov 27, 2004]
Strength:

Multitude of outputs that satisfy practically every need. Very good picture from the HD-component outputs.

Weakness:

Has trouble reading simple redbook CDs! Come on Denon. Cheap build quality for the price. Analog audio quality isn't the best. Macroblocking when using DVI/HDMI outputs.

This is my second Denon universal player to audition. I had a Denon 2900 over the summer and I must say I've notived a defect in Denon universals. They have a hard time reading normal redbook CDs! Yes, it takes a very long time to load the CD and many times the player just won't read it. I think Denon has to look into the quality control of their laser pickup. Anyway, when it does work, the picture quality is very good, especially using the progressive scan video output. The build quality is very cheap for the price point, much cheaper looking than the 2900. Although it was more expensive, I decided to go with an Onkyo SP-1000, which is MUCH better all over, has excellent analog audio, and it can actually read CDs!

Similar Products Used: Denon 2900, Onkyo SP1000
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
cbalano   AudioPhile [Nov 13, 2004]
Strength:

It has every single output I wish it had, including fully operational firewire (I didn't use it yet). It is ultra quiet, easy to set up, and runs just lukewarm.

Weakness:

1. No 720p/1080i upscaling over component output. 2. Certain portions in dark scenes show up just like black blobs. 3. If you are an audiophile, don't count on player's analog outputs. When decoding is performed through my Anthem Statement D1, there is a significant difference in audio quality. 4. When playing DVD-A discs that have DD or DTS soundtracks, the player automatically selects the Advanced Resolution track to play. There is no way to select the DD or DTS soundtrack, unless the disc itself gives you that choice in the menu; most of them don't. So, if you have a decoder without firewire inputs - as I have - your only choice is to rely on DVD-3910's analog outputs. As I said earlier, player's analog section is good, but not very good.

Simply, this is the best universal player out there for the money; I love my Denon DVD-3910. Don't be fooled by the lengthy list of weaknesses bellow. If I bothered to actually list them in detail, it only means they are few enough to be quantifiable, which is the highest praise I can give to a human made product.

Similar Products Used: This is my first universal player ever, save the DVD drive of computer.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com