Denon DVD-1500 DVD Players

DVD-1500

Single Disc DVD/CD player - 10-bit Video D/A converter - Dolby Digital and DTS output - 24-bit, 96khz Audio DAC - "S" video output; composite video output - 2 digital outputs: 1 optical, 1 coaxial

User Reviews (94)

Showing 1-10 of 94  
ece4089   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 28, 2003]
Strength:

Great sound and picture when working. Small cabinet design

Weakness:

Long load times Darker picture affects some movies Very annoying audio synch problems Won't load/play some newer discs (e.g. Disney)

Good but ultimately flawed DVD player. I've had this DVD player for about 4 years now. Experienced some of the issues described here, esp. audio synch problems. Tried standard work arounds, e.g. use Stop instead of Pause, and it was fine for occasional viewing. The final straw, however, was its refusal to load a new movie, Pirates of the Carribbean from Disney, we received for Christmas. DVD played fine on my Dell PC, but loaded only once on the 1500 out of dozens of tries. Took the DVD to the store and it played flawlessly on every model I tried there. Decided to get a new player and ended up with a Yamaha due to its compatibility with the DVD+R/RW formats that my computer creates. So far so good on that one...

Similar Products Used: Yamaha DVD-S540
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Jack Daniel   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 11, 2003]
Strength:

Looks good Sounds good Works good (now)

Weakness:

I cant believe that there was no attempt made to provide active or passive cooling. The fix cost me <$30 at retail prices. The factory could have done it for about $5.

I bought the Denon DVD-1500 without really researching it much, as I thought it was a pretty good deal. After reading comments of others, I was a little dismayed, but here are my faults and fixes. 1.(Fault) Audio out of synch with video.(I use S-Video and Digital optical output) (Fix) Firmware upgrade to version 3. Dont let someone fool you into a $200+ fix it bill. Buy the EPROM chip as a spare part ($60ish) as you can install it yourself in about 5 mins with no specialist tools.(If you want specifics - email me) 2.(Fault) Playback stops, jumps, skips and eventually freezes. (Fix) The video processor chip gets very hot toward the end of a movie, causing the faults. I attached a Zalman Northbridge Heatsink, using Arctic Silver Epoxy Adhesive, and installed a 50mm 12V computer cooling fan next to it. Result - not 1 freeze, jump, glitch since..(If you want specifics - email me) Overall, now I've fixed it, I am very happy with the quality of the output, and the player. I wont be upgrading until DVD-Audio becomes more realisticly priced.

Similar Products Used: None. Its my first DVD player. For info on the mods:- spanishdancingllamas@hotmail.com
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
dangerfield   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 01, 2003]
Strength:

Has Denon on the front, so some other idiot will buy it

Weakness:

See above

I have a denon AVR2800 Running the best Aussie speakers Krix (front and centre) and Paradigm 3se Minis as rears. If you are lucky enough to get Krix in the States try them out they piss all over the new Paradigm Mini Monitors- which are themselves awesome. Anyway as to the Denon DVD 1500 - all you have to do is look at the rear of the unit and see where they are made. Nope not Japan but China. Might as well buy Singer etc etc. Shame on you denon. Very bad for hitherto excellent quality and branding. The video card is substandard, the lasar pickup dubious and the LED's half life pathetic. Plus the price is absurd.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
fmckadoo   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 31, 2002]
Strength:

Power light always comes on

Weakness:

Can't play DVDs - 0000 Phones jack is useless

After a brief read of a couple of reviews here, I have decided that I will wait to see what Denon has to say about the poor performance of this player. It is my ASSumption that mine is worse than average and Denon might have an answer. FYI - this is the text of the letter I sent to Denon on 12/29/02. Sirs, I have owned several Denon products over the years and always found the performance to be above satisfactory. Your older 2 channel receivers and CD players suited my needs well. I still have a 3600 DTS receiver powering my home theater audio system and find it capable. I did have the misfortune to buy a DVD 1500. I only watched a few movies a month and they were always rented. I found after a several months some movies would not play (the DVD player would not recognize the disc). I took them back and relayed the fact that the disc was defective to the local Blockbusters. They would always provide a new disc, some would work, and others would not. Little by little I figured some discs would work sometimes, some would never, and most would fail by varying degrees after about 1/3 of the movie. I did contact the local Hi-Fi buys after I determined I actually had a unit that was having issues. Of course the warranty had expired. I accepted this as my mistake on a bad glitch in a unit - should have figured it out sooner. I did get a new DVD (Sony 9000 ES) for movies and all was well with the DVD 1500 playing CDs in my bedroom. This Christmas I got a new set of high-end headphones and I decided to listen to them in the Denon since it did have a phones level adjustment without any amp/preamp/cabling complications. My Sony DVD and Rotel CD have no headphone jacks. To my surprise there is NO sound from the headphone jack in the Denon. Is my 1500 a bizarre mistake from the assembly line or is the 1500 just a bad product? Is it worth fixing? I give this unit a 3 to keep the review scale balanced - I have to assume this is not the average Denon - but I will update after the response, or lack of, from Denon.

