Denon DVD-2800 DVD Players

DVD-2800

Progressive Scan DVD Player

User Reviews (79)

Showing 1-10 of 79  
voleem   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 26, 2003]
Strength:

Great Audio/Video

Weakness:

A little sluggish and slow - if it werent for the great Video chip - it would be just another DVD player.

I am sorry to report that this DVD player has broke on me. I've had it for about a year and a half. The DVD player fails to power up after turning it on. You can hear the relay click and hear the cd tray spool up - but no display. I took it in to be repaired. Found out today that it will cost about $230.00. The technician said the ICC chip needs to be replaced. I have no idea what he is talking about. I contacted Denon via e-mail about 3 weeks ago. I still haven't heard anything from them. I work for a company that manufactures PCI communication cards. And let me tell you when it comes to support you have the whole company behind you. We reply to customer complaints and will admit to product/component failures. You'll get a new card for free with shipping included. The DVD player has excellent Audio/Video performance. But I have to say this is the first time I've ever had a problem with an electronic component. You do truly pay more for better - but honestly you have to ask yourself is it worth spending this much money and having it break(on its own) a year and a half later. I bought a cheap $89.00 DVD player from Target. Its a progressive scan Phillips model and to be very honest for the money its incredible. Sure there is more detail and the audio is much better on the Denon - but that DVD player was 6 X the price of this Phillips model. Is it really worth it? I'm just very angry with Denon and there support department. Actually lack of. Very frustrating. Ask yourself if its really worth paying this much for a DVD player. Caution - you wont get any help from Denon. The phone number at there web-site is incorrect and has been that way for quite some time. They apparently aren't interested in ohone calls for technical support. Buy at your own risk and good luck to you all. I am an Audio enthusiast - but I have to ask myself if I will ever buy another product from Denon again. There policy on buying Denon products on-line voids the warranty is rediculous also. Like they actually care to cover you after the purchase. What a joke. I am giving it a 1 star for value and a 3 star for over all rating. If this happens down the road again and more money comes out of pocket I will nock it down even more. Thanks Denon!

Similar Products Used: Phillips - RCA - Not high end equipment but at least it works.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
1
dynracer   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 30, 2003]
Strength:

Looks good in cabinet, Beautiful picture in progessive scan mode. (With my setup, and the way my television is caliborated, looks very close to HDTV). Better sound that my older Sony DVD player.

Weakness:

None

I don't see how this DVD player can get a bad review. I've had mine for almost two years now and I haven't had the first problem. The picture it produces just seems to be getting better everytime I watch a movie. I'm using bettercables component cables and my TV is a Mitsubishi WT-4609. There must be just a few lemons mixed in the bunch. I urge anyone looking for an awesome DVD player, go to audiogon right now and buy you an used one for around $380, what a deal.

Similar Products Used: Sony progressive scan DVD players
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
mththm   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 02, 2003]
Strength:

no particular stengh

Weakness:

not reliable at all will not last long a mistake made by denon

after i bought the receiver denon avr 5800 i was so amazed that i decided to go for the 2800 dvd /hdcd player sure i will find the same high quality... this was a disaster.after 3 monthes the 2800 refuses to load anymore musical cd...and i bough a lot of hdcd... the 2800 has sometimes difficulties to load some dvd.nevertheless i use it for playing dvd on my 65" toshiba hdtv on component video mode with excellent cables.the performance is not outstanding and honestly you can ask yourself about the so called "progressive scan" this is not worth the money as i have another ordinary dvd player since 3 years who gives the same performance without never failing.... i would like to know what is today an excellent progressive scan dvd/hdcd player at reasonnable price???

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Pants   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 13, 2003]
Weakness:

Blurr image on certain films, poor quality image over all. Very slow processor inside, if you skip too quickly through the scenes it locks up. Pretty poor over all!

Well what can I say, it is well built, very solid feel. Very big unit compared to a lot of DVD's on the market now, so make sure you have the room under your TV or in the hifi cabinet! I thought buying a Denon meant buying the highest quality, how wrong could I have been!!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Tony Davison   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 12, 2003]
Strength:

Plays lots of formats. Good sound. Its black and matches the rest of my kit.

Weakness:

Pauses,glitches and slow loading of discs. 'orrible remote! Fiddly menus. Progressive scan dispapointing due to audio delay. Denon admitted this was a problem and suggested buying another amp with delay built in to correct for delay!!!

Overall slightly dissapointed. Judging by magazine reveiws this machine was the answer. Well I had it a month and it stopped playing audio CD's.No, Not the the home made half baked unreliable variety..the full paid up monty! So it went back to Denon. A month later its back with a new laser no less. It Still takes ages to load any disc, but plays Cds again. On a good note it does this as well as any CD player I've heard. So whats the big deal on progressive scan? If i enable progressive scan I get a nice blue LED, a sharp picture but the audio goes out of sync with the picture! What use is that? Oh, but hang on were introducing PAL progressive sync soon..oh whoopie do.... I cant wait, its still out of sync! So, in basic pal mode it works ok. The picture's generally good, but on some DVD's there are very visible artifacts. Lines, dots, glitches pauses...all the usual crap from anything thats digitally compressed. The remote is horrible, slow and clumsy. The machine is too big, and the operators manual is hard going. Strange how the MkII is so different the MKI cannot be upgraded. Perhaps its a completely different player!

