Apex Digital AD 703 DVD Players

AD 703

3 Disc DVD Changer / Can play recorded discs with MP3 Files / NTSC and PAL Video Outputs / Karaoke with 2 Mic inputs

User Reviews (64)

Showing 1-10 of 64  
showman66   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 01, 2006]
Strength:

plays cds, and mp3

Weakness:

no shuffle, which i realize you don't need for movies, but when it breaks down (and it will) it still can be used as a cd player. C'mon Aex throw us a bone!

worst DVD player "EVER!"
I got fed up with itlocking up and "dig-ing" out, that i used it as a cd player at work.
After being in a wet basement for a while,I took it apart and touched the circuit boars and wiggled things around to make the warranty nice and voided. put it back together and, behold! it started working again. unfortunately, I can't find the remote so the OSD stays on.

word of advice: do not replace your 703 with a ad-1200 or any other apex product. remember, you get what you pay for.

Customer Service

what can i say, I can't be bothered.

Similar Products Used: AD-1200
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Gene Noel   Casual Listener [May 28, 2003]
Strength:

Good sound and picture quality

Weakness:

No universal remote codes available - why? I found out after my dog ate my remote - no kidding - that a replacement from the APEX Co. is $35.00 a quarter the cost of the TV. As long as they don't publish the codes, they have an exclusive market - kind of like the automotive makers making those special screws that you can only buy the tools for from the mfg.

Apex AT2002S 20 in. Standard Television

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Sean Thompson   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 01, 2002]
Strength:

Plays everything for the time at which it came out in the market. Economical at $179. At the time a comparable unit to do the same functions, and RARE to find was around $900.

Weakness:

After 12 hours of playing movies it needed 1 hour to cool off. Bummer when your into a good series.

I bought an Apex unit two years ago from a excellent review from "techtv" (formally known as "ZDTV"). I did experience some problems with 1/2 of the dvd's. This was due to the DVD manufactures changing the DVD format to a dual layer. The first model from Apex did not "play" dual layer DVD's unless you pushed the "resume" button. I took the unit back to Circuit City under warranty for a cleaning and to replace the compenents to read the new dvd format. Circuit City wanted to just replace my 1 year old unit with the new AD-703. I agreed, it did the same things, dvd's, vcd's, cd's, mp3's & karaoke's. I have not had a problem since then 1 1/2 ago so far. On 12/1/02, I experienced my first problem after 12hrs of DVD playing, the unit needed to cool off for 1 hour before I was able to play my last Band of Brothers DVD. That day I played 10 DVD's. I like my DVD player. If I had the problems the others had I would be very upset.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Derwin   Casual Listener [Sep 05, 2002]
Strength:

The tray works fine. Smoothly opens and cloes while the movie is playing without a skip or a jump. I have played music CDs, VCDs and DVDs without any compatibility problems.

Weakness:

The remote could be laid out a little better and the instructions are vague on a few functions.

I have had few problems with the Apex DVD player that I got for Father's Day 2001. Its not perfect, for example it had problems reading the audio track for the Final Fantasy movie and one out of every 30 or so times it'll misread the disc and has to be turn off and then back on. Also I should note my player is a 703-A model. So that may have a some bearing on its performance.

Similar Products Used: The only other DVD players I've used are the XBOX, PS2 and a DVD ROM.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
De   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 30, 2002]
Strength:

Pretty lights.

Weakness:

Doesn't play DVDs. IF you can get it to play, you won't be able to pause the movie without locking up the system, and IF you can get it to play even one DVD the changer tray does no good because even if you can get one of the trays to work on 1 out of 10 DVDs the other two trays will never work.

Bad purchase, someone should consider a class action lawsuit against Apex. Contact me if anyone wants to proceed with this.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Richie G   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 29, 2002]
Strength:

Sounds great!!! Picture is crystal clear with the Apex 27 inch TV that i payed a mere $200 for...together i payed less than $450 with a 5 year "smash it with a hammer and w'll replace it" warranty!!

Weakness:

couldnt find the universal remote codes for any apex product...other than that...nill on the weaknesses.

So far this unit Rocks...better than the Toshiba that almost got launched through the window at best buy...completely worth while purchase!!

Similar Products Used: Apex 27 inch stereo surround sound television with internal flat TV tube..(not a flat screen) which also rocks!!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
stef   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 28, 2002]

well it worked fine at first but the tray has been acting up and now it cant close or open

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Jeff   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 01, 2002]
Strength:

Plays everything and has a 5.1 decoder, which is why I bought the thing.

Weakness:

Poor design/engineering. P.O.S.

The short review: don't buy this unit. The long review: I guess I bought one of the first AD-703s made. After about 1 week, it crapped-out completely (odd, noises, would not play at all and sometimes would not open the tray without first turning it off!) I returned it for a second unit, which I still have. Unfortunately, this one didn't start acting-up until I had it about 2 months. It has its bad days and it good days - very unpredictable. When it works, however it's a great unit. If you have one of these things and you're having trouble getting it to play DVDs (and I'm sure you are), the fix seems to be to play a music CD, then return to your DVD. This has been working for me.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
nita mcgant   Audio Enthusiast [May 29, 2002]
Strength:

High quality/visual & sound.very elegant looking, very nice addition to entertainment center

Weakness:

won't play cdg's :(

I purchased the Apex just recently, only because I am a karaoke addict. Since I go out for karaoke weekly, I never really considered "singing at home". This player has brought our family together for hours of singing and fun, without acting up. I am quite pleased with it and the for the price, if it needs a skip here or there ~ its ok by me! I have been home every night putting it to the test.

Similar Products Used: pioneer,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sheldon Hinkson   Casual Listener [Apr 02, 2002]
Strength:

Heavy enough to hold a door open.

Weakness:

Does not play DVDs.

This is my 2nd AD703. Both were POS. When I bought these door stops, I also bough 10 DVDs. AD703 could not read any of them. Do yourself a favor and stay away from apex.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 64  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com