Similar Products Used: None - never bought, listened to, or saw a DVD player that didn't work.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Mongoman   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 01, 2002]
Strength:

CD-playback, picture, price

Weakness:

noisy drive

I've read the other reviews and thought that they're doing wrong with the DVD-1500. I also had problems with multi layer DVD's but with a litle coolness and a firmware update everything went out fine. Now this DVD player model has a rather good sound, even when playing CDs and the picture can be compared with even bigger models. The digital output is also quite good - as long as the coaxial is used

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Mikko   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 31, 2002]
Strength:

Good picture (when it works)

Weakness:

Second layer read...

Fine equipment when it works... It's been in SW update two times and every time there are more problems showed up. The biggest problems it has on after it has changed layer. Picture and/or sound stops and continues after few seconds. Also I have few DVDs which are impossible to watch to the end. and those dics' have no problems in my parents and friends DVD-players... So many times I have wanted to throw it away through window... so many promlems... wish I had money to bye new one. But It ain't gona be DENON...

Similar Products Used: Yamaha something, Pioneer...
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
emwbjb   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 04, 2002]
Strength:

Audio & Video quality.

Weakness:

Noisy drive. Toy remote.

I recently had the player modified to accept both region 1 & 2 disc´s (www.codefree.dk) at HIFI-klubben. (Added feature: in region 1 mode, it plays SVCD´s.) They also replaced the EEPROM. Now, with the latest firmware (i think it´s the 3rd (or even 4th) generation) it plays all DVD´s. Even Disney and Armageddon. Why these and other DVD´s don´t play on older firmware is not the players fault. The problem lies in the movie company that releases DVD´s not following the specifications. With this latest firmware the DVD1500 is able to play those non-standard DVD´s. No problems with audio sync.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
rwieland   Audio Enthusiast [May 30, 2002]
Strength:

Picture quality Sound

Weakness:

Noisy drive on some DVD's

Have read the reviews but I don't have the problems mentioned. (sync, video artifacts) Probably I have the latest version. I purchased it in june 2001 (Netherlands). In combination with the AVR-2801, Loewe Aconda and Sony Pascal speakers I believe to have a great homecinema system. Good sound, great picture quality and easy to use. On some DVD's I noticed that the drive is rather noisy.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
David   AudioPhile [May 18, 2002]
Strength:

Great Audio Great Picture Quality Great Value Great Player

Weakness:

Available from too many e-tailers....Buyer beware.....spend the extra money and get the real product.

This is a great DVD/CD player! I have an HDTV and the picture couldn''t be clearer. In fact, it looks as good or better than some of the progressive scan players out there. The audio quality is also superb. I have stopped using my standard high end CD player altogether. I find it amusing that many of the negative reviewers seem to have bought their product on the "gray market" from unauthorized sellers or e-tailors. I hate to use a cliché, but word to the wise: You Get What You Pay For. This is why Denon has taken such a hard line on voiding the warranty of such products....It''s like buying a fake Rolex for $50 on the street. It says it''s a Rolex, but you can''t expect Rolex to back it up once it falls apart.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
AdamK   Audio Enthusiast [May 18, 2002]
Strength:

Could play badly scratched cds.

Weakness:

Audio sync, locking up at layer changes, very un-user friendly, later on I found out that this unit is baisicly a Panasonic in sheeps clothing (could be why the DVD-1500 resembles a paperweight rather than a DVD player)

The only way I realy can descibe my optinion with this player is dissapointing. I only owned this paperweight for two months before returning it for another make and model. Two main problems I had was the machine locking up at layer changes on several titles with the only way to eject the disk was to turn the unit off and on again also plenty of audio sync problems. I took the unit to get repaired and after getting it back it started not loading disks at all! Then I returned it to the place I purchased it from and swapped it over for a Toshiba SD5200 (great picture but poor sound). As far as sound/picture went both were pretty average and you could only output sound from the digital or analogue at one time not both together. The only positive thing this machine did was it played a couple of my cds perfectly that had been badly scratched and wouldnt play on any other cd/dvd player I tried them in. Not a single click or jump in the audio at all. Like the last reviewer I bought this Denon because of thier reputation and history also the retailer recomended this particular unit, what a let down! 12 months down the track looking back, at this price range id seriously be looking at sony or marantz.

Similar Products Used: RCA DTH1000AU, Sony DVP-S715, TOSHIBA SD-5200, MARANTZ DV-18mkII (MY CURRENT PLAYER)
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 94  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com