Similar Products Used: denon 3802..pretty impressive...except crap speaker sockets..(european model only!)
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
TheThreatIsReal   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 23, 2003]
Strength:

Build Quality, Progressive Scan.

Weakness:

Remote, Slow Loading, DVD-Audio?

I bought this unit thinking it was the best player in the world. It is mearly a marginal player. After owning it I found that the famous "Chroma Upsampling" problem was easily remidied with software upgrades. All in all it has just been ok. A little dissapointing. :(

Similar Products Used: Pioneer ELITE, Yamaha, Onkyo.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
ellerbeck   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 19, 2002]
Strength:

Excellent picture quality, espeically good with plasma's. Great cd play back if thats a requirement too. You can buy a lot of player for £400 nowdays. Fits in gap between £400 and £1000 players nicely

Weakness:

I did think the remote was a bit bog, but you can use the remote that comes with a with a dennon amp if you've got one. No zoom

Product is 2800 mk 11 with latest 5250 chip. I bought this player to match a denon avc-A11SR av amp. The first time I used it was with CD, and was amazed by the sound quality that it produced with music. I own a Meridian cd player and hooked it up along side it playing the same track with each player,ans swithing between the two. The Dennon matched the Meridian in every department other than Meridains smoothness with soft sounding tracks, but I would say the mk11 had better slam & bass. Hence I now have disconnected the meridian for use in another room. both were tried through analogue inputs, but I use the digital connection even in stereo. Before I bought the 2800 mk 11 I had thought,and read that music with dvd players was a comprimise. Well this player sounds great with music too. The other reason I picked it was its progressive scan & component video facilities for use with my Plasma screen. The quality & images does make a difference from the £400 Sony I had. The computer generated fur of sulley in monsters was a noticable improvement. tip: make sure if your buying one. It has the lastest chip on board

Similar Products Used: nothing at this price.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Glenn   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 18, 2002]
Strength:

Unmatched picture & sound quality Invisible layer changes most of the time

Weakness:

Crappy remote Rare but present freezes during playback of DVDs Some barely noticeable picture artifacts Too few audio outputs for an expensive player (Make that a really crappy remote)

I can sympathize with the people who have experienced problems with this player. I bought a 2800 mk2 manufactured in March 2002. Right away the player intermitently froze during playback of dvds. I took it back to the store to have it fixed and since then, it has been working well. I don't know about playback of cd's or HDCD's since I bought it specifically for dvd movies. The repair guy told me he replaced the pick-up (traverse assembly?). I also own a Sony DVP ns900v which is a step down in picture and sound quality, but a step up in reliability right out of the box. I strongly think that Denon needs to make this player more reliable like the Sony. If they do, they've got Sony beat hands down. If you want trouble free operation, buy the Sony. If you want unmatched picture / sound quality and can stand a few headaches, buy the Denon. My final rating is a combination of a 2 and a 4. In short, the Denon is my #1, but I'm keeping the Sony just in case

Similar Products Used: Sony DVP ns900V
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
erhans   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 21, 2002]
Strength:

Invisible Layerchange Great CD player HDCD Noisy drive at beginning of disc

Weakness:

Worst remote I've ever seen

(purchase price is in Danish Kroner) This review is about the mkII model. I bought this player a couple of months ago because I had read some great reviews about it's performance and quality. I had to replace my player because the first one was defective. It froze while playing movies and the audio dropped out on several occasions. Once i got the replacement everything started out great. No problems at all but after a week or so the same problems started showing up and this time the drive mechanism was very noisy at the beginning of movies. So I ended up returning it to the dealer and got a full refund from the nice peoble at Hifi Klubben in Denmark. I've heard from about several people around the Internet and in different forums who have experienced similar problems with both "the old" version and the new MkII model so I would suggest you either find a different player with similar features ror test-drive it for a while before purchasing it. I was probably just unlucky but after two players having the exact same problems I would say that Denon should consider upping there Quality Control before shipping these machines out of the factory.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer DV717 Sony NS900V
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
David Moeller   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 19, 2002]
Strength:

light transition, color, Silicon Image chip, overall filmlike presentation

Weakness:

cost, but worth the price

I purchased this played after I upgraded to a Samsung Digital HDTV Monitor and I really saw how bad my current dvd player was, pioneer dvd333. This player is the best component in my system now and is a night and day difference from my old player. The progressive scan chip is amazing, light transitions look natural, and color is awesome. The layer change buffer works making the change without a pause or audio dropout. However there sometimes an audio dropout while watching a dvd that is dirty, this player is VERY VERY sensative to dirty discs. Video quality is awesome and soundtrack presentation is detailed playing either DD or DTS. The HDCD chip makes a difference in the highend of the few HDCD's I do have, bela fleck, 311, green day. MP3 playback, well it does it, but why would you play MP3's on your home theater system, they suck. Happy I purchased it and am trying to get the firmware cd-rom but denon nj's number is always busy, anyone with an extra disc email me please.

Similar Products Used: sony nv900, sony 7700, pioneer dvd333
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 79  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com