Aiwa XD-DV290 DVD Players

XD-DV290

· DTS/Dolby Digital Out (Coax & Optical) · 96kHz/24-Bit Audio D/A Converter · Component, Composite & S-Video Outputs · 10-Bit Video D/A Converter · CD-R/RW Playback Compatible

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
phromPhilly   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 18, 2002]
Strength:

Worked for 2 years.

Weakness:

Broke after 2 years. POS!!

I had this player for 2 years. I used it about twice a week. It played fine until about a week ago when it started skipping and freezing up about an hour into DVDs. Tried it with several different DVDs and it kept doing the same thing. Out of warranty so I guess I'm out of luck. It will cost more to fix than to get a new player. No more Aiwa for me. Two years is too short a time to be breaking down.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Richie Cunningham   Casual Listener [Apr 11, 2001]
Weakness:

hasn't worked yet so at this point I'd have to say everything.

It's a crap shoot with this machine. I know someone who has this model and loves it and says it works great. Then there's me: I got what I thought was a great deal, but the thing never quite worked. It skipped on 90% of the DVD's, but not until I was at least an hour into it (making it more annoying than ever). I brought it in for warranty and they are replacing the laser and I'm hoping that does it, but I still have to pay the labor costs. I'd steer clear from Aiwa. They have yet to prove they can make a decent DVD player or back up their errors when they don't.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
dev   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 30, 2001]
Strength:

the price

Weakness:

The Rest

i bought this from a grey market in singapore ( who became a enemy after)The picture quality of this dvd is not up to the mark , even the sound is not crisp when compared to other premium products.but for this price u cannot expect more from this player.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
David   Casual Listener [Jul 20, 2001]
Strength:

So far it's been great. It's played everything I've tried: regular DVD/VCD/VCD2.0, VCD & MP3 burned from my computer, and regular CD. Quiet.

Weakness:

Loading a little slow for my taste, but I haven't seen others. Functions not intuitive and screen icons/numbers a bit small (I watch about 8' away on a 27" and the numbers are about 1/2" tall).

This is a great machine for getting into the DVD world. And being able to play all those other formats is a big bonus. Overall I'm very satisfied w/ the performance and price.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Carlos   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 27, 2001]
Strength:

Good quality audio and sharp image

Weakness:

freeze time in time

Well, that´s my first DVD player and work very fine, I get a pair of Monster S-Video and Optical audio cable and connect it to my Sony STR-DE845 A/V receiver (Sony and B&W LM1 speakers) and my philips TV. What can I say you? Great sound and very sharp and detaile image. The only problem is the little freeze sometimes, and only doit for miliseconds.

Similar Products Used: Is my first DVD player
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Erminio Alesii   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 10, 2001]
Strength:

This product is great for playing DVDs. The picture is sharp and clear and the audio quality this player is capable of delivering is impressive provided you have a nice stereo or home audio system to hook this player up to.

Weakness:

The only bad thing about this player is that it doesn't play VCDs or MP# encoded CDs but it does play CD-R's which is okay with me.

This is a fine DVD player. If you can get it for a good price go ahead and get it. However Aiwa has a newer player called the XD-DV370 which is basically the same player, but allows you to play VCDs and MP3s. Get this player if you can because it corrects on the flaws of this one.

Similar Products Used: Proscan DVD Players
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
David   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 06, 2001]
Strength:

Great features, if you can get it to work!!!

Weakness:

Warranty is TOTALLY WORTHLESS!!!!!!!!!

The unit was broken from day one and all I got from Circuit City and AIWA was the run around! The unit skipped on approximately one-third of all DVDs. Circuit City claimed it was a user error. I finally brought the unit in to be serviced: they sent it to their (Circuit City) repair shop, but they sent it back saying it was outside the service window of 30 days, even though I had opened the complaint when I first purchased it. No one at Circuit City knew who I was all of a sudden. Then I sent the unit to AIWA's repair shop. They promptly sent it back, saying it wasn't authorized by Circuit City. So I had it authorized by Circuit City and sent it back again.
Now they want $144.00 to repair my $300.00 DVD player, because they claim it's outside the warranty period! I own many electronic devices and they, understandably, sometimes fail. However, I have never seen such a total lack of customer service in my entire life. My local Circuit City (in Medford, Oregon) and AIWA will never see any of my money again; I don't care if I have to pay more somewhere else!!

Similar Products Used: Will be any brand other than an AIWA from now on, purchased from anywhere except Circuit City!!!
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
juan ortega   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 14, 2000]
Strength:

high quality sound and crisp image quality

Weakness:

none

great sound , specially in dolby digital also in dolby pro-logic I sensed a great quality compared to my stereo vhs. The image quality is great, superior image sharpness but colors are a little bit weak but great image sharpness.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com