Cambridge Soundworks DV-106E DVD Players

DV-106E

DVD player

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
Shawn DuLac   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 02, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent set of output jacks

Weakness:

Subtitles always on. Sometimes locks up and requires the power cord to be unplugged.

I received this product from a friend as he already had a dvd player and received it free with his new speakers. Set up was easy and I was impressed with the output jacks on the back. I hooked mine up with a monster composite video and a digital optical cable for maximum performance. The display of the unit the color of construction orange. Not bad during the day, but annoying at night. The load time does seem a bit longer then others though. Another annoying this is that with every dvd that is played, the subtitles are always on and I wish that feature could be turned off. The remote is adequate, but seems to have many buttons that do nothing. The on screen menus and the manual are ok, but really basic. Playback is smooth, but becomes a little jerky moving from pause to play.

Similar Products Used: Sony DVD Players
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Brian   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 06, 2000]
Strength:

Component and S-Video out is nice. Price is excellent.Dealer was wonderful.

Weakness:

NO DTS output. Slight noise when running DVDs

If you are looking for good value this DVD may be worth looking at. Picture and Sound on the DVD were excellent. The CD player initially had some small background ticking noise. Hifi.com sent me another one, and provided return labels to ship the old one back. The ticking problem was not present with the second machine.

For 99 bucks, its a great way to get into a bargain DVD player with component outs.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 06, 2001]
Strength:

A for picture and sound.Very good selection of outputs for the price

Weakness:

Kept locking up

I really liked this player but had bad luck with 2 of them. Both had to be unpluged to reset because they would lock up. One made a racket when playing some discs. hifi.com was fantastic about it with pre-paid return lables and no arguments. If you get a good one, you'll get the best value out there by far.

Similar Products Used: First DVD Player
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Eric ,   [Jul 21, 2001]
Strength:

Great value!
VCD compatible
S-video output

Weakness:

No DTS

I noticed similar problems with lock up and subtitles that others have mentioned; however, the subtitles can easily be turned off and the lock up has only occured after the power has gone out and come back on. This is easily corrected by unplugging and plugging the unit back in.
Despite the fact that this DVD player is not DTS compatible, it is a great value and definitely worth the price.
If you don't have a DTS receiver, this is a great way to go until you're ready to upgrade.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
John   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 11, 2001]
Strength:

good connectivity

Weakness:

quality

First I really liked this DVD player, price was good, component, optical NTSC and PAL, what more could you want for 200 bucks?

Then the lock ups started, that could only be solved by unplugging the unit, then the long load time, jerky fast fwd
and finally the Creative DVD rom 6630E that is inside, blew up! No more loading DVD's

Bad quality, should expect DVD player to last longer than 1 year....

Similar Products Used: all of them
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Fritz   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 06, 2001]
Strength:

none

Weakness:

every thing

First unit's tray would not open. Replacement unit was DOA. Finally HIFI.com replaced with a much more expensive Sony unit at the same price which works fine.

You got to love the HIFI.com customer service!

Similar Products Used: Sony
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Tim   [Sep 13, 2001]
Strength:

Good sound, picture, ease of use

Weakness:

Quality, lack of programming for CD's (besides simple repeating)

Great bargain at $99, but I had problems with lockup. The first machine I received would lockup, would attempt to load non-stop at times when a disc was not present, and even would
occasionally have no video or audio output even though the disc was playing. The second player I was sent also would get stuck in standby mode. Why is Cambridge Soundworks offering such a low quality product? At least I can say that hifi.com's no hassle, money back guarantee is just that- easy and free.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Frank Kim   Casual Listener [Dec 09, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent price. Has all the outputs you would want that normally you get in a more expensive DVD player.

Weakness:

Does not have karaoke.

I was offered this DVD player at Cambridge SoundWorks for only $150 and I could not refuse. DVD players in this price range normally do not have all the kinds of outputs this DVD player has. I was very happy with the quality of play.

In response to a previous review, subtitles worked just fine on my DVD player.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com